Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Ewas et al. et al (US20070142849) in view of Moeller et al(US7097539).
Regarding Claim 1, Ewas et al. discloses an insertion tool comprising: a flexible section(24); a rigidization actuator(see paragraph 41 lines 10-17) configured to actuate the flexible section(24) between a rigidized state and a relaxed state, wherein in the rigidized state, a fluid path is formed within the flexible section(106); an end effector(16) coupled to the flexible section(24); see Fig 1, paragraph 41 lines 10-17 “ Tubular body(14) may be configured to be torqueable through various methods, e. utilizing a braided tubular construction, such that when a proximally located handle is manipulated and/or rotated by a practitioner from outside the patient’s body, the longitudinal an/or torquing force is transmitted along body(14) such that the distal end of body(14) is advanced, withdrawn or rotated in a corresponding manner.
Ewas et al. does not explicitly disclose an end effector actuator comprising at least one pneumatic turbine configured to transform fluid force of a fluid from the fluid path into torque to drive a rotation of the end effector.
However, Moeller et al disclose an end effector actuator comprising at least one pneumatic turbine configured to transform fluid force of a fluid from the fluid path into torque to drive a rotation of the end effector Col. 2, Ln. 32-40 “The grinding tool is adapted to be used with an endoscope for blending a defect on a turbine blade inside a casing. The grinding tool comprises a base unit having a base, a handle extending downwardly from the base proximate the rear of the base, and a trigger located in front of the handle and extending downwardly from the base also. Although one configuration of base unit is illustrated, the base unit may assume numerous other configurations without departing from the spirit of this invention”, Col. 2, Ln. 23-31 “In one preferred embodiment, the grinding tool is coupled to a compressed air supply via an air supply line. Air pulses provided by the air supply reciprocate a grinding head operatively coupled to the grinding tool. In another preferred embodiment, fluid is transported to the grinding tool via a supply line and functions to reciprocate the grinding head. In yet another preferred embodiment, a motorized driver is coupled to the grinding head and upon being activated mechanically reciprocates the grinding head.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to utilize Ewas et al. et al (US20070142849) insertion tool comprising an end effector coupled to a flexible section with an end effector actuator comprising at least one pneumatic turbine configured to transform fluid force of a fluid from the fluid path into torque to drive a rotation as taught by Moeller et al (US7097539) to provide controlled torque to drive a rotation, hence saving energy and cost of operation of end effector.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Ewas et al. (US20070142849) in view of Moeller et al (US7097539).
As of Claim 2, Ewas et al. in view of Moeller et al discloses an insertion tool with all the limitations of Claim 1.
Ewas et al. further discloses an insertion tool wherein the flexible section comprises a plurality of rigidizable links, see Fig 1, see, paragraph 39, paragraph 41 line 7-10 “Such an instrument assembly generally comprises a flexible catheter or tubular body(14).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Ewas et al. (US20070142849) in view of Moeller et al. (US7097539).
As of Claim 3, Ewas et al. in view of Moeller et al discloses an insertion tool with all the limitations of Claim 2.
Ewas et al further discloses an insertion tool and plurality of rigidizable links
Ewas et al does not explicitly disclose that the insertion tool is housed substantially within one or more of the pluralities of rigidizable links.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have known that the insertion tool could be housed substantially within one or more of the pluralities of rigidizable links, while maintaining it’s connections, a placement like this is a predictable arrangement of the rigidizable link in a housing according to availably space.
13. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to house the insertion tool substantially within one of rigidizable links to optimize performance of the insertion tool to provide support and protection for the insertion tool.
14. Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Ewas et al. (US20070142849) in view of Moeller et al(US7097539) and further in view of Oglesby(DE60214016).
15. As of Claim 4, Ewas et al. in view of Moeller et al discloses an insertion tool with all the limitations of Claim 2.
Ewas et al further discloses an insertion tool and plurality of rigidizable links
Ewas et al does not explicitly disclose the insertion tool wherein the end effector actuator comprises two or more pneumatic turbines each housed within a different one of the plurality of rigidizable links.
