DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3-9, and 11-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 9 recite the limitation “wherein the related processing is completely performed without memory access”. The related processing of the claims necessitate the use of memory or buffers within the device itself. Therefore, claiming that the related processing is performed “without memory access” entirely is indefinite. The examiner interprets that this limitation is intended to claim performing the related processing within the hardware acceleration device and not accessing main memory. Therefore, the examiner suggests that the limitation should read “wherein the related processing is completely performed without main memory access” (emphasis added) for clarity. For the purposes of examination, the limitation is interpreted as such. Claims 3-8 are rejected due to their dependency on independent claim 1. Claims 11-17 are rejected due to their dependency on independent claim 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aziz et al. (US 2019/0082040), hereinafter "Aziz", in view of Li et al. (US 2016/0204851), hereinafter "Li", and further in view of Helman (US 2019/0187996), hereinafter “Helman”.
Regarding claims 1, 9, Aziz teaches:
A method for speeding up packet processing or a device for speeding up packet processing, comprising:
a central processing unit (CPU) (see Aziz, Fig. 3, par. [0041]: The apparatus 100 also includes a PDCP SDU manager 104, a TX memory 105, a MAC PDU assembler 106, a control processor 112); and
a hardware acceleration processor coupled to the CPU, wherein the hardware acceleration processor is operable (see Aziz, Fig. 3, par. [0046]: the control processor 112 includes a dedicated interface (or port, or link, or bus) to each of the hardware accelerators, e.g., PDCP SDU manager 104, header generators 114, MAC PDU assembler 106, MAC PDU manager 196, header decoders 116, and PDCP SDU fetcher 194. An advantage of the dedicated interfaces is that write or read operations by the control processor 112 to/from the hardware accelerators may complete immediately without contention with other agents) to:
receiving, by a hardware acceleration circuitry of a computing device, a packet (see Aziz, Fig. 3, par. [0048]: When the PDCP SDU manager 104 detects the presence of a PDCP SDU in the FIFO 102, it reads the PDCP SDU 132 from the FIFO 102 and writes the PDCP SDU 134 to a location in the PDCP SDU buffer 122 and notifies the control processor 112. The control processor 112 receives the length of the PDCP SDU, either from the PDCP SDU manager 104 or from the L3 unit transport mechanism (e.g., 10 Gb Ethernet port or similar high speed data port) that writes the PDCP SDU into the FIFO 102. In one embodiment, the L3 unit transport mechanism determines the length of the PDCP SDU (e.g., if the PDCP SDU is an IP packet, the L3 unit knows the length of the IP packet, which may be determined from the IP packet header) and provides the PDCP SDU length to the control processor 112 and/or to the PDCP SDU manager 104. The PDCP SDU manager 104 reads words from the FIFO 102 (e.g., in 4-byte words) and provides addresses to the TX memory 105 along with the words read from the FIFO 102 to write the words to the TX memory 105);
performing, by the hardware acceleration circuitry, related processing on the TCP/IP packet to obtain a processed TCP/IP packet after the related processing in response to determining that the packet is the TCP/IP packet (see Aziz, Fig. 3, par. [0048]: When the PDCP SDU manager 104 detects the presence of a PDCP SDU in the FIFO 102, it reads the PDCP SDU 132 from the FIFO 102 and writes the PDCP SDU 134 to a location in the PDCP SDU buffer 122 and notifies the control processor 112. The control processor 112 receives the length of the PDCP SDU, either from the PDCP SDU manager 104 or from the L3 unit transport mechanism (e.g., 10 Gb Ethernet port or similar high speed data port) that writes the PDCP SDU into the FIFO 102. In one embodiment, the L3 unit transport mechanism determines the length of the PDCP SDU (e.g., if the PDCP SDU is an IP packet, the L3 unit knows the length of the IP packet, which may be determined from the IP packet header) and provides the PDCP SDU length to the control processor 112 and/or to the PDCP SDU manager 104. The PDCP SDU manager 104 reads words from the FIFO 102 (e.g., in 4-byte words) and provides addresses to the TX memory 105 along with the words read from the FIFO 102 to write the words to the TX memory 105);
and
transmitting, by the hardware acceleration circuitry, the processed TCP/IP packet to a lower layer (see Aziz, Fig. 3, par. [0051]: The MAC PDU assembler 106 uses the pointers and lengths 148 to generate TX memory 105 read addresses to form MAC PDU 138 that the MAC PDU assembler 106 writes to the FIFO 108, preferably words (e.g., 4-byte words) at a time, and see par. [0052]: The presence of the MAC PDU in the FIFO 108 (e.g., non-empty indicator) may serve as an indication to the L1 unit that it may read the MAC PDU from the FIFO 108 for transmission on the wireless channel by the radios of the PHY and the antennas connected thereto. In one embodiment, the MAC PDU assembler 106 provides the length of the MAC PDU to the L1 unit)
However, Aziz does not teach:
receiving the packet from an application layer;
determining, by the hardware acceleration circuitry, whether the packet is a transmission control protocol/Internet protocol (TCP/IP) packet;
wherein the related processing is completely performed without memory access.
