Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 06/06//2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-8, 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Engerman et al. (US PG Pub 2024/0413710) in view of Meyer (EP1271747).
As to independent claim 1, Engerman et al. teaches a stator assembly, comprising: a stator core (126) that is mated with a stator sleeve (152) at an interface; wherein the interface includes a first section that forms an interference fit (172) between the stator core (126) and the stator sleeve (152); and an attachment device (175) that axially retains the stator core (126) within the stator sleeve (152) and one or more coolant channels (164) that extend through the stator core (126) from an inlet side coolant chamber (130) to an outlet side coolant chamber (132) as shown in figure 1.
However Engerman et al. teaches the claimed limitation as discussed above except wherein the stator sleeve includes a coolant deflector that is profiled to direct a coolant through stator end windings.
Meyer teaches wherein the stator sleeve (19) includes a coolant deflector (13) that is profiled to direct a coolant through stator end windings (27’) as shown in figure 1, for the advantageous benefit of optimizing heat dissipation.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Engerman et al. by using the stator sleeve includes a coolant deflector that is profiled to direct a coolant through stator end windings, as taught by Meyer, to optimize heat dissipation.
As to claim 2/1, Engerman et al. in view of Meyer teaches the claimed limitation as discussed above except wherein the coolant deflector at least partially surrounds stator end windings.
However Meyer teaches the coolant deflector (13) at least partially surrounds stator end windings (27’) as shown in figure 1, for the advantageous benefit of optimizing heat dissipation.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Engerman et al. by using the coolant deflector at least partially surrounds stator end windings, as taught by Meyer, to optimize heat dissipation.
As to claim 4/1, Engerman et al. teaches wherein the interface (172) includes a second section that forms a clearance fit between the stator core (126) and the stator sleeve (152) (see paragraph [0029]).
As to claim 5/4, Engerman et al. teaches wherein the first section (172) is positioned axially adjacent to the inlet side coolant chamber (130) as shown in figure 1.
As to claim 6/1, Engerman et al. teaches wherein the stator sleeve (152) includes a flange (173) that extends radial outward and is configured to couple to an electric machine housing (152) as shown in figure 1.
As to claim 7/6, Engerman et al. teaches wherein the flange (173) is positioned radially outward from the outlet side coolant chamber (132) as shown in figure 1.
As to claim 8/1, Engerman et al. teaches wherein the stator sleeve (152) includes one or more O-ring recesses (see figure 1) that are profiled to receive O-rings that are configured to form a seal between the stator sleeve (152) and an electric machine housing (152) as shown in figure 1.
As to claim 12/1, Engerman et al. teaches wherein the coolant is oil (see paragraph [0024]).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Engerman et al. (US PG Pub 2024/0413710) and Meyer (EP1271747) as applied in claim 1 above and further in view of Schaefer (3,060,860).
As to claim 3/1, Engerman et al. in view of Meyer teaches the claimed limitation as discussed above except wherein the coolant deflector includes an opening that axially extends through a wall of the coolant deflector.
However Schaefer teaches the coolant deflector (20) includes an opening (see annotated figure 1) that axially extends through a wall of the coolant deflector (20) as shown in figure 1, for the advantageous benefit of providing cool of the motor.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Engerman et al. in view of Meyer by using the coolant deflector includes an opening that axially extends through a wall of the coolant deflector, as taught by Schaefer, to provide cool of the motor.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Engerman et al. (US PG Pub 2024/0413710) and Meyer (EP1271747) as applied in claim 1 above and further in view of Xu (CN202798335).
As to claim 9/1, Engerman et al. teaches the claimed limitation as discussed above except wherein the coolant deflector is coupled to a body of the stator sleeve via a deflector attachment device.
However Xu teaches the coolant deflector (see annotated figure 1) is coupled to a body of the stator sleeve (4) via a deflector attachment device (see annotated figure 1) as shown in figure 1, for the advantageous benefit of prolonging the service life of the motor.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Engerman et al. in view of Meyer by using the coolant deflector includes an opening that axially extends through a wall of the coolant deflector, as taught by Xu, to prolong the service life of the motor.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Engerman et al. (US PG Pub 2024/0413710), Meyer (EP1271747) and Xu (CN202798335) as applied in claim 9 above and further in view of Riess (US PG Pub 2002/0145342).
As to claim 10/9, Engerman et al. and Meyer in view of Xu teaches the claimed limitation as discussed above except wherein the coolant deflector is constructed out of plastic.
