DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending and under consideration on the merits.
Examiner Note
It is noted that all references hereinafter to Applicant’s Specification are to the published application US 2025/0015398 A1, unless stated otherwise. Further, it is noted that italicized text in parentheses recited in any rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102 or 35 U.S.C. 103 indicates the element of the claimed invention to which the preceding prior art element corresponds. Additionally, any italicized text utilized hereinafter is to be interpreted as emphasis placed thereupon.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to for use of the phrase “…according to an embodiment of the disclosure.” A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 5, “… to at least partially overlap the front sealing part the lateral side of the first cup” renders the claim indefinite. It is unclear if the front sealing part element is a separate element from the lateral side of the first cup. For the purposes of examination, claim 5 is interpreted as instead reciting “… to at least partially overlap the front sealing part and the lateral side of the first cup.” Support for this interpretation can be found in Applicant’s Specification ¶0159.
Appropriate action is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 10-11, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kong et al. (US 2025/0046917 A1; “Kong”).
Regarding claim 1, Kong discloses improving a pouch-shaped case of a pouch battery used in electronic devices (an electronic device comprising a housing; and a battery disposed inside the housing) [0002, 0006, 0047, 0050, 0109]. The pouch battery includes an electrode assembly [element 360, 0024, 0047, 0095, 0103-0104, FIGs. 6 and 8], and a pouch-shaped case [elements 350 and 450, 0077-0078, 0080, 0086, 0097, FIGs. 6-9] comprising an upper receiving portion [element 316, 0024, 0041, 0048, 0066, 0083, 0096, 0104] (an upper pouch) connected to a lower receiving portion (lower pouch) [element 302, 0024, 0040, 0047, 0066, 0077-0078, 0083, 0095, 0097, 0104, FIGs. 6-9], wherein both portions are disposed to accommodate the electrode assembly [0041, 0048, 0066, 0083, 0095-0097, 0103-0104].
The pouch-shaped case includes an outer circumferential portion (a sealing part) [element 356, 0077, 0086, FIG. 7] formed at edges of the upper receiving portion and the lower receiving portion to seal the electrode assembly [0017, 0049, 0086, 0105, FIG. 7]. The lower receiving portion includes a first cup recessed downwardly and configured to accommodate at least a portion of the electrode assembly [0024, 0040, 0047, 0066, 0077-0078, 0083, 0095, 0097, 0104, FIGs. 6-9] (see below for Figure 1. Annotated FIGs. 7-8 of Kong). The first cup has a front side [element 313, 0069, 0092, FIG. 8], a rear side [element 304, 0077, FIGs. 7-9] opposite to the front side [FIGs. 7-9], and a lateral side connecting the front side and the rear side [FIGs. 7-9] (see below for Figure 1. Annotated FIGs. 7-8 of Kong). The outer circumferential portion includes a front sealing part extending from the front side of the first cup and disposed at a lower position than an upper end of the rear side of the first cup [0077, FIGs. 6-9] (see below for Figure 1. Annotated FIGs. 7-8 of Kong).
Kong does not explicitly disclose the battery being configured to supply power to the electronic device.
However, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that since the pouch battery is a lithium secondary battery [Kong, 0109], it is capable of undergoing charging and discharging (is rechargeable), and thus would have been capable of supplying power to an electronic device so that the electronic device is able to function. In view thereof, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the pouch battery of Kong so that it is configured to supply power to the electronic device, in order for the electronic device to function.
Figure 1. Annotated FIGs. 7-8 of Kong
Regarding claim 10, in view of the rejection of claim 1 above, Kong further discloses that the first cup has a base lower portion (a bottom side) [element 312, 0075, 0083, 0092, FIGs. 6-9]. The lateral side of the first cup includes a first part having a substantially uniform height from the bottom side [FIGs. 6 and 8] (see below for Figure 2. Annotated FIG. 8 of Kong), and a second part extends from the first part toward the front side having a height that gradually decreases from the bottom side toward the front side [FIGs. 6 and 8] (see below for Figure 2. Annotated FIG. 8 of Kong).