Li, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
receiving the packet from an application layer (see Li, Figs. 2 and 3, par. [0027]: FIG. 3, with reference to FIG. 2, illustrates exemplary operation of hardware accelerator 106a. We assume that modem 104a received a packet from a source device connected to the WAN and provided the received packet to reception data buffer 202 via receiver 208. TCP/IP packet decoder 212 fetches an IP version from the received packet while the packet is simultaneously routed to a destination connected to LAN 108 via application processing device 222 (act 302));
determining, by the hardware acceleration circuitry, whether the packet is a transmission control protocol/Internet protocol (TCP/IP) packet (see Li, Figs. 2 and 3, par. [0029]: If, during act 304, the received packet is determined not to pertain to IP version 4, then IP version 6 comparator 218 determine whether the fetched IP version indicates that received packet pertains to IP version 6 (act 316), and see par. [0029]: if the received packet is determined to pertain to IP version 6, TCP/IP packet decoder 212 may fetch protocol information from the received packet (act 318) and may provide the protocol information to TCP comparator 220 to determine whether the received packet pertaining to IP version 6 is a TCP data packet (act 320));
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method or device of Aziz with the receiving a packet from an application layer and determining whether the packet is a TCP/IP packet of Li with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of reducing propagation delay (see Li, par. [0001]).
However, the combination of Aziz in view of Li does not teach:
wherein the related processing is completely performed without memory access.
Helman, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
wherein the related processing is completely performed without memory access (see Helman, Fig. 1, pars. [0055-0056]: in regard to FIG. 1, a hardware acceleration circuit may include a buffer or other suitable storage circuit that allows for the storage of the intermediate data. By including localized storage in the hardware acceleration circuit, the architecture of the computer system is improved to allow for subsequent operations to be performed by the hardware acceleration circuit using the intermediate data without accesses to main memory, which can result in additional delay and power consumption. In addition to executing the first instruction of the plurality of chained hardware instructions, the hardware acceleration circuit may then execute a second hardware instruction, which is chained to the first hardware instruction, to perform a second operation using the intermediate data, and possibly a second data stream of the plurality of data streams. Since the result of the first operation, i.e., the intermediate data, is locally available within the hardware acceleration circuit, if the second operation consumes only results of the first operation, the second operation can be performed without accesses to main memory; in this case, hardware acceleration processes are performed without main memory access).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the related processing of the combination of Aziz in view of Li with the processing without main memory access of Helman with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of improving throughput and reducing power consumption (see Helman, pars. [0016] and [0055-0056]).
Claims 3 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aziz in view of Li, and further in view of Helman, as applied to claims 1 and 9 above, and further in view of Guo et al. (US 2015/0055481), hereinafter “Guo”.
Regarding claims 3, 11, the combination of Aziz in view of Li, and further in view of Helman, teaches the method or device.
