DETAILED ACTION
This is in reference to communication received 17 February 2026. Cancellation of claims 2 – 4 and 13 is acknowledged. Addition of claims 21 – 23 is acknowledged. Claims 14 – 20 are in Withdrawn Status. Claims 1, 5 – 12 and 21 – 23 are pending for examination. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1, 5 – 12 and 21 – 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Independent claim 1, in part is directed toward a statutory category of invention, the claim appears to be directed toward a judicial exception namely an abstract idea. Claim 1 recites invention directed to defining a Wireflow for a campaign toolkit that will be used for data visualization. Campaign toolkit that will be designed will comprise 3 components, namely “a page generator” that will be configured to generate visualization page; “a donor manager” that will be configured to manage donor information relating to a campaign; and, “a pyramid builder” that will be configured to generate data represented in a pyramid configuration representative of allocated door slots for campaigns, which, pursuant to MPEP 2106.04, is aptly categorized as a method of organizing human activity (i.e. sales and marketing defining what product they will be designing for deployment to customer use for visualization of their campaign data). Therefore, the claims recite a judicial exception.
In addition, claimed invention defines that the user-interface of the campaign interface tool is configured to enable a user to view pages output by the page generator on a display device and to make inputs to control visualization of campaign data displayed to the user; page generator will be configured to generate a home page having campaign related information which can be accessed by the user to select a respective campaign, a navigation page including a gift pyramid button for a selected campaign will be generated; and, a gift pyramid page will be displayed in response to a user selection of the gift pyramid button using the campaign interface tool wherein gift pyramid will have plurality of layers, each level having one or more regions, and updated donor information will be displayed to the user, which, pursuant to MPEP 2106.04, is aptly categorized as a method of organizing human activity (i.e. user or person monitoring status of their campaign) . Therefore, the claims recite a judicial exception.
Claim adds the generic computer components (additional elements) for implementing the campaign toolkit on a server coupled with a database. Claimed invention is not perform any activity using the computer. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of the server and database amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. The claims are not patent eligible.
When taken as an ordered combination, nothing is added that is not already present when the elements are taken individually. When viewed as a whole, the marketing activities amount to instructions applied using generic computer components.
As for dependent claims 5 – 12 and 21 – 23, these claims recite limitations that further define the same abstract idea of defining functionality user-interface; defining that home page will present one or more campaigns which are selectable by the user; defining labels for buttons on user interface, defining page flow associated with each button; defining that data will be presented using colors to indicate status; defining that boxes can be cursor sensitive, and defining that user will be enabled to make changes to campaign data; defining that the database will include Relationship-Action-Plan (RAP) data table which will used for maintain updated donor information; defining that the levels in the pyramid will be based upon the donation amount, and determining milestone for reaching campaign goal. Claimed invention further defines, if the campaign goal is not met, additional donor slots (e.g., slots donation of lower amount) will be allocated to reach campaign donation goal, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of organizing certain methods of human activity related to advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors but for the recitation of generic computer components. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5 – 7, 11 – 12 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Funraise YouTube video “Creating Dashboard and Widgets | Fundraising Intelligence | Lesson 4” hereinafter referred to as Funraise in view of Joe Garecht published article “How to Create and Use a Donor Pyramid for Your Non-Profit” hereinafter referred to as Gerecht and FundraiseUP DOCS published article “How to Effectively Set Up and Manage Fundraising Campaigns” hereinafter referred to as FundraiseUP-DOCS.
