DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Minelli 20250198351.
Regarding claim 1, Minelli teaches a turbine engine (Figs 1-6, 8A, and Fig 10 or Fig 11) comprising:
a fuel supply (50) having a fuel (pumped by 1002);
a heat exchanger (incl. 1004, 1006; combinations of heat exchangers are often referred to as heat exchangers, see evidentiary reference 20210404350, Figs 1a-2. elements 105, 301, 302) fluidly coupled to the fuel supply (Figs 10-11), the heat exchanger including an internal flow path (for fuel heating through 1004, 1006);
a first fuel line (from exit of 1006 to 1003) fluidly coupled to a first portion of the internal flow path (in 1006) of the heat exchanger to receive the fuel from the heat exchanger at a first temperature (the fuel must be at a temperature);
a second fuel line (downstream from 1004) fluidly coupled to a second portion of the internal flow path of the heat exchanger (in 1004) to receive the fuel from the heat exchanger at a second temperature, different from the first temperature (subsequent heating makes the second temperature higher than the first temperature),
wherein the second portion of the internal flow path is downstream of the first portion of the internal flow path along the internal flow path (of fuel from 1006 to 1004 to 16 per Figs 10-11); and
a combustion section (16) including a combustion chamber (Fig 1), the combustion chamber being fluidly coupled to the first fuel line and the second fuel line (Figs 10-11).
Regarding claim 14, Minelli teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention as discussed above. Minelli further teaches the fuel supply is provided exterior the combustion section (Figs 1-5).
Regarding claim 15, Minelli teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention as discussed above. Minelli further teaches fuel comprises hydrogen (hydrocarbon fuel comprises hydrogen; [0354]).
Claim(s) 1-2, 12, and 14-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Palmer 20250188869.
Regarding claim 1, Palmer teaches a turbine engine (Figs 1-3) comprising:
a fuel supply (104) having a fuel (passed to 217);
a heat exchanger (incl. 306, 310, 316; combinations of heat exchangers are often referred to as heat exchangers, see evidentiary reference 20210404350, Figs 1a-2. elements 105, 301, 302) fluidly coupled to the fuel supply (Figs 1-3), the heat exchanger including an internal flow path (for fuel heating through 310 then 316, then 306);
a first fuel line (320) fluidly coupled to a first portion of the internal flow path (in 310) of the heat exchanger to receive the fuel from the heat exchanger at a first temperature (the fuel must be at a temperature);
a second fuel line (302; or the line between 316 and 306) fluidly coupled to a second portion of the internal flow path of the heat exchanger (in 316 and/or 306) to receive the fuel from the heat exchanger at a second temperature, different from the first temperature (subsequent heating makes the second temperature higher than the first temperature),
wherein the second portion of the internal flow path is downstream of the first portion of the internal flow path along the internal flow path (of fuel from 310 to 316 to 306 to 322, 314 per Fig 3); and
a combustion section (304) including a combustion chamber (314), the combustion chamber being fluidly coupled to the first fuel line and the second fuel line (via 322; Fig 3).
Regarding claim 2, Palmer teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention as discussed above. Palmer further teaches the combustion section further comprises:
a wall (Fig 3 above) at least partially defining the combustion chamber (Fig 3), the wall having a fuel nozzle opening (for the fuel nozzle in Fig 3); and
a fuel nozzle (Fig 3 above) provided fluidly coupled with the fuel nozzle opening (Fig 3),
the fuel nozzle having a fuel nozzle outlet opening to the combustion chamber (to inject fuel),
a fuel nozzle centerline (bold dashed line in Fig 3 above), and
a first fuel injection channel fluidly coupled to the first fuel line (to feed fuel from 322 into 314).
Regarding claim 12, Palmer teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention as discussed above. Palmer further teaches a third fuel line (between 316 and 306; or 302) fluidly coupled to a third portion of the internal flow path of the heat exchanger (in 316 or 306) and drawing the fuel from the heat exchanger at a third temperature, different from the first temperature and the second temperature (each fuel line receiving fuel with different amounts of heating; fuel temperature from 310 < fuel temperature from 316 < fuel temperature from 306).
Regarding claim 14, Palmer teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention as discussed above. Palmer further teaches the fuel supply is provided exterior the combustion section (Fig 2).
Regarding claim 15, Palmer teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention as discussed above. Palmer further teaches the fuel comprises hydrogen (Abstract).
Regarding claim 16, Palmer teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention as discussed above. Palmer further teaches the first temperature and the second temperature are less than an auto-ignition temperature of the fuel ([0062, 77, 80]).
