DETAILED ACTION
Joint Inventors
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). A certified copy of this document has been placed in the file wrapper. As such, the effective filing date of the instant application is considered 12/08/2021, coinciding with the filing date of the Japan application to which foreign priority was requested.
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-9 have been amended. Claim 10 has been added and no claims have been cancelled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/04/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant requests that the previously used Nagatsuka reference is added to the PTO-892, which Examiner has included alongside this action.
Applicant contends that Nagatsuka does not disclose an output for a screen that includes the welding line and at least one region including the moved or rotated region.
Examiner respectfully disagrees and points to the previously mapped section of Nagatsuka, 0017 and 0018, which disclose the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claimed limitation.
[0017] Next, the order of welding the welding lines is determined. First, it is decided whether the order is to be manually or automatically determined (step S104). This decision is based on a value or the like which is previously and interactively inputted by the operator. When the order is automatically determined, each position of each welding line and each distance between each welding line (in particular, between the closest welding lines) are calculated (step S105). Further, as shown in Fig. 4b, for example, the order of the welding lines (L1 to L10) is determined such that the summation of the above distances between the welding lines is minimized when all of the welding lines are sequentially welded (step S106). When the order is manually determined, on the other hand, the operator inputs the order of the welding lines by operating a mouse or the like (step S107), preferably based on the same concept as that in case of automatic determination. [0018] After that, the welding lines are classified into some groups. First, it is decided whether the classification is to be manually or automatically carried out (step S108). This decision is also based on a value or the like which is previously and interactively inputted by the operator. When the classification is automatically carried out, as shown in Fig. 4c, for example, based on the distances between the welding lines calculated in step S105 or newly calculated and the weldable area or the scannable area of the scanner 20 (e.g., a square of 200mm x 200mm) determined in step S103 or previously determined in another step, the welding lines L1 to L10 are classified into scannable areas such that the number of scannable areas each including one or more welding line is minimized (step S109). In this case, the welding lines are classified into four areas A1 A4.
Applicant provides no warrant as to why the regions and welding line presented on the visual device in Nagatsuka do not disclose the limitations of the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nagatsuka et al. (EP1700667, referred to as Nagatsuka).
Regarding claim 1: Nagatsuka discloses: An offline teaching device comprising: an input unit capable of acquiring an operator operation; ([0014] The laser welding teaching device 10 is preferably a remote teaching device connected to a robot control device 14 for controlling a welding robot 12 for welding a workpiece W such as a vehicle body. The teaching device 10 may send various commands to the robot control device 14.) an acquisition unit configured to acquire position information of a welding line of a workpiece produced by welding; a generation unit configured to generate a region to be scanned by a sensor that scans an appearance shape of a weld bead formed on the workpiece, based on the acquired position information of the welding line and a scanning range of the sensor; and ([0014] a laser scanner 20 is arranged on the work tool 16 for controlling the irradiating direction of the laser beam. The position and the orientation of the laser scanner 20 may be changed by the robot 12. First, the teaching device 10 reads CAD data and IGES data of the workpiece W from a database (not shown) (step S101). At this point, the workpiece W is described as a vehicle body, as shown in Fig. 4a. Then, an operator specifies a plurality of sites or welding lines to be welded (ten welding lines in this case) (step S102). At this point, the teaching device 10 may indicate the workpiece W and the welding lines on a display 10a of the device 10 or another suitable display. In this case, it is assumed that all welding lines are positioned on or near a rear door of the vehicle body. Next, the operator determines a scannable area by means of the laser scanner 20 (i.e., an area capable of being welded in the actual welding) (step S103). This area means a scannable area by scanner 20 when a TCP of the robot 12 is within the area. For example, the size of the scannable area is approximately 200mm x 200mm. Step S103 may be omitted when data of the area capable of being welded is previously stored in a memory. In the modeling, a three-dimensional model is generally formed, in view of the depth of the workpiece or the welding depth. However, a planar or two-dimensional model is also possible. [0017] Next, the order of welding the welding lines is determined. First, it is decided whether the order is to be manually or automatically determined (step S104). This decision is based on a value or the like which is previously and interactively inputted by the operator. When the order is automatically determined, each position of each welding line and each distance between each welding line (in particular, between the closest welding lines) are calculated (step S105). Further, as shown in Fig. 4b, for example, the order of the welding lines (L1 to L10) is determined such that the summation of the above distances between the welding lines is minimized when all of the welding lines are sequentially welded (step S106).) a control unit configured to generate and output an auxiliary screen in which the welding line and the region are disposed in a virtual space, wherein the generation unit moves or rotates the region based on the operator operation, and the control unit generates and outputs the auxiliary screen in which the welding line and at least one region including the moved or rotated region are disposed in the virtual space, and creates and outputs a teaching program for causing a robot that drives the sensor to scan the at least one region, based on the operator operation. ([0017] Next, the order of welding the welding lines is determined. First, it is decided