Election/Restrictions
Applicants’ election without traverse of Group II and Species A in the reply filed on 04/14/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 13-18, 20, 22-27 are examined. Claims 1-12, 19, 21, 28 are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 13-15, 17, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mehr et al. (US 2018/0341248) in view of Abedin et al. (US 8,822,895) and Xiao et al. (Exploring the Initiation of Fiber Fuse, Scientific report, Nature Research, 08/12/2029).
Regarding claims 13-14, Mehr discloses that, as illustrated in Figs. 1, 2, 3, 12, 13, a method for additive manufacturing comprising:
controlling, using one or more processors, transmission of laser energy from one or more laser energy sources through an optics assembly, via one or more optical fibers optically coupling the one or more laser energy sources and the optics assembly (e.g., fiber optics and high-powered lasers ([0049], lines 13-14)), toward a build surface to expose a layer of material on the build surface to the laser energy to melt at least a portion of the layer of material due to exposure of the portion to the laser energy ([0043] - [0050] (i.e., additive manufacturing processes));
controlling, using any of the one or more processors (e.g., as shown in Fig. 13), operation of the one or more laser energy sources based at least in part on the signals (ABSTRACT (i.e., realizing real-time control of additive manufacturing (including defect classification or flaw detection)).
However, Mehr does not specifically disclose ‘obtaining, using any of the one or more processors, signals from one or more photosensitive detectors in contact-less arrangement with the one or more of the one or more optical fibers along a length of the one or more optical fibers between an output of the one or more laser energy sources and an input of the optics assembly, wherein the signals indicate a fiber fuse-generated propagation of plasma through the one or more optical fibers’.
Thus, in the teachings of Mehr, in general, the defect classifications or flaw detections are discussed in detail in which a fiber fuse may involve but not identified.
In the same field of endeavor, fiber fuse detecting apparatus, Abedin discloses, as illustrated in Fig. 7, incidents laser light from the high output laser light source 10 to the optical fiber 16 (col. 8, lines 61-63). Return light on the optical path 9 is branched to an optical detector 2 (it is noticed that, the detector 2 is not touching with the optical fiber 16) by a branching device 7 such as an optical coupler or circulator or the like. The output of the optical detector 2 is amplified if required, and filtered by an electric filter 3 to extract a signal that is characteristic to optical fiber fuse (as shown in Fig. 7) (col. 9, lines 10-16). Abedin discloses that, in a case in which a fiber fuse has been generated, this control will stop or suppress the output of the high output laser light source 10 (col. 9, lines 25-30) (related to claim 14).
It would have been obvious to use the method of Mehr to have a real-time controlling method for additive manufacturing as Abedin teaches that it is known to have the optical detector to extract a signal that is characteristic to optical fiber fuse in a case in which a fiber fuse has been generated, this control will stop or suppress the output of the high output laser light source. It has been held that the combination of known techniques to improve similar methods is likely to be obvious when it does not more than yield predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007) (See MPEP 2143- exemplary rationales).
However, neither Mehr nor Abedin disclosed a plasma generated (or plasma expansion) during the fiber fuse. In the same field of endeavor, initiation of fiber fuse, Xiao discloses that, the interaction between the surrounding solid matters and the dispersive phase, probably including plasmas (page 7, lines 6-7).
It would have been obvious to use the method of Mehr to have a real-time controlling method for additive manufacturing as Abedin and Xiao teaches that it is known to have the optical detector to extract a signal that is characteristic to optical fiber fuse in a case in which a fiber fuse (i.e., including plasma expansion) has been generated, this control will stop or suppress the output of the high output laser light source. It has been held that the combination of known techniques to improve similar methods is likely to be obvious when it does not more than yield predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007) (See MPEP 2143- exemplary rationales).
Regarding claim 15, Mehr does not explicitly disclose a plurality of photosensitive detectors.
Abedin discloses, as illustrated in Fig. 7, incidents laser light from the high output laser light source 10 to the optical fiber 16 (col. 8, lines 61-63). Return light on the optical path 9 is branched to an optical detector 2 (it is noticed that, the detector 2 is not touching with the optical fiber 16) by a branching device 7 such as an optical coupler or circulator or the like. The output of the optical detector 2 is amplified if required, and filtered by an electric filter 3 to extract a signal that is characteristic to optical fiber fuse (as shown in Fig. 7) (col. 9, lines 10-16). Abedin discloses that, in a case in which a fiber fuse has been generated, this control will stop or suppress the output of the high output laser light source 10 (col. 9, lines 25-30)
In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960)
The court held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced.
