DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This is in response to an amendment/response filed on July 31, 2026.
No Claims have been amended.
No Claims have been cancelled.
No Claims have been added.
Claims 1-30 are currently pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on July 31, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant argues on pages 11-14 of the applicant’s remarks/arguments that Nam fails to teach “transmit a feedback message associated with the second control information message that includes an indication that the coding rate associated with the downlink transmission is unknown at the UE based at least in part on the first control information message being unsuccessfully received at the UE”.
The examiner respectfully disagrees. Nam teaches At 1810 the UE 115 may determine, based at least in part on information in the first DCI, that a prior DCI associated with the downlink retransmission from the base station to the UE was lost([0188]). At 1815 the UE 115 may transmit, responsive to the determining, a negative acknowledgment to the base station and an indication that the prior DCI was lost([0189]). At 465, the UE 115-b, after making the determination that the first DCI was lost, may transmit a NACK to the base station 105-b along with an indication that the first DCI was lost. By providing the indication that the first DCI was lost, the UE 115-b can allow the base station 105-b to differentiate between unsuccessful decoding of the downlink retransmission 450 and the UE 115-b being unable to attempt decoding([0087]).
Based on the above disclosures Lee discloses when the DCI is lost the device is unable to decode the downlink transmission because the loss of the DCI cause the coding rate is unknown by the UE for decoding. Therefore, Lee teaches transmit a feedback message associated with the second control information message that includes an indication that the coding rate associated with the downlink transmission is unknown at the UE based at least in part on the first control information message being unsuccessfully received at the UE as claimed by the instant application.
For at least the reasons provided above, the applicant arguments regarding independent claims are not persuasive. The applicant argues that independent claims are patentable for similar reasons and are also not persuasive. The applicant further argues that since dependent claims depend on the argued independent claim; they are patentable at least by virtue of their dependencies. Since the applicant's arguments regarding independent claims are not persuasive, the applicant's arguments regarding dependent claims are also not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6,8-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Nam et al. (US Application 2019/0222360, hereinafter Nam).
Regarding claims 1, 23, Nam discloses a method at a user equipment (UE), (Figs. 1, 4-6,10,115), comprising:
one or more memories(1025) storing processor-executable code([0135]-[0136], which recites 1005 may include components for bi-directional voice and data communications including components for transmitting and receiving communications, including UE communications manager 1015, processor 1020, memory 1025, software 1030, transceiver 1035, antenna 1040, and I/O controller 1045. These components may be in electronic communication via one or more buses (e.g., bus 1010). Device 1005 may communicate wirelessly with one or more base stations 105)); and one or more processors(1020) coupled with the one or more memories and individually or collectively operable to execute the code ([0135]-[0136], which recites 1005 may include components for bi-directional voice and data communications including components for transmitting and receiving communications, including UE communications manager 1015, processor 1020, memory 1025, software 1030, transceiver 1035, antenna 1040, and I/O controller 1045. These components may be in electronic communication via one or more buses (e.g., bus 1010). Device 1005 may communicate wirelessly with one or more base stations 105) to cause the UE to:
receive a second control information message that indicates a set of wireless resources for a downlink transmission to the UE(fig. 4, step 455,[0085], which recites the base station 105-b may transmit the second DCI 445 and the downlink retransmission 450 to the UE 115-b. In this example, the UE 115-b, at 455, may receive the second DCI), wherein the second control information message indicates that a coding rate for the downlink transmission is provided in a first control information message(fig. 4, step 460, [0086], which recites at 460, the UE 115-b may determine that the first DCI was lost. In some cases, the UE 115-b may make such a determination based on the parameters from the second DCI. For example, the UE 115-b may determine that the NDI is toggled for the given HARQ process number, that an MCS index indicates a value reserved for retransmissions, or any combination thereof. In such a situation, the UE 115-b is not able to continue to decode the downlink retransmission 450, because the TBS for the downlink retransmission would need to be derived from the lost first DCI 420); and
transmit a feedback message associated with the second control information message that includes an indication that the coding rate associated with the downlink transmission is unknown at the UE based at least in part on the first control information message being unsuccessfully received at the UE(Fig. 4, step 465, [0087], which recites at 465, the UE 115-b, after making the determination that the first DCI was lost, may transmit a NACK to the base station 105-b along with an indication that the first DCI was lost. By providing the indication that the first DCI was lost, the UE 115-b can allow the base station 105-b to differentiate between unsuccessful decoding of the downlink retransmission 450 and the UE 115-b being unable to attempt decoding. The UE 115-b may transmit the NACK and indication using in a UCI transmission 470 (e.g., a via a PUCCH transmission). In some cases, the UE 115-b may transmit the UCI 470 multiple times, since it is also possible that the UCI 470 may be lost and not received by the base station 105-b. In some cases, a maximum number of retransmissions for the UCI 470 may be configured at the UE (e.g., via RRC signaling)).
