DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, and 6-8, 10, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kondo (US 2015/0188608).
Regarding claim 1, Kondo discloses, a connector unit 100a’ (capable to be used) for a component of a sewer inspection and/or maintenance system, wherein the connector unit 100a’ (fig. 6A) comprises: an energy transmission device 140a for transmitting electrical energy between the connector unit 100a’and an additional connector unit 100b’, and a signal transmitting and/or signal receiving device 171a’ ( see paragraph [0090] which is design wirelessly transmit data between the connector unit 100a’ and the additional connector unit 100b’, wherein the connector unit 101a’ is detachably coupled to the additional connector unit 101b’.
Regarding claim 2, Kondo discloses, the energy transmission device comprises at least two contact making sockets 140b (within 111b2’. (see figs. 6A and 6B).
Regarding claim 3, Kondo discloses, the energy transmission device 171a comprises at least two contact-making pins 111b1’ (see figs. 6A and 6B).
Regarding claim 4, Kondo discloses, the energy transmission device (11) comprises a module140a adapted to transmit the electrical energy between the connector unit 100a’ and the additional connector unit 100b’ on an inductive basis (through power transmission antenna 122 and power-transmission circuits 172b (see paragraphs [0081-[0084] and paragraphs [0093] and [0094]).
Regarding claim 6, Kondo discloses, the signal transmitting and/or signal receiving device 121a comprises a first signal receiver and/or transmitter 121a, , wherein the first signal receiver and/or transmitter 121a, is (capable to be) adapted to wirelessly transmit high-resolution image data, sensor data and/or control data between the connector unit (10) and the additional connector unit (see paragraphs [0081-[0084].
Regarding claim 7, Kondo discloses, the signal transmitting and/or signal receiving device comprises a second signal receiver and/or transmitter 122a, wherein the second signal receiver and/or transmitter122a is (capable to be) adapted to wirelessly transmit image data, sensor data and/or control data between the connector unit (10) and the additional connector unit (see paragraphs [0081-[0084] and paragraphs [0093] and [0094]).
Regarding claim 8, Kondo discloses, the connector unit (10) comprises a housing 110a (male/female body 110b).
Regarding claim 10, Kondo discloses, A device 100’) for coupling two components100a’ 100b’ (capable to be used) of a sewer cleaning and/or maintenance system, wherein the device 100’ comprises a first connector unit 100a’ and a second connector unit 100b’, wherein the two connector units 100’ can be detachably coupled to one another, wherein the coupling of the two connector units10a’, 100b’ comprises: at least one wireless communication connection between the signal transmitting and/or signal receiving device171a’ of the first connector unit 100a’ and the signal transmitting and/or signal receiving device 171b’ of the second connector unit 100b’ ( see paragraph [0090] which is design wirelessly transmit data between the connector unit 100a’ and the additional connector unit 100b’, and an energy transmission between the energy transmission device 140a’ of the first connector unit 100a’ and the energy transmission 140b’ of the second connector unit 100b’ (see figs, 6A, 6B).
Regarding claim 11, Kondo discloses, wherein the at least one wireless communication connection is bidirectional.
Claims 1, 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ueta at el. (EP 3 561,826) hereafter Ueta (Yazaki Corporation, as listed in IDS).
Regarding claim 1, Ueta discloses a connector unit 10 (capable to be used) for a component of a sewer inspection and/or maintenance system, wherein the connector unit 10 comprises:
- an energy transmission device 11 for transmitting electrical energy between the connector unit 10 and an additional connector unit 20, and
a signal transmitting and/or signal receiving device 12 which is design wirelessly transmit data between the connector unit 10 and the additional connector unit 12,
wherein the connector unit 10 is detachably coupled to the additional connector unit 20.
Regarding claim 5, Ueta discloses, the connector unit 10/20 is rotationally symmetrical about its longitudinal axis, see fig. 4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ueta in view of Yamamoto et al. (WO 2007/007430)
Regarding claims 2 and 3, Ueta discloses all the claimed limitation except for the energy transmission device comprises at least two contact making sockets, and (claim 3) wherein the energy transmission device comprises at least two contact-making pins.
Yamamoto discloses, the energy transmission device 3 comprises at least two contact making sockets 34a, and (claim 3) wherein the energy transmission device 4 comprises at least two contact-making pins 42a ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the energy transmission device comprises at least two contact making sockets, and wherein the energy transmission device comprises at least two contact-making pins as taught by Yamamoto in order to ease of mechanical and electrical connection.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ueta in view of Kumar et al. (US 2021/0194193).
Regarding claim 9, kondo discloses all the claimed limitations except for a locking device is arranged on the housing of the connector unit.
Kumar et al. discloses paragraph [0039, discloses ] electrical connector comprise a mechanical locking device of a mechanical coupling, while the mating connector 10 may comprise a complementary locking device of the mechanical coupling.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a locking device is arranged on the housing of the connector unit as taught by Kumar et al. in order to have consistant and better mechanical connection and maintain durable electrical connection and protect against the accidental disconnection.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ueta in view of Nagasawa (US 9787014).
Regarding claim 12, kondo discloses, in the coupling of the two connector units, the particular energy transmission devices and signal transmitting and/or signal receiving devices.
However, does not disclose that two connector units are substantially sealed gas- and fluid-tight against the environment.
Nagasawa, discloses, the fitting portion of the connection mating connector and the connector 1 can be sealed in a liquid-tight manner by the hood portion 13 and the fitting side seal member 20.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to two connector units are substantially sealed gas- and fluid-tight against the environment as taught by Nagasawa in order to use connection in hazardous environment.
Examiner also official notice the connection of two units in gas/liquid tight manner in hazardous environment is well-known by using the appropriate sealing material or element gasket, grommet or sealing ring, therefore it would have been obvious to use such technics for making gas/ liquid tight connection system.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached PTO 892.
/HARSHAD C PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831