Detailed Action
Drawing
The drawing filed on June 6, 2024, is objected to because of the following minor issues: in Figs. 1 and 3, it would be helpful to label some of the units to their corresponding function, such as units noted as 110 and 310 respectively and the sub-units included in those main units.
Specification
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim rejection – 35 U.S.C. §112
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite as in claims 1 and 8, the instant claims include the limitation “a wireless transmitter configured to: receive instantaneous current into the battery pack, the instantaneous into and out from the battery pack”, it is not clearly defined how one “instantaneous current into the battery pack” would be different from “the instantaneous current into the battery pack” would be any different (see pages 28 and 30, lines 5-6 lines into the claims on the respective claims. The remaining claims inherit the attributes of their respective base claims and include similar issues as related to the instantaneous current into and out of the battery pack.
Claim rejection – 35 U.S.C. §102
Claims 1-4, 7-13 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Olsson et al. (U.S. Patent No. 11,171,369, hereon Olsson).
In reference to claim 1: Olsson discloses a battery monitoring apparatus and battery pack (see Olsson, Abstract and Fig. 21) comprising:
a battery pack (see Olsson, Figs. 17A and 17B);
a set of at least two sense wires operably connecting a set of battery cells in the battery pack to a printed circuit board (PCB) mounted inside of a battery case (see Olsson, Fig. 1B, wire bundle 158);
the PCB operably connected to the set of at least two sense wires (see Olsson, Fig. 17B, wire bundle 1744), the PCB comprising:
a memory connected to a hardware microprocessor (see Olsson, column 6, lines 42-46), said memory storing:
computer-executable instructions (see Olsson, column 6, lines 52-54),
historic voltage information,
lifetime charge-and-discharge cycles (see Olsson, column 6, line 56 to column 7, line 4), and
identifying information of the battery pack (see Olsson, column 7, lines 5-25);
a current measuring sensor (see Olsson, column 33, lines 20-23, and Fig. 31B, unit 3152);
a microprocessor to execute the computer executable instructions configured to:
determine, from the set of at least two sense wires, data associated with a voltage of the battery pack (see Olsson, Fig. 31B, V-sense battery);
determine, from the set of at least two sense wires, a state charge of the battery pack (see Olsson, column 7, lines 5-10);
determine, from the set of at least two sense wires, a temperature of the battery pack (see Olsson, Fig. 1B, unit 166, temperature sensor);
determine, from the current measuring sensor, an instantaneous current into the battery pack (see Olson, column 13, lines 54-56, current into the battery pack, which is current between the battery assembly 153 and battery circuit 60); and
determine, from the current measuring sensor, an instantaneous current out from the battery pack (see Olsson, column 13, lines 60-64, current carried between battery circuit and interface circuit, i.e., to the load);
a wireless transmitter (see Olsson, column 33, lines 32-35 and column 34, lines 4-8) configured to:
receive, from the microprocessor, the voltage of the battery pack, instantaneous current into the battery pack, the instantaneous current into and out from the battery pack, and the state charge of the battery pack (see Olsson, column 13, lines 54-56 and lines 60-64);
receive, from the memory, the historic voltage information, the lifetime charge-and-discharge cycles, and the identifying information of the battery pack (see Olsson, column 33, lines 54-64); and
transmit, to a wireless receiver on a remote device, the voltage of the battery pack, the instantaneous current into and out of the battery pack, the state charge of the battery pack, the historic voltage information, the lifetime charge-and-discharge cycle, and the identifying information of the battery pack (see Olsson, column 34, lines 53-65).
Regarding claim 2: Olsson further discloses that the PCB is mounted internally on the surface of the battery case via a negative battery terminal (see Olsson, Fig. 30).
Regarding claim 3: Olsson further discloses that the battery pack comprising a battery management system (BMS) (see Olsson, Fig. 22, flow diagram of a battery pack management system).
Regarding claim 4: Olsson further discloses that the PCB further comprises a power cutoff device (see Olsson, column 26, lines 19-28).
Regarding claim 7: Olsson further discloses that the PCB comprising a voltage regulator that supplies power to the PCB microprocessor (see Olsson, column 26, lines 13-18).