whether the order is to be manually or automatically determined (step S104). This decision is based on a value or the like which is previously and interactively inputted by the operator. When the order is automatically determined, each position of each welding line and each distance between each welding line (in particular, between the closest welding lines) are calculated (step S105). Further, as shown in Fig. 4b, for example, the order of the welding lines (L1 to L10) is determined such that the summation of the above distances between the welding lines is minimized when all of the welding lines are sequentially welded (step S106). When the order is manually determined, on the other hand, the operator inputs the order of the welding lines by operating a mouse or the like (step S107), preferably based on the same concept as that in case of automatic determination. [0018] After that, the welding lines are classified into some groups. First, it is decided whether the classification is to be manually or automatically carried out (step S108). This decision is also based on a value or the like which is previously and interactively inputted by the operator. When the classification is automatically carried out, as shown in Fig. 4c, for example, based on the distances between the welding lines calculated in step S105 or newly calculated and the weldable area or the scannable area of the scanner 20 (e.g., a square of 200mm x 200mm) determined in step S103 or previously determined in another step, the welding lines L1 to L10 are classified into scannable areas such that the number of scannable areas each including one or more welding line is minimized (step S109). In this case, the welding lines are classified into four areas A1 A4. When the order is manually determined, on the other hand, the operator inputs each scannable area and each welding line to be included therein by operating the mouse or the like (step S110), preferably based on the same concept as that in case of automatic classification.)
Regarding claim 2: Nagatsuka discloses: The offline teaching device according to claim 1,
Nagatsuka further discloses: wherein the region includes each of two auxiliary scanning regions of the sensor. ([0014] a laser scanner 20 is arranged on the work tool 16 for controlling the irradiating direction of the laser beam. The position and the orientation of the laser scanner 20 may be changed by the robot 12. First, the teaching device 10 reads CAD data and IGES data of the workpiece W from a database (not shown) (step S101). At this point, the workpiece W is described as a vehicle body, as shown in Fig. 4a. Then, an operator specifies a plurality of sites or welding lines to be welded (ten welding lines in this case) (step S102). At this point, the teaching device 10 may indicate the workpiece W and the welding lines on a display 10a of the device 10 or another suitable display. In this case, it is assumed that all welding lines are positioned on or near a rear door of the vehicle body. Next, the operator determines a scannable area by means of the laser scanner 20 (i.e., an area capable of being welded in the actual welding) (step S103). This area means a scannable area by scanner 20 when a TCP of the robot 12 is within the area. For example, the size of the scannable area is approximately 200mm x 200mm. Step S103 may be omitted when data of the area capable of being welded is previously stored in a memory. In the modeling, a three-dimensional model is generally formed, in view of the depth of the workpiece or the welding depth. However, a planar or two-dimensional model is also possible. [0017] Next, the order of welding the welding lines is determined. First, it is decided whether the order is to be manually or automatically determined (step S104). This decision is based on a value or the like which is previously and interactively inputted by the operator. When the order is automatically determined, each position of each welding line and each distance between each welding line (in particular, between the closest welding lines) are calculated (step S105). Further, as shown in Fig. 4b, for example, the order of the welding lines (L1 to L10) is determined such that the summation of the above distances between the welding lines is minimized when all of the welding lines are sequentially welded (step S106).)
Regarding claim 3: Nagatsuka discloses: The offline teaching device according to claim 1,
Nagatsuka further discloses: wherein the generation unit moves the region selected by the operator operation with reference to a welding line selected by the operator operation, based on the operator operation. ([0017] Next, the order of welding the welding lines is determined. First, it is decided whether the order is to be manually or automatically determined (step S104). This decision is based on a value or the like which is previously and interactively inputted by the operator. When the order is automatically determined, each position of each welding line and each distance between each welding line (in particular, between the closest welding lines) are calculated (step S105). Further, as shown in Fig. 4b, for example, the order of the welding lines (L1 to L10) is determined such that the summation of the above distances between the welding lines is minimized when all of the welding lines are sequentially welded (step S106). When the order is manually determined, on the other hand, the operator inputs the order of the welding lines by operating a mouse or the like (step S107), preferably based on the same concept as that in case of automatic determination. [0018] After that, the welding lines are classified into some groups. First, it is decided whether the classification is to be manually or automatically carried out (step S108). This decision is also based on a value or the like which is previously and interactively inputted by the operator. When the classification is automatically carried out, as shown in Fig. 4c, for example, based on the distances between the welding lines calculated in step S105 or newly calculated and the weldable area or the scannable area of the scanner 20 (e.g., a square of 200mm x 200mm) determined in step S103 or previously determined in another step, the welding lines L1 to L10 are classified into scannable areas such that the number of scannable areas each including one or more welding line is minimized (step S109). In this case, the welding lines are classified into four areas A1 A4. When the order is manually determined, on the other hand, the operator inputs each scannable area and each welding line to be included therein by operating the mouse or the like (step S110), preferably based on the same concept as that in case of automatic classification.)
