Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 06/06//2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-7, 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Engerman et al. (US PG Pub 2024/0413710) in view of Vanhee et al. (US PG Pub 2024/0146156).
As to independent claim 1, Engerman et al. teaches a stator assembly, comprising: a stator core (126) that is mated with a stator sleeve (152) at an interface; wherein the interface includes a first section that forms an interference fit (172) between the stator core (126) and the stator sleeve (152); and an attachment device (175) that axially retains the stator core (126) within the stator sleeve (152) and one or more coolant channels (164) that extend through the stator core (126) from an inlet side coolant chamber (130) to an outlet side coolant chamber (132) as shown in figure 1.
However Engerman et al. teaches the claimed limitation as discussed above except wherein the coolant deflector includes a wall that wraps around the stator end windings to at least partially enclose the stator end windings, and an opening that axially extends through the wall; and wherein the opening directs the coolant from a region exterior to the coolant deflector into a region around the stator end windings, and the one or more coolant channels receive the coolant from the region around the stator end windings.
Vanhee et al. teaches wherein the coolant deflector (402) includes a wall that wraps around the stator end windings (316) to at least partially enclose the stator end windings (316), and an opening (406) that axially extends through the wall (408); and wherein the opening (406) directs the coolant from a region exterior to the coolant deflector (402) into a region around the stator end windings (316), and the one or more coolant channels (310) receive the coolant from the region around the stator end windings (316) as shown in figures 3B, 4B-4C, 6A-6B and see paragraph [0053, 0059, 0061, 0069], for the advantageous benefit of increasing heat rejection from the end windings and increase motor performance.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Engerman et al. by using the coolant deflector includes a wall that wraps around the stator end windings to at least partially enclose the stator end windings, and an opening that axially extends through the wall; and wherein the opening directs the coolant from a region exterior to the coolant deflector into a region around the stator end windings, and the one or more coolant channels receive the coolant from the region around the stator end windings, as taught by Vanhee et al., to increase heat rejection from the end windings and increase motor performance.
As to claim 2/1, Engerman et al. in view of Vanhee et al. teaches the claimed limitation as discussed above except wherein the opening inhibits the coolant from flowing from the region exterior to the coolant deflector directly to the one or more coolant channels.
However Vanhee et al teaches the opening (224) inhibits the coolant from flowing from the region exterior to the coolant deflector (220) directly to the one or more coolant channels (204) as shown in figures 3A-3B, for the advantageous benefit of increasing heat rejection from the end windings and increase motor performance.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Engerman et al. in view of Vanhee et al. by using the opening inhibits the coolant from flowing from the region exterior to the coolant deflector directly to the one or more coolant channels, as taught by Vanhee et al., to increase heat rejection from the end windings and increase motor performance.
As to claim 3/1, Engerman et al. teaches the one or more coolant channels (164) include inlets (197) that receive the coolant from the region around the stator end windings (128) and outlets (198) that open into the outlet side coolant chamber (156) as shown in figure 1-2, see paragraphs [0026-0028, 0034].
As to claim 6/1, Engerman et al. teaches wherein the stator sleeve (152) includes a flange (173) that extends radial outward and is configured to couple to an electric machine housing (152) as shown in figure 1.
As to claim 7/6, Engerman et al. teaches wherein the flange (173) is positioned radially outward from the outlet side coolant chamber (132) as shown in figure 1.
As to claim 12/1, Engerman et al. teaches wherein the coolant is oil (see paragraph [0024]).
Claim(s) 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Engerman et al. (US PG Pub 2024/0413710) and Vanhee et al. (US PG Pub 2024/0146156) as applied in claim 1 above and further in view of Shanga et al. (US PG Pub 2024/0388147).
As to claim 4/1, Engerman et al. in view of Vanhee et al. teaches the claimed limitation as discussed above except wherein the interface includes a second section that forms a clearance fit between the stator core and the stator sleeve, and wherein an axial length of the second section is greater than an axial length of the first section.
However Shanga et al. teaches the interface includes a second section (207) that forms a clearance fit between the stator core (300) and the stator sleeve (200), and wherein an axial length of the second section (207) is greater than an axial length of the first section (206) as shown in figure 2-4, and see paragraphs [0177, 0190, 0194-0195, 0198], for the advantageous benefit of providing a low resistance heat path between the stator core pack and a housing.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Engerman et al. in view of Vanhee et al. by using the interface includes a second section that forms a clearance fit between the stator core and the stator sleeve, and wherein an axial length of the second section is greater than an axial length of the first section, as taught by Shanga et al., to provide a low resistance heat path between the stator core pack and a housing.
