DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3, 7-8, 10, 12, 14, 16-17 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 6-10, 12-13, 15, 17 of copending Application No. 18/735,980 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the scope of the claims are substantially the same.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
18/736,050
18/735,980
Claim 1
Claims 1 and 6
Claim 2
Claim 7
Claim 3
Claim 8
Claim 7
Claims 1 and 7
Claim 8
Claim 9
Claim 10
Claim 10
Claim 12
Claim 12
Claim 14
Claim 13
Claim 16
Claim 15
Claim 17
Claim 17
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5-6, 8-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schneider et al (U.S. Pub. 2021/0107278) in view of Allworth et al (U.S. Pub. 2014/0085369)
Regarding claim 1, a test pattern for detecting an impaired nozzle of a print head (103) of an ink jet printing device (device 100, Figure 1), wherein the print head comprises K nozzles (21, 22), with K > 10, that are designed to print corresponding K dots in corresponding K columns (31, 32) of a line of a print image onto a recording medium (120) (Figures 1-2; Paragraphs 0017-0020), the test pattern comprising:
A matrix of matrix points has K columns (31, 32) for the corresponding K nozzles and N rows, with N >1 (Figures 1-2; Paragraphs 0017-0023)
The test pattern has a respective sequence of N matrix points in each of the K columns, of which N matrix points one or more are printed matrix points and one or more are non-printed matrix points (Figure 2a; Paragraphs 0017-0023, 0025; Plurality of patterns will be printed which will include printed and non-printed points)
A printed matrix point in a defined column and in a defined row indicates that the nozzle corresponding to the defined column prints a dot upon printing the defined row of the test pattern; a non-printed matrix point in the defined column and in the defined row indicates that the nozzle corresponding to he defined column does not print a dot upon printing the defined row of the test pattern (Figure 2a; Paragraphs 0017-0023, 0025; Plurality of patterns will be printed which will include printed and non-printed points)
Schneider fails to disclose a test pattern which is designed such that a respective first printed matrix point is arranged in the K columns of the test pattern, which first printed matrix point has at least one directly adjacent first printed matrix point within the same row, which at least one directly adjacent first printed matrix point is spaced apart from the first printed matrix point by precisely the first number L1 of columns, and L1 >= 2 or L1 >= 3.
Allworth discloses a test pattern which is designed such that a respective first printed matrix point is arranged in the K columns of the test pattern, which first printed matrix point has at least one directly adjacent first printed matrix point within the same row, which at least one directly adjacent first printed matrix point is spaced apart from the first printed matrix point by precisely the first number L1 of columns, and L1 >= 2 or L1 >= 3 (Figures 5-6; Paragraphs 0060-0061; 0077; 0082-0083; Figures 5 and 6 discloses a test pattern matrix wherein directly adjacent dots are spaced apart)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Allworth into the device of Schneider, for the purpose of providing a operation to identify defective nozzles in a print head which is fast, reliable and scalable to print heads having large number of nozzles (Paragraph 0009)
Regarding claim 5, wherein individual matrix points of the matrix of matrix points correspond respectively to Q dots in successive lines of a print image, where Q > 1 (Figures 1-2; Paragraphs 0017-0023)
Regarding claim 6, a number G of basic test patterns that are arranged serially in a row direction, with G > 1, wherein the basic test patterns respectively comprise a partial matrix with L columns and N rows of matrix points, wherein L is the number of columns of the test pattern (Figures 1-2; plurality of nozzle test patterns are disclosed)
Regarding claim 8, a method for detecting an impaired nozzle of a print head of an ink jet printing device; wherein the print head comprises K nozzles (21, 22), with K > 10, that are designed to print corresponding K dots in corresponding K columns (31, 32) of a line of a print image onto a recording medium (120) (Figures 1-2; Paragraphs 0017-0020), the method comprising:
Printing a test pattern by the print head onto the recording medium, the test pattern comprising a matrix of matrix points has K columns (31, 32) for the corresponding K nozzles and N rows, with N >1 (Figures 1-2; Paragraphs 0017-0023)
The test pattern has a respective sequence of N matrix points in each of the K columns, of which N matrix points one or more are printed matrix points and one or more are non-printed matrix points (Figure 2a; Paragraphs 0017-0023, 0025; Plurality of patterns will be printed which will include printed and non-printed points)
A printed matrix point in a defined column and in a defined row indicates that the nozzle corresponding to the defined column prints a dot upon printing the defined row of the test pattern; a non-printed matrix point in the defined column and in the defined row indicates that the nozzle corresponding to he defined column does not print a dot upon printing the defined row of the test pattern (Figure 2a; Paragraphs 0017-0023, 0025; Plurality of patterns will be printed which will include printed and non-printed points)
Recording sensor data with regard to the test pattern printed onto the recording medium; and detecting an impaired nozzle of the print head based on the sensor data (Paragraphs 0018, 0023-0024)
Schneider fails to disclose a test pattern which is designed such that a respective first printed matrix point is arranged in the K columns of the test pattern, which first printed matrix point has at least one directly adjacent first printed matrix point within the same row, which at least one directly adjacent first printed matrix point is spaced apart from the first printed matrix point by precisely the first number L1 of columns, and L1 >= 2 or L1 >= 3.
