DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 13 is objected to because of the following informalities: on line 2, the claim recites “(EPC) of an a Long Term Evolution”, this grammatical issue is objected to by the examiner. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Cui et al. (US 2024/0129808 A1; hereafter CUI).
With respect to claim 1, CUI discloses one or more computer-readable media (1330 in FIG. 13; 1506 in FIG. 15) having computer-executable instructions (paragraph [0157]) embodied thereon that, when executed, perform a method of dynamically adjusting an application demand profile during slice fallback (Abstract, Title : ‘Facilitating Network Slicing Information Preservation in Advanced Networks’), the method comprising:
based on a user equipment (UE) (1102 in FIG. 12; 1375 in FIG. 13) fallback (paragraph [0061] and [0099], see the moving away from coverage and then returning or being handed off among eNBs), receiving an attribute quality table (paragraph [0088], see the Network Slicing Configuration) for an application (paragraphs [0061], [0098], [0099], see the resuming of an application or a session on a UE) of the UE (1102 in FIG. 12; 1375 in FIG. 13); and
based on the attribute quality table (paragraph [0088], see the Network Slicing Configuration), radio frequency (RF) conditions (paragraph [0084], see the coverage usage for optimizing), and quality of service (QOS) capabilities (paragraph [0084], see the policy and charging rules used for optimizing), optimizing capabilities for the data connection (paragraph [0072], see the optimized procedure).
With respect to claim 2, CUI further discloses the media of claim 1, wherein the attribute quality table (paragraph [0088], see the Network Slicing Configuration) for the application determines a demand profile (paragraph [0030], see the User Priority for latency or jitter) for a 5G Standalone (SA) network (paragraphs [0021], [0022], [0023] and [0024]).
With respect to claim 3, CUI further discloses the media of claim 2, further comprising, based on the UE (1102 in FIG. 12; 1375 in FIG. 13) reconnecting to the 5G SA network, allocating a network slice to the application (paragraphs [0061], [0098], [0099], see the resuming of an application or a session on a UE) of the UE (1102 in FIG. 12; 1375 in FIG. 13) based on the demand profile (paragraph [0030], see the User Priority for latency or jitter).
With respect to claim 4, CUI further discloses the media of claim 2, further comprising receiving a real-time adjustment to the demand profile (paragraph [0030], see the User Priority for latency or jitter) for the application in accordance with the optimized capabilities (paragraph [0072], see the optimized procedure).
With respect to claim 5, CUI further discloses the media of claim 1, further comprising, initiating the UE (1102 in FIG. 12; 1375 in FIG. 13) fallback (paragraph [0061] and [0099], see the moving away from coverage and then returning or being handed off among eNBs) from a 5G Standalone (SA) network to a 5G Non-standalone (NSA) network (paragraphs [0021], [0022], [0023] and [0024]).
With respect to claim 6, CUI further discloses the media of claim 1, further comprising, initiating the UE fallback (paragraph [0061] and [0099], see the moving away from coverage and then returning or being handed off among eNBs) from a 5G Standalone (SA) network to an evolved packet core (EPC) of a Long Term Evolution (LTE) network (paragraphs [0021], [0022], [0023] and [0024]).
With respect to claim 7, CUI further discloses the media of claim 1, wherein attributes of the attribute quality table (paragraph [0088], see the Network Slicing Configuration) comprise one or more of: bitrate, codec, resolution, framerate, packet loss, jitter, or latency (paragraph [0120], see the calculating of jitter, latency or throughput for the service configuration).
With respect to claim 8, CUI discloses a method of dynamically adjusting an application demand profile during slice fallback (Abstract, Title : ‘Facilitating Network Slicing Information Preservation in Advanced Networks’), the method comprising:
based on a user equipment (UE) (1102 in FIG. 12; 1375 in FIG. 13) fallback (paragraph [0061] and [0099], see the moving away from coverage and then returning or being handed off among eNBs), receiving an attribute quality table (paragraph [0088], see the Network Slicing Configuration) for an application (paragraphs [0061], [0098], [0099], see the resuming of an application or a session on a UE) of the UE (1102 in FIG. 12; 1375 in FIG. 13); and
based on the attribute quality table (paragraph [0088], see the Network Slicing Configuration), radio frequency (RF) conditions (paragraph [0084], see the coverage usage for optimizing), and quality of service (QOS) capabilities (paragraph [0084], see the policy and charging rules used for optimizing), optimizing capabilities for the data connection (paragraph [0072], see the optimized procedure).
With respect to claim 9, CUI further discloses the method of claim 8, wherein the attribute quality table (paragraph [0088], see the Network Slicing Configuration) for the application determines a demand profile (paragraph [0030], see the User Priority for latency or jitter) for a 5G Standalone (SA) network (paragraphs [0021], [0022], [0023] and [0024]).