Aziz does not teach, but Li teaches:
further comprising:
transferring, by the hardware acceleration circuitry, the packet in response to determining that the packet is not a TCP/IP packet (see Li, Figs. 2 and 3, par. [0029]: If, during act 304, the received packet is determined not to pertain to IP version 4, then IP version 6 comparator 218 determine whether the fetched IP version indicates that received packet pertains to IP version 6 (act 316). If the received packet does not pertain to IP version 6, then the received packet may be discarded (act 322). Otherwise, if the received packet is determined to pertain to IP version 6, TCP/IP packet decoder 212 may fetch protocol information from the received packet (act 318) and may provide the protocol information to TCP comparator 220 to determine whether the received packet pertaining to IP version 6 is a TCP data packet (act 320). If the received packet is determined not to be the TCP data packet, then the received packet may be discarded (act 322); in this case, based on the packet not being a TCP/IP packet, the packet is discarded (i.e. transferred) from the hardware acceleration device)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method or device of Aziz with the transferring the packet of Li with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of reducing propagation delay (see Li, par. [0001]).
However, the combination of Aziz in view of Li, and further in view of Helman, does not teach:
transferring, by the hardware acceleration circuitry, the packet to a memory of the computing device and instructing a central processing unit (CPU) of the computing device to perform the related processing on the packet in the memory to obtain a processed non-TCP/IP packet after the related processing; and
transmitting the processed non-TCP/IP packet to a lower layer by the CPU.
Guo, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
transferring, by the hardware acceleration circuitry, the packet to a memory of the computing device and instructing a central processing unit (CPU) of the computing device to perform the related processing on the packet in the memory to obtain a processed non-TCP/IP packet after the related processing (see Guo, Fig. 2, par. [0054]: Once packets that contextually match with one or more conditions/rules/rule identifiers are identified, such packets can be forwarded to the GPP 206 for onward processing/transmission to the application software 212 through operating system 208 and low-level software 210 as already described above, and see par. [0058]: The general purpose processor and/or the acceleration hardware can be configured to capture, aggregate, annotate, store, and index network packet data in real time from one or more portions of the network and retrieve such data utilizing the storage and the indexing database. Thus, the storage may be operable as a packet capture repository and the indexing database may be operable as an index into the packet capture repository. The storage may include any kind of storage media, including, but not limited to one or more magnetic storage media, optical storage media, volatile memory, non-volatile memory, flash memory, and the like, and see par. [0060]: Pre-matching module 306 can be configured to receive re-assembled and re-ordered incoming network packets as a stream, and match the incoming packet stream with one or more conditions to identify packets meeting the one or more conditions. According to one embodiment, such one or more conditions can include packet field-level conditions/criterions/rules, protocol-level conditions/criterions/rules; in this case, Guo teaches using protocol-level conditions for determining when to forward packets to a general purpose processor (corresponding to the CPU) which stores packets in memory and further processes packets. Taken in combination with Aziz and Li, packets are transferred based on a protocol-level condition indicating the packet is not TCP/IP); and
transmitting the processed non-TCP/IP packet to a lower layer by the CPU (see Guo, Fig. 2, par. [0054]: Once packets that contextually match with one or more conditions/rules/rule identifiers are identified, such packets can be forwarded to the GPP 206 for onward processing/transmission to the application software 212 through operating system 208 and low-level software 210 as already described above).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the transferring the packet of the combination of Aziz in view of Li, and further in view of Helman, with the transferring the packet to a memory of a CPU and transmitting the packet to a lower layer by the CPU of Guo with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of improving accuracy, speed, and efficiency of context-aware pattern matching (see Guo, par. [0033]).
Claims 4 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aziz in view of Li, and further in view of Helman, as applied to claims 1 and 9 above, and further in view of Sivaramakrishnan (US 9,641,435), hereinafter “Sivaramakrishnan”.
Regarding claims 4, 12, the combination of Aziz in view of Li, and further in view of Helman, teaches the method or device.
However, the combination of Aziz in view of Li, and further in view of Helman, does not teach:
wherein the related processing at least comprises:
a checksum calculation for TCP/IP packet;
an IP fragmentation; and
a TCP segmentation offload (TSO).