However Riess teaches the coolant deflector (11) is constructed out of plastic (see abstract) , for the advantageous benefit of achieving without complexity or substantial costs.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Engerman et al. and Meyer in view of Xu by using the coolant deflector is constructed out of plastic., as taught by Riess, to achieve without complexity or substantial costs.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Engerman et al. (US PG Pub 2024/0413710) and Meyer (EP1271747) as applied in claim 1 above and further in view of Mitchell (2,900,539).
As to claim 11/1, Engerman et al. in view of Meyer teaches the claimed limitation as discussed above except wherein the attachment device is a lock nut.
However Mitchell teaches the attachment device is a lock nut (20) as shown in figure 1, for the advantageous benefit of supporting and accurately position the stator core and baffle.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Engerman et al. in view of Meyer by using the attachment device is a lock nut, as taught by Mitchell, to support and accurately position the stator core and baffle..
Claim(s) 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Engerman et al. (US PG Pub 2024/0413710) in view of Schaefer (3,060,860), Ehrenberger (EP3930156) and Meyer (EP1271747).
As to independent claim 13, Engerman et al. teaches a method for operation of a cooling system in a stator assembly, comprising: flowing coolant to an inlet side coolant chamber (130) in the stator assembly ; wherein the stator assembly includes: a stator core (126) that is mated with a stator sleeve (152) at an interface that includes an interference fit (172) along a first section of the interface as shown in figure 1
However Engerman et al. teaches the claimed limitation as discussed above except flowing coolant through an opening that extends through a wall of a coolant deflector that at least partially surrounds stator end windings ; and an attachment device that axial retains the stator core within the stator sleeve; wherein the stator sleeve includes the coolant deflector.
However Schaefer teaches flowing coolant through an opening (see annotated figure 1) that extends through a wall of a coolant deflector (20) that at least partially surrounds stator end windings (16) as shown in figure 1, for the advantageous benefit of providing cool of the motor.
Ehrenberger teaches an attachment device (15) that axial retains the stator core (4) within the stator sleeve (2,3) as shown in figure 3, for the advantageous benefit of providing good stability properties.
Meyer teaches wherein the stator sleeve (19) includes a coolant deflector (13) as shown in figure 1, for the advantageous benefit of optimizing heat dissipation.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Engerman et al. by using flowing coolant through an opening that extends through a wall of a coolant deflector that at least partially surrounds stator end windings ; and an attachment device that axial retains the stator core within the stator sleeve; wherein the stator sleeve includes the coolant deflector, as taught by Schaefer, Ehrenberger and Meyer, to provide cool of the motor, provide good stability properties and optimize heat dissipation.
As to claim 14/13, Engerman et al. teaches further comprising flowing coolant from an end winding chamber (130) to one or more coolant channels (164) that axially extend through the stator core (126) as shown in figure 1.
As to claim 15/13, Engerman et al. in view of Schaefer, Ehrenberger and Meyer teaches the claimed limitation as discussed above except wherein the interface includes a second section that is clearance fit between the stator core and the stator sleeve and is positioned axially between the attachment device and the first section.
However Ehrenberger teaches a second section that is clearance fit between the stator core (4) and the stator sleeve (2,3) and is positioned axially between the attachment device (15) and the first section as shown figure 3, for the advantageous benefit of providing good stability properties.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Engerman et al. by using the interface includes a second section that is clearance fit between the stator core and the stator sleeve and is positioned axially between the attachment device and the first section, as taught by Ehrenberger, to provide good stability properties.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Engerman et al. (US PG Pub 2024/0413710) in view of Yu (CN202250865), Ehrenberger (EP3930156), Meyer (EP1271747) and Schaefer (3,060,860).
As to independent claim 16, Engerman et al. teaches a stator assembly, comprising: a stator sleeve (152) that is mated with a stator core (126); wherein a clearance fit is formed between at least a portion of the stator sleeve and the stator core; and one or more oil channels that extend through the stator core from an inlet side oil chamber to an outlet side oil chamber;
However Engerman et al. teaches the claimed limitation as discussed above except a plurality of axially extending tabs that mate with a plurality of recesses in the stator core, an attachment device that axial retains the stator core within the stator sleeve, wherein the stator sleeve includes an oil deflector that is profiled to direct an oil through stator end windings, wherein the oil deflector at least partially surrounds the stator end windings; and wherein the oil deflector includes an opening that extends through a wall of the oil deflector
Yu teaches a plurality of axially extending tabs (see figure 5) that mate with a plurality of recesses(see figure 5) in the stator core (2a) as shown in figure 5, for the advantageous benefit of improving the overall performance of the compressor.