Figure 2. Annotated FIG. 8 of Kong
Regarding claim 11, the rejection of claim 1 above is incorporated herein by reference, not repeated for sake of brevity, and reads on the battery defined by claim 11. The pouch-shaped case reads on the claimed pouch.
Regarding claim 19, in view of the rejection of claim 11 above, the rejection of claim 10 above is incorporated herein by reference, not repeated for sake of brevity, and reads on the battery defined by claim 19.
Regarding claim 20, the rejection of claims 1 and 10-11 above are incorporated herein by reference, not repeated for sake of brevity, and read on the pouch defined by claim 20.
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kong as applied to claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 103 above, in view of Kwak et al. (US 2020/0220227 A1; “Kwak”). Claims 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kong as applied to claim 11 under 35 U.S.C. 103 above, in view of Kwak.
Regarding claim 2, Kong discloses the electronic device set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Kong remains silent regarding the battery includes a protection circuit module electrically connected to the electrode assembly, and wherein the protection circuit module is disposed at the front sealing part.
Kwak is directed towards an electronic device comprising a battery and a battery protection module, e.g. a protection circuit board (PCB) [element 150, 0005, 0010, 0036]. Kwak teaches that the battery protection module may include, on a first surface thereof, a first tab and a second tab that protrude toward a main circuit board and that are connected to electrode plates in the battery [0116]. The battery is disposed in a housing and electrically connected to the main circuit board [0010, 0102, 0115], as well as, the battery protection module is disposed on one side surface of the battery and electrically connected to the inside of the battery [0010, 0102, 0115]. The battery protection module is electrically connected with the first tab and the second tab [0041, 0119], wherein the first tab is connected to a first electrode [0041, 0103], and the second tab is connected to a second electrode [0041, 0103]. The battery protection module is disposed on a front sealing part [0041, FIGs. 1-3].
Kong and Kwak each constitute prior art which is directly analogous to the claimed invention – ------an electronic device, a housing, and a battery. In view of the combined teachings of the foregoing prior art, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the pouch battery of Kong to additionally include the battery protection module electrically connected to the electrode assembly, like that of Kwak, in order to supply power to a main circuit board, and prevent overcharge or over discharge of the battery, thereby protecting the battery from over-current [Kwak, 0035-0036].
In accordance with the aforesaid modifications, the pouch battery of Kong as modified by Kwak (hereinafter “modified Kong”) would include a battery protection module (protection circuit module) electrically connected to the inside of the battery, specifically, to first and second tabs, of which are connected to electrodes (electrically connected to the electrode assembly), and the battery protection module disposed on the front sealing part.
Regarding claim 3, in view of the rejection of claim 2 above, Kwak further teaches that the battery protection module may be electrically connected with a main circuit board through a flexible printed circuit board [0005, 0010, 0033-0035, 0037-0038, 0043-0050, 0059-0071]. The flexible printed circuit board is bent upward to be located within a width of the front sealing part [0038, 0044, 0050, 0058-0059, 0064, 0068, 0074-0075, 0089, 0102-0107, 0116-0121, FIGs. 1-3].
In view of the combined teachings of the foregoing prior art, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the pouch battery of Kong so that the battery protection module may be electrically connected with a main circuit board through a flexible printed circuit board, wherein the flexible printed circuit board is bent upward to be located within a width of the front sealing part. The bending portion allows the flexible printed circuit board to be elongated, thereby performing a buffer function [Kwak, 0089]. Additionally, the bent shape reduces stress applied to the flexible printed circuit board, and thus achieves an increase in the arrangement space of the main circuit board in the electronic device [Kwak, 0149]. The main circuit board allows for various elements to be mounted thereon, that are required for operations of the electronic device, and supplies power to mounted and/or connected elements [Kwak, 0034]. The flexible printed circuit board allows for connection between the battery protection module and the main circuit board, wherein the flexible printed circuit board may transfer power from the battery to a power supply point of the main circuit board [Kwak, 0037].