Sivaramakrishnan, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
wherein the related processing at least comprises:
a checksum calculation for TCP/IP packet (see Sivaramakrishnan, col. 14, lines 42-59: Virtual router forwarding plane 128 generates the tunnel header 152 to ensure that the tunnel header is identical for multiple TCP segments to be generated by segmentation offload 115. Because the checksum field 162 value varies according to the values of all fields of outer IP header 153, virtual router forwarding plane 128 ensures that (1) the length of the tunnel packet is identical such that the length field 159 value does not vary, (2) the identification field 160 of the outer IP header 153 is set to 0, and (3) the do not fragment field 161 is set to 1. Accordingly, the tunnel header 153 may be identical for each of the multiple TCP segments to be generated. Identification field 161 is in general used to support IP fragmentation and may be safely set to 0 for the tunnel header 152 for each tunnel packet because the do not fragment field 161 is also set to 1. Virtual router forwarding plane 128 also computes a checksum for outer IP header 153 and sets the value for checksum field 162 to the computed checksum);
an IP fragmentation (see Sivaramakrishnan, col. 14, lines 42-59: Virtual router forwarding plane 128 generates the tunnel header 152 to ensure that the tunnel header is identical for multiple TCP segments to be generated by segmentation offload 115. Because the checksum field 162 value varies according to the values of all fields of outer IP header 153, virtual router forwarding plane 128 ensures that (1) the length of the tunnel packet is identical such that the length field 159 value does not vary, (2) the identification field 160 of the outer IP header 153 is set to 0, and (3) the do not fragment field 161 is set to 1. Accordingly, the tunnel header 153 may be identical for each of the multiple TCP segments to be generated. Identification field 161 is in general used to support IP fragmentation and may be safely set to 0 for the tunnel header 152 for each tunnel packet because the do not fragment field 161 is also set to 1. Virtual router forwarding plane 128 also computes a checksum for outer IP header 153 and sets the value for checksum field 162 to the computed checksum); and
a TCP segmentation offload (TSO) (see Sivaramakrishnan, col. 14, lines 42-59: Virtual router forwarding plane 128 generates the tunnel header 152 to ensure that the tunnel header is identical for multiple TCP segments to be generated by segmentation offload 115. Because the checksum field 162 value varies according to the values of all fields of outer IP header 153, virtual router forwarding plane 128 ensures that (1) the length of the tunnel packet is identical such that the length field 159 value does not vary, (2) the identification field 160 of the outer IP header 153 is set to 0, and (3) the do not fragment field 161 is set to 1. Accordingly, the tunnel header 153 may be identical for each of the multiple TCP segments to be generated. Identification field 161 is in general used to support IP fragmentation and may be safely set to 0 for the tunnel header 152 for each tunnel packet because the do not fragment field 161 is also set to 1. Virtual router forwarding plane 128 also computes a checksum for outer IP header 153 and sets the value for checksum field 162 to the computed checksum).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the processing of the combination of Aziz in view of Li, and further in view of Helman, with the specific processing of Sivaramakrishnan with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of reducing resource usage by the computing resources (see Sivaramakrishnan, col. 17, lines 57-67).
Claims 5-7 and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aziz in view of Li, and further in view of Helman, as applied to claims 1 and 9 above, and further in view of Agrawal et al. (US 2020/0266955), hereinafter “Agrawal”.
Regarding claims 5, 13, the combination of Aziz in view of Li, and further in view of Helman, teaches the method or device.
However, the combination of Aziz in view of Li, and further in view of Helman, does not teach:
further comprising:
filtering out at least one redundant TCP acknowledgment (ACK).
