Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/12/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the prior art of record Tulloch fails to disclose “a spatial position of a zone of interest of predetermined size in said full-field digital image, and extraction of said zone of interest from said full-field digital image”, and “implementing an obstacle detection module on said extracted zone of interest”. Claim 14 is new and therefore was not considered in the previous office action. However, Examiner disagrees as Tulloch is still effective in rejecting the claims as indicated in the previous non-final rejection. Tulloch discloses that “at least some of the image sensors may have a wide or a panoramic field of view, for example greater than 160° horizontally and/or greater than 75° vertically. What each image sensor can see for any given field of view is of course dictated by where the image sensor is mounted on the aircraft and in which direction it is directed. The predetermined size as recited by the claimed invention is not defined explicitly in the claim language and thus given the broadest reasonable interpretation as the size of the field of view of the image sensors. Furthermore, the UAVs are a type of aircraft and thus interpreted in that fashion. Additionally, Tulloch discloses a method comprising receiving image data representing a first image captured by a first aircraft-mounted image sensor having a first field of view and processing the image data to determine whether an external aerial vehicle candidate (an obstacle) is present in a target space of the first captured space (Tulloch [0003]). The prior art reference Patel is used to teach an obstacle detection module via implementing a neural network to detect and classify obstacles in images having said predetermined size, each obstacle detected being located in said zone of interest (Patel et. al., Figure 3, using machine learning (CNN) that regresses parameters for an equation that best fits a line to detect the horizon, [0041], [0062]).
Lastly, the claim interpretation objection of claims 12-13 under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) is still present due to the use of the nonce term “module”, which has not been corrected. Thus, all claims are still rejected under the prior arts of record Tulloch and Patel.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “module” in claims 12-13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-11, 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tulloch (United Kingdom Patent GB 2588893 A).
Regarding claim 1, Tulloch discloses an obstacle detection method implemented by an obstacle detection system on-board an aircraft, the aircraft including at least one on-board camera having an associated field of view, configured to acquire full-field digital images, the method being implemented by a processor of a computation platform (Figures 1a-1b and 2; Summary [0003]), said method comprising:
a)receiving at least one full-field digital image captured by said at least one on-board camera (Summary, [0024-26] e.g., image sensors equipped on aircraft; also, processors equipped within fuselage of aircraft; “first” and “second” captured images are full-field digital image),
b)determining a spatial position of a zone of interest of predetermined size in said full-field digital image, and extraction of said zone of interest from said full-field digital image, and (Tulloch Summary, Figure 5, [0007], [0040] i.e., “target space” is extracted zone of interest)
c)implementing an obstacle detection module on said extracted zone of interest, and implementing a neural network previously trained to detect and classify obstacles in images having said predetermined size, wherein each obstacle detected is located in said zone of interest (Tulloch [0004] one or more stored representations of aerial vehicles is determined by a classifier which is trained to recognize different types of aerial vehicles using supervised training procedures based on images from a library of aerial vehicle images).
Regarding claim 2, Tulloch discloses the method according to claim 1, further comprising a post-processing comprising a computation of a distance between the aircraft and the each detected obstacle and/or a storage of a geo-referenced position, in a fixed terrestrial reference frame, for each detected obstacle belonging to a class of fixed obstacles (Tulloch [0036]-[0037], Figure 4).
Regarding claim 3, Tulloch discloses the method according to claim 1, further comprising repeating the determination of a spatial position of a zone of interest in a same wide field digital image, serving to obtain a plurality of zones of interest in said wide field digital image (Tulloch [0042], Figure 5).
Regarding claim 4, Tulloch discloses the method according to claim 1 further comprising, before determining a spatial position of a zone of interest, acquisition of at least one avionic information item relating to a parameter of motion of the aircraft, and wherein the determination of a spatial position is a function of at least one avionic information item (Tulloch [0037]-[0040], Figure 6, identifying UAVs).
Regarding claim 5, Tulloch discloses the method according to claim 4, wherein said avionic information item comprises a path vector of the aircraft; the zone of interest being centered on a point indicated by the direction of said path vector (Tulloch, [0038]-[0039], triangulation performed based on altitude and ground velocity of the aircraft).
Regarding claim 6, Tulloch discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the determining a spatial position of a zone of interest comprises receiving a spatial position of a zone of interest using a communication interface with an external system (Tulloch, [0027] sensors may be interconnected and be in communication with one another either directly or via a central system using wireless protocol).
Regarding claim 7, Tulloch discloses the method according to claim 6, wherein the external system is another aircraft (Tulloch, [0041], Figure 5, there is a second aircraft 170 with a plurality of image sensors mounted in similar positions as aircraft 102).
