DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 9/26/2024, 12/19/2024, 1/19/2025, 7/14/2025 and 12/15/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 10-12 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Du et al. (Chinese Patent Application Publication CN111063162, listed in IDS dated 12/19/2024) in view of Anand et al. (U.S. Patent 12,217,749).
As per claims 1, 10 and 20, Du et al. discloses:
An apparatus (Figure 3 and Paragraph [0073] - multi-modal recognition is performed on the image data and audio data), comprising:
at least one processor (Paragraphs [0038] & [0059] - includes a memory and a processor, the memory stores a computer program); and
at least one computer-readable storage medium storing a program that is executable by the at least one processor (Paragraph [0038] - includes a memory and a processor, the memory stores a computer program), the program comprising instructions for:
obtaining a first speech text (Paragraph [0073] - When the user recognizes the preset key sentence in the code word data table through voice recognition,); and
obtaining, based on the first speech text, first modal information that matches the first speech text (Paragraph [0073] - Specifically, audio detection may include sound event detection and voice information detection. Further, it may include performing feature extraction on the audio data, outputting text information according to the extracted feature result,), wherein a modality indicated by the first modal information is a first modality in a plurality of preset modalities (Paragraphs [0073-0074] - Different users have different settings… identify whether there are target data that triggers the generation of warning information…recognition is performed on the image data and audio data of the regulatory environment… In one of the embodiments, as shown in FIG. 4, the preset multimodal recognition model includes an image classification unit, an action classification unit, and an item detection and positioning unit); and
determining, based on the first speech text and the first modal information, a first intention (Paragraph [0073] - If there are multiple preset keywords such as "Hand over the money", "Robbery" and "Help" in the text information, or perform sound event detection on the audio data, identify the dangerous sounds in the audio data such as gunshots, violent Impact sound, etc., or sentence intent recognition of audio data, when the sentence intent is recognized as a distress or threat to the safety of others 'personal property, it is judged that there is a dangerous situation in the car and an early warning message is generated.) and a first slot (Paragraphs [0070] & [0079] - intercepting the monitoring video frames in the car at a certain time interval… it can also send real-time image data and audio data in the car to the platform) that are indicated by the first speech text when the first speech text matches the first modal information (Paragraphs [0064] & [0073] - performing feature extraction on the audio data, outputting text information according to the extracted feature result… extract the fusion features of multiple data modalities. )
Du et al. fails to disclose but Anand in the same field of endeavor teaches:
the first intention is an executable intention supported by the apparatus, and wherein the first slot is a slot holding data needed as input for executing the first intention (Column 18, lines 5-37).
It would be obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method, apparatus and computer readable medium of Du et al. with the slot based intention system of Anand et al. because it is a case of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Claim 1 is directed to the method of using the apparatus of claim 10, so is rejected for similar reason.
Claim 20 is directed to a non-transitory computer readable medium storing instructions to cause a processor to act as the apparatus of claim 10.
As per claims 2 and 11, the combination of Du et al. and Anand et al. discloses all of the limitations of claims 1 and 10 above. Du et al. in the combination further discloses:
obtaining, based on the first speech text, the first modal information that matches the first speech text comprises (Paragraphs [0073] & [0093] - when the sentence intent is recognized as a distress or threat to the safety of others 'personal property, it is judged that there is a dangerous situation in the car and an early warning message is generated…when it recognizes that the audio data has preset keywords and generates warning information):
obtaining a multimodal selection vector based on the first speech text, wherein the multimodal selection vector indicates a probability of relevance between the first speech text and each of the plurality of preset modalities (Paragraph [0073] – example of a linked modality to the detected speech words: If there are multiple preset keywords such as "Hand over the money", "Robbery" and "Help" in the text information, or perform sound event detection on the audio data, identify the dangerous sounds in the audio data such as gunshots, violent Impact sound, etc.,); and
obtaining the first modal information based on the multimodal selection vector (Paragraph [0098] - The preset multi-modal recognition model is based on the training of scene data constructed by multi-modal data under the regulatory environment. Detection methods are activated in certain modalities based on detected speech words, which is the functional equivalent of the use of a two bit multimodal selection vector).
As per claims 3 and 12, the combination of Du et al. and Anand et al. discloses all of the limitations of claims 2 and 11 above. Du et al. in the combination further discloses:
obtaining the multimodal selection vector based on the first speech text comprises (Paragraph [0073] – sentence intent is recognized):
determining a first context category to which the first speech text belongs (Paragraph [0073] - If there are multiple preset keywords such as "Hand over the money", "Robbery" and "Help" in the text information ); and
obtaining the multimodal selection vector based on the first context category, wherein the multimodal selection vector indicates a probability of relevance between the first context category and each of the plurality of preset modalities (Paragraph [0073], [0093] & [0068]- three examples of context relevance - when the sentence intent is recognized as a distress or threat to the safety of others 'personal property, it is judged that there is a dangerous situation in the car and an early warning message is generated; when it recognizes that the audio data has preset keywords and generates warning information; when the voiceprint recognizes that the user's voice is an adult voice and the user's age group recognition result is a child, the corresponding warning information is filtered.).
As per claim 19, the combination of Du et al. and Anand et al. discloses all of the limitations of claim 10 above. Du et al. in the combination further discloses:
performing an operation related to the first intention (Paragraph [0073] - sentence intent recognition of audio data, when the sentence intent is recognized as a distress or threat to the safety of others 'personal property, it is judged that there is a dangerous situation in the car and an early warning message is generated. ).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-9 and 13-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Examiner Notes
The Examiner cites particular columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims above for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the Applicant fully considers the references in its entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or as disclosed by the Examiner.
Communications via Internet e-mail are at the discretion of the applicant and require written authorization. Should the Applicant wish to communicate via e-mail, including the following paragraph in their response will allow the Examiner to do so:
“Recognizing that Internet communications are not secure, I hereby authorize the USPTO to communicate with me concerning any subject matter of this application by electronic mail. I understand that a copy of these communications will be made of record in the application file.”
Should e-mail communication be desired, the Examiner can be reached at Edwin.Leland@USPTO.gov
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/EDWIN S LELAND III/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2654