DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/14/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Toma et al teaches a main transmission channel distributing content is a broadcast wave and, for example, there is an MPEG-2 TS (Moving Picture Experts Group-2 Transport Stream) as a media transport system widely used in the current broadcasting system. The content can be distributed through a communication channel such as the Internet. That is, the content can be distributed through not only the broadcast wave but also the communication channel, and the transmission channel through which the content can be distributed is diversified. Toma et al teaches a transmission method for enabling transmission of content using a broadcast wave and a communication channel (Para. 0004-5, 0008). The reference teaches the reception device in the case that the data is received through the broadcasting using the TS while the data is received through the communication using the DASH or RTP (Real-time Transport Protocol). Thus, the reference teaches receive an input of first coded video data transmitted by digital broadcasting of a first media transport method, decode the first coded video data, and output first video information (i.e. data is received through the broadcasting using the TS) (Abstract; Figures 9-10; Para. 0165, 0174, 0181, 0196, 0201); receive an input of second coded video data transmitted by digital broadcasting of a second media transport method, decode the second coded video data, and output second video information (i.e. the data is received through the communication using the DASH or RTP) (Figures 9-10; Abstract; Para. 0165, 0174, 0181, 0196, 0201).
Applicant states the route in Toma (steps S403 (NO) S409 S410 in Fig. 9) corresponding to the claimed digital-broadcasting/digital-broadcasting configuration would not perform the clock synchronization relied upon by the Office Action. However, When the communication content is to be acquired (YES in S403), the flow goes to Step S404, and the data is received through both the transmission channels of the broadcasting and communication. When the broadcasting content and the communication content are to be synchronously played back (YES in S405), the reference clocks of the broadcasting content and communication content are synchronized with each other in Step S406, and the broadcasting content and the communication content are synchronously played back in Step S407. The reference clock synchronization in S406 can be made based on either reference clock used in the broadcasting or communication. For example, in the case that the PCR (Program Clock Reference) is used in the broadcasting while the NTP (Network Time Protocol) is used in the communication, the reference clocks of the broadcasting content and communication content can be synchronized with each other by converting the NTP-based audio or video DTS or PTS into the PCR-based audio or video DTS or PTS. The DTSs or PTSs of the broadcasting and communication may be converted so as to be synchronized with an inherent clock used in the reception device (Figure 9; Para. 201, 203 and 205). In addition, the reference teaches the reception device receives the auxiliary information including the difference information between the reference clock of the content transmitted using the broadcast wave and the reference clock of the content transmitted using the communication channel, and the reference clock of the content transmitted using the broadcast wave differs from the reference clock of the content transmitted using the communication channel (Para. 0204, 0205, 0335) meeting newly added limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Toma et al (US PG Pub No. 2016/0100220), in view of Vaysman et al (US PG Pub No. 2018/0098017).
Regarding claims 1 and 6, Toma et al teaches a broadcast receiving apparatus (Figure 2) comprising:
receive an input of first coded video data transmitted by digital broadcasting of a first media transport method, decode the first coded video data, and output first video information (i.e. data is received through the broadcasting using the TS) (Abstract; Figures 9-10; Para. 0165, 0174, 0181, 0196, 0201);
receive an input of second coded video data transmitted by digital broadcasting of a second media transport method, decode the second coded video data, and output second video information (i.e. the data is received through the communication using the DASH or RTP) (Figures 9-10; Abstract; Para. 0165, 0174, 0181, 0196, 0201); and
present the first video information output from the first decoder by using a first time stamp based on first time information of the first media transport method and present the second video information output from the second decoder by using a second time stamp based on second time information of the second media transport method (i.e. reception data is decoded and played back after confirmation of the reception of the data in which the PTS is T1 in the broadcasting content and the data in which the PTS is T1 in the communication content) (Para. 0204, 0205),
wherein, when presenting the first video information and the second video information in synchronization with each other, further configured to: calculate, from the first time information, third time information corresponding to the second time information by using differential information between the first time information and the second time information; and present the first video information output from the first decoder based on the third time information (i.e. the reception device receives the auxiliary information including the difference information between the reference clock of the content transmitted using the broadcast wave and the reference clock of the content transmitted using the communication channel, and the reference clock of the content transmitted using the broadcast wave differs from the reference clock of the content transmitted using the communication channel) (Para. 0204, 0205, 0335).
The reference is unclear with respect to a first decoder, a second decoder and a video processor.
In similar field of endeavor, Vaysman et al teaches a first decoder [17a], a second decoder [17b] and a video processor [24] (Figure 52). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the claimed invention before the effectively filing date for the common knowledge purpose of providing customers with components which allows them to receives data via multiple paths on time for better service(s).
Claims 2 and 7, Toma et al teaches wherein the first media transport method is MPEG2-TS method and the second media transport method is MMT method (Para. 0076-77).
Claims 3 and 8, Toma et al teaches wherein the first time information is PCR (Program Clock Reference) and the second time information is NTP (Network Time Protocol) (Para. 0205, 0330).
Regarding claims 4 and 9, Toma et al teaches
receive digital broadcasting (Para. 0165),
wherein the differential information is transmitted by the digital broadcasting of the first media transport method and/or the digital broadcasting of the second media transport method (Para. 0204, 0205, 0335),
receive the differential information transmitted by the digital broadcasting of the first media transport method and/or the digital broadcasting of the second media transport method, and calculate the third time information by using the differential information (i.e. the reception device receives the auxiliary information including the difference information between the reference clock of the content transmitted using the broadcast wave and the reference clock of the content transmitted using the communication channel, and the reference clock of the content transmitted using the broadcast wave differs from the reference clock of the content transmitted using the communication channel) (Para. 0204, 0205, 0335).
The reference is unclear with respect to a tuner and the video processor.
In similar field of endeavor, Vaysman et al teaches a tuner [18] and the video processor [24] (Figure 52). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the claimed invention before the effectively filing date for the common knowledge purpose of providing customers with components which allows them to receives data via multiple paths on time for better service(s).
Claims 5 and 10, Toma et al teaches the differential information is generated in the broadcast receiving apparatus based on the first time information/stamp and the second time information/stamp (Para. 0204, 0205, 0335).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KUNAL LANGHNOJA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2425