Ehrenberger teaches an attachment device (15) that axial retains the stator core (4) within the stator sleeve (2) as shown in figure 3, for the advantageous benefit of providing good stability properties.
Meyer teaches wherein the stator sleeve (19) includes an oil deflector (13) that is profiled to direct an oil through stator end windings (27’), wherein the oil deflector (13) at least partially surrounds the stator end windings (27’) as shown in figure 1, for the advantageous benefit of optimizing heat dissipation.
Schaefer teaches the deflector includes an opening that extends through a wall of the deflector (20) as shown in figure 1, for the advantageous benefit of providing cool of the motor.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Engerman et al. by using a plurality of axially extending tabs that mate with a plurality of recesses in the stator core, an attachment device that axial retains the stator core within the stator sleeve, wherein the stator sleeve includes an oil deflector that is profiled to direct an oil through stator end windings, wherein the oil deflector at least partially surrounds the stator end windings; and wherein the oil deflector includes an opening that extends through a wall of the oil deflector, as taught by Yu, Ehrenberger, Meyer and Schaefer, to improve the overall performance of the compressor, provide good stability properties, optimize heat dissipation and provide cool of the motor.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Engerman et al. (US PG Pub 2024/0413710), Yu (CN202250865), Ehrenberger (EP3930156), Meyer (EP1271747) and Schaefer (3,060,860) as applied in claim 16 above, and further in view of Iwasaki (WO2013121590).
As to claim 17/16, Engerman et al. in view of Yu, Ehrenberger, Meyer and Schaefer teaches the claimed limitation as discussed above except wherein the plurality of axially extending tabs each include a tab damper that is constructed out of plastic or elastomer.
However Iwasaki teaches plurality of axially extending tabs (22B) each include a tab damper that is constructed out of plastic or elastomer [see paragraph [0039-0044]),for the advantageous benefit of prevent from being damaged by external stress.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Engerman et al. in view of Yu, Ehrenberger, Meyer and Schaefer by using the plurality of axially extending tabs each include a tab damper that is constructed out of plastic or elastomer, as taught by Iwasaki, to preventing from being damaged by external stress.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Engerman et al. (US PG Pub 2024/0413710), Yu (CN202250865), Ehrenberger (EP3930156), Meyer (EP1271747), Schaefer (3,060,860) and Iwasaki (WO2013121590)as applied in claim 17 above, and further in view of Takemoto (JP2010029053)
As to claim 18/17, Engerman et al., Yu, Ehrenberger, Meyer and Schaefer in view of Iwasaki teaches the claimed limitation as discussed above except wherein sides of the tab dampers are in face sharing contact with the stator core and a surface that extends between the sides forms a clearance fit with the stator core.
However Takemoto teaches wherein sides of the tab dampers (4) are in face sharing contact with the stator core (5,7) and a surface that extends between the sides forms a clearance fit with the stator core (5,7) as shown in figure 1and 2, for the advantageous benefit of improving output performance.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Engerman et al., Yu, Ehrenberger, Meyer and Schaefer in view of Iwasaki by using sides of the tab dampers are in face sharing contact with the stator core and a surface that extends between the sides forms a clearance fit with the stator core, as taught by Takemoto, to improve output performance.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Engerman et al. (US PG Pub 2024/0413710), Yu (CN202250865), Ehrenberger (EP3930156), Meyer (EP1271747) and Schaefer (3,060,860) as applied in claim 16 above, and further in view of Wang (CN207691553).
As to claim 19/16, Engerman et al. in view of Yu, Ehrenberger, Meyer and Schaefer teaches the claimed limitation as discussed above except comprising a first axial damper positioned between the attachment device and the stator core.
However Wang teaches a axial damper (7) positioned between the attachment device (9) and the stator core (2) s shown in figure 1, for the advantageous benefit of improving the integral stability and safety and reliability of the electric motor, reduces the production and maintenance cost.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Engerman et al. in view of Yu, Ehrenberger, Meyer and Schaefer by using a first axial damper positioned between the attachment device and the stator core, as taught by Wang, to improve the integral stability and safety and reliability of the electric motor, reduces the production and maintenance cost.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 20 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Note claim 20 depends claim 19
Conclusion
/JOSE A GONZALEZ QUINONES/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834 April 24, 2026