DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the Response to Election/Restriction filed 1/8/2026. Currently, claims 1-20 are pending in the application. Claim 18 is withdrawn and not examined at this point.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I, claims 1-17, 19 and 20 in the reply filed on 1/8/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim 18 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 1/8/2026.
Claim Objections
Claim 15 is objected to because of the following informalities: in order to maintain consistency and clarity throughout the claim(s), “the object on the comfort system” in line 3 of the claim should be amended to recite ---the object disposed on the comfort system---. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 7 recites “a plurality of bladders” in line 7 of the claim. It is unclear if these recited “bladders” include, or are distinct from, the “bladder” that is previously recited in claim 1 (upon which claim 7 depends). Claims 8-15 depend on claim 7 and therefore, include the same error.
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 9 recites the limitation "the plurality of bladders disposed beneath the seat back" in lines 1-2 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For purposes of examination, the examiner will interpret the limitation to mean ---the plurality of bladders---. Claim 10 depends on claim 9 and therefore, includes the same error.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 11 recites the limitation "the plurality of bladders disposed beneath the seat back" in lines 1-2 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For purposes of examination, the examiner will interpret the limitation to mean ---the plurality of bladders---.
Claims 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 14 recites the limitation "the plurality of bladders disposed beneath the seat cushion" in lines 1-2 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For purposes of examination, the examiner will interpret the limitation to mean ---the plurality of bladders---. Claim 15 depends on claim 14 and therefore, includes the same error.
Claims 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 19 recites “removing air from the cavity and the foam to transition the bladder to the deflated condition such that the foam contacts the upper surface of the bladder to thereby increase the size of the seat; introducing the air into the cavity and throughout the foam to transition the bladder to the inflated condition to thereby decrease the size of the seat.” The meaning of this claim limitation is unclear, because removing air from the cavity to deflate the bladder would necessarily decrease the size of the seat, and introducing air into the cavity to inflate the bladder would necessarily increase the size of the seat. This is supported by Applicant’s disclosure, which teaches “the bladder may have a first size when the bladder is in the deflated condition, and the bladder may have a second size that is greater than the first size when the bladder is in the inflated condition” (see [0005] of the publication of the present application). Claim 20 depends on claim 19 and therefore, includes the same error.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 7-8, 12, 14 and 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Young et al. (US 2015/0008710 A1) in view of Benson et al. (US 2015/0210192 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Young et al. teaches in Figures 1-2, [0016-0018] and [0024-0025] a seat frame (bottom surface(s) of plurality of cushions 18a-e); a seating surface (top surface(s) of plurality of cushions 18a-e) supported by (inasmuch as it is positioned on top of and therefore, the weight is supported by) the seat frame (bottom surface(s) of plurality of cushions 18a-e); and a comfort system (fluid bladders 12a-e) disposed between ([0017] teaches “each of the cushions 18a-e can contain one of the fluid bladders 12a-e;” [0018] teaches the fluid bladders 12a-e being “encased” within the plurality of cushions 18a-e) the seat frame (bottom surface(s) of plurality of cushions 18a-e) and the seating surface (top surface(s) of plurality of cushions 18a-e) and including: a bladder (fluid bladders 12a-e) transitionable between an inflated condition ([0024] teaches “the controller 24 can control the pump 14 in response to any one of the pressure signals by instructing the pump 14 to inflate one or more of the bladders 12a-e”) and a deflated condition ([0025] teaches “the controller 24 can also be in communication with an air release valve or other structure for releasing air from the bladders 12a-e”) such that the bladder (fluid bladders 12a-e) has a variable size and a variable firmness (as taught in [0025]); wherein the bladder (fluid bladders 12a-e) defines a cavity (inasmuch as a bladder is understood to have a hollow cavity therein) and includes: a lower surface (bottom surface(s) of fluid bladders 12a-e) disposed adjacent ([0017] teaches “each of the cushions 18a-e can contain one of the fluid bladders 12a-e;” [0018] teaches the fluid bladders 12a-e being “encased” within the plurality of cushions 18a-e) the seat frame (bottom surface(s) of plurality of cushions 18a-e); and an upper surface (top surface(s) of fluid bladders 12a-e) opposite the lower surface (bottom surface(s) of fluid bladders 12a-e) and configured to support an occupant of (inasmuch as the bottom surface(s) of fluid bladders 12a-e receive and support the weight of the user sitting on smart seat 10; [0016] teaches “the smart seat can be any type of seat in which a subject sits for an extended period of time”) the seat (smart seat 10); a foam disposed within the cavity ([0018] teaches “in addition to holding air or another fluid, the bladders 12a-e can enclose foam”); and a pump (pump 14) configured for alternately ([0064] teaches “another method of using the smart seat 10 or smart seat support 500 in any situation in which long term sitting occurs includes inflating and deflating the plurality of bladders throughout the sitting period so apply different pressure points on the subject during the sitting period”) introducing air into the cavity ([0018] teaches “each of the bladders 12a-e can hold air;” [0024] teaches “the controller 24 can control the pump 14 in response to any one of the pressure signals by instructing the pump 14 to inflate one or more of the bladders 12a-e”) and throughout the foam ([0018] teaches “in addition to holding air or another fluid, the bladders 12a-e can enclose foam or another material through which fluid waves of an expected magnitude can propagate a sufficient distance without becoming too dampened”) and removing air from the cavity ([0018] teaches “each of the bladders 12a-e can hold air;” [0025] teaches “the controller 24 can also be in communication with an air release valve or other structure for releasing air from the bladders 12a-e such that the controller 24 can provide an instruction to decrease the fluid pressure in the bladders 12a-e”) and the foam ([0018] teaches “in addition to holding air or another fluid, the bladders 12a-e can enclose foam or another material through which fluid waves of an expected magnitude can propagate a sufficient distance without becoming too dampened”) to transition the bladder (fluid bladders 12a-e) between the inflated condition ([0024] teaches “the controller 24 can control the pump 14 in response to any one of the pressure signals by instructing the pump 14 to inflate one or more of the bladders 12a-e”) and the deflated condition ([0025] teaches “the controller 24 can also be in communication with an air release valve or other structure for releasing air from the bladders 12a-e”).
Young et al. does not teach wherein the foam contacts the upper surface when the bladder is in the deflated condition.
However, Benson et al. teaches in Figures 5-6, [0060-0061], [0120] and [0122] an analogous device wherein the foam (cushion core 30; [0122] teaches “cushion core 30 is made from a first foam material”) contacts the upper surface (top surface of cushion bladder 128) when the bladder (cushion bladder 128) is in the deflated condition ([0120] teaches “cushion bladder 28 is formed to includes a space 28S therein and cushion core 30 is located in space 28S; [0060-0061] teaches that the configuration shown in Figure 6 is deflated relative to the configuration shown in Figure 5; in the deflated configuration shown in Figure 6, the cushion core 30 occupies space 28S such that it the cushion core 30 contacts the top surface of cushion bladder 128).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the present invention to modify the foam of Young et al. such that the foam contacts the upper surface when the bladder is in the deflated condition as taught by Benson et al. because this element is known to enable the user to be stably supported by the foam, as Benson et al. teaches in [0129].
Regarding claim 2, Young et al. and Benson et al. teach the apparatus of claim 1. Young et al. teaches in [0064] that the bladder (fluid bladders 12a-e) has a first firmness when the cavity is open to airflow and has a second firmness that is greater than the first firmness when the cavity is closed to airflow ([0064] teaches that increasing pressure within the bladder functions “to provide a firmer support to the subject;” thus, releasing air from the cavity would decrease pressure and therefore, decrease firmness; maintaining pressure in the cavity by having the cavity closed to airflow would increase pressure and firmness, in comparison).
