Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-7, 11-12, and 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Guinn et al (2011/0287823) hereinafter, Guinn.
In regards to claim 1, teaches a gaming system comprising (abstract):
A wagering game system and its operations are described herein. In some embodiments, the operations can include providing gaming content for use during a bingo game, where the gaming content includes a representation of a bingo game card that includes card identifiers, arranged in a distinct pattern, which are usable during the bingo game to track game identifiers, with equivalent values, when drawn during the bingo game. The operations can further include selecting a card identifier, in response to user input, which indicates a user prediction that a corresponding game identifier, with an equivalent value, will be drawn during the bingo game. The operations can further include placing a bet for a secondary wagering game on the selecting of the card identifier, detecting a draw of the corresponding game identifier during the bingo game, and using the draw of the game identifier as an outcome for the bet.
a display device configured to display an output to a user;(fig. 1 (100) and fig. 4 (402))[0049]
an input device configured to accept a wager from the user for a primary game, the primary game being based on a bingo game (fig. 1 and fig. 4 place bet (119));
a processor [0017] coupled to a memory [0071-0072], the input device and the display device [0024, 0025, 0074,0076]; the gaming system configured to: provide a secondary game to the user[0049];
receive an input from the user for the secondary game and convert the user input to the wager for the primary game (fig. 5 (500) (fig. 6 (call bet fold) fig. 4 side bet)));
determine a result of the wager for the primary game (fig. 6 677, 645 617)); and
provide an output of the secondary game to the user corresponding to the result of the wager (fig. 5 506-508) (fig. 6 (645, 617, etc))..
In regards to claim 11, Guinn teaches a method for conducting games, comprising (abstract):
providing a primary game to a gaming system, the primary game being based on a bingo game (fig. 1 (100)(1010) bingo)(fig. 4 (bingo));
providing a secondary game to a user at the gaming system(fig. 5 (500) (fig. 6 (call bet fold) fig. 4 side bet)));
receiving an input from the user for the secondary game (fig. 1 and fig. 4 place bet (119)); and converting the user input to a wager for the primary game (fig. 4 (reels));
determining a result of the wager for the primary game(fig. 5 (502-508)); and
providing an output of the secondary game to the user corresponding to the result of the wager (fig. 6 (645, 617, etc)).
In regards to claim 2, Guinn teaches the gaming system claim 1, wherein the bingo game comprises at least a card and a call adapted to emulate the secondary game [0063] (fig. 677) in both).
In regards to claim 5, Guinn teaches gaming system of claim 1, wherein the input from the user for the secondary game corresponds to selecting betting options from the secondary game (fig. 6 call bet fold)), wherein the bingo game includes final results in a result index corresponding to each of the betting options of the secondary game (fig. 5 (504-506)), and wherein converting the user input to the wager for the primary game comprises enabling the final results in the result index corresponding to the selected betting options of the secondary game (fig. 5 (506-508))(fig. 6 (617, 645)).
In regards to claim 6, Guinn teaches gaming system of claim 1, wherein the user input comprises an initial input and a mid-game input (fig. 4 413 initial bet and chance to increase bet)).
In regards to claim 7, Guinn teaches gaming system of claim 1, wherein converting the user input to the wager for the primary game comprises enabling an additional final result of the result index in the primary game (fig. 4 413 bet allows you do double your bet and in effect split the cards).
In regards to claim 12, Guinn teaches method of claim 11, wherein the bingo game comprises at least a card and a call adapted to emulate the secondary game. [0063] (fig. 677) in both).
In regards to claim 15, Guinn teaches method of claim 11, wherein the input from the user for the secondary game corresponds to selecting betting (fig. 6 call bet fold)), options from the secondary game, wherein the bingo game includes final results in a result index corresponding to each of the betting options of the secondary game(fig. 5 (504-506)),, and wherein converting the user input to the wager for the primary game comprises enabling the final results in the result index corresponding to the selected betting options of the secondary game. (fig. 5 (506-508))(fig. 6 (617, 645)).
In regards to claim 16, Guinn teaches method of claim 11, wherein the user input comprises an initial input and a mid-game input. (fig. 4 413 initial bet and chance to increase bet)).
In regards to claim 17, Guinn teaches method of claim 11, wherein converting the user input to the wager for the primary game comprises enabling an additional final result of the result index in the primary game. (fig. 4 413 bet allows you do double your bet and in effect split the cards).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3,4, 13 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guinn in view of King (2014/0167355) hereinafter, King.
In regards to claim 3, Guinn fails to teach the gaming system of claim 2, wherein the card of the bingo game includes one or more columns or rows corresponding to a die, wherein the call of the bingo game is provided column-by-column or row-by-row, and wherein the secondary game comprises a dice game.