Oglesby discloses a pneumatic turbine that convert compressed fluid into rotation and gives power, see Fig 12, paragraph 101 “a cross-sectional representation of a simplified hydraulic/pneumatic turbine motor with a design according to the present invention”. Oglesby also discloses the pneumatic motor having a plurality of motor stages (49, 50) which would each include a turbine when using the pneumatic motor embodiment of Fig. 12.
A person of ordinary skill in the art can recognize that on selecting a pneumatic turbine, housing the effector actuator within the rigidizable link is known to provide a protected and packaged arrangement as the same configuration may be repeated in more rigidizable links, wherein several independent end effector actuator functions. Providing two or more pneumatic turbine within different rigidizable links merely implement the same configuration and housing arrangement without modifying the system operation.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to select two or more pneumatic turbines with each housed within a different one of the plurality of rigidizable links to enable rotary actuation and preserve the end effector actuator, see In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960)
14. Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Ewas et al. (US20070142849) in view of Moeller et al(US7097539) and further in view of Oglesby (DE60214016).
15. As of Claim 5, Ewas et al. in view of Moeller et al and Oglesby discloses an insertion tool with all the limitations of Claim 4.
16. Ewas et al. in view of Moeller et al and Oglesby does not explicitly disclose an insertion tool wherein the two or more pneumatic turbines form a serial flow circuit along the fluid path.
Oglesby discloses pneumatic motors provided in series (49, 50) with an inner flow path (65).
A person of ordinary skill in the art can recognize that, where two or more pneumatic turbine is present along an aligned flow path the turbine can be connected in series forming a serial flow circuit and that fluid can be supplied from one turbine to the other along the fluid path.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to utilize insertion tool of Ewas et al. with two or more pneumatic turbines as taught by of Oglesby and form a serial flow circuit along the fluid path so that the fluid will flow through the turbines thereby using an aligned fluid path to provide power to the turbines and hence enhance the efficiency of the insertion tool.
17. Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Ewas et al. (US20070142849) in view of Moeller et al(US7097539) and further in view of Oglesby (DE60214016).
18. As of Claim 6, Ewas et al. in view of Moeller et al. and Oglesby discloses an insertion tool with all the limitations of Claim 5.
Oglesby teaches several numbers of turbine blades and the number of turbine blade can be varied according to the rotational speed and torque, paragraph 101 “As is customary in the general design of turbine engines, 121 rows of turbine blades are alternately attached to the (now fixed) shaft 120 and the (now rotating) housing, each row having an opposite angle of attack with respect to the axial fluid flow. The redirection of the flow through the respective row of turbine blades, alternating between the rotor turbine blades 122 and the casing turbine blades 123, causes an impulse and a mass impact on the respective turbine blade, whereby an angular force/torque and movement are applied to the engine housing 121. The number of turbine blades 122, 123 in each row and the angle of attack of each row can be varied in many ways for the specific application (torque and rotational speed) and the fluids used. In this illustration, half (4 of 8) of the turbine blades 122 in the front row, which are attached to the shaft 120, 29 have been removed to allow a view of the next row (8 of 8) of turbine blades 123 attached to the housing 121”.
19. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to utilize insertion tool Ewas et al. with two or more pneumatic turbines comprises of an upstream turbine and a downstream turbine having different diameters, number of blades, and/or blade pitch as taught by Oglesby to provide directed flow path and tailor the turbines to desired rotational speed and torque hence enhance the efficiency of the insertion tool.
20. Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Ewas et al. (US20070142849) in view Moeller et al(US7097539) and further in view of Oglesby (DE60214016).
21. As of Claim 7, Ewas et al. in view of Moeller et al. and Oglesby discloses an insertion tool with all the limitations of Claim 4.
22. Ewas et al. in view of Moeller et al. and Oglesby does not explicitly disclose an insertion tool wherein the plurality of rigidizable links form two or more fluid paths when rigidized, wherein the two or more fluid paths form parallel flow paths, source and return flow paths, or a closed-circuit flow path.