Regarding claim 3, Young et al. and Benson et al. teach the apparatus of claim 1. Young et al. teaches in [0024-0025] that the bladder (fluid bladders 12a-e) has a first size when the bladder (fluid bladders 12a-e) is in the deflated condition ([0025] teaches “the controller 24 can also be in communication with an air release valve or other structure for releasing air from the bladders 12a-e”); and wherein the bladder (fluid bladders 12a-e) has a second size that is greater than the first size (inflation of the fluid bladders 12a-e introduces air into the fluid bladders 12a-e, increasing the volume/size thereof; deflation of the fluid bladders 12a-e releases air from the fluid bladders 12a-e, decreasing the volume/size thereof) when the bladder (fluid bladders 12a-e) is in the inflated condition ([0024] teaches “the controller 24 can control the pump 14 in response to any one of the pressure signals by instructing the pump 14 to inflate one or more of the bladders 12a-e”).
Regarding claim 4, Young et al. and Benson et al. teach the apparatus of claim 1. Young et al. teaches in [0025] that the bladder (fluid bladders 12a-e) further defines an opening therein (communicating with a hose, as taught in [0025]) configured for introducing air to and releasing air from the cavity ([0025] teaches “the motor can produce pressurized air in the outlet that passes from the pump 14 through one of the hoses into one of the bladders 12a-e to increase the fluid pressure inside one of the bladders 12a-e” and “the controller 24 can also be in communication with an air release valve or other structure for releasing air from the bladders 12a-e”).
Regarding claim 7, Young et al. and Benson et al. teach the apparatus of claim 1. Young et al. teaches in Figure 1, [0018], [0024-0025] and [0058] that the seating surface (top surface(s) of plurality of cushions 18a-e) includes a seat cushion (top surface of lower cushion 18e) having a first longitudinal axis (center, longitudinal axis through lower cushion 18e) and a seat back (top surface(s) of plurality of cushions 18a-d) attached to (as shown in Figure 1) the seat cushion (top surface of lower cushion 18e) and having a second longitudinal axis (center, longitudinal axis through back cushion 18b) laterally aligned with the first longitudinal axis (center, longitudinal axis through lower cushion 18e) along a third axis (horizontal pivot axis of smart seat 10, understood to be positioned at the location where the seat back meets the seat cushion; [0058] teaches that the incline of the vehicle seat back can be varied) that intersects the first longitudinal axis (center, longitudinal axis through lower cushion 18e) and the second longitudinal axis (center, longitudinal axis through back cushion 18b); wherein the seat back (top surface(s) of plurality of cushions 18a-d) is pivotable ([0058] teaches that the incline of the vehicle seat back can be varied) about the third axis (horizontal pivot axis of smart seat 10, understood to be positioned at the location where the seat back meets the seat cushion) and is configured to support a back of the occupant (the top surface of fluid bladder 12b is positioned to receive and support a user’s back thereon, as shown in Figure 1; [0018] teaches “the fluid bladder 12b can cover an area of the back cushion 18b in front of which the subject's heart and/or lungs are expected to be positioned”); wherein the comfort system (fluid bladders 12a-e) includes a plurality of bladders (fluid bladders 12a-e) disposed ([0017] teaches “each of the cushions 18a-e can contain one of the fluid bladders 12a-e;” [0018] teaches the fluid bladders 12a-e being “encased” within the plurality of cushions 18a-e) beneath the seat cushion (top surface of lower cushion 18e) and the seat back (top surface(s) of plurality of cushions 18a-d) and adjacent the seat frame (bottom surface(s) of plurality of cushions 18a-e); and wherein each of the plurality of bladders (fluid bladders 12a-e) is individually controlled and individually transitionable between ([0024] teaches “the controller 24 can control the pump 14 in response to any one of the pressure signals by instructing the pump 14 to inflate one or more of the bladders 12a-e when the controller 24 determines the air pressure in a given bladder 12a-e is below a set amount”) the inflated condition ([0024] teaches “the controller 24 can control the pump 14 in response to any one of the pressure signals by instructing the pump 14 to inflate one or more of the bladders 12a-e”) and the deflated condition ([0025] teaches “the controller 24 can also be in communication with an air release valve or other structure for releasing air from the bladders 12a-e”).