Regarding claim 4: Nagatsuka discloses: The offline teaching device according to claim 1,
Nagatsuka further discloses: wherein the generation unit moves the region along an extending direction of the welding line selected by the operator operation, based on the operator operation. ([0017] Next, the order of welding the welding lines is determined. First, it is decided whether the order is to be manually or automatically determined (step S104). This decision is based on a value or the like which is previously and interactively inputted by the operator. When the order is automatically determined, each position of each welding line and each distance between each welding line (in particular, between the closest welding lines) are calculated (step S105). Further, as shown in Fig. 4b, for example, the order of the welding lines (L1 to L10) is determined such that the summation of the above distances between the welding lines is minimized when all of the welding lines are sequentially welded (step S106). When the order is manually determined, on the other hand, the operator inputs the order of the welding lines by operating a mouse or the like (step S107), preferably based on the same concept as that in case of automatic determination. [0018] After that, the welding lines are classified into some groups. First, it is decided whether the classification is to be manually or automatically carried out (step S108). This decision is also based on a value or the like which is previously and interactively inputted by the operator. When the classification is automatically carried out, as shown in Fig. 4c, for example, based on the distances between the welding lines calculated in step S105 or newly calculated and the weldable area or the scannable area of the scanner 20 (e.g., a square of 200mm x 200mm) determined in step S103 or previously determined in another step, the welding lines L1 to L10 are classified into scannable areas such that the number of scannable areas each including one or more welding line is minimized (step S109). In this case, the welding lines are classified into four areas A1 A4. When the order is manually determined, on the other hand, the operator inputs each scannable area and each welding line to be included therein by operating the mouse or the like (step S110), preferably based on the same concept as that in case of automatic classification.)
Regarding claim 5: Nagatsuka discloses: The offline teaching device according to claim 1,
Nagatsuka further discloses: wherein the generation unit rotates the region with a predetermined position on the welding line designated by the operator operation as a rotation center, based on the operator operation. ([0033] Fig. 10a shows a preferred software constitution of the laser welding teaching device 10 (or the personal computer in the above embodiment) according to the invention. The personal computer 10 includes, as a remote welding function, a reading part 10b for reading CAD data (s101), a grouping part 10d for classifying the welding lines specified by a welding line specifying part 10c (S109), a welding order calculating part 10e for calculating the welding order (S105, S106), a programming part 10g for making a motion program for the robot and the laser scanner specified by a robot and scanner specifying part 10f (step S304, S305), and a simulating part 10h for executing an off-line simulation (S4). A prepared motion program P for the robot and the scanner is sent to the robot control device 14, along with synchronous position data D of the robot and the scanner simultaneously prepared by the programming part 10g. As shown in Fig. 10b, the robot control device 14 includes a program reading module 14a for reading the motion program P and a synchronous position monitoring module 14b for reading the synchronous data D and for monitoring the synchronous position. Further, the robot control device 14 sends speed data and position data of the scanner (or start and end positions of each welding line) to a scanner controller 21 having a scanner motion module 21a, whereby a suitable motion of the scanner may be achieved.)
Regarding claim 6: Nagatsuka discloses: The offline teaching device according to claim 1,
Nagatsuka further discloses: wherein the generation unit moves the region in a radial direction centered on a predetermined position on a welding line designated by the operator operation, based on the operator operation. ([0033] Fig. 10a shows a preferred software constitution of the laser welding teaching device 10 (or the personal computer in the above embodiment) according to the invention. The personal computer 10 includes, as a remote welding function, a reading part 10b for reading CAD data (s101), a grouping part 10d for classifying the welding lines specified by a welding line specifying part 10c (S109), a welding order calculating part 10e for calculating the welding order (S105, S106), a programming part 10g for making a motion program for the robot and the laser scanner specified by a robot and scanner specifying part 10f (step S304, S305), and a simulating part 10h for executing an off-line simulation (S4). A prepared motion program P for the robot and the scanner is sent to the robot control device 14, along with synchronous position data D of the robot and the scanner simultaneously prepared by the programming part 10g. As shown in Fig. 10b, the robot control device 14 includes a program reading module 14a for reading the motion program P and a synchronous position monitoring module 14b for reading the synchronous data D and for monitoring the synchronous position. Further, the robot control device 14 sends speed data and position data of the scanner (or start and end positions of each welding line) to a scanner controller 21 having a scanner motion module 21a, whereby a suitable motion of the scanner may be achieved.)