Abedin discloses the claimed invention except for the duplication. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in art at the time the invention was made to duplicate the optical detectors, since it has been held that a mere duplication of working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. One would have been motivated to duplicate the optical detectors for the purpose of monitoring or controlling multiple laser sources for the additive manufacturing.
Thus, Abedin plus Xiao discloses that, the one or more photosensitive detectors includes a plurality of photosensitive detectors, the one or more laser energy sources includes a plurality of laser energy sources, the one or more optical fibers includes a plurality of optical fibers corresponding with a respective one of the plurality of laser energy sources, each of the plurality of photosensitive detectors is arranged to detect the fiber fuse-generated propagation of plasma through a respective one of the plurality of optical fibers associated with the respective one of the plurality of laser energy sources, and the controlling the operation includes turning off a laser energy source among the plurality of laser energy sources based on the signal from a photosensitive detector among the plurality of photosensitive detectors indicating the fiber fuse-generated propagation of plasma in an optical fiber among the plurality of optical fibers corresponding with the laser energy source among the plurality of laser energy sources.
It would have been obvious to use the method of Mehr to have a real-time controlling method for additive manufacturing as Abedin and Xiao teaches that it is known to have the plurality of photosensitive detectors to extract a signal that is characteristic to optical fiber fuse in a case in which a fiber fuse (i.e., including plasma expansion) has been generated, this control will stop or suppress the output of the high output laser light source. It has been held that the combination of known techniques to improve similar methods is likely to be obvious when it does not more than yield predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007) (See MPEP 2143- exemplary rationales).
Regarding claim 17, Mehr does not explicitly disclose a plurality of photosensitive detectors in which at least one of multiple photosensitive detectors is applied to identify a process of elimination based on the singles from the multiple photosensitive detectors.
Abedin discloses, as illustrated in Fig. 7, incidents laser light from the high output laser light source 10 to the optical fiber 16 (col. 8, lines 61-63). Return light on the optical path 9 is branched to an optical detector 2 (it is noticed that, the detector 2 is not touching with the optical fiber 16) by a branching device 7 such as an optical coupler or circulator or the like. The output of the optical detector 2 is amplified if required, and filtered by an electric filter 3 to extract a signal that is characteristic to optical fiber fuse (as shown in Fig. 7) (col. 9, lines 10-16). Abedin discloses that, in a case in which a fiber fuse has been generated, this control will stop or suppress the output of the high output laser light source 10 (col. 9, lines 25-30).
In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960)
The court held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced.
Abedin discloses the claimed invention except for the duplication. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in art at the time the invention was made to duplicate the optical detectors, since it has been held that a mere duplication of working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. One would have been motivated to duplicate the optical detectors for the purpose of monitoring or controlling multiple laser sources for the additive manufacturing.
It is noticed that, when the output of the high output laser light source is stopped, the process of elimination of the output of the high output laser light source is completed.
Thus, Abedin plus Xiao discloses that, the one or more photosensitive detectors includes a plurality of photosensitive detectors, the one or more laser energy sources includes a plurality of laser energy sources, the one or more optical fibers includes a plurality of optical fibers corresponding with a respective one of the plurality of laser energy sources, each of the plurality of photosensitive detectors is arranged to detect the fiber fuse-generated propagation of plasma through a respective one of the plurality of optical fibers associated with the respective one of the plurality of laser energy sources, and the controlling the operation includes turning off a laser energy source among the plurality of laser energy sources based on the signal from a photosensitive detector among the plurality of photosensitive detectors indicating the fiber fuse-generated propagation of plasma in an optical fiber among the plurality of optical fibers corresponding with the laser energy source among the plurality of laser energy sources.