Agrawal, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
further comprising:
filtering out at least one redundant TCP acknowledgment (ACK) (see Agrawal, Fig. 7, par. [0084]: a diagram 700 illustrates several examples of TCP ACK aggregation. Specifically, the diagram 700 shows three implementations 710, 720, and 730 of TCP ACK aggregation when the reduction factor N equals to 2. A reduction factor may be associated with a decrease in ACK transmitted when utilizing ACK aggregation. For example, if a receiving device sends 2000 ACKs for 2000 packets, a reduction factor of 4 would mean that the receiving device only sends 500 ACKs when utilizing ACK aggregation).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method or device of the combination of Aziz in view of Li, and further in view of Helman, with the filtering TCP ACKs of Agrawal with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of decreasing transmission overhead (see Agrawal, par. [0033]).
Regarding claims 6, 14, the combination of Aziz in view of Li, and further in view of Helman, and further in view of Agrawal, teaches the method or device.
The combination of Aziz in view of Li, and further in view of Helman, does not teach, but Agrawal teaches:
wherein filtering out at least one redundant TCP ACK comprises:
searching a list of queued TCP ACK whose destinations are the lower layer (see Agrawal, par. [0093]: the UE 110 may track the sequence numbers of the ACKs within a given time period, and see Agrawal, par. [0082]: a sending device 610, such as the UE 110 or the BS 105, may send one or more packets to a receiving device 620, such as a different UE 110 or BS 105, and see Agrawal, par. [0084]: there may be eight unique TCP ACKs (ACK k, ACK k+1 . . . ACK k+7) generated in response to the received TCP traffic within a fixed interval. Because the reduction factor N is 2, four unique TCP ACKs may be transmitted to the sending device to acknowledge the reception of the TCP traffic within the interval, and the other four unique TCP acknowledgments may be discarded; in this case, considering a number of TCP ACKs for transmission corresponds to searching a list of queued TCP ACK);
determining a latest sequence number in the TCP ACKs (see Agrawal, Fig. 7, par. [0085]: the unique TCP ACKs with the highest sequence number(s) in the interval may be transmitted to the sending device, and the unique TCP ACKs with the lowest sequence number(s) may be discarded. The unique TCP ACKs with the highest sequence number(s) may be the unique TCP ACKs that are generated to acknowledge the latest transmitted packets. As shown in the first implementation 710, ACK k, ACK k+1, ACK k+2, and ACK k+3 may be discarded, while ACK k+4, ACK k+5, ACK k+6, and ACK k+7 may be transmitted to the sending device); and
deleting one or more TCP ACKs whose sequence number is earlier than a latest TCP ACK (see Agrawal, Fig. 7, par. [0085]: the unique TCP ACKs with the highest sequence number(s) in the interval may be transmitted to the sending device, and the unique TCP ACKs with the lowest sequence number(s) may be discarded. The unique TCP ACKs with the highest sequence number(s) may be the unique TCP ACKs that are generated to acknowledge the latest transmitted packets. As shown in the first implementation 710, ACK k, ACK k+1, ACK k+2, and ACK k+3 may be discarded, while ACK k+4, ACK k+5, ACK k+6, and ACK k+7 may be transmitted to the sending device).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method or device of the combination of Aziz in view of Li, and further in view of Helman, with the filtering TCP ACKs of Agrawal with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of decreasing transmission overhead (see Agrawal, par. [0033]).
Regarding claims 7, 15, the combination of Aziz in view of Li, and further in view of Helman, teaches the method or device.
However, the combination of Aziz in view of Li, and further in view of Helman, does not teach:
further comprising:
transmitting a pure acknowledgment (ACK) packet in response to determining that the packet is the pure ACK packet;
wherein a priority of the pure ACK packet is higher than a priority of a normal packet.
Agrawal, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
further comprising:
transmitting a pure acknowledgment (ACK) packet in response to determining that the packet is the pure ACK packet;
wherein a priority of the pure ACK packet is higher than a priority of a normal packet (see Agrawal, Fig. 7, par. [0085]: the unique TCP ACKs with the highest sequence number(s) in the interval may be transmitted to the sending device, and the unique TCP ACKs with the lowest sequence number(s) may be discarded. The unique TCP ACKs with the highest sequence number(s) may be the unique TCP ACKs that are generated to acknowledge the latest transmitted packets. As shown in the first implementation 710, ACK k, ACK k+1, ACK k+2, and ACK k+3 may be discarded, while ACK k+4, ACK k+5, ACK k+6, and ACK k+7 may be transmitted to the sending device; in this case, a TCP ACK (corresponding to a pure ACK packet) with the highest sequence number may have priority and be transmitted).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method or device of the combination of Aziz in view of Li, and further in view of Helman, with the filtering TCP ACKs of Agrawal with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of decreasing transmission overhead (see Agrawal, par. [0033]).