However, King teaches wherein the card of the bingo game includes one or more columns or rows corresponding to a die, wherein the call of the bingo game is provided column-by-column or row-by-row, and wherein the secondary game comprises a dice game.(fig. 1 table, fig. 2 bingo cards fig. 3 dice, and fig. 5 card [0030-0035]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Guinn to further include wherein the card of the bingo game includes one or more columns or rows corresponding to a die, wherein the call of the bingo game is provided column-by-column or row-by-row, and wherein the secondary game comprises a dice game as taught by King in order to provide a more enjoyable experience for the platers [001-003]
In regards to claim 4, Guinn in view of King teaches the gaming system of claim 3, wherein the dice game comprises sic bo or craps [008-0011,0020-0022, 0027-0030] craps. King .
In regards to claim 13, Guinn in view of King teaches, see rational of claim 3, teaches the method of claim 12, wherein the card of the bingo game includes one or more columns or rows corresponding to a die, wherein the call of the bingo game is provided column-by-column or row-by-row, and wherein the secondary game comprises a dice game. (fig. 1 table, fig. 2 bingo cards fig. 3 dice, and fig. 5 card) King
In regards to claim 14, Guinn in view of King teaches the method of claim 13, wherein the dice game comprises sic bo or craps. [008-0011,0020-0022, 0027-0030] craps. King .
Claim(s) 8 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guinn in view of Maksymec (5,265,880), hereinafter, Maksymec.
In regards to claim 8, Guinn fails to teach the gaming system of claim 7, wherein the additional final result of the result index is a sub-pattern of a winning final result of the result index or an anti-pattern that is mutually exclusive with the winning final result of the result index.
However, Maksymec teaches wherein the additional final result of the result index is a sub-pattern of a winning final result of the result index or an anti-pattern that is mutually exclusive with the winning final result of the result index.(abstract)(col.3-4, lines 34-48). Examiner notes buying a new card will have a sub-pattern of already called numbers.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Guinn to further include wherein the additional final result of the result index is a sub-pattern of a winning final result of the result index or an anti-pattern that is mutually exclusive with the winning final result of the result index as taught by Guinn in order to keep players engaged and can be played at anytime (col. 2, lines 25-45).
In regards to claim 18, see rational of claim 8, Guinn in view of Maksymec teaches the method of claim 17, wherein the additional final result of the result index is a sub-pattern of a winning final result of the result index or an anti-pattern that is mutually exclusive with the winning final result of the result index. (abstract)(col.3-4, lines 34-48).Mkasymec
Claim(s) 9 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guinn in view of Guinn (2012/0231868) hereinafter, Guinn2.
In regards to claim 9, Guinn fails to expressly teach the gaming system of claim 1, wherein the bingo game includes a predetermined number of cards each having a unique number in a hot spot and a call corresponding to the predetermined number of cards
However, Guinn teaches wherein the bingo game includes a predetermined number of cards each having a unique number(fig. 7 player 1-10’s card [0071] Guinn2)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Guinn to further include wherein the bingo game includes a predetermined number of cards each having a unique number as taught by Guinn2 in order to allow for community play [004-006].
Therefore, Guinn in view of Guinn2 teaches wherein the bingo game includes a predetermined number of cards each having a unique number [0019,0022-0023,0046] Guinn, in a hot spot (fig. 6 617 and 645)Guinn )and a call corresponding to the predetermined number of cards (fig. 6 (640 calls) Guinn) and (fig. 7 player 1-10’s card [0071] Guinn2).
In regards to claim 10, Guinn in view of Guinn2 teaches the gaming system of claim 9, wherein converting the user input to the wager for the primary game comprises dividing the predetermined number of cards between multiple users and identifying one winner based on comparing the call to the cards of each of the multiple users. [0019,0022-0023,0046] Guinn in view of (fig. 7 player 1-10’s card [0071] Guinn2)
In regards to claim 19, see rational of claim 9, Guinn in view of Guinn2 teaches the method of claim 11, wherein the bingo game includes a predetermined number of cards each having a unique number [0019,0022-0023,0046] Guinn, in a hot spot(fig. 6 617 and 645)Guinn )and a call corresponding to the predetermined number of cards. (fig. 6 (640 calls) Guinn) and (fig. 7 player 1-10’s card [0071] Guinn2).
In regards to claim 20 Guinn in view of Guinn2 teaches method of claim 19, wherein converting the user input to the wager for the primary game comprises dividing the predetermined number of cards between multiple users and identifying one winner based on comparing the call to the cards of each of the multiple users. [0019,0022-0023,0046] Guinn in view of (fig. 7 player 1-10’s card [0071] Guinn2)
Conclusion
/GRANT SITTA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2622