Regarding claim 1, Funraise teaches system and method for campaign data visualization (Funraise, creating dashboards and Widgets with Fundraising intelligence and reporting tool for nonprofits) [Funraise, page 1], comprising:
a campaign tool kit manager implemented on a server configured to communicate over a data network with a remote computing device (Funraise, Funraise provides exceptional, friendly digital fundraising technology. Built with innovation and nonprofit experience, Funraise's state-of-the-art donation management tools centralize fundraising management in one platform, making it easy to create lasting impact with nonprofit-first technology. Experience why organizations like United Nations HCR and National Wildlife Federation trust Funraise to power their fundraising. Because your cause is our cause.)) [Funraise, page 1]; and
a database coupled to the server and configured to store campaign data relating to multiple campaigns (Funraise website (www.funraise.org”) [Funraise, page 1];
a campaign interface tool having a user-interface implemented on the remote computing device, wherein the campaign toolkit manager includes:
a page generator configured to with at least one processor generate one or more pages visualizing campaign data (Funraise, When creating a new dashboard we suggest duplicating a similar template if one exists. But in this example, we'll create from a blank dashboard. To create a new dashboard, click the plus icon in the left panel and select "new dashboard". Next, we'll select the desired data cube and give this dashboard a name. Now our dashboard is ready for the first widget.) [Funraise, page 3, 4, 23];
a donor manager configured to with at least one processor manage donor information relating to a campaign (Funraise, Let's begin with the simple indicator chart to display the total donation amount. To do this, we'll search and select the data field "donation amount". When adding data, you can select how you want this data to appear and use pre-built statistical calculations like some or median in our example. We'll use donation amount "some". Great. We've got our first data point, but we can still improve this widget.) [Funraise, page 9, 10, 23]; and
Funraise does not explicitly teach a pyramid builder. However, Funraise teaches to provide templates that user can use to create their dashboard(s) [Funraise, page 4] to which user can add data-cube to generate their dashboard, subsequent to which user can add widgets (charts or data-tables) [Funraise, page 5]. Gerecht teaches a donor pyramid is a graphical representation of your donors (either all of your donors or a segment of your donors), broken down by giving level. This means you’ll have a smaller number of major donors at the top, all the way down to a large number of low-dollar donors at the bottom [Gerecht, page 1].
Therefore, at the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Funraise by adopting teachings of Garecht to segment donors into different levels (e.g., major-donors to low-dollar-donors) to know how much time an energy should be spent cultivating each level of donors.
Funraise in view of Garecht teaches system and method further comprising:
a pyramid builder configured to with at least one processor generate pyramid configuration data representative of allocated donor-slots for a campaign (Gerecht, a donor pyramid is a graphical representation of your donors (either all of your donors or a segment of your donors), broken down by giving level. This means you’ll have a smaller number of major donors at the top, all the way down to a large number of low-dollar donors at the bottom) [Gerecht, page 1]
Funraise in view of Garecht does not explicitly teach identifying of one or more campaigns. However, FundraiseUP-DOCS teaches landing page with plurality of campaigns [FundraiseUP-DOCS, page1].
Therefore, at the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Funraise in view of Garecht by adopting teachings of FundraiseUP-DOCS to enable an entity to use a single application to access multiple campaigns.
Funraise in view of Garecht and FundraiseUP-DOCS teaches system and method, wherein the user-interface of the campaign interface tool is configured to enable a user to view pages output by the page generator on a display device and to make inputs to control visualization of campaign data displayed to the user
(Garecht, if you’re running a small capital campaign, an annual campaign, or even a gala fundraising event, and your goal is to raise $100,000, your gift range chart may look like this:
Gift Size Number of Gifts
$25,000 1$15,000 1$10,000 2$5,000 3$2,500 4$1,000 7$100-$999 30$1-$99 100 ) [Garecht, page 2],
wherein the page generator
generates a home page having information identifying one or more campaigns and one or more user-interface elements enabling a user to select a respective campaign (Garecht, If you decided to put this gift range chart into a donor pyramid, you would likely combine some of the levels, like this:
[Garecht, page 2, 3];
generates a navigation page for a selected campaign, the navigation page having one or more campaign management buttons including a gift pyramid button (Funraise teaches providing plurality of buttons on navigation page) [Funraise, see at least page 19; also see Fun], and
outputs a gift pyramid page for display in response to a user selection of the gift pyramid button using the campaign interface tool, the displayed gift pyramid page including a graphical representation having an approximate pyramid shape made up of multiple levels, each level having one or more regions corresponding to respective donor slots allocated for donors at that respective level (Garecht, The next step is to use the data from the gift range calculator to simplify your giving levels. For example, the calculator may tell you that you need 1 $25,000 donor, 3 $15,000 donors, and 5 $10,000 donors, but you may not want to have 3 levels in that range. That’s ok… simplify your chart. Maybe instead, you can get the goal of having 1 $25,000 donor and 8 $10,000 donors, which equals the same total fundraising amount. Go ahead and play with the numbers to get the right number of levels for your fundraising campaign. As you play with the gift range calculator, remember that you’ll also generally want to include a number of small dollar donations in your donor pyramid, which the gift range calculator won’t include. For example, if you enter $1 million as your goal into the calculator, the lowest gift level it will give you is $2,500. My suggestion would be to lower a few of the donor goals in the mid-range and then include a goal for low dollar donors (for example, you may say that you want to raise 500 gifts in the $1-$1,000 range).) [Garecht, page 4], and
wherein the donor manager is further configured to update donor information for storage in the database in response to user inputs to pages displayed for a campaign and the page generator propagates the updated donor information in subsequent pages displayed for a campaign including an automatically updated gift pyramid page for display (Garecht, Use the levels you created in Step #2 and lay out your pyramid or chart. Remember that you’ll need multiple prospects for every gift at every level. Thus, if your pyramid says you need to have 1 $50,000 donor, but you only have one prospect at that level, your fundraising goal may be over ambitious. A donor pyramid can be a great tool for help you map out your strategy for your next fundraising campaign or event, but ultimately, the success of your campaign will rely on the work you put in identifying, cultivating, and asking donors for gifts.) [Garecht, page 4].