Regarding claim 7: Nagatsuka discloses: The offline teaching device according to claim 3,
Nagatsuka further discloses: wherein the generation unit replicates the region based on the operator operation, and moves or rotates the replicated region based on the operator operation. ([0033] Fig. 10a shows a preferred software constitution of the laser welding teaching device 10 (or the personal computer in the above embodiment) according to the invention. The personal computer 10 includes, as a remote welding function, a reading part 10b for reading CAD data (s101), a grouping part 10d for classifying the welding lines specified by a welding line specifying part 10c (S109), a welding order calculating part 10e for calculating the welding order (S105, S106), a programming part 10g for making a motion program for the robot and the laser scanner specified by a robot and scanner specifying part 10f (step S304, S305), and a simulating part 10h for executing an off-line simulation (S4). A prepared motion program P for the robot and the scanner is sent to the robot control device 14, along with synchronous position data D of the robot and the scanner simultaneously prepared by the programming part 10g. As shown in Fig. 10b, the robot control device 14 includes a program reading module 14a for reading the motion program P and a synchronous position monitoring module 14b for reading the synchronous data D and for monitoring the synchronous position. Further, the robot control device 14 sends speed data and position data of the scanner (or start and end positions of each welding line) to a scanner controller 21 having a scanner motion module 21a, whereby a suitable motion of the scanner may be achieved.)
Regarding claim 8: Rejected using the same rationale as claim 1, however additionally directed to “including one or more computers communicably connected to an input device”, which is further disclosed by Nagatsuka: including one or more computers communicably connected to an input device ([0014] Fig. 1 is a diagram showing a schematic configuration of a laser processing machine 30 including a laser welding teaching device 10 according to the invention. The laser welding teaching device 10 is preferably a remote teaching device connected to a robot control device 14 for controlling a welding robot 12 for welding a workpiece W such as a vehicle body. The teaching device 10 may send various commands to the robot control device 14. A laser oscillator 18 is connected to a work tool 16 of the welding robot 12. Further, a laser scanner 20 is arranged on the work tool 16 for controlling the irradiating direction of the laser beam. The position and the orientation of the laser scanner 20 may be changed by the robot 12. As shown, the teaching device 10 may be a processing device such as a notebook computer provided with software having a feature as described below.)
Regarding claim 9: Rejected using the same rationale as claims 1 and 8.
Regarding claim 10: Nagatsuka discloses: The offline teaching device according to claim 1,
Nagatsuka further discloses: wherein the region is a three-dimensional region. ([0014] a laser scanner 20 is arranged on the work tool 16 for controlling the irradiating direction of the laser beam. The position and the orientation of the laser scanner 20 may be changed by the robot 12. First, the teaching device 10 reads CAD data and IGES data of the workpiece W from a database (not shown) (step S101). At this point, the workpiece W is described as a vehicle body, as shown in Fig. 4a. Then, an operator specifies a plurality of sites or welding lines to be welded (ten welding lines in this case) (step S102). At this point, the teaching device 10 may indicate the workpiece W and the welding lines on a display 10a of the device 10 or another suitable display. In this case, it is assumed that all welding lines are positioned on or near a rear door of the vehicle body. Next, the operator determines a scannable area by means of the laser scanner 20 (i.e., an area capable of being welded in the actual welding) (step S103). This area means a scannable area by scanner 20 when a TCP of the robot 12 is within the area. For example, the size of the scannable area is approximately 200mm x 200mm. Step S103 may be omitted when data of the area capable of being welded is previously stored in a memory. In the modeling, a three-dimensional model is generally formed, in view of the depth of the workpiece or the welding depth. However, a planar or two-dimensional model is also possible. [0017] Next, the order of welding the welding lines is determined. First, it is decided whether the order is to be manually or automatically determined (step S104). This decision is based on a value or the like which is previously and interactively inputted by the operator. When the order is automatically determined, each position of each welding line and each distance between each welding line (in particular, between the closest welding lines) are calculated (step S105). Further, as shown in Fig. 4b, for example, the order of the welding lines (L1 to L10) is determined such that the summation of the above distances between the welding lines is minimized when all of the welding lines are sequentially welded (step S106).)
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ATTICUS A CAMERON whose telephone number is 703-756-4535. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 8:30 am - 4:30 pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
/ATTICUS A CAMERON/
Examiner, Art Unit 3658A /JASON HOLLOWAY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3658