Regarding claim 8, Young et al. and Benson et al. teach the apparatus of claims 1 and 7. Young et al. teaches in [0024-0025] and [0064] that at least some of the plurality of bladders (fluid bladders 12a-e) cyclically transition between the inflated condition ([0024] teaches “the controller 24 can control the pump 14 in response to any one of the pressure signals by instructing the pump 14 to inflate one or more of the bladders 12a-e”) and the deflated condition ([0025] teaches “the controller 24 can also be in communication with an air release valve or other structure for releasing air from the bladders 12a-e”) to thereby massage the occupant ([0064] teaches “another method of using the smart seat 10 or smart seat support 500 in any situation in which long term sitting occurs includes inflating and deflating the plurality of bladders throughout the sitting period so apply different pressure points on the subject during the sitting period” and “the bladders could be inflated/deflated in a pattern that optimizes circulation of the subject's legs over the sitting period without the subject getting up from the sitting position”).
Regarding claim 12, Young et al. and Benson et al. teach the apparatus of claims 1 and 7. Young et al. teaches in Figure 1, [0017], [0024-0025] and [0064] that the seat back (top surface(s) of plurality of cushions 18a-d) further includes two side bolsters (side cushions 18c, 18d) each disposed on (as shown in Figure 1) opposite sides (left and right sides) of the first longitudinal axis (center, longitudinal axis through lower cushion 18e); wherein at least one (fluid bladder 12b) of the plurality of bladders (fluid bladders 12a-e) is disposed between one of (Figure 1 teaches a portion of fluid bladder 12b extending between side cushion 18c and the center, longitudinal axis; further, Figure 1 teaches another portion of fluid bladder 12b extending between side cushion 18b and the center, longitudinal axis) the two side bolsters (side cushions 18c, 18d) and the first longitudinal axis (center, longitudinal axis through lower cushion 18e); and wherein each of another two (fluid bladders 12c and 12d) of the plurality of bladders (fluid bladders 12a-e) is disposed beneath a respective one of ([0017] teaches “each of the cushions 18a-e can contain one of the fluid bladders 12a-e;” Figure 1 teaches the fluid bladder 12c being positioned beneath side cushions 18c and fluid bladder 12d being positioned beneath side cushion 18d) the two side bolsters (side cushions 18c, 18d) adjacent (near, as shown in Figure 1; [0017] teaches “each of the cushions 18a-e can contain one of the fluid bladders 12a-e;”) the seat frame (bottom surface(s) of plurality of cushions 18a-e) and is transitionable between the inflated condition ([0024] teaches “the controller 24 can control the pump 14 in response to any one of the pressure signals by instructing the pump 14 to inflate one or more of the bladders 12a-e”) and the deflated condition ([0025] teaches “the controller 24 can also be in communication with an air release valve or other structure for releasing air from the bladders 12a-e”) to thereby adjust a comfort ([0064] teaches “includes inflating and deflating the plurality of bladders throughout the sitting period so apply different pressure points on the subject during the sitting period” and “increase in pressure to provide a firmer support to the subject”) and size of the two side bolsters (side cushions 18c, 18d).
Regarding claim 14, Young et al. and Benson et al. teach the apparatus of claims 1 and 7. Young et al. teaches in [0021] and [0026] that the plurality of bladders (fluid bladders 12a-e) are configured to detect (via sensors 22; [0021] teaches “each sensor of sensors 22 in communication with one of the bladders 12a-e”) at least one of the occupant ([0026] teaches “the array of sensors 22 can detect these waves, and thus the pressure signals output by the array of sensors 22 can indicate a heart rate, respiratory rate, or other information regarding the subject”) and an object disposed on the comfort system (fluid bladders 12a-e).
Regarding claim 16, Young et al. and Benson et al. teach the apparatus of claim 1. Young et al. and Benson et al. do not teach that the foam is an open-cell flexible polyurethane foam and the bladder is formed from an elastomeric thermoplastic polyurethane.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the present invention to provide that the foam is an open-cell flexible polyurethane foam and the bladder is formed from an elastomeric thermoplastic polyurethane, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding claim 17, Young et al. teaches in claim 10 a motor vehicle including the seat (claim 10 teaches “the seat is a vehicle driver seat”). Young et al. and Benson et al. teach the seat of claim 1 (see the rejection of claim 1 above).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Young et al. (US 2015/0008710 A1), in view of Benson et al. (US 2015/0210192 A1) and further in view of TAN et al. (CN 210844773 U) (with reference to the attached translation).