A person of ordinary skill in the art can recognized that in the presence of pressurized fluid supplied through the rigidizable links to move the pneumatic turbines an extra fluid path can be provided to distribute the fluid to two or more pneumatic turbines. These several fluid paths can predictably be aligned in parallel so that these turbines receive fluid from a fluid source without the fluid passing from one turbine to the other but get the fluid in parallel and in return flowpaths, see MPEP2143.
23
24. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to utilize insertion tool Ewas et al. with two or more pneumatic turbines as taught by Oglesby and configure the fluid paths utilizing known fluid routing system in parallel flow paths, source and return flow paths providing desirable and multiple fluid paths hence enhancing the efficiency of the insertion tool.
25. Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Ewas et al. (US20070142849) in view of Moeller et al(US7097539) and further in view of Oglesby (DE60214016).
26. As of Claim 8, Ewas et al. in view of Moeller et al. and Oglesby discloses an insertion tool with all the limitations of Claim 4.
Oglesby teaches several numbers of turbine blades and the number of turbine blade can be varied according to the rotational speed and torque, paragraph 101 “As is customary in the general design of turbine engines, 121 rows of turbine blades are alternately attached to the (now fixed) shaft 120 and the (now rotating) housing, each row having an opposite angle of attack with respect to the axial fluid flow. The redirection of the flow through the respective row of turbine blades, alternating between the rotor turbine blades 122 and the casing turbine blades 123, causes an impulse and a mass impact on the respective turbine blade, whereby an angular force/torque and movement are applied to the engine housing 121. The number of turbine blades 122, 123 in each row and the angle of attack of each row can be varied in many ways for the specific application (torque and rotational speed) and the fluids used. In this illustration, half (4 of 8) of the turbine blades 122 in the front row, which are attached to the shaft 120, 29 have been removed to allow a view of the next row (8 of 8) of turbine blades 123 attached to the housing 121”. Though Oglesby discloses the two or more pneumatic turbines include at least two turbines and shows (Fig. 5) to pneumatic motors provided aligned in series.
29. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to utilize insertion tool Ewas et al. (US20070142849) with two or more pneumatic turbines include at least two turbines that are axially aligned with each other as taught by of Oglesby (DE60214016) to provide directed flow path and hence enhance the efficiency of the insertion tool.
30. Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Ewas et al. (US20070142849) in view of Moeller et al. (US 7097539) and Oglesby (DE60214016) and further view of Harding et al.(US20140265337).
31. As of Claim 9, Ewas et al. in view Moeller et al. and Oglesby does not explicitly disclose an insertion tool wherein the two or more pneumatic turbines form an Archimedean screw turbine or a conical screw turbine.
Harding et al.(US20140265337) discloses an Archimedean screw turbine having cambered flighting with improved efficiency”, paragraph 12 “The present invention provides an Archimedean screw turbine generator of increased efficiency. Rather than having the helical flighting of the turbine perpendicular to the central axis of the torque tube, this design incorporates cupped or cambered flighting. The Archimedean screw is, of course, installed on a slant”, paragraph 13 “Efficiency of the improved Archimedean screw turbine is also enhanced by smoothing water flow to the top end of the turbine, as well as from the bottom end of the turbine”.
32. A person of ordinary skill in the art can recognize the disclosed Archimedean screw turbine of Harding et al. as a known turbine positioning and therefore an optimized configuration for a multiple fluid driven turbine, see In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
33. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to utilize insertion tool of Ewas et al. and configure the two or more pneumatic turbines to form an Archimedean screw turbine as taught by Harding et al.(US20140265337) to provide directed flow path and hence enhance the efficiency of the insertion tool.
34. Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Ewas et al. (US20070142849) in view of Moeller et al (US7097539) and Oglesby(DE60214016) in further view of Wu(CN202883101).
35. As of Claim 10, Ewas et al. in view of Moeller et al. and Oglesby discloses an insertion tool with all the limitations of Claim 4.
Ewas et al. in view of Oglesby previously teaches several numbers of turbine blades and the number of turbine blade can be varied according to the rotational speed and torque associated with rigidizable links with the links capable of relative movement in the relaxed state.
Ewas et al. in view of Oglesby does not explicitly disclose, wherein the two or more pneumatic turbines are connected via a shaft coupler that allows for relative movement of the two or more pneumatic turbines.
