DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 11 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11 recites a first transceiver “a transceiver device” in line 3, and second transceiver “a transceiver device” in line 4. Claim 11 then refers to “the transceiver device” in line 4, but does not differentiate between the transceivers recited. Thus, a person of ordinary skill would not be able to determine to which transceiver the claim refers.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by United States Patent Application Publication 2011/0044697 A1 to Peter et al.
Regarding Claim 1, Peter discloses a system for data transmission between a first component and a second component (Fig. 1, communication between topside equipment (7) and downhole electronics (13)) of a sewer inspection and/or maintenance system (this section of the preamble recites intended use and provides no definition to the invention recited below, and therefore is not considered a limitation; MPEP 2111.02 II.), wherein
- the first component (Fig. 7, upper drill pipe (12) comprises:
- a first coupling element, (Fig. 7, 1st coupler (21)) and
- a first transceiver device (Fig. 7, upper repeater (70)),
wherein the first coupling element comprises the first transceiver device (Fig. 7, repeater (70) within 1st coupler (21)),
- the second component (Fig. 7, lower drill pipe (12)) comprises:
- a second coupling element, (Fig. 7, 2nd coupler (22)) and
- a second transceiver device(Fig. 7, lower repeater (70)),
wherein the second coupling element comprises the second transceiver device(Fig. 7, lower repeater (70) within 2nd coupler (21)),
wherein the two-first and second coupling elements (21, 22) can be connected to one another (Fig. 7, 1st coupler and 2nd coupler connected to each other) in such a way that, when the coupling elements are connected to one another, the first and second transceiver devices comprised, respectively, by the first and second two coupling elements can be operatively coupled (Fig. 7, upper transceiver (70) optically communicates with lower transceiver (70)), and
wherein the first and second two transceiver devices are each adapted to carry out an optical data transmission between them (Fig. 7, upper transceiver (70) optically communicates with lower transceiver (70)).
Regarding Claim 2, Peter discloses wherein the first and second transceiver devices are each adapted to carry out bidirectional optical data transmission between them (Fig. 7, 17; ¶ 52.)
Regarding Claim 3, Peter discloses wherein the first coupling element has a first electrical interface (Fig. 6, 1st coupler (21) has O/E converter (60)); and
the second coupling element has a second electrical interface (Fig. 6, 2nd coupler (22) has O/E converter (60)),
the first and second electrical interfaces being adapted to carry out a transmission of electrical energy and/or data between the first and second components when the first and second coupling elements are connected to one another (Fig. 6, inductive data coupling between 1st and 2nd coupling elements.)
Regarding Claim 4, Peter discloses wherein the first and second electrical interfaces are adapted to carry out the transmission of electrical energy on an inductive basis (Fig. 6, inductive coupling (62)).
Regarding Claim 5, Peter discloses wherein the first and second coupling elements are connectable to one another so as to be rotatable relative to one another about a common axis of rotation (Fig. 7, upper drill pipe (12) and lower drill pipe (12) are connected by threads (¶ 54) are rotatable relative to each other along a common axis (Fig. 7, fiber (16) runs along the common axis)).
Regarding Claim 6, Peter discloses wherein the first and second transceiver devices each have transmitting and/or receiving optics which are arranged in the axis of rotation of a respective one of the first or second coupling elements (Fig. 7, optical devices along the rotation axis.)
Regarding Claim 7, Peter discloses wherein the first and second coupling elements are designed such that, in the connected state the form a largely gas- and fluid-tight volume between the coupling elements that serves as a path of transmission for optical data traveling between the first and second transceiver devices (Fig. 4, flanges (53, 43), inner and outer seals (41, 42) prevent contamination of the optical coupling; ¶ 54; sub-surface material includes fluids, gases, and liquids; ¶ 45.)
Regarding Claim 8, Peter discloses wherein the components are each designed to be gas- and fluid-tight, and in particular are each arranged in a gas- and fluid- tight housing (Fig. 4, flanges (53, 43), inner and outer seals (41, 42) prevent contamination of the optical coupling; ¶ 54; sub-surface material includes fluids, gases, and liquids; ¶ 45.)
Regarding Claim 9, Peter discloses wherein the first and second transceiver devices are each adapted;
to convert received optical light pulses representing received data into an electrical signal representing the received data (Fig. 6, O/E converters (60)).
Regarding Claim 10, Peter discloses wherein the first and second coupling elements are detachably connectable to one another ((Fig. 7, upper drill pipe (12) and lower drill pipe (12) are connected by threads (¶ 54) detachably connected to each other.))
Regarding Claim 11, Peter discloses a coupling element for a component Fig. 1, communication between topside equipment (7) and downhole electronics (13)) of a sewer inspection and/or maintenance system (this section of the preamble recites intended use and provides no definition to the invention recited below, and therefore is not considered a limitation; MPEP 2111.02 II.),
wherein the coupling element comprises a transceiver device (Fig. 7, repeater (70) within 1st coupler (21)),
wherein the coupling element can be coupled to a further coupling element having a transceiver device (Fig. 7, 1st coupler and 2nd coupler with a transceiver connected to each other),
wherein the transceiver device is adapted to set up an optical data transmission to the transceiver device of the further coupling element (Fig. 7, upper transceiver (70) optically communicates with lower transceiver (70)).
Regarding Claim 12, Peter discloses wherein the coupling element comprises an electrical interface which is adapted to carry out a transmission of electrical energy and/or data with an electrical interface of the further coupling element ((Fig. 6, inductive data coupling between 1st and 2nd coupling elements.)
Regarding Claim 13, Peter discloses wherein the transceiver device has transmitting and/or receiving optics, wherein the transmitting and/or receiving optics are preferably arranged in an axis of rotation of the coupling element ((Fig. 7, optical devices along the rotation axis.)
Regarding Claim 14, Peter discloses a component of a sewer inspection and/or maintenance system (this section of the preamble recites intended use and provides no definition to the invention recited below, and therefore is not considered a limitation; MPEP 2111.02 II.),
comprising a coupling element and a transceiver device (Fig. 7, repeater (70) within 1st coupler (21)),
wherein the coupling element comprises the transceiver device (Fig. 7, repeater (70) within 1st coupler (21)),
and wherein the transceiver device is adapted to carry out an optical data transmission (Fig. 7, upper transceiver (70) optically communicates with lower transceiver (70)).
Regarding Claim 15, Peter discloses wherein the coupling element comprises an electrical interface wherein the electrical interface is adapted to transmit electrical energy and/or data (Fig. 6, inductive data coupling between 1st and 2nd coupling elements.)
Regarding Claim 16, Peter discloses wherein the electrical interface is adapted to transmit the electrical energy on an inductive basis (Fig. 6, inductive data coupling between 1st and 2nd coupling elements.)
Regarding Claim 17, Peter discloses wherein the transceiver device comprises an optical interface that is adapted to transmit data (Fig. 7, upper transceiver (70) optically communicates with lower transceiver (70)).
Conclusion
/DANIEL G DOBSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2634 06/26/2026