Regarding claim 17, Palmer teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention as discussed above. Palmer further teaches a compression section (213, 202, 204), a turbine section (208, 209), and at least one bleed air conduit (226, 318) fluidly coupling a bleed air from the compression section to the heat exchanger (Figs 2-3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3 and 5-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Minelli in view of Patel 20120151928
Regarding claim 2, Minelli teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention as discussed above. Minelli further teaches the first and second fuel lines merging to feed a single fuel to the combustor (16; Figs 6, 10).
Minelli does not teach the combustion section further comprises: a wall at least partially defining the combustion chamber, the wall having a fuel nozzle opening; and a fuel nozzle provided fluidly coupled with the fuel nozzle opening, the fuel nozzle having a fuel nozzle outlet opening to the combustion chamber, a fuel nozzle centerline, and a first fuel injection channel fluidly coupled to the first fuel line.
However, Patel teaches a combustion section (Fig 1) comprising:
a wall (dome 34) at least partially defining the combustion chamber (18, Fig 1), the wall having a fuel nozzle opening (to pass the fuel injector including 12, 40); and
a fuel nozzle (incl. 10, 40, 12, 102) provided fluidly coupled with the fuel nozzle opening (Fig 1),
the fuel nozzle having a fuel nozzle outlet opening to the combustion chamber (in order to inject fuel to form 65),
a fuel nozzle centerline (120), and
a first fuel injection channel (any of 158, 159, channels feeding 61) fluidly coupled to the first fuel line (all channels fed by the same fuel from the same fuel line).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the nondescript fuel nozzle arrangement of Minelli using the specific fuel nozzle of Patel, because it has been held that combining or simple substitution of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results renders the limitation obvious (see MPEP 2141 (III)). In this case, substituting the specific fuel nozzle arrangement of Patel for the nondescript fuel nozzle arrangement of Minelli amounts to addressing a need in Minelli for a specific fuel nozzle arrangement and yields the predictable results of a functioning gas turbine engine with the necessary fuel injection. Further note the various technical advantages cited by Patel, for using such fuel nozzles as Patel, including effective emission control while maintaining high thermal efficiency and effective nozzle cooling ([0002-8]).
Regarding claim 3, Minelli in view of Patel teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention as discussed above (including both first and second fuel lines feeding all the fuel injectors of the combustor). Minelli in view of Patel as discussed so far, does not teach the fuel nozzle has a second fuel injection channel fluidly coupled to the fuel line.
However, Patel further teaches the fuel nozzle has a second fuel injection channel (another of 158, 159, and channels feeding 61) fluidly coupled to the fuel line (all the channels being fed by the same fuel line; Figs 1-2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the nondescript fuel nozzle arrangement of Minelli using the specific fuel nozzle of Patel, because it has been held that combining or simple substitution of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results renders the limitation obvious (see MPEP 2141 (III)). In this case, substituting the specific fuel nozzle arrangement of Patel for the nondescript fuel nozzle arrangement of Minelli amounts to addressing a need in Minelli for a specific fuel nozzle arrangement and yields the predictable results of a functioning gas turbine engine with the necessary fuel injection. Further note the various technical advantages cited by Patel, for using such fuel nozzles as Patel, including effective emission control while maintaining high thermal efficiency and effective nozzle cooling ([0002-8]).
Regarding claim 5, Minelli in view of Patel teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention as discussed above. Minelli in view of Patel as discussed so far, does not teach the first fuel injection channel is provided radially inward from the second fuel injection channel, with respect to the fuel nozzle centerline.
However, Patel further teaches the first fuel injection channel (158) is provided radially inward from the second fuel injection channel (159 or the channels feeding 61), with respect to the fuel nozzle centerline (Figs 2, 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the nondescript fuel nozzle arrangement of Minelli using the specific fuel nozzle of Patel, because it has been held that combining or simple substitution of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results renders the limitation obvious (see MPEP 2141 (III)). In this case, substituting the specific fuel nozzle arrangement of Patel for the nondescript fuel nozzle arrangement of Minelli amounts to addressing a need in Minelli for a specific fuel nozzle arrangement and yields the predictable results of a functioning gas turbine engine with the necessary fuel injection. Further note the various technical advantages cited by Patel, for using such fuel nozzles as Patel, including effective emission control while maintaining high thermal efficiency and effective nozzle cooling ([0002-8]).
Regarding claim 6, Minelli in view of Patel teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention as discussed above. Minelli in view of Patel as discussed so far, does not teach the first fuel injection channel includes a first fuel orifice axially aligned with the fuel nozzle outlet, with respect to the fuel nozzle centerline.