It would have been obvious to use the method of Mehr to have a real-time controlling method for additive manufacturing as Abedin and Xiao teaches that it is known to have the plurality of photosensitive detectors to extract a signal that is characteristic to optical fiber fuse in a case in which a fiber fuse (i.e., including plasma expansion) has been generated, this control will stop or suppress the output of the high output laser light source in which at the same time the output of the high output laser light source is eliminated. It has been held that the combination of known techniques to improve similar methods is likely to be obvious when it does not more than yield predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007) (See MPEP 2143- exemplary rationales).
Regarding claim 20, Mehr discloses that, as illustrated in Figs. 1, 2, 3, the at least a portion of the layer of material with the laser energy to form one or more parts on the build surface ([0010], [0011], [0012]).
Claims 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Mehr et al. (US 2018/0341248), Abedin et al. (US 8,822,895), and Xiao et al. (Exploring the Initiation of Fiber Fuse, Scientific report, Nature Research, 08/12/2029) as applied to claim 13 above, further in view of Hodge (US 6,012,337).
Regarding claim 16, Mehr discloses that, as illustrated in Figs. 1, 2, 3, 12, 13, a method for additive manufacturing comprising:
controlling, using one or more processors, transmission of laser energy from one or more laser energy sources through an optics assembly, via one or more optical fibers optically coupling the one or more laser energy sources and the optics assembly (e.g., fiber optics and high-powered lasers ([0049], lines 13-14)), toward a build surface to expose a layer of material on the build surface to the laser energy to melt at least a portion of the layer of material due to exposure of the portion to the laser energy ([0043] - [0050] (i.e., additive manufacturing processes));
controlling, using any of the one or more processors (e.g., as shown in Fig. 13), operation of the one or more laser energy sources based at least in part on the signals (ABSTRACT (i.e., realizing real-time control of additive manufacturing (including defect classification or flaw detection)).
However, Mehr does not specifically disclose ‘obtaining, using any of the one or more processors, signals from one or more photosensitive detectors in contact-less arrangement with the one or more of the one or more optical fibers along a length of the one or more optical fibers between an output of the one or more laser energy sources and an input of the optics assembly, wherein the signals indicate a fiber fuse-generated propagation of plasma through the one or more optical fibers’.
Thus, in the teachings of Mehr, in general, the defect classifications or flaw detections are discussed in detail in which a fiber fuse may involve but not identified.
In the same field of endeavor, fiber fuse detecting apparatus, Abedin discloses, as illustrated in Fig. 7, incidents laser light from the high output laser light source 10 to the optical fiber 16 (col. 8, lines 61-63). Return light on the optical path 9 is branched to an optical detector 2 (it is noticed that, the detector 2 is not touching with the optical fiber 16) by a branching device 7 such as an optical coupler or circulator or the like. The output of the optical detector 2 is amplified if required, and filtered by an electric filter 3 to extract a signal that is characteristic to optical fiber fuse (as shown in Fig. 7) (col. 9, lines 10-16). Abedin discloses that, in a case in which a fiber fuse has been generated, this control will stop or suppress the output of the high output laser light source 10 (col. 9, lines 25-30).
It would have been obvious to use the method of Mehr to have a real-time controlling method for additive manufacturing as Abedin teaches that it is known to have the optical detector to extract a signal that is characteristic to optical fiber fuse in a case in which a fiber fuse has been generated, this control will stop or suppress the output of the high output laser light source. It has been held that the combination of known techniques to improve similar methods is likely to be obvious when it does not more than yield predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007) (See MPEP 2143- exemplary rationales).
However, neither Mehr nor Abedin disclosed a plasma generated (or plasma expansion) during the fiber fuse. In the same field of endeavor, initiation of fiber fuse, Xiao discloses that, the interaction between the surrounding solid matters and the dispersive phase, probably including plasmas (page 7, lines 6-7).
It would have been obvious to use the method of Mehr to have a real-time controlling method for additive manufacturing as Abedin and Xiao teaches that it is known to have the optical detector to extract a signal that is characteristic to optical fiber fuse in a case in which a fiber fuse (i.e., including plasma expansion) has been generated, this control will stop or suppress the output of the high output laser light source. It has been held that the combination of known techniques to improve similar methods is likely to be obvious when it does not more than yield predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007) (See MPEP 2143- exemplary rationales).
However, the combination does not disclose a plurality of opaque masks.
