DETAILED ACTION
Preliminary Amendment
The present Office Action is based upon the original patent application filed on 6/6/2024, as modified by the preliminary amendment, filed on 7/13/2026. Claims 1-20 are pending in the present application.
Priority
Domestic
Applicant’s claim for domestic priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C.120, 121, or 365(c) or 365 (a) of any PCT Application international application is
acknowledged, which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement submitted on 6/6/2024 and 5/22/2025 has been considered by the Examiner and made of record in the application file.
Claim Objections
Claim 11 is objected to for minor informalities and require the following or other appropriate correction:
Claims 5, 10, 15 and 20 are objected to for minor informalities and require the following or other appropriate correction:
The acronyms “ARP”, “TRP” and “DL-PRS” must be completely spelled out.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5, 10, 15 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claims contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The acronyms “ARP” and “DL-PRS” are not defined in the specification. Since they are a part of the originally filed claims, they are considered a part of the original disclosure, and so these terms are not considered New Matter. However, they should be spelled out and defined in the specification, within the context of the supported claims. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6-8, 11-13 and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a2) as being anticipated by Li, et al (US PG Publication 2022/0417887), hereafter Li.
Regarding claim 1, Li teaches
a method performed by a wireless communication node, the method comprising:
transmitting, to a wireless communication device, an assistance data request for assistance data, wherein the assistance data is related to an error source
([0215] 3. The UE supporting only the UE-Assisted capability receives the LPP signaling RequestLocationInformation from the server (LMF – see [0207]), hereafter LMF/server
[0220] The LMF receives the measurement value, it compares it with the AL to obtain the result of whether the GNSS system positioning is reliable);
receiving the assistance data from the wireless communication device
([0220] The LMF receives the measurement value, it compares it with the AL to obtain the result of whether the GNSS system positioning is reliable); and
performing a positioning integrity analysis based on the assistance data
([0220] When the LMF receives the measurement value, it performs weighted calculation in combination with other GNSS integrity components to obtain the integrity PL (ProtectionLevel) value of the terminal, and compares it with the AL to obtain the result of whether the GNSS system positioning is reliable).
Regarding claim 2, Li teaches the method of claim 1,
further comprising:
transmitting a measurement initiation request related to a carrier phase configured to be received by the wireless communication device
([0216] 4. When the UE supporting only the UE-Assisted capability performs the GNSS positioning method under the request of RequestLocationInformation, and completes the related integrity function monitoring and auxiliary measurement, it provides the integrity-related auxiliary measurement values to the network through the LPP protocol ProvideLocationInformation, which include:
[0217] a carrier phase integrity correction parameter value); and
receiving a measurement initiation response related to a carrier phase, wherein the measurement initiation response comprises a plurality of measurements performed by the wireless communication device
([0216] 4. The UE provides the integrity-related auxiliary measurement values to the network through the LPP protocol ProvideLocationInformation, which include:
[0217] a carrier phase integrity correction parameter value
[0218] 5. The UE provides the measurement component related to the GNSS positioning method through the ProvideLocationInformation, and the measurement component is one or a combination of the following information:
[0219] a carrier phase integrity measurement value).