In accordance with the aforesaid modifications, the pouch battery of modified Kong would further have the battery protection module electrically connected with a main circuit board (a printed circuit board of the electronic device) through a flexible printed circuit board (flexible printed circuit board), thereby, reading on the protection circuit module includes a flexible printed circuit board electrically connecting the battery and a printed circuit board of the electronic device, as claimed, wherein the flexible printed circuit board is bent upward to be located within a width of the front sealing part.
Regarding claim 12, in view of the rejection of claim 11 above, the rejection of claim 2 above is incorporated herein by reference, not repeated for sake of brevity, and reads on the battery defined by claim 12.
Regarding claim 13, in view of the rejection of claim 12 above, the rejection of claim 3 above is incorporated herein by reference, not repeated for sake of brevity, and reads on the protection circuit module defined by claim 13.
Claims 4-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kong as applied to claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 103 above, in view of Otohata et al. (US 2007/0009795 A1; “Otohata”). Claims 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kong as applied to claim 11 under 35 U.S.C. 103 above, in view of Otohata.
Regarding claim 4, Kong discloses the electronic device set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Kong remains silent regarding the sealing part includes a side sealing part, at least a portion of which is bent and extended from an upper end of the lateral side of the first cup.
Otohata is directed towards a film-covered battery [elements 1 and 101, 0009, 0011-0015, 0047]. Otohata teaches that the film-covered battery includes covering films with a side sealing part [0011, 0048-0050, 0056, 0065, 0082-0085, FIGs. 1-4, 6, 8-11, 13-19], wherein at least a portion of the side sealing part is bent and extends from an upper end of a lateral side of a bottom film [0011, 0014-0024, 0050-0054, 0059-0060, 0065, FIGs. 1, 3-4, 6, 8-11, 13-19].
Kwak and Otohata each constitute prior art which is directly analogous to the claimed invention - ------[state field]. In view of the combined teachings of the foregoing prior art, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the electronic device of Kwak so that the outer circumferential portion includes a side sealing part, like that of Otohata, wherein at least a portion of the side sealing part is bent and extends from an upper end of the lateral side of the first cup in order to reduce projection area/elongation on an outer side of the outer circumferential portion, therefore, preventing damage to the pouch-shaped case material, preventing a crack at the middle of the joint section that would have led to a short transmission path into the interior of the battery, and preventing the introduction of moisture and the escape of an electrolytic solution, thus improving the performance and reliability of the battery, as well as, producing a reliable film-covered battery [Otohata, 0011, 0021, 0024, 0053, 0062, 0065, 0070].
In accordance with the aforesaid modifications, the electronic device of Kwak as modified by Otohata (hereinafter “modified Kwak”) would have the outer circumferential portion including a side sealing part, wherein at least a portion of the side sealing part is bent and extends from an upper end of the lateral side of the first cup, thereby, reading on the sealing part defined by each and every limitation of claim 4.
Regarding claim 5, in view of the rejection of claim 4 above, Otohata further teaches that the side sealing part is bent at least twice [0017-0018, 0065, FIGs. 16-19] to at least partially overlap the front sealing part and the lateral side of the bottom film [FIGs. 16-19].
In view of the combined teachings of the foregoing prior art, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the electronic device of Kwak so that the side sealing part is bent at least twice to at least partially overlap the front sealing part and the lateral side of the first cup, in order to further reduce the projection area of the film-covered battery [Otohata, 0009, 0011, 0050, 0065, 0067, 0070].
In accordance with the aforesaid modifications, the electronic device of modified Kwak would have the side sealing part bent at least twice to at least partially overlap the front sealing part and the lateral side of the first cup, thereby, reading on the side sealing part defined by each and every limitation of claim 5 (see 112(b) claim rejection above for claim interpretation).
Regarding claim 6, in view of the rejection of claim 4 above, Otohata further teaches the side sealing part includes a first side sealing part bent downwardly to face the lateral side of the bottom film [0017-0018, 0065, FIGs. 16 and 18].
In view of the combined teachings of the foregoing prior art, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the electronic device of Kwak so that the side sealing part includes a first side sealing part bent downwardly, like that of Otohata, to face the lateral side of the first cup, in order to reduce the projection area of the film-covered battery, prevent the introduction of moisture and the escape of an electrolytic solution, thus improve the performance and reliability of the battery, as well as, produce a reliable film-covered battery [Otohata, 0009, 0011, 0021, 0024, 0050, 0053, 0062, 0065, 0067, 0070].