However, Wu discloses a pneumatic turbine(5) having a rotating impeller shaft vertical to the fluid flow direction, driven by exhaust air flow rotating in the same direction, power output end of the pneumatic impeller (5) connected to generator 3 through coupling (9). through shaft coupling (9) the pneumatic turbine 5, paragraph “a power output end of the pneumatic turbine connected with the generator through a coupler, the pneumatic turbine and generator. through shaft coupler, when heat on the blade to the generator, a large part of the heat can be air around the shaft coupler away”,
36. A person of ordinary skill in the art can recognize when the shaft coupling is utilized between the turbines organized in the different rigidizable links where coupling accommodates the relative movement of the turbines obtaining articulation of the rigidizable links in the relaxed states.
37. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to connect two or more pneumatic turbines via a shaft coupler that allows for relative movement of the two or more pneumatic turbines when the plurality of rigidizable links are in the relaxed state, hence transmitting a rotational output form the turbines and keeping the articulation of the rigidizable links in the relaxed states.
38. Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Ewas et al. (US20070142849) in view of Moeller et al(US7097539) and Oglesby(DE60214016) in further view of Wu(CN202883101) in further view of Prevost(US20220136585).
39. As of Claim 11, Ewas et al. in view of Moeller et al. and Oglesby in further view of Wu discloses an insertion tool with all the limitations of Claim 10.
38. Ewas et al. in view of Moeller et al. and Oglesby in further view of Wu does not explicitly disclose wherein the shaft coupler comprises a flexible cable, universal coupling, cardan coupling, bevel gears, magnetic coupling, fluid coupling, friction plates, elastic shaft, or compressing springs.
39. Prevost discloses mechanical coupling system comprising flexible couplings and universal couplings for connecting universal joint shafts and double Cardan shafts, paragraph 66 “Some embodiments of the present disclosure include power transmission systems that include mechanical couplings, including flexible mechanical couplings. Some exemplary mechanical couplings include, but are not limited to, jaw couplings, claw couplings, and knuckle joints. In some embodiments, the mechanical couplings disclosed herein include universal joints, which are sometimes referred to as universal couplings, U-joints, Cardan joints, Spicer joints, Hardy Spicer joints, and Hooke's joints”, see Figs 5a-f, paragraph 73 “In some embodiments, the power transmission system disclosed herein includes a double Cardan universal joint for use in driveline applications, such as for use in drilling motors. Assemblies with double Cardan universal joints include two sets of universal joints. In operation, when the sets of universal joints are aligned, assemblies with double Cardan universal joints can provide constant velocity. With reference to FIGS. 5A-5F, a portion of an assembly having a double Cardan universal joint for use in driveline applications is depicted. Assembly 5000 is substantially similar to assembly 4000, with the addition of shaft couplers 5050a and 5050b. Assembly 5000 includes shaft 5002. Shaft 5002 includes a hinge on each end thereof, including hinge 5008 and hinge 5010. Assembly 5000 includes shaft couplers 5050a and 5050b. Assembly includes hinge 5005 coupled or integral with shaft 5004, and hinge 5007 coupled or integral with shaft 5006. Hinge 5008 may be coupled with one end of shaft coupler 5050a, and hinge 5005 may be coupled with the opposite end of shaft coupler 5050a”.
40. The claim recites Markush grouping style or alternative shaft coupling elements, see MPEP 2117, In re Harnisch, 631 F.2d 716, 719-20, 206 USPQ 300, 302-304 (CCPA 1980), therefore satisfying one of the recited coupling structures satisfies the alternative limitation, Prevost discloses cardan/universal joint coupling hence teaching atleast one of the alternative shaft couplers.
41. Flexible cable focuses on torque transmission along a flexible path, universal coupling and cardan coupling addresses issue of misalignment , bevel gears focus on transmitting rotation between intersecting axes and magnetic coupling, fluid coupling, friction plates, elastic shaft, or compressing springs are all coupling mechanisms present for transmitting power between driven and driving components and selection of these coupling mechanisms by a person of ordinary skill in the art will depend on the required direction, flexibility, alignment or operational safety of the shaft couplers.