Regarding claim 5, as combined and under the same rationale as above, Funraise in view of Garecht and FundraiseUP-DOCS teaches system and method, wherein the campaign comprises a fundraising campaign [FundraiseUP-DOCS, page 3], and the one or more campaign management buttons include a set of four buttons including the gift pyramid button, a pledges, pending, pipeline (PPP) button, a relationship action plan (RAP) button, and a dashboard button (FundraiseUP-DOCS teaches to provide plurality of button on the user interface, at the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify buttons taught by FundraiseUP-DOCS by identifying them by names as desired by the entity) [FundraiseUP-DOCS, Page 3].
Regarding claim 6, as combined and under the same rationale as above, Funraise in view of Garecht and FundraiseUP-DOCS teaches system and method, wherein the regions in the page generator outputs a gift-pyramid-page for display in response to a user selection of the gift-pyramid button using the campaign interface tool, and wherein the displayed gift-pyramid-page includes a graphical representation having an approximate pyramid shape made up of multiple levels each with one or more boxes corresponding to respective donor-slots allocated for donors (Garecht, Use the levels you created in Step #2 and lay out your pyramid or chart. Remember that you’ll need multiple prospects for every gift at every level. Thus, if your pyramid says you need to have 1 $50,000 donor, but you only have one prospect at that level, your fundraising goal may be over ambitious. A donor pyramid can be a great tool for help you map out your strategy for your next fundraising campaign or event, but ultimately, the success of your campaign will rely on the work you put in identifying, cultivating, and asking donors for gifts.) [Garecht, page 4].
Regarding claim 7, as combined and under the same rationale as above, Funraise in view of Garecht and FundraiseUP-DOCS teaches system and method, wherein the boxes in the graphical representation have a color or other indication denoting the status of a respective donor pledge (Funraise teaches change colors in chart) [Funraise, see at least page 22].
Regarding claim 11, as combined and under the same rationale as above, Funraise in view of Garecht and FundraiseUP-DOCS teaches system and method, wherein the page generator outputs a RAP page for display in response to a user selection of the RAP button using the campaign interface tool, and wherein the displayed RAP page includes a graphical representation showing donor pledge and activity information, and includes user interface elements to enable a user to add and download documents and edit donor information [Funraise, see at least page 22].
Regarding claim 12, as combined and under the same rationale as above, Funraise in view of Garecht and FundraiseUP-DOCS teaches system and method, wherein the page generator outputs a campaign dashboard page for display in response to a user selection of the dashboard button using the campaign interface tool, and wherein the displayed campaign dashboard page includes a graphical representation showing summary information about one or more of total amount pledged, percentage of campaign goal met by donor pledges, and top donor information [Funraise, see at least page 22].