However, Patel further teaches the first fuel injection channel includes a first fuel orifice (98) axially aligned with the fuel nozzle outlet, with respect to the fuel nozzle centerline (the outlet may be defined wherever fuel is being ejected for purposes of entering the combustor, and 98 is open to the combustion chamber).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the nondescript fuel nozzle arrangement of Minelli using the specific fuel nozzle of Patel, because it has been held that combining or simple substitution of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results renders the limitation obvious (see MPEP 2141 (III)). In this case, substituting the specific fuel nozzle arrangement of Patel for the nondescript fuel nozzle arrangement of Minelli amounts to addressing a need in Minelli for a specific fuel nozzle arrangement and yields the predictable results of a functioning gas turbine engine with the necessary fuel injection. Further note the various technical advantages cited by Patel, for using such fuel nozzles as Patel, including effective emission control while maintaining high thermal efficiency and effective nozzle cooling ([0002-8]).
Regarding claim 7, Minelli in view of Patel teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention as discussed above (including both first and second fuel lines feeding all the fuel injectors of the combustor). Minelli in view of Patel as discussed so far, does not teach the fuel nozzle is included within a plurality of fuel nozzles spaced along the wall, the plurality of fuel nozzles including: a first fuel nozzle fluidly coupled to the first fuel line; and a second fuel nozzle fluidly coupled to the second fuel line.
However, Patel further teaches the fuel nozzle is included within a plurality of fuel nozzles spaced along the wall ([0026]), the plurality of fuel nozzles including:
a first fuel nozzle fluidly coupled to the fuel line ([0026]); and
a second fuel nozzle fluidly coupled to the fuel line ([0026]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the nondescript fuel nozzle arrangement of Minelli using the specific fuel nozzle of Patel, because it has been held that combining or simple substitution of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results renders the limitation obvious (see MPEP 2141 (III)). In this case, substituting the specific fuel nozzle arrangement of Patel for the nondescript fuel nozzle arrangement of Minelli amounts to addressing a need in Minelli for a specific fuel nozzle arrangement and yields the predictable results of a functioning gas turbine engine with the necessary fuel injection. Further note the various technical advantages cited by Patel, for using such fuel nozzles as Patel, including effective emission control while maintaining high thermal efficiency and effective nozzle cooling ([0002-8]).
Regarding claim 8, Minelli in view of Patel teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention as discussed above. Minelli in view of Patel as discussed so far, does not teach the first fuel nozzle is included in a first plurality of fuel nozzles; and the second fuel nozzle is included in a second plurality of fuel nozzles.
However, Patel further teaches the first fuel nozzle is included in a first plurality of fuel nozzles; and the second fuel nozzle is included in a second plurality of fuel nozzles ([0026] any combination of nozzles around the circumference may be considered the first plurality, and any other combination of nozzles around the circumference may be considered the second plurality).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the nondescript fuel nozzle arrangement of Minelli using the specific fuel nozzle of Patel, because it has been held that combining or simple substitution of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results renders the limitation obvious (see MPEP 2141 (III)). In this case, substituting the specific fuel nozzle arrangement of Patel for the nondescript fuel nozzle arrangement of Minelli amounts to addressing a need in Minelli for a specific fuel nozzle arrangement and yields the predictable results of a functioning gas turbine engine with the necessary fuel injection. Further note the various technical advantages cited by Patel, for using such fuel nozzles as Patel, including effective emission control while maintaining high thermal efficiency and effective nozzle cooling ([0002-8]).
Regarding claim 9, Minelli in view of Patel teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention as discussed above. Minelli in view of Patel as discussed so far, does not teach the combustion section includes a combustor centerline, and the first plurality of fuel nozzles are alternately circumferentially spaced from the second plurality of fuel nozzles, with respect to the combustor centerline.
However, Patel further teaches the combustion section includes a combustor centerline (52), and the first plurality of fuel nozzles are alternately circumferentially spaced from the second plurality of fuel nozzles, with respect to the combustor centerline (the first and second sets of fuel nozzles can be chosen in alternating pattern; [0026]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the nondescript fuel nozzle arrangement of Minelli using the specific fuel nozzle of Patel, because it has been held that combining or simple substitution of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results renders the limitation obvious (see MPEP 2141 (III)). In this case, substituting the specific fuel nozzle arrangement of Patel for the nondescript fuel nozzle arrangement of Minelli amounts to addressing a need in Minelli for a specific fuel nozzle arrangement and yields the predictable results of a functioning gas turbine engine with the necessary fuel injection. Further note the various technical advantages cited by Patel, for using such fuel nozzles as Patel, including effective emission control while maintaining high thermal efficiency and effective nozzle cooling ([0002-8]).
Potentially Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 11 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 07 July 2026 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondence
/STEPHANIE SEBASCO CHENG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3741