DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species A2, B1, and C1 in the reply filed on 12 March 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 4, 10, 13, and 18-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12 March 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 6-9, 11-12, 14, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Leach US20170356342A1.
Regarding Claim 1, Leach teaches a turbine engine (10) comprising:
a fuel supply (79) having a fuel (“gas fuel”);
a heat exchanger (incl. 70, 72, 73, 74; combinations of heat exchangers are often referred to as heat exchangers, see evidentiary reference 20210404350, Figs 1a-2. elements 105, 301, 302) fluidly coupled to the fuel supply (Fig 2);
a first fuel line (any of the lines containing 82, 83, or 84; e.g. the line containing 83) fluidly coupled to a first portion (any of 72, 73, 74, 70; e.g. 73) of the heat exchanger to receive the fuel from the heat exchanger at a first temperature (70, 72, 73, 74 are heaters);
a second fuel line (any other of the lines containing 82, 83, 84; e.g. the line containing 84) fluidly coupled to a second portion (any other of 72, 73, 74, 70; e.g. 74) of the heat exchanger to receive the fuel from the heat exchanger at a second temperature (70, 72, 73, 74 are heaters), different from the first temperature (70, 72, 73, 74 are operable to heat fuel to different temperatures; [0023, 31-32]); and
a combustion section (16) including a combustion chamber (Fig 1; Fig 3, into which nozzles PM1-3 inject fuel), the combustion chamber being fluidly coupled to the first fuel line and the second fuel line (via PM1-3).
Regarding claim 2, Leach teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention as discussed above. Leach further teaches a wall (incl. cap 38, and/or plate 29) at least partially defining the combustion chamber (by definition), the wall having a fuel nozzle opening (at least one each for PM1-PM3’ [0029], Fig 3); and
a fuel nozzle (any of PM1-PM3; e.g. PM3 1 of 3, which may be, e.g. the first nozzle clockwise from top-dead-center, TDC) provided fluidly coupled with the fuel nozzle opening (Fig 3), the fuel nozzle having a fuel nozzle outlet opening to the combustion chamber (to inject the fuel), a fuel nozzle centerline (i.e. through the center thereof), and a first fuel injection channel fluidly coupled to the first fuel line (the respective nozzles are connected to the respective fuel lines as shown in Fig 2; e.g. PM3 1 of 3 connected with the line containing 83).
Regarding claim 6, Leach teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention as discussed above. Leach further teaches the first fuel injection channel includes a first fuel orifice axially aligned with the fuel nozzle outlet, with respect to the fuel nozzle centerline (the fuel nozzle outlet being defined at the first fuel orifice).
Regarding claim 7, Leach teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention as discussed above. Leach further teaches the fuel nozzle is included within a plurality of fuel nozzles spaced along the wall (Figs 2-3), the plurality of fuel nozzles including:
a first fuel nozzle fluidly coupled to the first fuel line (any of PM1-3, corresponding to the interpretation in claims 1-2, e.g. PM3 1 of 3, which may be, for example the first nozzle clockwise from TDC); and
a second fuel nozzle fluidly coupled to the second fuel line (any other of PM1-3, corresponding to the interpretation in claims 1-2; e.g. PM2 1 of 2, which may be the second nozzle clockwise from TDC).
Regarding claim 8, Leach teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention as discussed above. Leach further teaches (in Figs 2-3) the first fuel nozzle is included in a first plurality of fuel nozzles (plural of PM2 and PM3; e.g. 3 of PM3); and the second fuel nozzle is included in a second plurality of fuel nozzles (plural of PM2 and PM3; e.g. 2 of PM2).
Regarding claim 9, Leach teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention as discussed above. Leach further teaches the combustion section includes a combustor centerline (through center of cap 38), and the first plurality of fuel nozzles are alternately circumferentially spaced from the second plurality of fuel nozzles, with respect to the combustor centerline (at least two of each of PM3 and PM2, are alternately spaced circumferentially in Fig 3; e.g. first four nozzles clockwise from TDC in Fig 3).
Regarding claim 11, Leach teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention as discussed above. Leach further teaches a first valve (valves downstream of 82-84 and upstream of 58-56; e.g. valve downstream of 83) provided along the first fuel line and being configured to selectively fluidly couple the first portion of the heat exchanger to the combustion chamber (Figs 2-3); and a second valve (valves downstream of 82-84 and upstream of 58-56; e.g. valve downstream of 84) provided along the second fuel line and being configured to selectively fluidly couple the second portion of the heat exchanger to the combustion chamber (Figs 2-3).
Regarding claim 12, Leach teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention as discussed above. Leach further teaches a third fuel line (three fuel lines, each including a respective one of 82, 83, 84; e.g. the fuel line including 82) fluidly coupled to a third portion of the heat exchanger (there being four portions 70, 72, 73, 74; e.g. portion 72) and drawing the fuel from the heat exchanger at a third temperature, different from the first temperature and the second temperature (70, 72, 73, 74 are operable to heat fuel to different temperatures; [0023, 31-32]).