42. A person of ordinary skill in the art will be motivated to select a shaft coupler comprising a flexible cable, bevel gears, magnetic coupling, fluid coupling, friction plates, elastic shaft, or compressing springs and cardan/universal couplings which are suitable for connecting two or more pneumatic turbines according to known design considerations such as maintaining shaft alignment, torque capacity and change in rotational axis.
43. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to connect two or more pneumatic turbines via a shaft coupler that comprises a flexible cable, universal coupling, cardan coupling, bevel gears, magnetic coupling, fluid coupling, friction plates, elastic shaft, or compressing springs to allow for relative movement of the two or more pneumatic turbines when the plurality of rigidizable links are in the relaxed state hence transmitting power and accommodating misalignment between the turbines and enhancing the efficiency of the pneumatic turbines.
44. Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Ewas et al. (US20070142849) in view of Moeller et al (US7097539).
45. As of Claim 12, Ewas et al. in view of Moeller et al discloses an insertion tool with all the limitations of Claim 2.
46. Ewas et al. further discloses an insertion tool comprising a plurality of rigidizable links houses a fluid tube, and the fluid path is formed by connecting fluid tubes within each of the plurality of rigidizable links, paragraph 38 discloses a plurality of rigidizable links with a shape endoscopic body and shows the first and second lumens (26, 28) extending in the endoscopic body, forming a fluid path, paragraph 41 lines 10-17 “ Tubular body(14) may be configured to be torqueable through various methods, e. utilizing a braided tubular construction, such that when a proximally located handle is manipulated and/or rotated by a practitioner from outside the patient’s body, the longitudinal an/or torquing force is transmitted along body(14) such that the distal end of body(14) is advanced, withdrawn or rotated in a corresponding manner”.
43. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to provide lumens as interconnected fluid tubes to form a fluid path within each of the plurality of rigidizable links, hence maintaining a fluid path through the plurality of rigidizable links and allowing fluid communication while rigidized and articulation of the rigidized links in the relaxed state. see Fig 1, paragraph 41 line 7-10 “Such an instrument assembly generally comprises a flexible catheter or tubular body(14).
47. Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Ewas et al. (US20070142849) in view of a Moeller et al (US7097539).
48. As of Claim 13, Ewas et al. in view of Moeller et al discloses an insertion tool with all the limitations of Claim 2.
49. Ewas et al previously discloses an insertion tool and plurality of rigidizable links
50. Ewas et al does not explicitly disclose, wherein one or more of the plurality of rigidizable links comprise a sealing element for forming the fluid path with an adjacent rigidizable link, wherein the fluid path is a pneumatically sealed fluid path between a proximal end of the insertion tool and the end effector actuator.
51. Moeller discloses an air supply passing through an air supply line and including an air tube (92) extending through an articulated hinge structure (72), wherein the tube connects to a stop (55, 110) before and after the hinge structure, including the termination of the tube at the second stop (110).
52. It is well known in the art and well within the skill of one of ordinary skill in the art to select between a single piece construction and a multiple piece construction and provide for the appropriate connection structure, and one of ordinary skill would find it obvious to swap out the single air tube for a segmented air tube including interconnected seal elements, in order to reduce overall tension on the air tube during articulation of the hinge and to allow for optimization of the segment of air tube undergoing bending to for reliability.
53. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to utilize a rigidizable links comprising a sealing element to form the fluid path with an adjacent rigidizable link, hence preventing leakage and allowing fluid communication between a proximal end of the insertion tool and the end effector actuator.
54. Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Ewas et al. (US20070142849) in view of Moeller et al (US7097539) in further view of Oglesby(DE60214016)
55. . As of Claim 14, Ewas et al. in view of Moeller et al discloses an insertion tool with all the limitations of Claim 2.
56. Ewas et al previously discloses an insertion tool and plurality of rigidizable links
57. Ewas et al does not explicitly disclose, wherein a link of the plurality of rigidizable links comprises a shaft guide configured to position a pneumatic turbine of the at least one pneumatic turbine housed within the link, and wherein the shaft guide comprises an opening through which a shaft of the pneumatic turbine is inserted.