Regarding claim 8, Tulloch discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the determining a spatial position of a zone of interest comprises receiving a spatial position of a zone of interest from another sensor on-board the aircraft (Tulloch, [0042], Figure 5 and 6).
Regarding claim 9, Tulloch discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the camera is configured to acquire a succession of full-field digital images forming a video, wherein a) to c) are performed on a subset of acquired digital images spaced apart in time by a given time, and wherein the method further comprises a time tracking of the detected obstacles (Tulloch, [0026] The processor(s) are arranged to process images and/or video captured by the plurality of image sensors to identify external aerial vehicle candidates, such as UAVs. [0034]-[0037] Figure 4 illustrates two overhead images of the ground 138 captured at two different times. The method also includes calculating the velocity of the moving objects based on the difference between reference and their positions in the images relative to static objections, and with the knowledge of the ground velocity and altitude of the aircraft).
Regarding claim 10, Tulloch discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the spatial position of a zone of interest is determined randomly, and wherein a pseudo-random draw is used to determine respective coordinates of a predetermined point of the zone of interest (Tulloch, [0034]-[0037] non-moving objects in the zone of interest are used as reference to the satellite images and maps of a respective landscape).
Regarding claim 11, Tulloch discloses a computer program comprising software instructions which, when executed by a programmable electronic system, implement the obstacle detection method according to claim 1 (Tulloch, claim 14).
Regarding claim 13, Tulloch discloses the obstacle detection system according to claim 10, further comprising a post-processing module configured to calculate a distance between the aircraft and the or each detected obstacle and/or to store a geo-referenced position, in a fixed terrestrial reference frame, for each detected obstacle belonging to a class of fixed obstacles (Tulloch [0036]-[0037], Figure 4).
Regarding claim 14, the rejection analysis of claim 1 is substantially incorporated herein. Furthermore, Tulloch discloses the spatial position being expressed in a reference- frame associated to said full field digital image, and wherein each obstacle detected is located in said zone of interest, wherein the method further comprises, for each detected obstacle, a computation of a geo-referenced position of said detected obstacle, in a fixed terrestrial reference frame, of coordinates of the said detected obstacle in the reference frame associated to the full field image and of coordinates of the aircraft in said fixed terrestrial reference frame at the time of detection of said detected obstacle, and storage of the geo-referenced position of the detected obstacle (Tulloch [0008], [0032], [0034]-[0035], Figure 4 Optionally, a location of the external aerial vehicle is triangulated using the first and second captured images. Beneficially, this provides location data about the external aerial vehicle which can be used to help minimize the risk the external aerial vehicle poses. Non-moving objects may be identified by reference to the respective locations in the consecutive images and with knowledge of the ground velocity and altitude of the aircraft.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tulloch (United Kingdom Patent GB 2588893 A) in view of Patel et. al. (United States Patent US 2022/0198788 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Tulloch discloses an obstacle detection system, suitable for being taken on-board an aircraft, the aircraft comprising at least one on-board camera having an associated field of view, configured to acquire full-field digital images, the obstacle detection system comprising a computation platform comprising at least one processor (See rejection of claim 1) configured to implement: - a module for receiving at least one full-field digital image captured by said at least one on-board camera, - a module for determining a spatial position of a zone of interest of predetermined size in said full-field digital image, and for extracting said zone of interest from said full-field digital image, and (Tulloch Summary, Figures 5 and 6, [0040]). However, Tulloch fails to disclose:
- an obstacle detection module, taking as input, said zone of interest and implementing a neural network previously trained to detect and classify obstacles in images having said predetermined size, wherein each obstacle detected is located in said zone of interest.
Patel teaches an obstacle detection module, taking as input, said zone of interest and implementing a neural network previously trained to detect and classify obstacles in images having said predetermined size, each obstacle detected being located in said zone of interest (Patel et. al. US 2022/0198788 A1, [0041], Figure 3, using machine learning (CNN) that regresses parameters for an equation that best fits a line to detect the horizon. [0062] the detection proposals are input into a neural network (CNN) for further processing to detect and classify dynamic objects and to train the neural network). The obstacle detection module using machine learning in the form of convolutional neural network (CNN) is the key component of the claimed invention. This allows the obstacles to be detected more efficiently and accurately to avoid aircraft collision. Thus, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teachings of Tulloch and Patel et. al. so that the CNN algorithm is included in the method of Tulloch.
Conclusion
Response to Amendment
Examiner has carefully considered the applicant’s amendments to the claims, however certain 35 U.S.C 112(f) issues have not been addressed fully, and the prior arts of record are still effective in rejecting all of the claim amendments under broadest reasonable interpretation of the claimed invention. The amendments to the abstract and drawings are sufficient.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JESSICA YIFANG LIN/ Examiner, Art Unit 2668 June 23, 2026
/VU LE/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2668