Regarding claim 5, Young et al. and Benson et al. teach the apparatus of claims 1 and 4. Young et al. and Benson et al. do not teach that the comfort system further includes an airflow meter disposed between the bladder and the pump and configured for measuring a flowrate of air between the pump and the cavity.
However, TAN et al. teaches in Figures 1 and 2 an analogous device wherein the comfort system further includes an airflow meter (flow meter 13) disposed between (as shown in Figures 1 and 2) the bladder (bladder 14) and the pump (pump 4) and configured for measuring a flowrate of air between (page 4 teaches that the flow meter 13 is “convenient for checking the oxygen supplied amount;” capable of being used to monitor air) the pump (pump 4) and the cavity (hollow interior of bladder 14).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the present invention to modify the comfort system of Young et al. as modified by Benson et al. such that the comfort system further includes an airflow meter disposed between the bladder and the pump and configured for measuring a flowrate of air between the pump and the cavity as taught by TAN et al. because this element is known to be convenient for checking the supplied amount, as TAN et al. teaches on page 4.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Young et al. (US 2015/0008710 A1), in view of Benson et al. (US 2015/0210192 A1), in view of TAN et al. (CN 210844773 U) (with reference to the attached translation) and further in view of GAO et al. (CN 209745895 U) (with reference to the attached translation).
Regarding claim 6, Young et al., Benson et al. and TAN et al. teach the apparatus of claims 1, 4 and 5. Young et al., Benson et al. and TAN et al. do not teach that the comfort system further includes a valve disposed between the airflow meter and the pump and configured for restricting airflow between the pump and the cavity.
However, GAO et al. teaches in Figure 1, pages 3-4 and claim 1 an analogous device wherein the comfort system further includes a valve (second valve 5) disposed between (claim 1 teaches “the second valve (5) is connected with the compressed air pump is set between the flow meter (6)”) the airflow meter (flowmeter 6) and the pump (page 4 teaches “the second valve 5 connected with the compressed air pump (not shown)”) and configured for restricting airflow between the pump (“compressed air pump,” taught on page 4) and the cavity (hollow interior of flexible bag 4).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the present invention to modify the comfort system of Young et al. as modified by Benson et al. and TAN et al. to further include a valve disposed between the airflow meter and the pump and configured for restricting airflow between the pump and the cavity as taught by GAO et al. because this element is known to enable selective airflow through the system as desired, as GAO et al. teaches on pages 2-3.
Claim(s) 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Young et al. (US 2015/0008710 A1), in view of Benson et al. (US 2015/0210192 A1) and further in view of OEBERG et al. (US 2026/0014908 A1).
Regarding claims 9 and 10, Young et al. and Benson et al. teach the apparatus of claims 1 and 7. Young et al. and Benson et al. do not teach that two of the plurality of bladders disposed beneath the seat back are disposed on opposite sides of the first longitudinal axis, are disposed adjacent the third axis, and are configured to inflate to thereby provide lumbar support to the occupant; and wherein each of the two of the plurality of bladders cyclically transition between the inflated condition and the deflated condition to thereby massage the occupant.