58. Oglesby discloses an inlet port(128) comprising a shaft guide(45, 46) configured to position a pneumatic turbine (49, 50) housed within the inlet port(128), where the shaft guide (45, 46) shows an opening receiving the turbine shaft (65, 66), hence positioning the shaft along the longitudinal axis(47), see Fig 5.
59. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to utilize rigidizable links of Ewas et al. (US20070142849) and modified by Moeller et al with shaft guide configured to position a pneumatic turbine of the at least one pneumatic turbine housed within the link as taught by Oglesby(DE60214016) to maintain alignment and proper positioning of the shaft.
60. Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Ewas et al. (US20070142849) in view of Moeller et al (US7097539).
61. As of Claim 15, Ewas et al. in view of Moeller et al discloses an insertion tool with all the limitations of Claim 14.
62. Ewas et al previously discloses an insertion tool and plurality of rigidizable links
63. Ewas et al does not explicitly disclose, wherein the shaft guide further comprises a bearing around the opening configured to reduce friction between the shaft and the shaft guide.
64. Oglesby discloses a shaft guide comprising a bearing(48) around the opening configured to reduce friction between the shaft(65, 66) and the shaft guide(45, 46), paragraph 84 “This is achieved by removing the exiting streams at the openings 78 or 79 be further throttled, whereby the internal pressures are increased at the selected ends of the engine. This increased pressure imbalance can act on the housing, resulting in the generation of a net axial force that compensates for some of the forces introduced and required during the drilling process. bearings 48 are used to absorb lateral forces generated during drilling and operation of the engine”.
65. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to utilize rigidizable links of Ewas et al. (US20070142849) and modified by Moeller et al with a bearing around the opening as taught by Oglesby(DE60214016) to reduce friction between the stationary guide and rotating shaft and maintain alignment of the shaft hence, enhancing efficient and smooth rotation of the shaft..
66. Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Ewas et al.
(US20070142849) in view of Moeller et al (US7097539).
67. As of Claim 16, Ewas et al. in view of Moeller et al discloses an insertion tool with all the limitations of Claim 2.
Ewas et al previously discloses an insertion tool and plurality of rigidizable links.
68. Ewas et al does not explicitly disclose, wherein the plurality of rigidizable links comprises an end link that houses a drive shaft and a bearing to support the end effector.
69. Moeller et al previously discloses end effector actuator is housed within an end link supporting the end effector, see Figs 1-5, Col. 2, Ln. 32-37 “The grinding tool is adapted to be used with an endoscope for blending a defect on a turbine blade inside a casing. The grinding tool comprises a base unit having a base, a handle extending downwardly from the base proximate the rear of the base, and a trigger located in front of the handle and extending downwardly from the base”.
70. . A person of ordinary skill in the art can recognize that the distal rigidizable link adjacent to the end effector is the end link and can further recognize that the end link can provide a housing for the drive shaft and a bearing due to the reason that these elements support and transmit motion to the end effector and needs to be protected.
71. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to house the bearing and the drive shaft within the end link to provide structural support of the end effector hence keeping these structures protected and enhancing transmission of rotational motion.
72. Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Ewas et al. (US20070142849) in view of Moeller et al (US7097539).
73. As of Claim 17, Ewas et al. in view of Moeller et al discloses an insertion tool with all the limitations of Claim 1.
74. Moeller et al disclose an end effector actuator comprising at least one pneumatic turbine configured to transform fluid force of a fluid from the fluid path, hence providing fluid force comprising of fluid pressure, fluid velocity, or fluid velocity-pressure compounded on the turbine.
75. A person of ordinary skill in the art can recognize when a pressurized fluid with a fluid path exerts force in the turbine and this obtains a force that makes the pneumatic turbine produce motion and power.
76. . Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to utilize fluid force comprising fluid pressure, fluid velocity, or fluid velocity-pressure compounded for driving the pneumatic turbine as action of pressurized fluid in pneumatic turbines is a predictable and known mechanism for converting fluid energy into mechanical energy and motion.
77. Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Ewas et al. (US20070142849) in view of Moeller et al (US7097539).