In accordance with the aforesaid modifications, the electronic device of modified Kwak would have the side sealing part include a first side sealing part bent downwardly to face the lateral side of the first cup, thereby, reading on the side sealing part defined by each and every limitation of claim 6.
Regarding claim 7, in view of the rejection of claim 6 above, Otohata further teaches that the first side sealing part has a shape corresponding to at least the lateral side of the bottom film [0011, 0014-0024, 0050-0054, 0059-0060, 0065, FIGs. 1, 3-4, 9-10, 13, 16, 18]. In view of the combined teachings of the foregoing prior art, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the electronic device of Kwak so that the first side sealing part has a shape corresponding to at least the lateral side of the first cup, like that of Otohata, in order to reduce the projection area of the film-covered battery, prevent the introduction of moisture and the escape of an electrolytic solution, thus improve the performance and reliability of the battery, as well as, produce a reliable film-covered battery [Otohata, 0009, 0011, 0021, 0024, 0050, 0053, 0062, 0065, 0067, 0070].
In accordance with the aforesaid modifications, the electronic device of modified Kwak would have the first side sealing part having a shape corresponding to at least the lateral side of the first cup, thereby, reading on the side sealing part defined by each and every limitation of claim 7.
Regarding claim 14, in view of the rejection of claim 11 above, the rejection of claim 4 above is incorporated herein by reference, not repeated for sake of brevity, and reads on the sealing part defined by claim 14.
Regarding claim 15, in view of the rejection of claim 14 above, the rejection of claim 5 above is incorporated herein by reference, not repeated for sake of brevity, and reads on the side sealing part defined by claim 15.
Regarding claim 16, in view of the rejection of claim 14 above, the rejection of claim 6 above is incorporated herein by reference, not repeated for sake of brevity, and reads on the side sealing part defined by claim 16.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kong in view of Otohata as applied to claim 6 under 35 U.S.C. 103 above, further in view of Werner (US 2014/0147730 A1; “Werner”). Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kong in view of Otohata as applied to claim 16 under 35 U.S.C. 103 above, further in view of Werner.
Regarding claim 8, Kong as modified by Otohata (hereinafter “modified Kong”) discloses the electronic device set forth in the rejection of claim 6 above. Kong discloses the side sealing part includes a lower part of front ends of outer circumferential portions (a second side sealing part) [element 356c, 0086, 0119, FIGs. 7 and 9].
Modified Kong remains silent regarding the side sealing part includes a second side sealing part connected to the first side sealing part and bent to face a lower side of the front sealing part.
Werner is directed towards a battery utilized in a variety of different electrical devices [0031, 0035, 0040, 0045]. Werner teaches that the battery is accommodated in a battery pouch [0032], wherein a pouch edge may be sealed and folded toward the underside of the battery [0029]. Werner further teaches that one or more additional edges may be folded upward [0036, 0042], thereby teaching that some pouch edges may be folded toward the underside of the battery while others may be folded upwards, simultaneously [0036, 0044].
Kong, Otohata, and Werner each constitute prior art which is directly analogous to the claimed invention - ------------an electronic device, a housing, and a battery. Given that Otohata and Werner are each directed towards reducing a projection area/horizontal dimension, thereby creating a more compact battery design, and that Otohata teaches that the fold may not be formed in end regions of the sides [Otohata, 0063] or may be formed in end regions of the sides [Otohata, 0072], and that Werner teaches that some pouch edges may be folded toward the underside of the battery while others may be folded upwards, simultaneously [Werner, 0036, 0044], one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that different end regions of a pouch side may have folded portions in different directions, simultaneously. In view of the combined teachings of the foregoing prior art, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the electronic device of modified Kong so that at least one edge of the lower part of front ends of outer circumferential portions is sealed and folded toward the underside of the pouch battery in order to not increase a horizontal dimension and to reduce space required for seals [Werner, 0001, 0029-0030, 0034, 0042, 0049-0050].