Regarding claim 22, as combined and under the same rationale as above, Funraise in view of Garecht and FundraiseUP-DOCS teaches system and method, wherein the campaign comprises a fundraising campaign and wherein the pyramid configuration data includes an array of row configurations, a list of sorted donation thresholds, and a campaign goal [Garecht, page 2, 3], and wherein the pyramid builder is further configured to with at least one processor determine a donation amount for a donor slot in a top level of a pyramid and allocate donor slots for successive pyramid levels based on the donation amount for respective levels within the pyramid and a percentage of remaining campaign goal to be allocated (Garecht, The first step is to use a gift range calculator to help you figure out the right giving levels based on your overall fundraising goal. Gift range calculators will help you get into the right ballpark) [Garecht, page 4].
Claims 8 – 10, 21 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Funraise YouTube video “Creating Dashboard and Widgets | Fundraising Intelligence | Lesson 4” hereinafter referred to as Funraise in view of Joe Garecht published article “How to Create and Use a Donor Pyramid for Your Non-Profit” hereinafter referred to as Gerecht, FundraiseUP DOCS published article “How to Effectively Set Up and Manage Fundraising Campaigns” hereinafter referred to as FundraiseUP-DOCS and archived webpages of GoFundMe.com labeled as “Information on GoFundMe” hereinafter referred to as GoFundMe.
Regarding claim 8, Funraise in view of Garecht and FundraiseUP-DOCS does not teach view donor information. However, GoFundMe teaches that a donation seeking entity can view list of donors [GoFundMe, page 31].
Therefore, at the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Funraise in view of Garecht and FundraiseUP-DOCS by adopting teachings of GoFundMe to enable donation seeking entity identify donors to thank them for their donation.
as combined and under the same rationale as above, Funraise in view of Garecht and FundraiseUP-DOCS and GoFundMe teaches system and method, wherein the user-interface at the campaign interface tool is configured to enable a user to select a box to flip or hover to view additional donor information (as responded to above) [GoFundMe, page 31].
Regarding claim 9, as combined and under the same rationale as above, Funraise in view of Garecht and FundraiseUP-DOCS and GoFundMe teaches system and method, wherein the stored campaign data includes a relationship action plan (RAP) table (Garecht, build out and launch your stewardship plan, the stewardship matrix is your best bet.) [Garecht, page 11], donor data records [GoFundMe, page 31], and a campaign identifier (ID) [Garecht, page11].
Regarding claim 10, as combined and under the same rationale as above, Funraise in view of Garecht and FundraiseUP-DOCS and GoFundMe teaches system and method, wherein the page generator outputs a PPP page for display in response to a user selection of the PPP button using the campaign interface tool, and wherein the displayed PPP page includes a graphical representation showing donor pledges to date, pending donor pledges, and a pipeline of the donor pledges [GoFundMe, page 31].
Regarding claim 21, as combined and under the same rationale as above, Funraise in view of Garecht and FundraiseUP-DOCS and GoFundMe teaches system and method, wherein the database includes a RAP data table that stores the updated donor information for a selected campaign (Funraise website (www.funraise.org”) [Funraise, page 1; also see FundraiseUP-DOCS], and wherein the page generator propagates the updated donor information from the RAP table in subsequent pages displayed for the selected campaign
[GoFundMe, page 31].
Regarding claim 23, as combined and under the same rationale as above, Funraise in view of Garecht and FundraiseUP-DOCS teaches system and method, wherein the pyramid builder is configured with at least one processor to check when allocated donor slots in pyramid meet the campaign goal, and if not met, to traverse levels of the pyramid and add more donor slots up to a level limit and more levels up to a pyramid size limit, and allocate remaining donor slots for thresholds amounts not visible in a page having a pyramid display view
[GoFundMe, page 31].
Response to Arguments
Applicant's argument that pending claimed amended invention is eligible for patent under 35 USC 101 because the claimed invention is not directed to judicial exception, claimed invention details improved generated pages and user-interact elements, integrates judicial exception into a practical application, is acknowledged and considered.
However, upon further review, it is deemed that the amended invention is not eligible for patent under 35 USC 101 and have been responded in Rejection under 35 USC 101 section.
Applicant's argument that pending claimed amended invention is eligible for patent because cited prior art does not teach the amended invention is acknowledged and considered.
However, when updated search was performed, new references were discovered which have been cited in this office action. Therefore, applicant’s arguments are moot under new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NARESH VIG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3622
April 27, 2026