In the same field of endeavor, monitoring sensor system, Hodge discloses that, as illustrated in Figs. 2, a single optical fiber 20a from the bundle of fibers 20 is connected to sensor 12a (col. 5, lines 25-41). As illustrated in Figs. 11-13, the sensor geometry 48 includes a transmissive grid, or reticle 42 and a reflective grid, or mask 43. The reticle 42 has a plurality of uniformly spaced light impervious surfaces 45 which are the passive areas of the reticle (col. 6, lines 45-67).
It would have been obvious to use the method of the combination to have a real-time controlling method for additive manufacturing as Hodge teaches that it is known to have the optical detector to extract a signal that is characteristic to optical fiber fuse in which a plurality of opaque masks is applied. It has been held that the combination of known techniques to improve similar methods is likely to be obvious when it does not more than yield predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007) (See MPEP 2143- exemplary rationales).
Claims 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Mehr et al. (US 2018/0341248), Abedin et al. (US 8,822,895), and Xiao et al. (Exploring the Initiation of Fiber Fuse, Scientific report, Nature Research, 08/12/2029) as applied to claim 17 above, further in view of Zhu et al. (US 2023/0271386).
Regarding claim 18, the combination does not disclose using intensity-based triangulation to confirm the one of the plurality of optical fibers as including the fiber fuse-generated propagation of plasma based on intensity of light emitted by the plasma being higher at whichever among the first photosensitive detector and the second photosensitive detector is closer to the one of the plurality of optical fibers.
In the same field of endeavor, 3d printing, Zhu discloses that, related to the measurement in 3d printing, optical measurements (e.g., those utilizing optical sensors, such as intensity-based sensors, triangulation-based sensors …) may be applied ([0072]).
It would have been obvious to use the method of the combination to have a real-time controlling method for additive manufacturing as Zhu teaches that it is known to use intensity-based triangulation to confirm the one of the plurality of optical fibers as including the fiber fuse-generated propagation of plasma based on intensity of light emitted by the plasma being higher at whichever among the first photosensitive detector and the second photosensitive detector is closer to the one of the plurality of optical fibers. It has been held that the combination of known techniques to improve similar methods is likely to be obvious when it does not more than yield predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007) (See MPEP 2143- exemplary rationales).
Claims 22-23, 24, 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mehr et al. (US 2018/0341248) in view of Abedin et al. (US 8,822,895) and Xiao et al. (Exploring the Initiation of Fiber Fuse, Scientific report, Nature Research, 08/12/2029).
Regarding claims 22-23, Mehr discloses that, as illustrated in Figs. 1, 2, 3, 12, 13, non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions that, when processed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to implement a method for additive manufacturing ([0005]), the method comprising
controlling, using one or more processors, transmission of laser energy from one or more laser energy sources through an optics assembly, via one or more optical fibers optically coupling the one or more laser energy sources and the optics assembly (e.g., fiber optics and high-powered lasers ([0049], lines 13-14)), toward a build surface to expose a layer of material on the build surface to the laser energy to melt at least a portion of the layer of material due to exposure of the portion to the laser energy ([0043] - [0050] (i.e., additive manufacturing processes));
controlling, using any of the one or more processors (e.g., as shown in Fig. 13), operation of the one or more laser energy sources based at least in part on the signals (ABSTRACT (i.e., realizing real-time control of additive manufacturing (including defect classification)).
However, Mehr does not specifically disclose ‘obtaining, using any of the one or more processors, signals from one or more photosensitive detectors in contact-less arrangement with the one or more of the one or more optical fibers along a length of the one or more optical fibers between an output of the one or more laser energy sources and an input of the optics assembly, wherein the signals indicate a fiber fuse-generated propagation of plasma through the one or more optical fibers’.
Thus, in the teachings of Mehr, in general, the defect classifications or flaw detections are discussed in detail in which a fiber fuse may involve but not identified.
In the same field of endeavor, fiber fuse detecting apparatus, Abedin discloses, as illustrated in Fig. 7, incidents laser light from the high output laser light source 10 to the optical fiber 16 (col. 8, lines 61-63). Return light on the optical path 9 is branched to an optical detector 2 (it is noticed that, the detector 2 is not touching with the optical fiber 16) by a branching device 7 such as an optical coupler or circulator or the like. The output of the optical detector 2 is amplified if required, and filtered by an electric filter 3 to extract a signal that is characteristic to optical fiber fuse (as shown in Fig. 7) (col. 9, lines 10-16). Abedin discloses that, in a case in which a fiber fuse has been generated, this control will stop or suppress the output of the high output laser light source 10 (col. 9, lines 25-30) (related to claim 23).