Claims 8 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aziz in view of Li, and further in view of Helman, as applied to claims 1 and 9 above, and further in view of Jackowski et al. (US 2012/0039332), hereinafter “Jackowski”.
Regarding claims 8, 16, the combination of Aziz in view of Li, and further in view of Helman, teaches the method or device.
However, the combination of Aziz in view of Li, and further in view of Helman, does not teach:
further comprising:
transmitting a quality of service (QoS) packet in response to determining that the packet is the QoS packet;
wherein a priority of the QoS packet is higher than a priority of a normal packet.
Jackowski, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
further comprising:
transmitting a quality of service (QoS) packet in response to determining that the packet is the QoS packet (see Jackowski, par. [0162]: the QoS engine 236 prioritizes, schedules and transmits network packets according to one or more policies as specified by the policy engine 295, 295', and see Jackowski, par. [0299]: a device performing QoS, priority queuing and other acceleration techniques may classify received packets as corresponding to an application, and then apply QoS and other policies associated with the application, and see Jackowski, par. [0203]: QoS plug-in 404 may comprise a service, process, subroutine, or other executable code for classifying packets and applying QoS policies);
wherein a priority of the QoS packet is higher than a priority of a normal packet (see Jackowski, par. [0204]: QoS plug-in 404 may provide a low priority queue, a medium priority queue, and a high priority queue and place packets into the queues responsive to QoS priorities associated with the packets. QoS plug-in 404 may then process the queues in order of priority. For example, in one embodiment, QoS plug-in 404 may process a high priority queue at a faster rate, or more frequently, than the plug-in processes a low priority queue. In another embodiment, QoS plug-in 404 may move packets within a single queue. For example, QoS plug-in 404 may place high priority packets ahead of low priority packets within the queue).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method or device of the combination of Aziz in view of Li, and further in view of Helman, with the QoS packet transmission of Jackowski with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of enhancing and optimizing network performance (see Jackowski, par. [0003]).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aziz in view of Li, and further in view of Helman, as applied to claims 1 and 9 above, and further in view of Zeh et al. (DE 102020002423), hereinafter “Zeh”, published 22 July, 2021 (see “DE_102020002423_Translation.pdf” for citations).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Aziz in view of Li, and further in view of Helman, teaches the method.
However, the combination of Aziz in view of Li, and further in view of Helman, does not teach:
wherein the hardware acceleration circuitry implements an Internet layer and a transport layer in TCP/IP protocols.
Zeh, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
wherein the hardware acceleration circuitry implements an Internet layer and a transport layer in TCP/IP protocols (see Zeh, par. [0026]: the Hardware Accelerator 130 implements the IP Internet layer (L3 in the OSI layer model) and at least part of a TCP transport layer (L4) in hardware and can be configured as a so-called TCP/IP offload engine (TOE)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the hardware acceleration circuitry of the combination of Aziz in view of Li, and further in view of Helman, with the implementing an internet layer and a transport layer of Zeh with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of enabling high data throughput (see Zeh, par. [0026]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 9 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Du et al. (US 2026/0039505) teaches a method, an apparatus and a device for performing hardware acceleration on an L2TP message and a storage medium.
Wang et al. (US 7,389,462) teaches a system and methods for accelerating network protocol processing for devices configured to process network traffic at relatively high data rates.
B. Batmaz and A. Doğan, ("Hardware Acceleration of FreeRTOS Network Stack for IoT Edge Devices") teaches a network stack accelerator and experimental results for reducing power consumption.
/C.J.B./Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419