Regarding claims 18, 28, Nam discloses a method at a network entity(Figs. 1, 4-6,14,105), comprising:
one or more memories (1425) storing processor-executable code([0135]-[0136], which recites device 1405 may include components for bi-directional voice and data communications including components for transmitting and receiving communications, including base station communications manager 1415, processor 1420, memory 1425, software 1430, transceiver 1435, antenna 1440, network communications manager 1445, and inter-station communications manager 1450. These components may be in electronic communication via one or more buses (e.g., bus 1410). Device 1405 may communicate wirelessly with one or more UEs 115); and one or more processors (1420) coupled with the one or more memories and individually or collectively operable to execute the code([0135]-[0136], which recites device 1405 may include components for bi-directional voice and data communications including components for transmitting and receiving communications, including base station communications manager 1415, processor 1420, memory 1425, software 1430, transceiver 1435, antenna 1440, network communications manager 1445, and inter-station communications manager 1450. These components may be in electronic communication via one or more buses (e.g., bus 1410). Device 1405 may communicate wirelessly with one or more UEs 115) to cause the network entity to:
output a first control information message that indicates a coding rate for a downlink transmission and a first set of wireless resources for a first instance of the downlink transmission to a user equipment (UE)(Fig. 4, step 415, [0080], which recites at 415, the base station 105-b may configure a first DCI for the downlink transmission. The first DCI may include, for example, allocated resources (e.g., allocated RBs/REs within a TTI for downlink transmission to the UE 115-b), an MCS, a HARQ process number, a new data indicator (NDI), among others. The base station 105-b transmits the first DCI 420 and an associated first downlink transmission 425 to the UE 115-b);
output the first instance of the downlink transmission(Fig. 4, step 415, [0080], which recites at 415, the base station 105-b may configure a first DCI for the downlink transmission. The first DCI may include, for example, allocated resources (e.g., allocated RBs/REs within a TTI for downlink transmission to the UE 115-b), an MCS, a HARQ process number, a new data indicator (NDI), among others. The base station 105-b transmits the first DCI 420 and an associated first downlink transmission 425 to the UE 115-b);
output a second control information message that indicates a second set of wireless resources for a second instance of the downlink transmission(fig. 4, step 455,[0085], which recites the base station 105-b may transmit the second DCI 445 and the downlink retransmission 450 to the UE 115-b. In this example, the UE 115-b, at 455, may receive the second DCI), wherein the second control information message indicates that the coding rate for the second instance of the downlink transmission is provided in the first control information message(fig. 4, step 460, [0086], which recites at 460, the UE 115-b may determine that the first DCI was lost. In some cases, the UE 115-b may make such a determination based on the parameters from the second DCI. For example, the UE 115-b may determine that the NDI is toggled for the given HARQ process number, that an MCS index indicates a value reserved for retransmissions, or any combination thereof. In such a situation, the UE 115-b is not able to continue to decode the downlink retransmission 450, because the TBS for the downlink retransmission would need to be derived from the lost first DCI 420);
output the second instance of the downlink transmission(fig.4, step 475, [0088], which recites at 475, the base station 105-b may receive the UCI and determine that the first DCI 420 was lost. The base station 105-b, upon determining that the first DCI 420 was lost may take one of a number of different actions. In some cases, as illustrated at 480, the base station 105-b may optionally discontinue retransmitting the downlink transmission, and the UE 115-b at 485 may flush its receive buffer, and thus no further action is taken with respect to the first downlink transmission 425. In some cases, the base station 105-b may attempt another independent transmission of the data transmitted using the first downlink transmission 425. In other cases, as will be discussed in more detail with respect to FIGS. 5 and 6, the base station 105-b may transmit further DCI either alone or in conjunction with another retransmission. In some cases, the base station 105-b may configure the UE 115-b (e.g., as part of the connection establishment for connection 405 via RRC signaling) which action is to be taken upon detection that the first DCI 420 is lost); and
obtain, from the UE, a feedback message associated with the second control information message that includes an indication the coding rate associated with the downlink transmission is unknown at the UE(fig.4, step 475, [0088], which recites at 475, the base station 105-b may receive the UCI and determine that the first DCI 420 was lost. The base station 105-b, upon determining that the first DCI 420 was lost may take one of a number of different actions. In some cases, as illustrated at 480, the base station 105-b may optionally discontinue retransmitting the downlink transmission, and the UE 115-b at 485 may flush its receive buffer, and thus no further action is taken with respect to the first downlink transmission 425. In some cases, the base station 105-b may attempt another independent transmission of the data transmitted using the first downlink transmission 425. In other cases, as will be discussed in more detail with respect to FIGS. 5 and 6, the base station 105-b may transmit further DCI either alone or in conjunction with another retransmission. In some cases, the base station 105-b may configure the UE 115-b (e.g., as part of the connection establishment for connection 405 via RRC signaling) which action is to be taken upon detection that the first DCI 420 is lost).