It would have been obvious to use the method of Mehr to have a real-time controlling method for additive manufacturing as Abedin teaches that it is known to have the optical detector to extract a signal that is characteristic to optical fiber fuse in a case in which a fiber fuse has been generated, this control will stop or suppress the output of the high output laser light source. It has been held that the combination of known techniques to improve similar methods is likely to be obvious when it does not more than yield predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007) (See MPEP 2143- exemplary rationales).
However, neither Mehr nor Abedin disclosed a plasma generated (or plasma expansion) during the fiber fuse. In the same field of endeavor, initiation of fiber fuse, Xiao discloses that, the interaction between the surrounding solid matters and the dispersive phase, probably including plasmas (page 7, lines 6-7).
It would have been obvious to use the method of Mehr to have a real-time controlling method for additive manufacturing as Abedin and Xiao teaches that it is known to have the optical detector to extract a signal that is characteristic to optical fiber fuse in a case in which a fiber fuse (i.e., including plasma expansion) has been generated, this control will stop or suppress the output of the high output laser light source. It has been held that the combination of known techniques to improve similar methods is likely to be obvious when it does not more than yield predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007) (See MPEP 2143- exemplary rationales).
Regarding claim 24, Mehr does not explicitly disclose a plurality of photosensitive detectors.
Abedin discloses, as illustrated in Fig. 7, incidents laser light from the high output laser light source 10 to the optical fiber 16 (col. 8, lines 61-63). Return light on the optical path 9 is branched to an optical detector 2 (it is noticed that, the detector 2 is not touching with the optical fiber 16) by a branching device 7 such as an optical coupler or circulator or the like. The output of the optical detector 2 is amplified if required, and filtered by an electric filter 3 to extract a signal that is characteristic to optical fiber fuse (as shown in Fig. 7) (col. 9, lines 10-16). Abedin discloses that, in a case in which a fiber fuse has been generated, this control will stop or suppress the output of the high output laser light source 10 (col. 9, lines 25-30)
In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960)
The court held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced.
Abedin discloses the claimed invention except for the duplication. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in art at the time the invention was made to duplicate the optical detectors, since it has been held that a mere duplication of working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. One would have been motivated to duplicate the optical detectors for the purpose of monitoring or controlling multiple laser sources for the additive manufacturing.
Thus, Abedin plus Xiao discloses that, the one or more photosensitive detectors includes a plurality of photosensitive detectors, the one or more laser energy sources includes a plurality of laser energy sources, the one or more optical fibers includes a plurality of optical fibers corresponding with a respective one of the plurality of laser energy sources, each of the plurality of photosensitive detectors is arranged to detect the fiber fuse-generated propagation of plasma through a respective one of the plurality of optical fibers associated with the respective one of the plurality of laser energy sources, and the controlling the operation includes turning off a laser energy source among the plurality of laser energy sources based on the signal from a photosensitive detector among the plurality of photosensitive detectors indicating the fiber fuse-generated propagation of plasma in an optical fiber among the plurality of optical fibers corresponding with the laser energy source among the plurality of laser energy sources.
It would have been obvious to use the method of Mehr to have a real-time controlling method for additive manufacturing as Abedin and Xiao teaches that it is known to have the plurality of photosensitive detectors to extract a signal that is characteristic to optical fiber fuse in a case in which a fiber fuse (i.e., including plasma expansion) has been generated, this control will stop or suppress the output of the high output laser light source. It has been held that the combination of known techniques to improve similar methods is likely to be obvious when it does not more than yield predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007) (See MPEP 2143- exemplary rationales).
Regarding claim 26, Mehr does not explicitly disclose a plurality of photosensitive detectors in which at least one of multiple photosensitive detectors is applied to identify a process of elimination based on the singles from the multiple photosensitive detectors.