Regarding claim 3, Li teaches the method of claim 2,
further comprising:
transmitting a measurement request for at least one of a carrier phase related measurement or a measurement quality parameter
([0215] 3. When the UE supporting only the UE-Assisted capability receives the LPP signaling RequestLocationInformation from the server, it reads the integrity-related requirement in the QoS, and performs auxiliary measurement function and supports integrity auxiliary monitoring on the terminal side according to the parameters such as Authentication Flag, TTA, etc., in the QoS, combined with the auxiliary data and its integrity indication broadcasted by the network
[0216] 4. When the UE supporting only the UE-Assisted capability performs the GNSS positioning method under the request of RequestLocationInformation, and completes the related integrity function monitoring and auxiliary measurement, it provides the integrity-related auxiliary measurement values to the network through the LPP protocol ProvideLocationInformation, which include one or a combination of the following information:
[0217] The integrity parameter values for the GNSS-dependent measurement components:
a multipath parameter value, an electromagnetic interference parameter value, a satellite fault parameter value, a pseudo-range correction integrity parameter value, and a carrier phase integrity correction parameter value); and
receiving a measurement result report based on the measurement request, wherein the measurement result report comprises the at least one of a carrier phase related measurement or a measurement quality parameter
([0215] 3. The UE performs auxiliary measurement function and supports integrity auxiliary monitoring on the terminal side according to the parameters such as Authentication Flag, TTA, etc., in the QoS, combined with the auxiliary data and its integrity indication broadcasted by the network
[0216] 4. When the UE completes the related integrity function monitoring and auxiliary measurement, it provides the integrity-related auxiliary measurement values to the network through the LPP protocol ProvideLocationInformation, which include one or a combination of the following information:
[0217] The integrity parameter values for the GNSS-dependent measurement components:
a multipath parameter value, an electromagnetic interference parameter value, a satellite fault parameter value, a pseudo-range correction integrity parameter value, and a carrier phase integrity correction parameter value).
Regarding claim 6, Li teaches
a method performed by a wireless communication device, comprising:
receiving an assistance data request for assistance data configured to be transmitted by a wireless communication node
([0215] 3. The UE supporting only the UE-Assisted capability receives the LPP signaling RequestLocationInformation from the server (LMF – see [0207]), hereafter LMF/server); and
transmitting the assistance data, wherein the assistance data is related to an error source
([0220] The LMF receives the measurement value, it compares it with the AL to obtain the result of whether the GNSS system positioning is reliable
[0220] The LMF receives the measurement value, it compares it with the AL to obtain the result of whether the GNSS system positioning is reliable),
wherein the wireless communication node is configured to perform a positioning integrity analysis based on the assistance data
([0220] When the LMF receives the measurement value, it performs weighted calculation in combination with other GNSS integrity components to obtain the integrity PL (ProtectionLevel) value of the terminal, and compares it with the AL to obtain the result of whether the GNSS system positioning is reliable).
Regarding claim 7, Li teaches the method of claim 6, further comprising:
receiving a measurement initiation request related to a carrier phase
([0216] 4. When the UE supporting only the UE-Assisted capability performs the GNSS positioning method under the request of RequestLocationInformation, and completes the related integrity function monitoring and auxiliary measurement, it provides the integrity-related auxiliary measurement values to the network through the LPP protocol ProvideLocationInformation, which include:
[0217] a carrier phase integrity correction parameter value); and
transmitting a measurement initiation response related to a carrier phase configured to be received by the wireless communication node, wherein the measurement initiation response comprises a plurality of measurements performed by the wireless communication device
([0216] 4. The UE provides the integrity-related auxiliary measurement values to the network through the LPP protocol ProvideLocationInformation, which include:
[0217] a carrier phase integrity correction parameter value
[0218] 5. The UE provides the measurement component related to the GNSS positioning method through the ProvideLocationInformation, and the measurement component is one or a combination of the following information:
[0219] a carrier phase integrity measurement value).
