Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the transmitting portion (element 134) described in claim 9 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites the limitations "the guide portion" and “the board” in the second line of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim. Specifically, because claim 7 is dependent on claims 1 and 5, and “a guide portion” and “a board” were never described in claims 1 or 5, there is insufficient antecedent basis for the limitations. For purposes of compact prosecution, Examiner interprets claim 7 to be dependent on claim 6 which does describe “a guide portion” and “a board”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 8, 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Freese (US 2020/0046184).
Regarding claim 1, Freese discloses a suction port body for an electric vacuum cleaner, comprising:
a case body having a curve-shaped portion being curved so as to protrude upward and a suction port in a bottom surface (case body defined as housing 110 which has a curve shaped portion defined as the lip denoted by 160 which as seen in Fig 1 below, is curved such that it protrudes upwards, and a suction port defined as opening 127 in bottom surface 120 [0009]);
a pipe portion that is provided at rear of the curve-shaped portion and is configured to allow communication between a suction source and the suction port (pipe portion indicated as the upwardly extending pipe shaped portion in Fig 1 above element 114 which is rear of the curve shaped portion and as illustrated by the arrows in Fig 2 below and explained by [0009] allows communication between the suction port 127 and a suction motor elsewhere in the vacuum); and
a light source arranged so as to radiate light to a front side of the case body, wherein the light source is located in front of the pipe portion and at rear of a top portion of the curve-shaped portion (light sources 111 are arranged to radiate light to a front side, element 112, of the case body 110, are located in front of the pipe portion and are at rear of a top portion, defined as the highest point of 160, of the curve shaped portion, Figs 1-2 [0018]).
Regarding claim 2, Freese discloses the limitations of claim 1, as described above, and further discloses the case body comprises:
a main body case that has the suction port and defines a suction space (main body case defined as the housing except for the very top layer of the housing that is visible in Fig 1, which defines a suction space, defined as agitator chamber 123 as seen in Fig 2 [0009]); and
a covering case covering at least a part of the main body case, and wherein the light source is arranged between the main body case and the covering case (the covering case defined as the very top layer of the housing visible in Fig 1, or in other words all of housing 110 not included in the main body case, which covers at least a part of the main body case, and the light sources 111 are arranged between the main body case and the covering case, as seen in Fig 1 111 are below the upper most layer of the housing and above the rest of the housing 110).
Regarding claim 3, Freese discloses the limitations of claim 2, as described above, and further discloses the suction space (123 as previously described); and
a communicating portion that is provided at rear of the suction space and is configured to allow communication between the suction space and the pipe portion (dirty air inlet 129 is provided at rear of 123 and allows communication between the 123 and the pipe portion as indicated by the arrows in Fig 2 above [0009]),
wherein the light source is arranged above the suction space (as shown by Fig 2 above, the light source is arranged such that there is a significant portion of the suction space 123 below it vertically and is therefore arranged above 123).
Regarding claim 4, Freese discloses the limitations of claim 1, as described above, and further discloses the case body includes a base portion at rear of the top portion of the curve-shaped portion (base portion defined as the base provided by main body portion of 110 that the light source is situated on top of which extends all the way from where the light source sits to directly above leading roller 124, as shown in Fig 2, which is behind the top portion of the curve shaped portion), and
wherein, when a light-emitting unit including the light source is arranged on the base portion, an optical axis of the light source is inclined so as to extend toward the bottom surface (111 can include LEDs which are a light emitting unit [0018], 111 is arranged on the base portion and an optical axis of the light source would be capable of extending in the general direction of the bottom surface 120).
Regarding claim 5, Freese discloses the limitations of claim 1, as described above, and further discloses the case body includes a base portion at rear of the top portion of the curve-shaped portion, and wherein the base portion is arranged at a position lower than the top portion (base portion defined as the base provided by main body portion of 110 that the light source is situated on top of which extends all the way from where the light source sits to directly above leading roller 124, as shown in Fig 2, which is behind the top portion of the curve shaped portion and the base portion contains geometry arranged at a position lower than the top portion, annotated Fig 2 provided below for reference).