As to claim 5/4, Engerman et al. teaches wherein the first section (172) is positioned axially adjacent to the inlet side coolant chamber (130) as shown n figure 1.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Engerman et al. (US PG Pub 2024/0413710) in view of Vanhee et al. (US PG Pub 2024/0146156), Ehrenberger (EP3930156) and Meyer (EP1271747).
As to independent claim 13, Engerman et al. teaches a method for operation of a cooling system in a stator assembly, comprising: flowing coolant to an inlet side coolant chamber (130) in the stator assembly ; wherein the stator assembly includes: a stator core (126) that is mated with a stator sleeve (152) at an interface that includes an interference fit (172) along a first section of the interface as shown in figure 1
However Engerman et al. teaches the claimed limitation as discussed above except flowing coolant through an opening that extends through a wall of a coolant deflector that at least partially surrounds stator end windings, the coolant flowing from a region exterior to the coolant deflector, through the opening, and into a region around crown side stator end windings; flowing the coolant from the region around the crown side stator end windings into inlets of one or more coolant channels that axially traverse the stator core; flowing the coolant from outlets of the one or more coolant channels into an outlet side coolant chamber; and flowing the coolant from the outlets through and around second stator end windings; and an attachment device that axial retains the stator core within the stator sleeve; wherein the stator sleeve includes the coolant deflector.
However Vanhee et al. teaches flowing coolant through an opening that extends through a wall of a coolant deflector (1410) that at least partially surrounds stator end windings (1418), the coolant flowing from a region exterior to the coolant deflector (1410), through the opening (1424) , and into a region around crown side stator end windings (1414); flowing the coolant from the region around the crown side stator end windings (1414) into inlets of one or more coolant channels (1426) that axially traverse the stator core (1428); flowing the coolant from outlets of the one or more coolant channels (1426) into an outlet side coolant chamber; and flowing the coolant from the outlets through and around second stator end windings (1414) as shown in figures 12-14B, for the advantageous benefit of increasing heat rejection from the end windings and increase motor performance.
Ehrenberger teaches an attachment device (15) that axial retains the stator core (4) within the stator sleeve (2,3) as shown in figure 3, for the advantageous benefit of providing good stability properties.
Meyer teaches wherein the stator sleeve (19) includes a coolant deflector (13) as shown in figure 1, for the advantageous benefit of optimizing heat dissipation.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Engerman et al. by using flowing coolant through an opening that extends through a wall of a coolant deflector that at least partially surrounds stator end windings, the coolant flowing from a region exterior to the coolant deflector, through the opening, and into a region around crown side stator end windings; flowing the coolant from the region around the crown side stator end windings into inlets of one or more coolant channels that axially traverse the stator core; flowing the coolant from outlets of the one or more coolant channels into an outlet side coolant chamber; and flowing the coolant from the outlets through and around second stator end windings; and an attachment device that axial retains the stator core within the stator sleeve; wherein the stator sleeve includes the coolant deflector, as taught by Vanhee et al., Ehrenberger and Meyer, to increase heat rejection from the end windings and increase motor performance, provide cool of the motor, provide good stability properties and optimize heat dissipation.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Engerman et al. (US PG Pub 2024/0413710), Vanhee et al. (US PG Pub 2024/0146156), Ehrenberger (EP3930156) and Meyer (EP1271747) as applied in claim 13 above, and further in view of Shanga et al. (US PG Pub 2024/0388147).
As to claim 15/13, Engerman et al. in view of Vanhee et al., Ehrenberger and Meyer teaches the claimed limitation as dissed above except wherein the interface includes a second section that is clearance fit between the stator core and the stator sleeve and is positioned axially between the attachment device and the first section, and wherein an axial length of the second section is greater than an axial length of the first section.
However Shanga et al. teaches the interface includes a second section (207) that is clearance fit between the stator core (300) and the stator sleeve 200) and is positioned axially between the attachment device (308) and the first section (206), and wherein an axial length of the second section (207) is greater than an axial length of the first section (206) as shown in figure 4, and see paragraphs [0177, 0188-0189, 0191, 0194-0195], for the advantageous benefit of providing a low resistance heat path between the stator core pack and a housing.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Engerman et al. in view of Vanhee et al., Ehrenberger and Meyer by using the interface includes a second section that is clearance fit between the stator core and the stator sleeve and is positioned axially between the attachment device and the first section, and wherein an axial length of the second section is greater than an axial length of the first section, as taught by Shanga et al., to provide a low resistance heat path between the stator core pack and a housing.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-5, 8-9, 11, 14 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Note claim4 depends claim 1, claim 5 depends claim 4, claim 8 depends claim 1, claim 9 depends claim 1, claim 10 depends claim 9, claim 11 depends claim 1, claim 14 depends claim 13.
Claims 16-18 allowed.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSE A GONZALEZ QUINONES/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834 September 24, 2026