Regarding claim 8, Li teaches the method of claim 7,
further comprising:
receiving a measurement request for at least one of a carrier phase related measurement or a measurement quality parameter
([0215] 3. When the UE supporting only the UE-Assisted capability receives the LPP signaling RequestLocationInformation from the server, it reads the integrity-related requirement in the QoS, and performs auxiliary measurement function and supports integrity auxiliary monitoring on the terminal side according to the parameters such as Authentication Flag, TTA, etc., in the QoS, combined with the auxiliary data and its integrity indication broadcasted by the network
[0216] 4. When the UE supporting only the UE-Assisted capability performs the GNSS positioning method under the request of RequestLocationInformation, and completes the related integrity function monitoring and auxiliary measurement, it provides the integrity-related auxiliary measurement values to the network through the LPP protocol ProvideLocationInformation, which include one or a combination of the following information:
[0217] The integrity parameter values for the GNSS-dependent measurement components:
a multipath parameter value, an electromagnetic interference parameter value, a satellite fault parameter value, a pseudo-range correction integrity parameter value, and a carrier phase integrity correction parameter value); and
transmitting a measurement result report based on the measurement request, wherein the measurement result report comprises the at least one of a carrier phase related measurement or a measurement quality parameter
([0215] 3. The UE performs auxiliary measurement function and supports integrity auxiliary monitoring on the terminal side according to the parameters such as Authentication Flag, TTA, etc., in the QoS, combined with the auxiliary data and its integrity indication broadcasted by the network
[0216] 4. When the UE completes the related integrity function monitoring and auxiliary measurement, it provides the integrity-related auxiliary measurement values to the network through the LPP protocol ProvideLocationInformation, which include one or a combination of the following information:
[0217] The integrity parameter values for the GNSS-dependent measurement components:
a multipath parameter value, an electromagnetic interference parameter value, a satellite fault parameter value, a pseudo-range correction integrity parameter value, and a carrier phase integrity correction parameter value).
Regarding claim 11, Li teaches
a wireless communication node comprising
([0207] LMF Location Management Function):
a transceiver configured to:
transmit, to a wireless communication device, an assistance data request for assistance data, wherein the assistance data is related to an error source
([0215] 3. The UE supporting only the UE-Assisted capability receives the LPP signaling RequestLocationInformation from the server (LMF – see [0207]), hereafter LMF/server
[0220] The LMF receives the measurement value, it compares it with the AL to obtain the result of whether the GNSS system positioning is reliable); and
receive the assistance data from the wireless communication device
([0220] The LMF receives the measurement value, it compares it with the AL to obtain the result of whether the GNSS system positioning is reliable); and
at least one processor configured to:
perform a positioning integrity analysis based on the assistance data
([0220] When the LMF receives the measurement value, it performs weighted calculation in combination with other GNSS integrity components to obtain the integrity PL (ProtectionLevel) value of the terminal, and compares it with the AL to obtain the result of whether the GNSS system positioning is reliable).
Regarding claim 12, Li teaches the wireless communication node of claim 11,
the transceiver is further configured to:
transmit a measurement initiation request related to a carrier phase configured to be received by the wireless communication device
([0216] 4. When the UE supporting only the UE-Assisted capability performs the GNSS positioning method under the request of RequestLocationInformation, and completes the related integrity function monitoring and auxiliary measurement, it provides the integrity-related auxiliary measurement values to the network through the LPP protocol ProvideLocationInformation, which include:
[0217] a carrier phase integrity correction parameter value), and
receive a measurement initiation response related to a carrier phase, wherein the measurement initiation response comprises a plurality of measurements performed by the wireless communication device
([0216] 4. The UE provides the integrity-related auxiliary measurement values to the network through the LPP protocol ProvideLocationInformation, which include:
[0217] a carrier phase integrity correction parameter value
[0218] 5. The UE provides the measurement component related to the GNSS positioning method through the ProvideLocationInformation, and the measurement component is one or a combination of the following information:
[0219] a carrier phase integrity measurement value).
