Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on June 6, 2024 and October 30, 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/17/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Masayuki fails to disclose independent claim 1, features of the claimed operation b) and does not teach varying the shortened run length as a function of position along the up-and-down direction of the run group. However, Examiner disagrees and cites Masayuki (page 4 [Object of the Invention] the color of the line image area to be processed is designated. Further, for each processing line arranged in parallel in a predetermined direction on the original image, a run length of each area of the original image on the processing line is obtained; the line image area is erased by performing addition and shortening or deleting the run length with respect to the other to make the width of the changed line image area substantially zero. The run length of the line image region in the present invention is compared with a predetermined reference value and when the run length is smaller than the predetermined reference value, lengthening, adding or shortening, deleting is performed, so the width of the line image region is changed.) as effective in capturing the essence of the claimed invention under broadest reasonable interpretation of shortening the run length. The key point is that tapering maintains the overall length but changes the cross-sectional dimensions, often to enhance proportion, fit, or performance. Shortening, on the other hand, is a linear reduction in length. Tapering is not used in the claimed language, and this term would change the scope of independent claim 1.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., Figure 9, the specific run group is a linear region composed of target runs stacked in the up-and-down direction, where each target run extends in the left-and-right direction and is run length is the width of the linear region at that height. This produces a linear region that retains substantially its original width at each end and tapers to the set width toward the center. ) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Furthermore, Applicant fails to address the claim objections with regards to the 35 U.S.C 112(f) claim interpretation of claim 7 due to the use of “part” in the claim language.
Since no amendments have been made to the original claims, Examiner maintains the same rejection as the previous non-final rejection in this office action.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: "part" in claim 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Masayuki et. al. (Japanese Patent JP H0831130 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Masayuki et. al. discloses a thinning method for thinning a run-length encoded binary image (Masayuki et. al. abstract “To improve a speed for processing by executing extension, addition, shortening or deletion when the run length of a linear picture area is smaller than a prescribed reference value and changing the width of the linear picture area.”, comprising: a) detecting a target run group as a specific run group in said binary image in which a run representing a pattern which is a target to be thinned is designated as a target run, said target run group representing a linear region crossing a left-and-right direction corresponding to a run length and including target runs sequentially connected to one another in an up-and-down direction perpendicular to said left-and-right direction; (Masayuki et. al. page 4 [Object of the Invention] the color of the line image area to be processed is designated. Further, for each processing line arranged in parallel in a predetermined direction on the original image, a run length of each area of the original image on the processing line is obtained.) b) acquiring a run-length encoded partially-thinned image by shortening a run length of said specific run group so that a run length of each target run included in both end portions in said up-and-down direction becomes shorter as said each target run gets positioned nearer to a center side and a run length of each target run positioned between said both end portions becomes a set width in said specific run group; (Masayuki et. al. page 4 [Object of the Invention] the line image area is erased by performing addition and shortening or deleting the run length with respect to the other to make the width of the changed line image area substantially zero. The run length of the line image region in the present invention is compared with a predetermined reference value and when the run length is smaller than the predetermined reference value, lengthening, adding or shortening, deleting is performed, so the width of the line image region is changed.) and c) acquiring a thinned image by performing a predetermined thinning process on said partially-thinned image. (Masayuki et. al. page 4 [Object of the Invention] a thinning process or a thickening process of the line image area is performed so that the value becomes a value)
Regarding claim 7, which recites an apparatus for carrying out the method steps of claim 1 when implemented. Thus, the rejection of claim 1 is fully incorporated herein. Furthermore, Masayuki et. al. discloses a thinning apparatus for thinning a run-length encoded binary image (Masayuki et. al. page 3 [Field of Industrial Use]; Fig. 2 shown below depicts the apparatus).
Regarding claim 8, which is a computer readable medium claim storing program instructions that when executed by the computer performs the steps of method claim 1. Thus, the rejection of claim 1 is fully incorporated herein. Furthermore, Masayuki et. al. discloses a non-transitory recording medium recording therein a computer-readable program to cause a computer to perform thinning of a run-length encoded binary image, said program being executed by a computer to cause said computer to perform (Masayuki et. al. page 3 [Field of Industrial Use]; Fig. 2 above e.g., storage memory 30; also Fig. 5A outlining the program algorithm).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3, 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Masayuki et. al. (Japanese Patent JP H0831130 B2) in view of Hiroshi et. al. (Japanese Patent JP H11232382 A).