Regarding claim 14, Leach teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention as discussed above. Leach further teaches the fuel supply is provided exterior the combustion section (Figs 1-3).
Regarding claim 16, Leach teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention as discussed above. Leach further teaches the first temperature and the second temperature are less than an auto-ignition temperature of the fuel (required in order to conduct fuel through lines, manifolds 56-58, and nozzles to the combustion chamber).
Claim(s) 1-3 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by a different interpretation of Leach US20170356342A1.
Regarding Claim 1, Leach teaches a turbine engine (10) comprising:
a fuel supply (79) having a fuel (“gas fuel”);
a heat exchanger (incl. 70, 72, 73, 74; combinations of heat exchangers are often referred to as heat exchangers, see evidentiary reference 20210404350, Figs 1a-2. elements 105, 301, 302) fluidly coupled to the fuel supply (Fig 2);
a first fuel line (any of the lines containing 82, 83, or 84; e.g. the line containing 82) fluidly coupled to a first portion (any of 72, 73, 74, 70; e.g. 72) of the heat exchanger to receive the fuel from the heat exchanger at a first temperature (70, 72, 73, 74 are heaters);
a second fuel line (any other of the lines containing 82, 83, 84; e.g. the line containing 84) fluidly coupled to a second portion (any other of 72, 73, 74, 70; e.g. 74) of the heat exchanger to receive the fuel from the heat exchanger at a second temperature (70, 72, 73, 74 are heaters), different from the first temperature (70, 72, 73, 74 are operable to heat fuel to different temperatures; [0023, 31-32]); and
a combustion section (16) including a combustion chamber (Fig 1; Fig 3, into which nozzles PM1-3 inject fuel), the combustion chamber being fluidly coupled to the first fuel line and the second fuel line (via PM1-3).
Regarding claim 2, Leach teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention as discussed above.
Leach further teaches a wall at least partially defining the combustion chamber (by definition), the wall having a fuel nozzle opening (to receive cap 38); and
a fuel nozzle (cap 38) provided fluidly coupled with the fuel nozzle opening (in order to inject into 16), the fuel nozzle having a fuel nozzle outlet (at downstream end) opening to the combustion chamber (to inject the fuel), a fuel nozzle centerline (i.e. through the center of 38), and a first fuel injection channel (through one of PM1, PM2, PM3) fluidly coupled to the first fuel line (the respective nozzles are connected to the respective fuel lines as shown in Fig 2; e.g. PM1 connected with the line containing 82).
Regarding claim 3, Leach teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention as discussed above.
Leach further teaches the fuel nozzle has a second fuel injection channel (through another of PM1, PM2, or PM3) fluidly coupled to the second fuel line (e.g., PM2 1 of 2 connected with the line containing 84).
Regarding claim 5, Leach teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention as discussed above.
Leach further teaches the first fuel injection channel is provided radially inward from the second fuel injection channel, with respect to the fuel nozzle centerline (PM1 radially inward relative to PM2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leach in view of Crothers 9303564.
Regarding Claim 15, Leach teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention as discussed above. Leach further teaches the fuel may be a natural gas from liquid natural gas (LNG; [0002-3]).
Leach does not teach the fuel comprises hydrogen.
However, Crothers teaches the substitutional equivalence of using natural gas and syngas (a primarily hydrogen based gas fuel; i.e. a fuel comprising hydrogen). Note, the system of Crothers also provides the fuel at different temperatures to different fuel channels for injection into a turbine combustor (Figs 1-8)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the natural gas fuel of Leach to be a syngas as taught by Crothers, because Crothers teaches substitutional equivalence, and because MPEP2144.07 provides that the selection of a known material (i.e. syngas) based on its suitability for its intended use (i.e. for supplying a turbine combustor with fuel at two different temperature) supported a prima facie obviousness determination.
Claim 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leach in view of Sekiguchi 11415054.
Regarding claim 17, Leach teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention as discussed above. Leach further teaches a compression section (14), a turbine section (18), and a conduit coupling hot water from the bottoming steam cycle to the heat exchanger (Fig 1).
Leach does not teach at least one bleed air conduit fluidly coupling a bleed air from at least one of compression section or the turbine section to the heat exchanger.
However, Sekiguchi teaches both hot water (from 10) from a bottoming steam cycle (incl. 15, 14, 9, 10, 12, 13) of a gas turbine engine (1) and a compressor bleed air (from 2, via 17) being used to heat fuel (100) for combustion (Figs 1-2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Leach to either additionally use bleed air or replace the hot water with bleed air in the heat exchanger (and/or heat exchanger portions) because Sekiguchi teaches both hot water and compressor bleed air being used to heat fuel for combustion (Figs 1-2). Sekiguchi also teaches the advantage of using bleed air to the heat the fuel being its availability at startup, while the bottoming steam cycle takes some time to produce enough heat to be used for fuel heating (Abstract, col.2 ll.9-51). See also MPEP2144.07, which provides that the selection of a known material (i.e. compressor bleed air) based on its suitability for its intended use (i.e. for heating turbine fuel) supported a prima facie obviousness determination.
Correspondence
/STEPHANIE SEBASCO CHENG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3741