Regarding claim 13, Li teaches the wireless communication node of claim 12,
the transceiver is further configured to:
transmit a measurement request for at least one of a carrier phase related measurement or a measurement quality parameter
([0215] 3. When the UE supporting only the UE-Assisted capability receives the LPP signaling RequestLocationInformation from the server, it reads the integrity-related requirement in the QoS, and performs auxiliary measurement function and supports integrity auxiliary monitoring on the terminal side according to the parameters such as Authentication Flag, TTA, etc., in the QoS, combined with the auxiliary data and its integrity indication broadcasted by the network
[0216] 4. When the UE supporting only the UE-Assisted capability performs the GNSS positioning method under the request of RequestLocationInformation, and completes the related integrity function monitoring and auxiliary measurement, it provides the integrity-related auxiliary measurement values to the network through the LPP protocol ProvideLocationInformation, which include one or a combination of the following information:
[0217] The integrity parameter values for the GNSS-dependent measurement components:
a multipath parameter value, an electromagnetic interference parameter value, a satellite fault parameter value, a pseudo-range correction integrity parameter value, and a carrier phase integrity correction parameter value); and
receive a measurement result report based on the measurement request, wherein the measurement result report comprises the at least one of a carrier phase related measurement or a measurement quality parameter
([0215] 3. The UE performs auxiliary measurement function and supports integrity auxiliary monitoring on the terminal side according to the parameters such as Authentication Flag, TTA, etc., in the QoS, combined with the auxiliary data and its integrity indication broadcasted by the network
[0216] 4. When the UE completes the related integrity function monitoring and auxiliary measurement, it provides the integrity-related auxiliary measurement values to the network through the LPP protocol ProvideLocationInformation, which include one or a combination of the following information:
[0217] The integrity parameter values for the GNSS-dependent measurement components:
a multipath parameter value, an electromagnetic interference parameter value, a satellite fault parameter value, a pseudo-range correction integrity parameter value, and a carrier phase integrity correction parameter value).
Regarding claim 16, Li teaches
a wireless communication device comprising
([0215] UE):
a transceiver configured to:
receive an assistance data request for the assistance data configured to be transmitted by a wireless communication node
([0215] 3. The UE supporting only the UE-Assisted capability receives the LPP signaling RequestLocationInformation from the server (LMF – see [0207]), hereafter LMF/server),
transmit the assistance data, wherein the assistance data is related to an error source
([0220] The LMF receives the measurement value, it compares it with the AL to obtain the result of whether the GNSS system positioning is reliable
[0220] The LMF receives the measurement value, it compares it with the AL to obtain the result of whether the GNSS system positioning is reliable);
wherein the wireless communication node is configured to perform a positioning integrity analysis based on the assistance data
([0220] When the LMF receives the measurement value, it performs weighted calculation in combination with other GNSS integrity components to obtain the integrity PL (ProtectionLevel) value of the terminal, and compares it with the AL to obtain the result of whether the GNSS system positioning is reliable).
Regarding claim 17, Li teaches the wireless communication device of claim 16,
the transceiver is further configured to:
receive a measurement initiation request related to a carrier phase
([0216] 4. When the UE supporting only the UE-Assisted capability performs the GNSS positioning method under the request of RequestLocationInformation, and completes the related integrity function monitoring and auxiliary measurement, it provides the integrity-related auxiliary measurement values to the network through the LPP protocol ProvideLocationInformation, which include:
[0217] a carrier phase integrity correction parameter value); and
transmit a measurement initiation response related to a carrier phase configured to be received by a wireless communication node, wherein the measurement initiation response comprises a plurality of measurements performed by the wireless communication device
([0216] 4. The UE provides the integrity-related auxiliary measurement values to the network through the LPP protocol ProvideLocationInformation, which include:
[0217] a carrier phase integrity correction parameter value
[0218] 5. The UE provides the measurement component related to the GNSS positioning method through the ProvideLocationInformation, and the measurement component is one or a combination of the following information:
[0219] a carrier phase integrity measurement value).