Abedin discloses, as illustrated in Fig. 7, incidents laser light from the high output laser light source 10 to the optical fiber 16 (col. 8, lines 61-63). Return light on the optical path 9 is branched to an optical detector 2 (it is noticed that, the detector 2 is not touching with the optical fiber 16) by a branching device 7 such as an optical coupler or circulator or the like. The output of the optical detector 2 is amplified if required, and filtered by an electric filter 3 to extract a signal that is characteristic to optical fiber fuse (as shown in Fig. 7) (col. 9, lines 10-16). Abedin discloses that, in a case in which a fiber fuse has been generated, this control will stop or suppress the output of the high output laser light source 10 (col. 9, lines 25-30).
In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960)
The court held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced.
Abedin discloses the claimed invention except for the duplication. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in art at the time the invention was made to duplicate the optical detectors, since it has been held that a mere duplication of working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. One would have been motivated to duplicate the optical detectors for the purpose of monitoring or controlling multiple laser sources for the additive manufacturing.
It is noticed that, when the output of the high output laser light source is stopped, the process of elimination of the output of the high output laser light source is completed.
Thus, Abedin plus Xiao discloses that, the one or more photosensitive detectors includes a plurality of photosensitive detectors, the one or more laser energy sources includes a plurality of laser energy sources, the one or more optical fibers includes a plurality of optical fibers corresponding with a respective one of the plurality of laser energy sources, each of the plurality of photosensitive detectors is arranged to detect the fiber fuse-generated propagation of plasma through a respective one of the plurality of optical fibers associated with the respective one of the plurality of laser energy sources, and the controlling the operation includes turning off a laser energy source among the plurality of laser energy sources based on the signal from a photosensitive detector among the plurality of photosensitive detectors indicating the fiber fuse-generated propagation of plasma in an optical fiber among the plurality of optical fibers corresponding with the laser energy source among the plurality of laser energy sources.
It would have been obvious to use the method of Mehr to have a real-time controlling method for additive manufacturing as Abedin and Xiao teaches that it is known to have the plurality of photosensitive detectors to extract a signal that is characteristic to optical fiber fuse in a case in which a fiber fuse (i.e., including plasma expansion) has been generated, this control will stop or suppress the output of the high output laser light source in which at the same time the output of the high output laser light source is eliminated. It has been held that the combination of known techniques to improve similar methods is likely to be obvious when it does not more than yield predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007) (See MPEP 2143- exemplary rationales).
Claims 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Mehr et al. (US 2018/0341248), Abedin et al. (US 8,822,895), and Xiao et al. (Exploring the Initiation of Fiber Fuse, Scientific report, Nature Research, 08/12/2029) as applied to claim 22 above, further in view of Hodge (US 6,012,337).
Regarding claim 25, Mehr discloses that, as illustrated in Figs. 1, 2, 3, 12, 13, non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions that, when processed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to implement a method for additive manufacturing ([0005]), the method comprising:
controlling, using one or more processors, transmission of laser energy from one or more laser energy sources through an optics assembly, via one or more optical fibers optically coupling the one or more laser energy sources and the optics assembly (e.g., fiber optics and high-powered lasers ([0049], lines 13-14)), toward a build surface to expose a layer of material on the build surface to the laser energy to melt at least a portion of the layer of material due to exposure of the portion to the laser energy ([0043] - [0050] (i.e., additive manufacturing processes));
controlling, using any of the one or more processors (e.g., as shown in Fig. 13), operation of the one or more laser energy sources based at least in part on the signals (ABSTRACT (i.e., realizing real-time control of additive manufacturing (including defect classification or flaw detection)).
However, Mehr does not specifically disclose ‘obtaining, using any of the one or more processors, signals from one or more photosensitive detectors in contact-less arrangement with the one or more of the one or more optical fibers along a length of the one or more optical fibers between an output of the one or more laser energy sources and an input of the optics assembly, wherein the signals indicate a fiber fuse-generated propagation of plasma through the one or more optical fibers’.
Thus, in the teachings of Mehr, in general, the defect classifications or flaw detections are discussed in detail in which a fiber fuse may involve but not identified.