However, OEBERG et al. teaches in Figure 1, the abstract, [0020], [0023-0024] and [0035-0036] an analogous device wherein two (bottom two pneumatic cells 30, shown in Figure 1) of the plurality of bladders (plurality of pneumatic cells 30) disposed beneath ([0020] teaches “a flexible reaction plate 32 (FIGS. 5-6) covers a forward surface of the plurality of pneumatic cells 30;” [0023] teaches “the pneumatic cells 30 may also be covered directly by a firm padding layer that defines the padding or cushioning of the seatback”) the seat back (seatback 26) are disposed on (as shown in Figure 1) opposite sides (left and right sides) of the first longitudinal axis (center, longitudinal axis), are disposed adjacent (as shown in Figure 1) the third axis (horizontal pivot axis of seat 10, understood to be positioned at the location where the seat back 26 meets the seat cushion), and are configured to inflate ([0020] teaches “the lumbar support system 20 uses smaller pneumatic cells 20 than prior pneumatic lumber systems that increased response because the smaller volume cells can inflate and deflate quickly;” [0024] teaches “the two (or more) cells in each row being inflated”) to thereby provide lumbar support to the occupant ([0035] teaches “the lumbar support system 20 may have at least two pneumatic cells 30”); and wherein each of the two (bottom two pneumatic cells 30, shown in Figure 1) of the plurality of bladders (plurality of pneumatic cells 30) cyclically transition between the inflated condition and the deflated condition to thereby massage the occupant ([0036] teaches “the plurality of pneumatic cells 30 may be arranged in other suitable configurations for providing moving lumbar support with massage and/or rotation functionality;” the abstract teaches “each pneumatic cell is expandable and independently controllable to expand between a first position and a second position”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the present invention to modify the plurality of bladders of Young et al. as modified by Benson et al. to provide that two of the plurality of bladders disposed beneath the seat back are disposed on opposite sides of the first longitudinal axis, are disposed adjacent the third axis, and are configured to inflate to thereby provide lumbar support to the occupant; and wherein each of the two of the plurality of bladders cyclically transition between the inflated condition and the deflated condition to thereby massage the occupant as taught by OEBERG et al. because this element is known to provide left, right and lower adjustment of the lumbar region and provide “an enhancement of body fit functionality,” as OEBERG et al. teaches in [0029-0030].
Regarding claim 11, Young et al. and Benson et al. teach the apparatus of claims 1 and 7. Young et al. and Benson et al. does not teach that two of the plurality of bladders are disposed on opposite sides of the first longitudinal axis, are spaced apart from the third axis, and are configured to inflate to thereby provide upper back support to the occupant.
However, OEBERG et al. teaches in Figure 1, [0020], [0024] an analogous device wherein two (top two pneumatic cells 30, shown in Figure 1) of the plurality of bladders (plurality of pneumatic cells 30) are disposed on opposite sides (left and right sides) of the first longitudinal axis (center, longitudinal axis), are spaced apart from (as shown in Figure 1) the third axis (horizontal pivot axis of seat 10, understood to be positioned at the location where the seat back 26 meets the seat cushion), and are configured to inflate ([0020] teaches “the lumbar support system 20 uses smaller pneumatic cells 20 than prior pneumatic lumber systems that increased response because the smaller volume cells can inflate and deflate quickly;” [0024] teaches “the two (or more) cells in each row being inflated”) to thereby provide upper back support to the occupant (Figure 1 teaches the top two pneumatic cells 30 being positioned to contact and act on an upper portion of the user’s back; [0020] teaches “each pneumatic cell 30 is expandable and independently controllable to expand to provide increasing support as the pneumatic cells expand between”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the present invention to modify the plurality of bladders of Young et al. as modifies by Benson et al. to provide that two of the plurality of bladders are disposed on opposite sides of the first longitudinal axis, are spaced apart from the third axis, and are configured to inflate to thereby provide upper back support to the occupant as taught by OEBERG et al. because this element is known to provide left, right and upper adjustment of the lumbar region and provide “an enhancement of body fit functionality,” as OEBERG et al. teaches in [0029-0030].
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Young et al. (US 2015/0008710 A1), in view of Benson et al. (US 2015/0210192 A1) and further in view of Cabrit et al. (US 2025/0196747 A1).
Regarding claim 13, Young et al. and Benson et al. teach the apparatus of claims 1 and 7. Young et al. and Benson et al. do not teach that the seat cushion further includes two leg bolsters each disposed on opposite sides of the second longitudinal axis; wherein at least one of the plurality of bladders is disposed between one of the two leg bolsters and the second longitudinal axis; and wherein each of another two of the plurality of bladders is disposed beneath a respective one of the two leg bolsters adjacent the seat frame and is transitionable between the inflated condition and the deflated condition to thereby adjust a comfort and size of the two leg bolsters.