Regarding claim 18, Li teaches the wireless communication device of claim 16,
the transceiver is further configured to:
receive a measurement request for at least one of a carrier phase related measurement or a measurement quality parameter
([0215] 3. When the UE supporting only the UE-Assisted capability receives the LPP signaling RequestLocationInformation from the server, it reads the integrity-related requirement in the QoS, and performs auxiliary measurement function and supports integrity auxiliary monitoring on the terminal side according to the parameters such as Authentication Flag, TTA, etc., in the QoS, combined with the auxiliary data and its integrity indication broadcasted by the network
[0216] 4. When the UE supporting only the UE-Assisted capability performs the GNSS positioning method under the request of RequestLocationInformation, and completes the related integrity function monitoring and auxiliary measurement, it provides the integrity-related auxiliary measurement values to the network through the LPP protocol ProvideLocationInformation, which include one or a combination of the following information:
[0217] The integrity parameter values for the GNSS-dependent measurement components:
a multipath parameter value, an electromagnetic interference parameter value, a satellite fault parameter value, a pseudo-range correction integrity parameter value, and a carrier phase integrity correction parameter value); and
transmit a measurement result report based on the measurement request, wherein the measurement result report comprises the at least one of a carrier phase related measurement or a measurement quality parameter
([0215] 3. The UE performs auxiliary measurement function and supports integrity auxiliary monitoring on the terminal side according to the parameters such as Authentication Flag, TTA, etc., in the QoS, combined with the auxiliary data and its integrity indication broadcasted by the network
[0216] 4. When the UE completes the related integrity function monitoring and auxiliary measurement, it provides the integrity-related auxiliary measurement values to the network through the LPP protocol ProvideLocationInformation, which include one or a combination of the following information:
[0217] The integrity parameter values for the GNSS-dependent measurement components:
a multipath parameter value, an electromagnetic interference parameter value, a satellite fault parameter value, a pseudo-range correction integrity parameter value, and a carrier phase integrity correction parameter value).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 9, 14 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li, in view of Kaufmann (US PG Publication 2022/0244405).
Regarding claim 4, Li teaches the method of claim 1.
Li does not teach
wherein performing a positioning integrity analysis based on the assistance data comprises:
performing the positioning integrity analysis by obtaining an error distribution related parameter of the assistance data.
In the same field of endeavor, Kaufmann teaches
wherein performing a positioning integrity analysis based on the assistance data comprises:
performing the positioning integrity analysis by obtaining an error distribution related parameter of the assistance data
([0043] Estimating the integrity of the position fix may comprise modelling an error distribution of the corrected ranging measurements).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Li, which includes determining positioning errors using assistance data, to include Kaufmann’s teaching of performing positioning integrity analysis through error distribution of the assistance data, for the benefit of characterizing delay variations, for use in improving the accuracy of a position fix and/or improving the accuracy with which the integrity of a position fix can be estimated (see [0008]).
Regarding claim 9, Li teaches the method of claim 6.
Li does not teach
wherein the wireless communication node is configured to perform the positioning integrity analysis based on the assistance data by:
performing the positioning integrity analysis by obtaining an error distribution related parameter of the assistance data.
In the same field of endeavor, Kaufmann teaches
wherein the wireless communication node is configured to perform the positioning integrity analysis based on the assistance data by:
performing the positioning integrity analysis by obtaining an error distribution related parameter of the assistance data
([0043] Estimating the integrity of the position fix may comprise modelling an error distribution of the corrected ranging measurements).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Li, which includes determining positioning errors using assistance data, to include Kaufmann’s teaching of performing positioning integrity analysis through error distribution of the assistance data, for the benefit of characterizing delay variations, for use in improving the accuracy of a position fix and/or improving the accuracy with which the integrity of a position fix can be estimated (see [0008]).
Regarding claim 14, Li teaches the wireless communication node of claim 11.
Li does not teach
wherein the at least one processor is configured to perform a positioning integrity analysis based on the assistance data by:
performing the positioning integrity analysis by obtaining an error distribution related parameter of the assistance data.
In the same field of endeavor, Kaufmann teaches
wherein the at least one processor is configured to perform a positioning integrity analysis based on the assistance data by:
performing the positioning integrity analysis by obtaining an error distribution related parameter of the assistance data
([0043] Estimating the integrity of the position fix may comprise modelling an error distribution of the corrected ranging measurements).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Li, which includes determining positioning errors using assistance data, to include Kaufmann’s teaching of performing positioning integrity analysis through error distribution of the assistance data, for the benefit of characterizing delay variations, for use in improving the accuracy of a position fix and/or improving the accuracy with which the integrity of a position fix can be estimated (see [0008]).
