DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 and 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by De Clasca Cabre (EP 3275799 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 5, De Clasca Cabre discloses a continuous mixed tube for forming bags made of a multilayer sheet comprising at least one outer layer made of paper material and one inner layer made of polymeric material (see Par. 0009-0012), said sheet defining a tubular envelope provided with a front wall (2) and with a rear wall (3) that are opposite and laterally connected to each other by two lateral walls (4/5), said tubular envelope being sealed at the top and at the bottom so as to define said package (see Figures 2-8); wherein said package comprises at least one upper closing fin comprising upper-sealing portions of the front wall and of the rear wall, respectively, sealed with each other with upper-folding portions of the lateral walls folded over themselves (4a/5a; see Fig. 2) and interposed therebetween; wherein said package comprises upper lateral windows (9/93) in which the outer layer is absent, thereby exposing the inner layer, said upper lateral windows at least partially occupying said upper-folding portions (see Fig. 9B). Examiner considers the container to be multilayered at the front and rear where 2 overlaps with 4b/5b and 3 overlaps with 4c/5c (see Fig. 2).
Regarding claims 2-4, De Clasca Cabre discloses a container wherein said upper lateral windows open on both opposite faces of each upper-folding portion which is folded over itself, so that the exposed inner layer is sealed on itself at the site of folding over (see Par. 0044-0046).
Regarding claims 6-7, De Clasca Cabre discloses a container wherein the multilayer sheet comprises only two layers (see Par. 0013-0014).
Regarding claim 11, De Clasca Cabre discloses a container made of a laminated (see Par. 0010 line 2; Examiner notes that De Clasca Cabre discloses using laminated paper) multilayer sheet comprising at least one outer layer made of paper material and one inner layer made of polymeric material (see Par. 0009-0012), said sheet defining a tubular envelope provided with a front wall and with a rear wall (2/3) that are opposite and laterally connected to each other by two lateral walls (4/5), said tubular envelope being sealed at the top and at the bottom so as to define said package (see Figures 2-8); wherein said package comprises at least one upper closing fin comprising upper-sealing portions of the front wall and of the rear wall, respectively, sealed with each other with upper-folding portions of the lateral walls folded over themselves and interposed therebetween (4a/5a; see Fig. 2); wherein said package comprises upper lateral windows in which the outer layer is absent, thereby exposing the inner layer, said upper lateral windows at least partially occupying said upper-folding portions (see Fig. 9B).
Regarding claim 12, De Clasca Cabre discloses a container made of a multilayer sheet comprising at least one outer layer made of paper material and one inner layer made of polymeric material (see Par. 0009-0012), said sheet defining a tubular envelope provided with a front wall (4) and with a rear wall (5; Examiner considers 4 and 5 to be the front and rear, respectively) that are opposite and laterally connected to each other by two lateral walls (2/3), said tubular envelope being sealed at the top and at the bottom so as to define said package (see Figures 2-8); wherein said package comprises at least one upper closing fin comprising upper-sealing portions of the front wall and of the rear wall, respectively, sealed with each other with upper folding portions of the lateral walls folded over themselves and interposed therebetween (4a/5a; see Fig. 2); wherein said outer layer made of paper material extends at least partially on said lateral walls (see Fig. 2; Examiner considers 2/3 to be the lateral walls); wherein said package comprises upper lateral windows (9) in which the outer layer is absent, thereby exposing the inner layer, said upper lateral windows at least partially occupying said upper-folding portions (Examiner considers the upper-folding “portion” to be the top half portion of the container).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/26/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant contends that the prior art fails to disclose a package made of a multilayered sheet, as claimed.
-Examiner notes that De Clasca Cabre indeed discloses a container formed of a multilayered sheet where the front and rear where 2 overlaps with 4b/5b and 3 overlaps with 4c/5c (see Fig. 2). Further, Examiner notes that De Clasca Cabre contemplates using a laminated paperboard (see Par. 0010 line 2), and laminated paperboard is inherently multilayered.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER R DEMEREE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3734