Allworth discloses a test pattern which is designed such that a respective first printed matrix point is arranged in the K columns of the test pattern, which first printed matrix point has at least one directly adjacent first printed matrix point within the same row, which at least one directly adjacent first printed matrix point is spaced apart from the first printed matrix point by precisely the first number L1 of columns, and L1 >= 2 or L1 >= 3 (Figures 5-6; Paragraphs 0060-0061; 0077; 0082-0083; Figures 5 and 6 discloses a test pattern matrix wherein directly adjacent dots are spaced apart)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Allworth into the device of Schneider, for the purpose of providing an operation to identify defective nozzles in a print head which is fast, reliable and scalable to print heads having large number of nozzles (Paragraph 0009)
Regarding claim 9, printing the test pattern onto the recording medium for every page to be printed of a usable print image (Figure 2a; Paragraphs 0017-0023)
Regarding claim 10, wherein the impaired nozzle of the print head is detected based on the sensor data using a neural network trained in advance (Paragraph 0053)
Regarding claim 11, printing a master test pattern onto the recording medium by the print head; acquiring master sensor data with regard to the master test pattern printed onto the recording medium; and determining training data for training the neural network based on the master sensor data (Figure 1-2a; Paragraphs 0017-0023)
Regarding claim 12, an ink jet printing device, comprising: wherein the print head comprises K nozzles (21, 22), with K > 10, that are designed to print corresponding K dots in corresponding K columns (31, 32) of a line of a print image onto a recording medium (120) (Figures 1-2; Paragraphs 0017-0020)
Instruct the print head to print a test pattern onto the recording medium, the test pattern comprising a matrix with matrix points, wherein the test pattern comprising a matrix of matrix points has K columns (31, 32) for the corresponding K nozzles and N rows, with N >1 (Figures 1-2; Paragraphs 0017-0023) The test pattern has a respective sequence of N matrix points in each of the K columns, of which N matrix points one or more are printed matrix points and one or more are non-printed matrix points (Figure 2a; Paragraphs 0017-0023, 0025; Plurality of patterns will be printed which will include printed and non-printed points)
A printed matrix point in a defined column and in a defined row indicates that the nozzle corresponding to the defined column prints a dot upon printing the defined row of the test pattern; a non-printed matrix point in the defined column and in the defined row indicates that the nozzle corresponding to he defined column does not print a dot upon printing the defined row of the test pattern (Figure 2a; Paragraphs 0017-0023, 0025; Plurality of patterns will be printed which will include printed and non-printed points)
Recording sensor data with regard to the test pattern printed onto the recording medium; and detecting an impaired nozzle of the print head based on the sensor data (Paragraphs 0018, 0023-0024)
Schneider fails to disclose a test pattern which is designed such that a respective first printed matrix point is arranged in the K columns of the test pattern, which first printed matrix point has at least one directly adjacent first printed matrix point within the same row, which at least one directly adjacent first printed matrix point is spaced apart from the first printed matrix point by precisely the first number L1 of columns, and L1 >= 2 or L1 >= 3.
Allworth discloses a test pattern which is designed such that a respective first printed matrix point is arranged in the K columns of the test pattern, which first printed matrix point has at least one directly adjacent first printed matrix point within the same row, which at least one directly adjacent first printed matrix point is spaced apart from the first printed matrix point by precisely the first number L1 of columns, and L1 >= 2 or L1 >= 3 (Figures 5-6; Paragraphs 0060-0061; 0077; 0082-0083; Figures 5 and 6 discloses a test pattern matrix wherein directly adjacent dots are spaced apart)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Allworth into the device of Schneider, for the purpose of providing a operation to identify defective nozzles in a print head which is fast, reliable and scalable to print heads having large number of nozzles (Paragraph 0009)
Regarding claim 13, wherein the processor is further configured to: control the print head to additionally print the test pattern onto the recording medium for every page to be printed of a usable print image (Figures 1-2; Paragraphs 0017-0023)
Regarding claim 14, wherein the impaired nozzle of the print head is detected based on the sensor data using a neural network trained in advance (Paragraph 0053)
Regarding claim 15, control the print head to print a master test pattern onto the recording medium; acquire master sensor data with regard to the master test pattern printed onto the recording medium from the sensor unit; and determine training data for training the neural network based on the master sensor data (Paragraphs 0023-0024, 0053)
Regarding claim 16, wherein the sensor unit is arranged after, relative ot a transport direction of the recording medium, one or more print bars of the print head (Figure 1; Paragraphs 0023-0024)
Regarding claim 17, wherein the sensor unit comprised at least one of an image camera or a line camera (Figure 1; Paragraphs 0018, 0023-0024)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/JASON S UHLENHAKE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853 February 25, 2026