DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of group I in the reply filed on 9/23/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim 9-10 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected group II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 9/23/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites:
at least one bias line for a radio frequency superconducting quantum interference device (re-squid); this recitation is an intended use or what the line is for and does not require the rf-squid.
configured to transmit an electrical signal for adjusting a state of the radio frequency superconducting quantum interference device; is unclear if applicant means to claim the rf-squid or not.
at least one radio frequency superconducting quantum interference device located on a chip; this is unclear if it is the same or different than the rf-squid already recited.
and placed near the superconducting quantum bit; the phrase near. The qubit appears to the qubit of the preamble however there is some confusion since there is a qubit later recited.
wherein a hysteresis parameter of the radio frequency superconducting quantum interference device is greater than 1; is unclear which rf-squid is being referred to the one of the bias line or explicitly recited rf-squid.
and at least one superconducting quantum bit; is this the same or different than the preamble and the one for which the rf-squid was placed.
wherein the transition frequency of the superconducting quantum bit is modulated by applying an external magnetic flux this is unclear the claim is drawn to a device or method of operation As per MPEP 2173.05:
A single claim which claims both an apparatus and the method steps of using the apparatus is indefinite under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph. See In re Katz Interactive Call Processing Patent Litigation, 639 F.3d 1303, 1318, 97 USPQ2d 1737, 1748-49 (Fed. Cir. 2011). In Katz, a claim directed to "[a] system with an interface means for providing automated voice messages…to certain of said individual callers, wherein said certain of said individual callers digitally enter data" was determined to be indefinite because the italicized claim limitation is not directed to the system, but rather to actions of the individual callers, which creates confusion as to when direct infringement occurs. Katz, 639 F.3d at 1318, 97 USPQ2d at 1749 (citing IPXL Holdings v. Amazon.com, Inc., 430 F.3d 1377, 1384, 77 USPQ2d 1140, 1145 (Fed. Cir. 2005), in which a system claim that recited "an input means" and required a user to use the input means was found to be indefinite because it was unclear "whether infringement … occurs when one creates a system that allows the user [to use the input means], or whether infringement occurs when the user actually uses the input means."); Ex parte Lyell, 17 USPQ2d 1548 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1990) (claim directed to an automatic transmission workstand and the method of using it held ambiguous and properly rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph).
wherein the system of modulating the transition frequency of the superconducting quantum bit is operable in an extremely low temperature environment of an order of 10 mK of a dilution refrigerator is unclear if there is additional structure or the cited structure would be sufficient it is ultimately unclear what provide the ability of the system to be operable in an extremely low temperature environment of an order of 10 mK of a dilution refrigerator (see MPEP 2173.05g).
Here the office will interpret the claim to mean the device comprising:
at least one bias line
at least one radio frequency superconducting quantum interference device located on a chip wherein a hysteresis parameter of the radio frequency superconducting quantum interference device is greater than 1;
a superconducting qubit
wherein the bias line is coupled to the radio frequency superconducting quantum interference device and the and configured to transmit an electrical signal for adjusting a state of the radio frequency superconducting quantum interference device
radio frequency superconducting quantum interference device is coupled to the superconducting qubit and wherein the transition frequency of the superconducting quantum bit is configured to be modulated by applying an external magnetic flux;
As to claim 2 claim 2 recites wherein the bias line for the radio frequency superconducting quantum interference device is located on the chip and is connected to a signal source in a room temperature environment through a coaxial cable in the dilution refrigerator; these features are not part of the device since the applicant has not required the device comprising a signal source in a room temperature environment through a coaxial cable
Or a dilution refrigerator
Further claim 2 recites the bias line of the radio frequency superconducting quantum interference device it is unclear if that is the same or different then the bias line for the rf-squid.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, and 3-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102at as being anticipated by Berkley 20090078931 .
As to claim 1, Berkley teaches:
at least one bias line (input of figures 6-8 input in figure 6 clock in figure 7 and what would be 811 between the clock and 841)
at least one radio frequency superconducting quantum interference device located on a chip wherein a hysteresis parameter of the radio frequency superconducting quantum interference device is greater than 1 (bit 0 or 611 figure 6 paragraph 20 or figure 7 item 711 or 712) ; as to the hysteresis figure 2 depicts the fact that hysteresis parameter is greater than one since there are two well in which the system can obtain depending on how the system arrives a E=0 from the left or the right this is the definition of hysteresis thus beta must be greater than 1);
a superconducting qubit (611 or 721 or 821/841)
wherein the bias line is coupled to the radio frequency superconducting quantum interference device and the and configured to transmit an electrical signal for adjusting a state of the radio frequency superconducting quantum interference device (see figure 5 and 7 at least inductively coupled the same as applicant’s figure 1).
radio frequency superconducting quantum interference device is coupled to the superconducting qubit and wherein the transition frequency of the superconducting quantum bit is configured to be modulated by applying an external magnetic flux (figure 6 and 7 they are indirectly to other latch qubits and the 721); The recitation of configured to transmit an electrical signal for adjusting a state of the radio frequency superconducting quantum interference device and wherein the transition frequency of the superconducting quantum bit is configured to be modulated by applying an external magnetic flux is an intend use of the device and does not distinguish the device from Berkley.