Regarding claim 19, Li teaches the wireless communication device of claim 16.
Li does not teach
wherein the wireless communication node is configured to perform the positioning integrity analysis based on the assistance data by:
performing the positioning integrity analysis by obtaining an error distribution related parameter of the assistance data.
In the same field of endeavor, Kaufmann teaches
wherein the wireless communication node is configured to perform the positioning integrity analysis based on the assistance data by:
performing the positioning integrity analysis by obtaining an error distribution related parameter of the assistance data
([0043] Estimating the integrity of the position fix may comprise modelling an error distribution of the corrected ranging measurements).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Li, which includes determining positioning errors using assistance data, to include Kaufmann’s teaching of performing positioning integrity analysis through error distribution of the assistance data, for the benefit of characterizing delay variations, for use in improving the accuracy of a position fix and/or improving the accuracy with which the integrity of a position fix can be estimated (see [0008]).
Claims 5, 10, 15, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li, in view of Manolakos, et al (US PG Publication 2024/0172172), hereafter Manolakos.
Regarding claim 5, Li teaches the method of claim 2.
Li does not teach
wherein the assistance data and/or the plurality of measurements correspond to at least one of the following error sources:
ARP location,
TRP location,
Inter-TRP synchronization,
boresight direction of DL-PRS related error,
beam information of DL-PRS related error.
In the same field of endeavor, Manolakos teaches
wherein the assistance data and/or the plurality of measurements correspond to at least one of the following error sources:
ARP location,
TRP location,
Inter-TRP synchronization,
boresight direction of DL-PRS related error,
beam information of DL-PRS related error
([0029] The physical TRPs may be an array of antennas, where the base station employs beamforming of the base station
[0122] The LPP Provide Assistance Data message at stage 530 may be sent by the LMF 570 to the UE 504
[0125] At stage 550, the UE 504 utilizes the assistance information received at stage 530 and any additional data (e.g., a desired location accuracy or a maximum response time) received at stage 540 to perform positioning operations (e.g., measurements of DL-PRS)
[0141] Tx TEGs may be provided to the UE in the assistance data (e.g., LPP Provide Assistance Data message at stage 530). Currently, the following features are expected to be supported for mitigating TRP Tx timing errors and/or UE Rx timing errors for DL-TDOA. A TRP should be able to provide the association information of DL-PRS resources with Tx TEGs to the location server if the TRP has multiple TEGs).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Li, which includes determining positioning errors using assistance data, to include Manolakos’ teaching of determining positioning errors using assistance data, including DL-PRSs, for the benefit of mitigating TRP timing errors, so that a TRP is able to provide the association information of DL-PRS (see [0141]).
Regarding claim 10, Li teaches the method of claim 7.
Li does not teach
wherein the assistance data and/or the plurality of measurements correspond to at least one of the following error sources:
ARP location,
TRP location,
Inter-TRP synchronization,
boresight direction of DL-PRS related error,
beam information of DL-PRS related error.
In the same field of endeavor, Manolakos teaches
wherein the assistance data and/or the plurality of measurements correspond to at least one of the following error sources:
ARP location,
TRP location,
Inter-TRP synchronization,
boresight direction of DL-PRS related error,
beam information of DL-PRS related error
([0029] The physical TRPs may be an array of antennas, where the base station employs beamforming of the base station
[0122] The LPP Provide Assistance Data message at stage 530 may be sent by the LMF 570 to the UE 504
[0125] At stage 550, the UE 504 utilizes the assistance information received at stage 530 and any additional data (e.g., a desired location accuracy or a maximum response time) received at stage 540 to perform positioning operations (e.g., measurements of DL-PRS)
[0141] Tx TEGs may be provided to the UE in the assistance data (e.g., LPP Provide Assistance Data message at stage 530). Currently, the following features are expected to be supported for mitigating TRP Tx timing errors and/or UE Rx timing errors for DL-TDOA. A TRP should be able to provide the association information of DL-PRS resources with Tx TEGs to the location server if the TRP has multiple TEGs).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Li, which includes determining positioning errors using assistance data, to include Manolakos’ teaching of determining positioning errors using assistance data, including DL-PRSs, for the benefit of mitigating TRP timing errors, so that a TRP is able to provide the association information of DL-PRS (see [0141]).
