DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-4, 7, 10-15 and 17-20 are rejected
Claims 5-6, 8-9, and 16 are objected to.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 12-14, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Natsume et al (US PUB 20090241759, hereinafter Natsume).
Regarding Claim 1, Natsume discloses an apparatus for securing a control panel forming part of a signal mixing system (e.g. a mounting unit 30 for securing a control panel 2 of a mixer console 1), (see [0018], [0042], and figures 1-3), comprising: a barb (e.g. a support pieces 2a) extending downwards from an upper edge of said control panel (e.g. support pieces 2a are suspended downwardly at the inside of the panel 2), (see [0079], and figure 11); a slidable element (e.g. a slidable member 62), a support member (e.g. end part 200) defining a channel (e.g. an elongated opening 213) for receiving said slidable element (e.g. member 62 is slidably engaged over channel 213), (see figures 10 and 11); and a securing device (e.g. a mounting unit 30), wherein: said channel comprises a first flange (e.g. a first wall 212) and a second flange (e.g. a second wall 212) for retaining said slidable element (see figure 10); and said slidable element comprises a slot for receiving said barb, such that: said barb is locatable through said slot; said slidable element is slidable to retain said barb after being located through said slot (e.g. fixing piece 64a of slidable member 62 has a threaded hole for receiving the support pieces 2a), (see [0071]-[0072] and figures 10-11); and said securing device is operated to prevent further sliding of said slidable element to secure said barb after said barb has been retained by said slidable element (e.g. mounting screws 2b are additionally applied to secure the barb to the fixing piece 64a, 64b), (see [0075], [0077], and [0079]-[0080], also figures 10-11).
Regarding Claim 2, Natsume discloses the apparatus of claim 1, further comprising one or more additional barbs (e.g. plurality of support pieces 2a); wherein each said one or more additional barbs is receivable within a respective slot in said slidable element (see [0079]-[0080], and figure 11).
Regarding Claim 7, Natsume discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein said support member (end part 200) is secured between a first primary support (e.g. a first support member 22) and a second primary support (e.g. a second support part 63), (see [0045], [0077] and figures 3 and 10).
Regarding Claim 10, Natsume discloses the apparatus of claim 7, wherein said first primary support and said second primary support are secured to a support frame (e.g. a support frame 25), (see [0045], [0077] and figures 3 and 10).
Regarding Claim 11, Natsume discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein: said control panel comprises a metal control surface; said metal control surface comprises holes (e.g. holes 5) for receiving control devices; and said barb (2a) is formed as an extension of said metal control surface (see [0079]-[0081], and figure 11).
Regarding Claim 12, Natsume discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein said securing device comprises one or more screws (e.g. a plurality of screws 2b); each said one or more screws is retained within a respective tapped hole within said slidable element; and operation of said securing device comprises tightening said one or more screws (see [0080], and figure 11).
Regarding Claim 13, Natsume discloses the apparatus of claim 12, wherein each said one or more screws is accessed via a respective slot in said control panel (see [0080]-[0081], and figure 11).
Regarding Claim 14, Natsume discloses a method of securing a control panel in a signal mixing system, (e.g. using a mounting unit 30 for securing a control panel 2 of a mixer console 1), (see [0018], [0042], and figures 1-3), comprising steps of:
locating a barb (e.g. a support pieces 2a) extending downwards from an upper edge of said control panel (e.g. support pieces 2a are suspended downwardly at the inside of the panel 2), (see [0079], and figure 11); into a slot comprised in a slidable element (e.g. a slidable member 62 having fixing piece 64a comprising threaded hole for receiving the support pieces 2a); (see figure 11), wherein said slidable element is retained within a channel (e.g. an elongated opening 213) defined by a first flange (e.g. a first wall 212) and a second flange (e.g. a second wall 212); sliding said slidable element to retain said barb located in said slot (see [0071]-[0072] and figures 10 and 11); and securing said slidable element to prevent further sliding of said slidable element, thereby securing said barb (e.g. mounting screws 2b are additionally applied to secure the barb to the within the fixing piece 64a, 64b), (see [0075], and [0079]-[0080], also figures 10-11).
Regarding Claim 15, Natsume discloses the method of claim 14, further comprising a step of supporting a lower edge of said control panel prior to said locating step (see figure 1 and 2).
Regarding Claim 17, Natsume discloses the method of claim 14, wherein said sliding step is facilitated by a second slot (e.g. second slot 5) in said control panel (see figure 11).
Regarding Claim 18, Natsume discloses the method of claim 17, wherein said securing step is achieved by tightening one or more screws (e.g. screws 2b) engaged within tapped holes present within said slidable element (see [0080], and figure 11).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Natsume.
Regarding Claim 3, Natsume discloses the apparatus of claim 2, but does not explicitly disclose comprising a total of three barbs and three slots. However, it would have been obvious to any person having an ordinary skill in the art to apply a total number of three barbs and three slots if so desired as a matter choice.
Regarding Claim 4, Natsume discloses the apparatus of claim 3, but fails to explicitly disclose wherein said barbs are of mutually different sizes, with respective slots also being of mutually different sizes. However, it would have been obvious to any person having an ordinary skill in the art to apply barbs and corresponding slots of mutually different sizes if such is desired,
Regarding Claim 19, Natsume discloses the method of claim 18, wherein said one or more screws are engaged to perform said sliding step prior to said securing step (see [0080], and figure 11).
Regarding Claim 20, Natsume discloses the method of claim 19, but fails to explicitly disclose wherein said one or more screws are grub screws having a polygonal orifice for receiving a cooperating polygonal key to facilitate said sliding step and said securing step. However, it would have been obvious to any person having an ordinary skill in the art to apply grub screws with polygonal orifice due to their suitability for such use, and thereby further enhancing the securing force.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-6, 8-9, and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
/OYESOLA C OJO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2695