DETAILED ACTION
This is the First Office Action in response to the above identified patent
application filed on June 6, 2024.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Schoolman (USP 4,483,562).
Referring to Figures 6-8, Schoolman teaches an insertion tool comprising: a flexible section comprising a plurality of rigidizable (via tensioning cable 142) links (138,140); an end effector actuator (174); an end effector (180) coupled to a distal end of the flexible section; a flexible shaft (166) extending through the flexible section, wherein torque is transferred from the end effector actuator to the distal end via the flexible shaft to cause a rotation of the end effector; a tool-less disconnect interface (158) between the end effector and the flexible shaft, and a rigidization actuator (152) configured to actuate the plurality of rigidizable links in the flexible section from a relaxed state to a rigidized state having a predefined shape.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 6, 7, and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schoolman (USP 4,483,562), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Chiang (USP 11,065,743).
Schoolman does not teach the flexible shaft having a strand formed of a plurality of layers of wires around a center axis. Chiang illustrates, Figure 8, a flexible shaft formed with a strand formed of a plurality of layers of wires around a center axis (502) of the strand, including a first coiled layer (501) closest to the center axis, layers of the plurality of layers have alternating coil directions. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed device to configure the flexible shaft of Schoolman with a plurality of layers having alternating coil directions, as taught by Chiang, motivation being to configure the flexible shaft for a predetermined operating torque to perform a particular operation.
With respect to claim 7, it is understood the flexible cable can operate in either a clockwise direction or a counterclockwise direction. Note, the limitations “clockwise” “counter-clockwise” “left hand lay” and the “right hand lay” are relative directions depending on how the flexible shaft is viewed.
Claim(s) 2 and 5-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schoolman (USP 4,483,562), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Milo et al. (USP 5,826,923).
Schoolman does not teach the flexible shaft having a strand formed of a plurality of layers of wires around a center axis. Milo teaches a flexible shaft formed with a strand formed of a plurality of layers of wires around a center axis (22) of the strand, including a first coiled layer closest to the center axis, and the flexible shaft comprises a hollow core (lumen 26) radially inward of the first coiled layer, innermost layer of the plurality of layers is formed of a different material than other layers (22 is nickel-titanium, 40 is stainless, 34 is a polymeric material), the layers of the plurality of layers have alternating coil directions (Figs 3-4). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed device to configure the flexible shaft of Schoolman with a plurality if layers, a hollow core, and different materials, as taught by Milo, motivation being to configure the flexible shaft for a predetermined operating torque, and/or to provide a passageway for introducing other instruments as needed.
With respect to claim 7, the flexible shaft of Milo is configured (Figs. 2-4) with an outmost layer of the plurality of layers has a lay direction corresponding to a direction of the rotation of the end effector, wherein if the rotation is clockwise, the outmost layer has a left hand lay, and wherein, if the rotation is counter-clockwise, the outmost layer has a right hand lay. Note, the limitations “clockwise” “counter-clockwise” “left hand lay” and the “right hand lay” are relative directions depending on how the flexible shaft is viewed.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schoolman (USP 4,483,562) as applied to claim 1 above.
Schoolman does not teach the outer diameter of the flexible shaft. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed device to configure the flexible shaft of Schoolman with a diameter of between 0.01 inch to 0.1 inch, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable size of an element involves only routine skill in the art.
Claim(s) 11, 12, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schoolman (USP 4,483,562), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Nishio et al. (USPub 2012/0160050).
Schoolman does not teach a shaft bearing positioned within the flexible section and around the flexible shaft. Nishio teaches bearings (26) within a flexible section (3) and around a flexible shaft (22), the shaft bearing comprises an extension spring (27) around the flexible shaft. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed device to configure the flexible shaft of Schoolman with bearings and springs, as taught by Nishio motivation being to support the flexible shaft with reduced friction.
With respect to claim 14, it was notoriously known to provide a lubricant to an inside surface (such as a raceway) of a bearing to provide a long lasting bearing having reduced friction. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed device to provide the device of Schoolman modified with Nishio, with a lubricant, such as graphite, on an inside surface of the bearing, as was well known in the art, motivation being to provide a long lasting device having reduced friction.
Claim(s) 11, 14, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schoolman (USP 4,483,562), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Li et al. (CN 212360466).
Schoolman does not teach a shaft bearing positioned within the flexible section and around the flexible shaft. Li teaches teaches a bearing (pipe 7) within a flexible section (3) and around a flexible shaft (1), the bearing forming a flexible hollow Polytetrafluoroethylene tube, an outer surface of the flexible shaft (1) is coated (covered with pipe 7) made of Polytetrafluoroethylene. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed device to configure the flexible shaft of Schoolman with a bearing in the form of a Polytetrafluoroethylene tube, as taught by Li, motivation being to support the flexible shaft with reduced friction.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schoolman (USP 4,483,562), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Landolt (WO 2024/088782).
Schoolman does not teach the tool-less disconnect interface comprises a ferromagnetic spline fitting on the flexible shaft and a magnetic female adaptor coupled to the end effector. Landolt teaches a shaft coupling (Fig. 1.2-1.3) having ferromagnetic spline connection using a magnet (1131). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed device to configure the tool-less disconnect interface of Schoolman with a magnetic coupling, as taught by Landolt motivation being to provide a simple and quick connection between the flexible shaft and the tool.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schoolman (USP 4,483,562), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Wendling (USP 5,304,012).
Schoolman does not teach the tool-less disconnect interface comprises a swaged spline fitting on the flexible shaft and a micro chuck coupled to the end effector actuator. Wendling teaches a shaft coupling having swaged spline fitting and a micro chuck. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed device to configure the tool-less disconnect interface of Schoolman with swaged spline fitting a micro chuck, as taught by Wendling, motivation being to provide a simple and quick connection between the flexible shaft and the tool.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schoolman (USP 4,483,562), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kroll (USP 2,783,794).
Schoolman does not teach the tool-less disconnect interface comprises a threaded fitting, wherein a thread direction of the threaded fitting is such that the threaded fitting tightens in a direction of rotation of the flexible shaft. Kroll teaches a shaft connection having a threaded joint (15) configured to tighten in a drive direction of rotation of the shaft. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed device to configure the tool-less disconnect interface of Schoolman with a threaded coupling, as taught by Kroll motivation being to provide a simple and quick connection between the flexible shaft and the tool.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 4,13, and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art does not teach the insertion tool of claim 1, including the wires of the plurality of layers being determined by the equations of claims 3 and 4, the extension spring having the same coil direction as an outermost layer of the flexible shaft, or a shaft tension assembly configured to maintain a tension of the flexible shaft at between 1-10% of a tensile strength of the flexible shaft.
Conclusion
/WILLIAM C JOYCE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3618