Regarding claim 15, Li teaches the wireless communication node of claim 12.
Li does not teach
wherein the assistance data and/or the plurality of measurements correspond to at least one of the following error sources:
ARP location,
TRP location,
Inter-TRP synchronization,
boresight direction of DL-PRS related error,
beam information of DL-PRS related error.
In the same field of endeavor, Manolakos teaches
wherein the assistance data and/or the plurality of measurements correspond to at least one of the following error sources:
ARP location,
TRP location,
Inter-TRP synchronization,
boresight direction of DL-PRS related error,
beam information of DL-PRS related error
([0029] The physical TRPs may be an array of antennas, where the base station employs beamforming of the base station
[0122] The LPP Provide Assistance Data message at stage 530 may be sent by the LMF 570 to the UE 504
[0125] At stage 550, the UE 504 utilizes the assistance information received at stage 530 and any additional data (e.g., a desired location accuracy or a maximum response time) received at stage 540 to perform positioning operations (e.g., measurements of DL-PRS)
[0141] Tx TEGs may be provided to the UE in the assistance data (e.g., LPP Provide Assistance Data message at stage 530). Currently, the following features are expected to be supported for mitigating TRP Tx timing errors and/or UE Rx timing errors for DL-TDOA. A TRP should be able to provide the association information of DL-PRS resources with Tx TEGs to the location server if the TRP has multiple TEGs).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Li, which includes determining positioning errors using assistance data, to include Manolakos’ teaching of determining positioning errors using assistance data, including DL-PRSs, for the benefit of mitigating TRP timing errors, so that a TRP is able to provide the association information of DL-PRS (see [0141]).
Regarding claim 20, Li teaches the wireless communication device of claim 17.
Li does not teach
wherein the assistance data and/or the plurality of measurements correspond to at least one of the following error sources:
ARP location,
TRP location,
Inter-TRP synchronization,
boresight direction of DL-PRS related error,
beam information of DL-PRS related error.
In the same field of endeavor, Manolakos teaches
wherein the assistance data and/or the plurality of measurements correspond to at least one of the following error sources:
ARP location,
TRP location,
Inter-TRP synchronization,
boresight direction of DL-PRS related error,
beam information of DL-PRS related error
([0029] The physical TRPs may be an array of antennas, where the base station employs beamforming of the base station
[0122] The LPP Provide Assistance Data message at stage 530 may be sent by the LMF 570 to the UE 504
[0125] At stage 550, the UE 504 utilizes the assistance information received at stage 530 and any additional data (e.g., a desired location accuracy or a maximum response time) received at stage 540 to perform positioning operations (e.g., measurements of DL-PRS)
[0141] Tx TEGs may be provided to the UE in the assistance data (e.g., LPP Provide Assistance Data message at stage 530). Currently, the following features are expected to be supported for mitigating TRP Tx timing errors and/or UE Rx timing errors for DL-TDOA. A TRP should be able to provide the association information of DL-PRS resources with Tx TEGs to the location server if the TRP has multiple TEGs).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Li, which includes determining positioning errors using assistance data, to include Manolakos’ teaching of determining positioning errors using assistance data, including DL-PRSs, for the benefit of mitigating TRP timing errors, so that a TRP is able to provide the association information of DL-PRS (see [0141]).
Conclusion
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art not Applied
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Hao, et al (US PG Publication 2023/0284176), hereafter Hao, teaches a positioning method and related apparatus.
Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/FRANK E DONADO/Examiner, Art Unit 2641
/CHARLES N APPIAH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2641