Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) were filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lutz US 11167078.
As to claim 1, Lutz teaches “Adapter for circulating a fluid temperature conditioning medium to cool or heat a pressure sensor (Figure 2; Column 1, line 66 to Column 2, line 12), the adapter comprising: a supply line defined by the adapter (Figure 2, 2); a discharge line defined by the adapter (Figure 2, 3); a cavity (Figure 2, 1; Column 7, line 58 to Column 8, line 13) defined by the adapter integrally with the supply line and the discharge line in a manner connecting the supply line and the discharge line in such a way that the fluid temperature conditioning medium can be circulated from the supply line through the cavity to the discharge line (Figure 2, 1; Column 7, line 58 to Column 8, line 13); a recess defined by the adapter integrally with the supply line, the discharge line and the cavity and configured to elongate along a longitudinal axis and having a first end disposed spaced apart from a second end along the longitudinal axis (Figure 2, 5; Column 7, line 58 to Column 8, line 13) wherein when in use the first end of the recess faces a measuring medium and the second end of the recess is configured to receive therein the pressure sensor (Figure 2); and wherein the cavity is configured to surround the recess so that the temperature conditioning medium can flow within the cavity and around the recess in a recirculating manner (Column 7, line 58 to Column 8, line 13).”
As to claim 2, Lutz teaches “wherein the adapter is designed to be weld-free and solder-free (Column 4, lines 27-43).”
As to claim 4, Lutz teaches “wherein the adapter is made of a metallic material (Column 3, lines 32-40).”
As to claim 6, Lutz teaches “wherein said adapter is manufactured using a metal 3D printing process (Column 3, lines 32-40; Column 4, lines 27-43).”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 5, 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lutz US 11167078.
As to claim 3, Lutz teaches “wherein the adapter is manufactured using a manufacturing process (Column 4, lines 27-43).”
The prior art does not explicitly teach “an additive manufacturing process.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to arrive at the claimed invention by using what is taught by Lutz. Lutz teaches that the adapter can be manufactured using various techniques such as 3D printing and injection molding. Based on these teachings, on of ordinary skill in the art has the knowledge to use other manufacturing processes to end at the same result.
As to claim 5, Lutz does not explicitly teach “wherein the adapter is implemented to be seal- free.”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to arrive at the claimed invention by using what is taught by Lutz. Lutz teaches that the adapter can be manufactured using various techniques such as 3D printing and injection molding, Column 4, lines 27-43, Based on these teachings, on of ordinary skill in the art has the knowledge to use other manufacturing processes to end at the same result.
As to claim 16, Lutz teaches “wherein the adapter is made of a material with a thermal conductivity greater than 30 W - (m - K)1 and comprises pure copper, pure aluminum or pure magnesium (Column 2, lines 13-25; Column 2, lines 32-40. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to use a desired material over another with predictable results. Choosing one material over another involves routine skill in the art).
As to claim 17, Lutz teaches “wherein the adapter is made of a material with a thermal conductivity greater than 30 W - (m -K)' and comprises a copper alloy (Column 2, lines 13-25; Column 2, lines 32-40. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to use a desired material over another with predictable results. Choosing one material over another involves routine skill in the art).
As to claim 18, Lutz teaches “wherein the adapter is made of a material with a thermal conductivity greater than 30W- (m - K)-1 and comprises graphite (Column 2, lines 13-25; Column 2, lines 32-40. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to use a desired material over another with predictable results. Choosing one material over another involves routine skill in the art).
As to claim 19, Lutz teaches “wherein the adapter is made of a material with a thermal conductivity greater than 30W- (m - K)-1 and a melting point above 600C and with a density of less than 5 g cm-1 (Column 2, lines 13-25; Column 2, lines 32-40. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to use a desired material over another with predictable results. Choosing one material over another involves routine skill in the art).
As to claim 20, Lutz teaches “wherein the adapter is made of a material with a thermal conductivity greater than 30W- (m - K)-1 and a density of less than 5 g cm-1 (Column 2, lines 13-25; Column 2, lines 32-40. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to use a desired material over another with predictable results. Choosing one material over another involves routine skill in the art).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14 and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Claim 7 pertains to a cavity with a defined roughness, this feature is not taught by the prior art. Claim 8 teaches a porous, sponge like material, this is not taught by the prior art. Claims 9-10 depend from claim 8. Claim 11 teaches stability elements which are not taught by the prior arts. Claim 12 teaches a specific thermal conductivity and density, which is not taught by the prior art. Claim 13 teaches a pressure connection connected to the recess. This feature is not taught by the prior art. Claim 14 teaches a sleeve which is not taught by the prior art. Claim 15 teaches a mounting bore which is not taught by the prior arts.
Conclusion
/TARUN SINHA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855