However, Cabrit et al. teaches in Figures 1-2, [0002] and [0056-0057] an analogous device wherein the seat cushion (seat bottom 12) further includes ([0056] teaches “the seat bottom 12 includes a central seating surface 18 and a pair of side bolster regions 20 laterally spaced about the central seating surface 18”) two leg bolsters (side bolster regions 20) each disposed on (as shown in Figure 1) opposite sides (left and right sides) of the second longitudinal axis (center, longitudinal axis); wherein at least one (fluid bladder 28’) of the plurality of bladders (fluid bladders 28, 28’, 30, 32) is disposed between (as shown in Figures 1 and 2) one of the two leg bolsters (side bolster regions 20) and the second longitudinal axis (center, longitudinal axis); and wherein each of another two (two fluid bladders 30) of the plurality of bladders (fluid bladders 28, 28’, 30, 32) is disposed beneath a respective one of (as shown in Figures 1 and 2; [0057] teaches “the seat bottom 12 also includes a pair of lower side bolster fluid bladder assemblies 30, each located in the seat bottom 12 adjacent the side bolster seating surface 20”) the two leg bolsters (side bolster regions 20) adjacent the seat frame ([0057] teaches “each of the side bolster fluid bladder assemblies 30, 32 is supported upon a frame 34, 36 of the corresponding seat bottom 12 and seat back 14”) and is transitionable between the inflated condition and the deflated condition ([0002] teaches “the valves inflate or deflate associated fluid bladders in a seat”) to thereby adjust a comfort and size (inflation of the two fluid bladders 30 would necessarily increase the size and firmness of the two fluid bladders 30; deflation of the two fluid bladders 30 would necessarily decrease the size and firmness of the two fluid bladders 30) of the two leg bolsters (side bolster regions 20).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the present invention to modify the seat cushion of Young et al. as modified by Benson et al. such that the seat cushion further includes two leg bolsters each disposed on opposite sides of the second longitudinal axis; wherein at least one of the plurality of bladders is disposed between one of the two leg bolsters and the second longitudinal axis; and wherein each of another two of the plurality of bladders is disposed beneath a respective one of the two leg bolsters adjacent the seat frame and is transitionable between the inflated condition and the deflated condition to thereby adjust a comfort and size of the two leg bolsters as taught by Cabrit et al. because this element is known to “provide lateral support to a seated occupant when the vehicle experiences a turn or cornering,” as Cabrit et al. teaches in [0058].
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Young et al. (US 2015/0008710 A1), in view of Benson et al. (US 2015/0210192 A1) and further in view of Nicola et al. (US 2023/0249599 A1).
Regarding claim 15, Young et al. and Benson et al. teach the apparatus of claims 1, 7 and 14. Young et al. and Benson et al. do not teach a pressure sensor disposed within the cavity of at least one of the plurality of bladders and configured to detect a pressure exerted by the at least one of the occupant and the object on the comfort system.
However, Nicola et al. teaches in [0048] and Figure 3G an analogous device with a pressure sensor (plurality of pressure sensors 324) disposed within the cavity of at least one of ([0048] teaches “the pressure sensors 324 can be provided within or otherwise associated with each of the plurality of bladders 312 or in select bladders 312”) the plurality of bladders (plurality of bladders 312) and configured to detect a pressure exerted by the at least one of the occupant and the object on the comfort system ([0048] teaches “the plurality of bladders 312 include or otherwise are in communication with a plurality of pressure sensors 324 to measure the pressure of the fluid within each of the plurality of bladders 312, the pressure being applied by the plurality of bladders 312 to the user 104, and/or the pressure being applied by the user 104 to the plurality of bladders 312”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the present invention to modify the comfort system of Young et al. as modified by Benson et al. to include a pressure sensor disposed within the cavity of at least one of the plurality of bladders and configured to detect a pressure exerted by the at least one of the occupant and the object on the comfort system as taught by Nicola et al. because this element is known “to provide feedback to a controller about the occupant's physical features and dynamic interaction with the seat,” as Nicola et al. teaches in [0023].
Conclusion
/VICTORIA HICKS FISHER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3786 3/30/2026