In the same field of endeavor, fiber fuse detecting apparatus, Abedin discloses, as illustrated in Fig. 7, incidents laser light from the high output laser light source 10 to the optical fiber 16 (col. 8, lines 61-63). Return light on the optical path 9 is branched to an optical detector 2 (it is noticed that, the detector 2 is not touching with the optical fiber 16) by a branching device 7 such as an optical coupler or circulator or the like. The output of the optical detector 2 is amplified if required, and filtered by an electric filter 3 to extract a signal that is characteristic to optical fiber fuse (as shown in Fig. 7) (col. 9, lines 10-16). Abedin discloses that, in a case in which a fiber fuse has been generated, this control will stop or suppress the output of the high output laser light source 10 (col. 9, lines 25-30).
It would have been obvious to use the method of Mehr to have a real-time controlling method for additive manufacturing as Abedin teaches that it is known to have the optical detector to extract a signal that is characteristic to optical fiber fuse in a case in which a fiber fuse has been generated, this control will stop or suppress the output of the high output laser light source. It has been held that the combination of known techniques to improve similar methods is likely to be obvious when it does not more than yield predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007) (See MPEP 2143- exemplary rationales).
However, neither Mehr nor Abedin disclosed a plasma generated (or plasma expansion) during the fiber fuse. In the same field of endeavor, initiation of fiber fuse, Xiao discloses that, the interaction between the surrounding solid matters and the dispersive phase, probably including plasmas (page 7, lines 6-7).
It would have been obvious to use the method of Mehr to have a real-time controlling method for additive manufacturing as Abedin and Xiao teaches that it is known to have the optical detector to extract a signal that is characteristic to optical fiber fuse in a case in which a fiber fuse (i.e., including plasma expansion) has been generated, this control will stop or suppress the output of the high output laser light source. It has been held that the combination of known techniques to improve similar methods is likely to be obvious when it does not more than yield predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007) (See MPEP 2143- exemplary rationales).
However, the combination does not disclose a plurality of opaque masks.
In the same field of endeavor, monitoring sensor system, Hodge discloses that, as illustrated in Figs. 2, a single optical fiber 20a from the bundle of fibers 20 is connected to sensor 12a (col. 5, lines 25-41). As illustrated in Figs. 11-13, the sensor geometry 48 includes a transmissive grid, or reticle 42 and a reflective grid, or mask 43. The reticle 42 has a plurality of uniformly spaced light impervious surfaces 45 which are the passive areas of the reticle (col. 6, lines 45-67).
It would have been obvious to use the method of the combination to have a real-time controlling method for additive manufacturing as Hodge teaches that it is known to have the optical detector to extract a signal that is characteristic to optical fiber fuse in which a plurality of opaque masks is applied. It has been held that the combination of known techniques to improve similar methods is likely to be obvious when it does not more than yield predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007) (See MPEP 2143- exemplary rationales).
Claims 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Mehr et al. (US 2018/0341248), Abedin et al. (US 8,822,895), and Xiao et al. (Exploring the Initiation of Fiber Fuse, Scientific report, Nature Research, 08/12/2029) as applied to claim 26 above, further in view of Zhu et al. (US 2023/0271386).
Regarding claim 27, the combination does not disclose using intensity-based triangulation to confirm the one of the plurality of optical fibers as including the fiber fuse-generated propagation of plasma based on intensity of light emitted by the plasma being higher at whichever among the first photosensitive detector and the second photosensitive detector is closer to the one of the plurality of optical fibers.
In the same field of endeavor, 3d printing, Zhu discloses that, related to the measurement in 3d printing, optical measurements (e.g., those utilizing optical sensors, such as intensity-based sensors, triangulation-based sensors …) may be applied ([0072]).
It would have been obvious to use the method of the combination to have a real-time controlling method for additive manufacturing as Zhu teaches that it is known to use intensity-based triangulation to confirm the one of the plurality of optical fibers as including the fiber fuse-generated propagation of plasma based on intensity of light emitted by the plasma being higher at whichever among the first photosensitive detector and the second photosensitive detector is closer to the one of the plurality of optical fibers. It has been held that the combination of known techniques to improve similar methods is likely to be obvious when it does not more than yield predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007) (See MPEP 2143- exemplary rationales).
Conclusion
/SHIBIN LIANG/Examiner, Art Unit 1741
/ALISON L HINDENLANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1741