It is noted that while claim 1 recites a rf squid claim 2 contradicts this a broadens the scope specifically recitation of and at least one Josephson junction connected with the superconducting ring end to end.
Having multiple JJ in series is an aspect of dc squids. The office will interpret rf-squid as a squid that can operate in a rf environment as opposed to consisting of single JJ.
b. As to claim 3, Berkley teaches wherein the radio frequency superconducting quantum interference device is a closed loop comprising a superconducting ring made of a superconducting material and at least one Josephson junction connected with the superconducting ring end to end (figure 3 a loop and to JJ in parallel, paragraph 18).
c. As to claim 4, Berkley teaches wherein a mutual inductance coupling is formed between the superconducting quantum bit and the radio frequency superconducting quantum interference device (relation between 601 and 611 is inductive 711 and 712 is inductive and 841 is inductive to the structure of 811 and 800 is inductive to 841).
d. As to claim 5, recitation of wherein the bias line for the radio frequency superconducting quantum interference device is configured to convert an input electrical signal into a magnetic flux signal through a mutual inductance and input the magnetic flux signal into the radio frequency superconducting quantum interference device, and the input electrical signal is a current signal or a voltage signal is an intended use and does not limit the structure. Thus Berkley teaches claim 5.
e. As to claim 6, recitation of wherein a superconducting ring current in the radio frequency superconducting quantum interference device is converted into a magnetic flux signal through a mutual inductance and input into the superconducting quantum bit to modulate the transition frequency of the superconducting quantum bit is intended use and the intended outcome this outcome must occur or there is critical structure missing.
Since Berkley teaches wherein a mutual inductance coupling is formed between the superconducting quantum bit and the radio frequency superconducting quantum interference device (relation between 601 and 611 is inductive 711 and 712 is inductive and 841 is inductive to the structure of 811 and 800 is inductive to 841) the outcome must be the same.
f. As to claim 7, Berkley teaches wherein a relationship between a total magnetic flux of the radio frequency superconducting quantum interference device and the external magnetic flux exhibits a behavior of a hysteresis curve (see figure 2 and paragraph 20 and the discussion of claim 1. Recitation of an external magnetic flux signal in form of pulse is applied to modulate the state of the radio frequency superconducting quantum interference device, and the state of the radio frequency superconducting quantum interference device comprises a direction and a magnitude of a superconducting ring current in the radio frequency superconducting quantum interference device is an intended outcome and does not lime the device to acting in the manner or be operated in the manner. Since Berkley teaches the structure as claimed Berkley meets the claimed limitation.
g. As to claim 8, Berkley teaches wherein the state of the radio frequency superconducting quantum interference device is allowed to be maintained in a changed state for a long time after being changed by a pulse signal input; and wherein the direction and the magnitude of the superconducting ring current in the radio frequency superconducting quantum interference device is allowed to be kept constant for a long time is intended use and does not affect the structure. Since Berkley teaches the structure as claimed, Berkley meets the claimed limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berkley.
b. As to claim 2, Berkly teaches figure 5 shows the bias line for the radio frequency superconducting quantum interference device is coupled with the radio frequency superconducting quantum interference device through a mutual inductance (figure 5 coupled inductors input and bit 0);
wherein the bias line for the radio frequency superconducting quantum interference device is located on the chip (it is un the chip)
recitation and is connected to a signal source in a room temperature environment through a coaxial cable in the dilution refrigerator falls outside of the device scope the claim is drawn to the system not the room and dilution chamber it could be connected in such a manner thus meets the claim limitation.
wherein the bias line for the radio frequency superconducting quantum interference device is configured to convert the electrical signal into a magnetic flux signal through the mutual inductance between the bias line and the radio frequency superconducting quantum interference device and input the magnetic flux signal into the radio frequency superconducting quantum interference device (the device has substantially the same structure as claimed thus it must meet the claim limitation or there is something critical missing from the claim)
Recitation of and wherein the state of the radio frequency superconducting quantum interference device is modulated by an electrical signal with a specific direction and a specific amplitude inputted to the bias line for the radio frequency superconducting quantum interference device is intended use and does not require the device to operate in the manner.
It appear applicant mean operational bandwidth when referring to wherein a bandwidth of the bias line of the radio frequency superconducting quantum interference device covers at least a frequency range from a frequency of DC signal to 5 GHz;
This is not taught by Berkley.
However, frequencies in the range of a frequency of DC signal to 5 GHz were known to be operating in superconducting qubit chips.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing at the time of filing to provide the operational bandwidth of the bias line to be a frequency of DC signal to 5 GHz to allow operation of the qubit chip in conventional frequencies.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Allman cited by the EPO uses a rf-squid, the coupler section in figure 1, however there is no indication of hysteresis in the RF-Squid. For readout is done with a dc squid. As mentioned in claim 1 requires a dc squid claim 2 broadens the scope to include dc squids since the squid can have more than one JJ in series.
The read input and or output of this dc squid could be considered the bias line, and the upper portion could be the qubit. Thus, Allman could read on claim 1, however it misses claim 5 which requires mutual inductance.
/MATTHEW L. REAMES/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2896
/MATTHEW L REAMES/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2896