In reference to claim 8: Olsson discloses a battery monitoring apparatus and battery pack (see Olsson, Abstract and Fig. 21) comprising:
a battery pack (see Olsson, Figs. 17A and 17B);
a set of at least two sense wires (see Olsson, Fig. 1B, wire bundle 158);
a PCB operably connected outside of a battery case to the set of at least two sense wires (see Olsson, column 31, lines 22-35, and Figs. 27 and 29), the PCB comprising:
a memory connected to a hardware microprocessor (see Olsson, column 6, lines 42-46), said memory storing:
computer-executable instructions (see Olsson, column 6, lines 52-54),
historic voltage information,
lifetime charge-and-discharge cycles (see Olsson, column 6, line 56 to column 7, line 4), and
identifying information of the battery pack (see Olsson, column 7, lines 5-25);
a current measuring sensor (see Olsson, column 33, lines 20-23, and Fig. 31B, unit 3152);
a microprocessor to execute the computer executable instructions configured to:
determine, from the set of at least two sense wires, data associated with a voltage of the battery pack determine, from the set of at least two sense wires, a state charge of the battery pack (see Olsson, Fig. 31B, V-sense battery);
determine, from the set of at least two sense wires, a temperature of the battery pack (see Olsson, Fig. 1B, unit 166, temperature sensor);
determine, from the current measuring sensor, an instantaneous current into the battery pack (see Olson, column 13, lines 54-56, current into the battery pack, which is current between the battery assembly 153 and battery circuit 60);
determine, from the current measuring sensor, an instantaneous current out from the battery pack (see Olsson, column 13, lines 60-64, current carried between battery circuit and interface circuit, i.e., to the load);
a wireless transmitter (see Olsson, column 33, lines 32-35 and column 34, lines 4-8) configured to:
receive, from the microprocessor, the voltage of the battery pack, instantaneous current into the battery pack, the instantaneous current into and out from the battery pack, and the state charge of the battery pack (see Olsson, column 13, lines 54-56 and lines 60-64);
receive, from the memory, the historic voltage information, the lifetime charge-and-discharge cycles, and the identifying information of the battery pack (see Olsson, column 33, lines 54-64); and
transmit, to a wireless receiver on a remote device, the voltage of the battery pack, the instantaneous current into and out of the battery pack, the state charge of the battery pack, the historic voltage information, the lifetime charge-and-discharge cycle, and the identifying information of the battery pack (see Olsson, column 34, lines 53-65).
Regarding claim 9: Olsson further discloses that the PCB is mounted externally on the surface of the battery case via a negative external battery terminal (see Olsson, Fig. 30).
Regarding claim 10: Olsson further discloses that a first sense wire from the set of at least two sense wires is operably connected to a positive external battery terminal (see Olsson, Fig. 30).
Regarding claim 11: Olsson further discloses that a second sense wire from the set of at least two sense wires is operably connected to the negative external battery terminal (see Olsson, Fig. 30).
Regarding claim 12: Olsson further discloses that the battery pack comprising a battery management system (BMS) (see Olsson, Fig. 22, flow diagram of a battery pack management system).
Regarding claim 13: Olsson further discloses that the PCB further comprises a power cutoff device (see Olsson, column 26, lines 19-28).
Regarding claim 16: Olsson further discloses that the PCB comprising a voltage regulator that supplies power to the PCB microprocessor (see Olsson, column 26, lines 13-18).
Claim rejection – 35 U.S.C. §103
Claims 5-6 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as obvious over Olsson in view of Banerjea et al. (U.S. Patent No. 9,485,728, hereon Banerjea).
Regarding claims 5 and 6: As noted above, Olsson discloses a battery monitoring apparatus; however, the battery monitoring apparatus is silent about having further discloses that the PCB enters a state of reduced power consumption of less than 15 mA responsive to detecting an absence of the wireless receiver connected to the microprocessor or the PCB “wakes” when the wireless receiver is connected to the microprocessor, the PCB drawing no more than 150 mA of power from the battery to which it is operably connected.
Banerjea discloses system and method in a communication device includes receiving from a station a request to enter a power save mode, and in response receiving the request, enabling a set of services (see Banerjea, Abstract). The station enters the power save mode by switching to a sleep state in which the station consumes less power and thus prolongs battery life. In one embodiment, the station conserves power in the sleep state by powering down various portions of circuitry within the station, and/or providing a lower bias current to various portions of circuitry within the station (see Banerjea, column 7, lines 32-42).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the battery monitoring apparatus as taught by Olsson and modify specifically modifying the PCB to enter a state of reduced power consumption by some degree in response to detecting an absence of the wireless receiver connected to the microprocessor because by lowering power consumption in the system it would facilitate or extend battery life of the battery pack and conserve energy with a benefit of a shorter charging time.
Regarding claims 14 and 15: the instant claims are analogous to claims 5 and 6 of the instant application.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
McClure (U.S. Patent No. 5,563,496) discloses battery monitoring and charging control unit. The unit is provided, which is highly efficient, and which provides accurate and reliable control and indications, while using a small number of component parts and being otherwise readily and economically manufactured. The unit of the invention is compact and is such that it can be readily included, if desired, as an integral part of battery packs used for supplying power to hosts such as lap-top computers and other types of portable equipment. The unit is adapted for control by a host and for reporting state of charge and other data to a host and it is highly versatile, being readily programmable to meet the requirements and desires of a user.
Bertness (U.S. Patent No. 7,774,151) discloses wireless battery monitoring system. The system includes an electronic battery tester and methods for testing a storage battery include generating battery data from an electronic battery test. The battery test data is transmitted over a wireless communication medium. In another aspect, a method and apparatus are provided for receiving battery test data from a wireless communication medium.
/ELIAS DESTA/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2857