In accordance with the aforesaid modifications, the electronic device of modified Kong would have at least one edge of the lower part of front ends of outer circumferential portions sealed and folded toward the underside of the pouch battery, thereby, reading on the side sealing part defined by each and every limitation of claim 8.
Regarding claim 17, in view of the rejection of claim 16 above, the rejection of claim 8 above is incorporated herein by reference, not repeated for sake of brevity, and reads on the side sealing part defined by claim 17.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kong in view of Otohata and Werner as applied to claim 8 under 35 U.S.C. 103 above, further in view of Kwak. Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kong in view of Otohata and Werner as applied to claim 17 under 35 U.S.C. 103 above, further in view of Kwak.
Regarding claim 9, Kong as modified by Otohata and Werner (hereinafter “modified Kong”) discloses the electronic device set forth in the rejection of claim 8 above.
Modified Kong remains silent regarding the battery includes a protection circuit module electrically connected to the electrode assembly, and wherein the protection circuit module is located at a position opposite to the second side sealing part based on the front sealing part.
Kwak is directed towards an electronic device comprising a battery and a battery protection module, e.g. a protection circuit board (PCB) [element 150, 0005, 0010, 0036]. Kwak teaches that the battery protection module may include, on a first surface thereof, a first tab and a second tab that protrude toward a main circuit board and that are connected to electrode plates in the battery [0116]. The battery is disposed in a housing and electrically connected to the main circuit board [0010, 0102, 0115], as well as, the battery protection module is disposed on one side surface of the battery and electrically connected to the inside of the battery [0010, 0102, 0115]. The battery protection module is electrically connected with the first tab and the second tab [0041, 0119], wherein the first tab is connected to a first electrode [0041, 0103], and the second tab is connected to a second electrode [0041, 0103]. The battery protection module is disposed on a front sealing part [0041, FIGs. 1-3].
Kong, Otohata, Werner, and Kwak each constitute prior art which is directly analogous to the claimed invention – ------an electronic device, a housing, and a battery. In view of the combined teachings of the foregoing prior art, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the pouch battery of Kong to additionally include the battery protection module electrically connected to the electrode assembly and disposed on the front sealing part, like that of Kwak, in order to supply power to a main circuit board, and prevent overcharge or over discharge of the battery, thereby protecting the battery from over-current [Kwak, 0035-0036].
In accordance with the aforesaid modifications, the pouch battery of Kong as modified by Kwak (hereinafter “modified Kong”) would include a battery protection module (protection circuit module) electrically connected to the inside of the battery, specifically, to first and second tabs, of which are connected to electrodes (electrically connected to the electrode assembly), and the battery protection module disposed on the front sealing part, wherein at least one edge of the lower part of front ends of outer circumferential portions sealed and folded toward the underside of the pouch battery, see modification made in ¶59 above, thereby, reading on wherein the protection circuit module is located at a position opposite to the second side sealing part based on the front sealing part, as claimed.
Regarding claim 18, in view of the rejection of claim 17 above, the rejection of claim 9 above is incorporated herein by reference, not repeated for sake of brevity, and reads on the battery defined by claim 18.
Pertinent Prior Art
The following constitutes a list of prior art which are not relied upon herein, but are considered pertinent to the claimed invention and/or written description thereof. The prior art are purposely made of record hereinafter to facilitate compact/expedient prosecution, and consideration thereof is respectfully suggested.
Oh et al., US 2020/0168852 A1 – teaches a first cup has a bottom side, and wherein a lateral side of the first cup includes a first part having a substantially uniform height from the bottom side, and a second part extends from the first part toward the front side having a height that gradually decreases from the bottom side toward the front side [0010-0014, 0036-0047, FIGs. 1-3].
Yang et al., US 2021/0084764 A1 – teaches protection circuit module includes a flexible printed circuit board electrically connecting the battery and a printed circuit board of the electronic device, and wherein the flexible printed circuit board is bent upward to be located within a width of the front sealing part [Abstract, 0055-0118, FIGs. 2-7].
Conclusion
/JENNA X. COLTON/Examiner, Art Unit 1782
/MICHAEL C. ROMANOWSKI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1782