Regarding claim 2, Masayuki et. al. discloses the thinning method according to claim 1. However, Masayuki fails to disclose wherein said target run group in which each target run is connected only to not more than one target run on each of upper and lower sides is detected as said specific run group in said operation a).
Hiroshi et. al. teaches wherein said target run group in which each target run is connected only to not more than one target run on each of upper and lower sides is detected as said specific run group in said operation a). (Hiroshi et. al. [0030], Figure 3, which is situated in the same technical context (see abstract)). Here, the target run is connected which is important to the claimed invention for object detection and feature extraction. Thus, it would be obvious to one skilled in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the features taught by Masayuki et. al. and the teachings of Hiroshi et. al. so that these features are reflected in the solution to the problem.
Regarding claim 3, Masayuki et. al. discloses the thinning method according to claim 1. However, Masayuki et. al. fails to disclose wherein said target run group in which in each combination of two target runs connected to each other in said up-and-down direction, a distance between respective left ends thereof in said left-and-right direction and a distance between respective right ends thereof in said left-and-right direction are each not larger than the predetermined number of pixels is detected as said specific run group in said operation a).
Hiroshi et. al. teaches wherein said target run group in which in each combination of two target runs connected to each other in said up-and-down direction, a distance between respective left ends thereof in said left-and-right direction and a distance between respective right ends thereof in said left-and-right direction are each not larger than the predetermined number of pixels is detected as said specific run group in said operation a). (Hiroshi et. al. [0032], Figure 4 “the determination is performed using the height H and the width W of the circumscribed rectangle 401 of the connected component generated from the run length data of the ruled line 400”). This distance used for a specific run group is important to the claimed invention so that there is a quantified region of interest. Thus, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined these features of Masayuki et. al. and Hiroshi et. al. so that these quantified distances are known.
Regarding claim 5, Masayuki et. al. discloses the thinning method according to claim 1. However, Masayuki et. al. fails to disclose wherein said operation a) includes: a1) detecting a target run group in which target runs are sequentially connected to one another in said up-and-down direction while satisfying predetermined conditions in said binary image, as a specific run group candidate; and a2) determining whether said specific run group candidate is said specific run group or not by comparing a length of a region indicated by said specific run group candidate along said up-and-down direction with a thickness thereof along said left-and-right direction.
Hiroshi et. al. teaches wherein said operation a) includes: a1) detecting a target run group in which target runs are sequentially connected to one another in said up-and-down direction while satisfying predetermined conditions in said binary image, as a specific run group candidate; and a2) determining whether said specific run group candidate is said specific run group or not by comparing a length of a region indicated by said specific run group candidate along said up-and-down direction with a thickness thereof along said left-and-right direction. (Hiroshi et. al. [0029] “run length data longer than a predetermined threshold-value (thA) are selected, when the space interval of run length data longer than thA is shorter than a predetermined threshold-value (thB), it determines with it being a blur and two run length data are connected.”) It is important to the claimed invention that a length of a region is compared. Thus, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teachings of Masayuki et. al. and Hiroshi et. al. so that the data for the desired outcome and candidate is compared to satisfy the predetermined conditions.
Regarding claim 6, Masayuki et. al. discloses the thinning method according to claim 1. However, Masayuki et. al. fails to disclose wherein a run length of at least one of two adjacent target runs in said up-and-down direction is extended in a case where said two target runs are separated from each other in said left-and-right direction by shortening a run length of said specific run group in said operation b).
Hiroshi et. al. teaches wherein a run length of at least one of two adjacent target runs in said up-and-down direction is extended in a case where said two target runs are separated from each other in said left-and-right direction by shortening a run length of said specific run group in said operation b). (Hiroshi et. al. [0029] “run length data longer than a predetermined threshold-value (thA) are selected, when the space interval of run length data longer than thA is shorter than a predetermined threshold-value (thB), it determines with it being a blur and two run length data are connected.”) It is important to the claimed invention that a length of a region is compared. Thus, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teachings of Masayuki et. al. and Hiroshi et. al. so that the data for the desired outcome and candidate is compared to satisfy the predetermined conditions.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 4, Masayuki et. al. discloses the thinning method according to claim 1. However, Masayuki et. al. fails to disclose wherein said target run group in which a moving direction of a barycenter of a target run from an upper end toward a lower end is constant is detected as said specific run group in said operation a). None of the prior art of record or searched teaches this limitation of a moving direction of a barycenter of a target run is constant.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JESSICA YIFANG LIN/Examiner, Art Unit 2668 June 26, 2026
/VU LE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2668