78. As of Claim 18, Ewas et al. in view of Moeller et al discloses an insertion tool with all the limitations of Claim 1.
79. Moeller et al further discloses end effector actuator is housed within an end link supporting the end effector, see Figs 1-5, Col. 2, Ln. 32-40 “The grinding tool is adapted to be used with an endoscope for blending a defect on a turbine blade inside a casing. The grinding tool comprises a base unit having a base, a handle extending downwardly from the base proximate the rear of the base, and a trigger located in front of the handle and extending downwardly from the base also. Although one configuration of base unit is illustrated, the base unit may assume numerous other configurations without departing from the spirit of this invention”, Col. 2, Ln. 23-31 “In one preferred embodiment, the grinding tool is coupled to a compressed air supply via an air supply line. Air pulses provided by the air supply reciprocate a grinding head operatively coupled to the grinding tool. In another preferred embodiment, fluid is transported to the grinding tool via a supply line and functions to reciprocate the grinding head. In yet another preferred embodiment, a motorized driver is coupled to the grinding head and upon being activated mechanically reciprocates the grinding head.
80. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to utilize Ewas et al. et al (US20070142849) insertion tool with an end effector actuator housed within an end link supporting the end effector as taught by Moeller et al (US7097539) to provide support and housing hence positioning the end effector actuator with the end effector enhancing efficiency of the end effector.
63. Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Ewas et al. (US20070142849) in view of Moeller et al (US7097539).
81. As of Claim 19, Ewas et al. in view of Moeller et al discloses an insertion tool with all the limitations of Claim 1.
82. Moeller et al further discloses end effector comprises at least one of a blending tool, a grinding tool, a drilling tool, a milling tool, a honing tool, a cleaning tool, or a polishing tool, see Figs 1-5, Col. 2, Ln. 32-40 “The grinding tool is adapted to be used with an endoscope for blending a defect on a turbine blade inside a casing. The grinding tool comprises a base unit having a base, a handle extending downwardly from the base proximate the rear of the base, and a trigger located in front of the handle and extending downwardly from the base also. Although one configuration of base unit is illustrated, the base unit may assume numerous other configurations without departing from the spirit of this invention”, Col. 2, Ln. 23-31 “In one preferred embodiment, the grinding tool is coupled to a compressed air supply via an air supply line. Air pulses provided by the air supply reciprocate a grinding head operatively coupled to the grinding tool. In another preferred embodiment, fluid is transported to the grinding tool via a supply line and functions to reciprocate the grinding head. In yet another preferred embodiment, a motorized driver is coupled to the grinding head and upon being activated mechanically reciprocates the grinding head.
83. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to utilize Ewas et al. et al (US20070142849) insertion tool with an end effector comprising at least one of a grinding tool, as taught by Moeller et al (US7097539) to enhance machining operation, thereby expanding the functionality of the end effector and increasing efficiency.
84 Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Ewas et al. (US20070142849) in view of Moeller et al (US7097539).
85. As of Claim 20, Ewas et al. in view of Moeller et al discloses an insertion tool with all the limitations of Claim 1.
86. Moeller et al further discloses an insertion tool comprises a turbo machinery servicing tool; grinding tools fall within a turbomachinery servicing tool which is a broad category of tools used in repair, removal of materials, and maintenance, see Figs 1-5, Col. 2, Ln. 32-40 “The grinding tool is adapted to be used with an endoscope for blending a defect on a turbine blade inside a casing. The grinding tool comprises a base unit having a base, a handle extending downwardly from the base proximate the rear of the base, and a trigger located in front of the handle and extending downwardly from the base also.
87. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to utilize Ewas et al. et al (US20070142849) insertion tool with a turbo machinery servicing tool, as taught by Moeller et al (US7097539) to enhance machining operation, including surface preparation thereby expanding the functionality of the insertion tool and increasing efficiency.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MICHAEL T KIO whose telephone number is (571)270-0743. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday 8a.m -5 p.m. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Robert W Hodge can be reached at 571-272-2097. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/MTK./
Examiner, Art Unit 3654
/ANNA M MOMPER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3619