Regarding claim 2, Nam discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: receive, subsequent to transmitting the feedback message, a third control information message that indicates the coding rate for the downlink transmission([0096]-[0097]).
Regarding claims 3,19, Nam discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein the feedback message indicates that a transport block size associated with the downlink transmission is unknown at the UE([0078],[0089]).
Regarding claim 4, Nam discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein the feedback message indicates that a reserved modulation and coding scheme is indicated for the downlink transmission, and that a new data indicator for a feedback identifier associated with the downlink transmission is toggled in the second control information message([00004],[0074]).
Regarding claims 5, 20,24,29, Nam discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: transmit an indication of whether soft-coded bits associated with the downlink transmission are stored at the UE([0038]-[0039]).
Regarding claim 6, Nam discloses the UE of claim 5, wherein the indication of whether soft-coded bits associated with the downlink transmission are stored at the UE is provided with a capability indication provided by the UE, or is included with the feedback message associated with the second control information message([0038]-[0039]).
Regarding claims 8, 21, 25, 30,Nam discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein the indication that the coding rate associated with the downlink transmission is unknown at the UE is included if the coding rate is unknown to the UE for at least one downlink transmission associated with the feedback message, and is provided in addition to a set of acknowledgment or negative-acknowledgment bits included in the feedback message([0087], [0092],[0100]).
Regarding claim 9, Nam discloses the UE of claim 8, wherein the feedback message includes a single bit to indicate whether the coding rate associated with the at least one downlink transmission is known or unknown at the UE([0088]-[0100]).
Regarding claim 10, Nam discloses the UE of claim 8, wherein the feedback message includes two bits in addition to the set of acknowledgment or negative-acknowledgment bits, and wherein a first bit of the two bits indicates that the second control information message was successfully received and whether or not the coding rate associated with the at least one downlink transmission is unknown, and a second bit of the two bits indicates whether or not one or more control information messages have been received([0087], [0092],[0100]).
Regarding claims 11,26, Nam discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein the indication that the coding rate associated with the downlink transmission is unknown at the UE is provided separately for each of a plurality of downlink transmissions associated with the feedback message([0038]-[0039]).
Regarding claims 12, 22,27, Nam discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein the feedback message includes a three-state feedback indication associated with the downlink transmission, and wherein a third state of the three-state feedback indication indicates the coding rate associated with the downlink transmission is unknown at the UE([0038]-[0039]).
Regarding claim 13, Nam discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein the feedback message includes a four-state feedback indication associated with the downlink transmission, and wherein a third state indicates the second control information message was unsuccessfully received at the UE, and a fourth state of the four-state feedback indication indicates the coding rate associated with the downlink transmission is unknown at the UE([0094]-[0100]).
Regarding claim 14, Nam discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein the feedback message indicates whether the coding rate associated with one or more dynamically scheduled downlink transmissions is known or unknown at the UE, and the indication does not apply to one or more semi-persistently scheduled downlink transmissions associated with the feedback message([0038]-[0039]).
Regarding claim 15, Nam discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: receive configuration information that indicates whether the feedback message is to include the indication that the coding rate associated with the downlink transmission is unknown at the UE([0088]-[0100]).
Regarding claim 16, Nam discloses the UE of claim 15, wherein the configuration information is provided per cell-group for all carriers of each indicated cell group, per carrier, or per subset of feedback identifiers in a carrier([0045], [0061]-[0065]).
Regarding claim 17, Nam discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: transmit capability signaling to a network entity that indicates the UE supports transmission of feedback messages that indicate whether the coding rate associated with one or more downlink transmissions is unknown at the UE([0088]-[0100]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 7 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art in record fails to anticipate or render obvious the following limitations: the UE indicates that soft-coded bits associated with a first instance of the downlink transmission are stored at the UE, and the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: receive a second instance of the downlink transmission associated with a third control information message, wherein the third control information message indicates that the second instance of the downlink transmission has a different redundancy version than the first instance of the downlink transmission; combine the soft-coded bits associated with the first instance of the downlink transmission with soft-coded bits associated with the second instance of the downlink transmission; and decode the combined soft-coded bits to obtain information provided in the downlink transmission.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DADY CHERY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2418