With respect to claim 10, CUI further discloses the method of claim 9, further comprising, based on the UE (1102 in FIG. 12; 1375 in FIG. 13) reconnecting to the 5G SA network (paragraph [0061] and [0099], see the moving away from coverage and then returning or being handed off among eNBs), allocating a network slice to the application (paragraphs [0061], [0098], [0099], see the resuming of an application or a session on a UE) of the UE (1102 in FIG. 12; 1375 in FIG. 13) based on the demand profile (paragraph [0030], see the User Priority for latency or jitter).
With respect to claim 11, CUI further discloses the method of claim 9, further comprising receiving a real-time adjustment to the demand profile (paragraph [0030], see the User Priority for latency or jitter) for the application in accordance with the optimized capabilities (paragraph [0072], see the optimized procedure).
With respect to claim 12, CUI further discloses the method of claim 8, further comprising, initiating the UE fallback (paragraph [0061] and [0099], see the moving away from coverage and then returning or being handed off among eNBs) from a 5G Standalone (SA) network to a 5G Non-standalone (NSA) network (paragraphs [0021], [0022], [0023] and [0024]).
With respect to claim 13, CUI further discloses the method of claim 8, further comprising, initiating the UE fallback (paragraph [0061] and [0099], see the moving away from coverage and then returning or being handed off among eNBs) from a 5G Standalone (SA) network to an evolved packet core (EPC) of an a Long Term Evolution (LTE) network (paragraphs [0021], [0022], [0023] and [0024]).
With respect to claim 14, CUI further discloses the method of claim 8, wherein attributes of the attribute quality table (paragraph [0088], see the Network Slicing Configuration) comprise one or more of: bitrate, codec, resolution, framerate, packet loss, jitter, or latency (paragraph [0120], see the calculating of jitter, latency or throughput for the service configuration).
With respect to claim 15, CUI discloses a system (1200 in FIG. 12) for dynamically adjusting an application demand profile during slice fallback (Abstract, Title : ‘Facilitating Network Slicing Information Preservation in Advanced Networks’), the system comprising:
at least one wireless base station (1110 or 1108 in FIG. 12) coupled to an operator core network (1106 in FIG. 12),
wherein the at least one wireless base station (1110 or 1108 in FIG. 12) establishes one or more communication links between the operator core network and a user equipment (UE) (1102 in FIG. 12; 1375 in FIG. 13);
one or more processors to perform one or more operations to:
based on the operator core network initiating a fallback (paragraph [0061] and [0099], see the moving away from coverage and then returning or being handed off among eNBs), receiving an attribute quality table (paragraph [0088], see the Network Slicing Configuration) for an application (paragraphs [0061], [0098], [0099], see the resuming of an application or a session on a UE) of the UE (1102 in FIG. 12; 1375 in FIG. 13); and
based on the attribute quality table (paragraph [0088], see the Network Slicing Configuration), radio frequency (RF) conditions (paragraph [0084], see the coverage usage for optimizing), and quality of service (QOS) capabilities (paragraph [0084], see the policy and charging rules used for optimizing), optimizing capabilities for a communication link of the one or more communication links (paragraph [0072], see the optimized procedure).
With respect to claim 16, CUI further discloses the system of claim 15, wherein the attribute quality table (paragraph [0088], see the Network Slicing Configuration) for the application determines a demand profile (paragraph [0030], see the User Priority for latency or jitter) for a 5G Standalone (SA) communication link (paragraphs [0021], [0022], [0023] and [0024]).
With respect to claim 17, CUI further discloses the system of claim 16, further comprising, based on the UE (1102 in FIG. 12; 1375 in FIG. 13) reconnecting to the 5G SA network, allocating a network slice to the application (paragraphs [0061], [0098], [0099], see the resuming of an application or a session on a UE) of the UE (1102 in FIG. 12; 1375 in FIG. 13) based on the demand profile (paragraph [0030], see the User Priority for latency or jitter).
With respect to claim 18, CUI further discloses the system of claim 16, further comprising receiving a real-time adjustment to the demand profile (paragraph [0030], see the User Priority for latency or jitter) for the application in accordance with the optimized capabilities (paragraph [0072], see the optimized procedure).
With respect to claim 19, CUI further discloses the system of claim 15, further comprising initiating the UE fallback (paragraph [0061] and [0099], see the moving away from coverage and then returning or being handed off among eNBs) from a 5G Standalone (SA) communication link to a 5G Non-standalone (NSA) communication link (paragraphs [0021], [0022], [0023] and [0024]) or
from the 5G SA communication link to an evolved packet core (EPC) of a Long Term Evolution (LTE) communication link.
With respect to claim 20, CUI further discloses the system of claim 15, wherein attributes of the attribute quality table (paragraph [0088], see the Network Slicing Configuration) comprise one or more of: bitrate, codec, resolution, framerate, packet loss, jitter, or latency (paragraph [0120], see the calculating of jitter, latency or throughput for the service configuration).
Conclusion
/BRIAN T O CONNOR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465 August 7, 2026