Regarding claim 8, Freese discloses the limitations of claim 2, as described above, and further discloses a rotary cleaning body provided rotatably in the suction space (rotary cleaning body 122 is provided rotatably in suction space 123 [0010] Fig 2);
a drive unit serving as a drive source for the rotary cleaning body (motor 3202 drives 122 [0065] Figs 32-33 shown below); and
a power transmission mechanism configured to transmit a drive force from the drive unit to the rotary cleaning body (power transmission mechanism including drive gear 3206 and gear train/belt 3208 which transmit the force from the motor to 122 [0065]),
wherein the covering case covers the power transmission mechanism (as seen below in Fig 32 the power transmission mechanism including 3206 and 3208 are located below the top most surface of case body 110 which is defined as the covering case and are therefore covered by the covering case).
Regarding claim 10, Freese discloses the limitations of claim 1, as described above, and further discloses a rotary cleaning body provided rotatably inside the case body (rotary cleaning body 122 is provided rotatably in suction space 123 [0010] Fig 2);
a drive unit serving as a drive source for the rotary cleaning body (motor 3202 drives 122 [0065] Figs 32-33); and
a power transmission mechanism configured to transmit a drive force from the drive unit to the rotary cleaning body (power transmission mechanism including drive gear 3206 and gear train/belt 3208 which transmit the force from the motor to 122 [0065]),
wherein the drive unit is arranged above and diagonally behind the rotary cleaning body (drive unit 3202 as shown in Fig 32 is arranged above and contains geometry diagonally behind the rotary cleaning body 122).
Regarding claim 11, Freese discloses the limitations of claim 1, as described above, and further discloses an electric vacuum cleaner comprising the suction port body of claim 1 ([0007] explains the cleaning apparatus may include any type of vacuum cleaner and [0020] explains the use of an electrical motor).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-7, 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Freese (US 2020/0046184) in view of Wyatt (US 20210229289).
Regarding claim 6, Freese discloses the limitations of claim 1, as described above. However, Freese fails to disclose a light-emitting unit including: a cover that allows transmission of light emitted from the light source; and a guide portion configured to guide the light emitted from the light source to the cover, wherein the light-emitting unit is fixed to the case body while the guide portion is interposed between a board on which the light source is arranged and the cover (Specifically, Freese does disclose a light emitting unit and light source as previously mentioned but does not disclose specifics on how they are arranged or covered).
Wyatt is also concerned with light emitting units and teaches a light-emitting unit including:
a cover that allows transmission of light emitted from the light source (light-transmissive cover 34 allows transmission of light emitted from source 27 which are LEDs [0045] [0049] Fig 2 shown below); and
a guide portion configured to guide the light emitted from the light source to the cover (guide portion defined as holes 26 and fins 25, the fins act to segment the light from 27 making the light more directional thereby guiding it [0047] Fig 2),
wherein the light-emitting unit is fixed to the case body while the guide portion is interposed between a board on which the light source is arranged and the cover (guide portion is interposed between a board 28 on which 27 is arranged and the cover 34, specifically the guide portion lies on mount 24 [0047] Fig 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to simply substitute the light emitting unit disclosed by Wyatt for the light emitting unit used in Freese. Different lighting configurations are known to be beneficial in different scenarios, in the art. Leading to the predictable result of a functioning light emitting unit illuminating an area.
Regarding claim 7, Freese, as modified, discloses the limitations of claim 5, as described above, and further discloses the guide portion and the board are fixed to each other through intermediation of an engagement structure (the guide portion, 26 and 25, and the board 28 are fixed to each other through intermediation of mount 24, defined as engagement structure [0045]).
Regarding claim 9, Freese discloses the limitations of claim 1, as described above. However, Freese fails to disclose the case body includes a transmitting portion having translucency, and wherein light emitted from the light source is transmitted through the transmitting portion.
Wyatt is also concerned with light emitting units and teaches a transmitting portion having translucency, and wherein light emitted from the light source is transmitted through the transmitting portion (transmitting portion defined as cover 34 which is a light-transmissive cover, interpreted as having translucency, where light emitted from the light source 27 is transmitted through the transmitting portion [0045]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to simply substitute the light emitting unit disclosed by Wyatt for the light emitting unit used in Freese. Different lighting configurations are known to be beneficial in different scenarios, in the art. Leading to the predictable result of a functioning light emitting unit illuminating an area.
Conclusion
/J.M.L./Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/BRIAN D KELLER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723