DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 4/2/2025 and 1/30/2026 have been considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 21-40 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims of U.S. Patent No. 12,028,796 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because take an example of comparing claims 21 and 39 of the pending application and claims 1 and 15 of U.S. Patent No. US 12,028,796 B2:
Pending Application No. 18/736,111
U.S. Patent No. US 12,028,796 B2
Claim 21: A method comprising:
Claim 1: A method of operating a wireless local area network (WLAN) device, comprising:
operating a wireless local area network (WLAN) device on a first channel of a plurality of channels;
operating the WLAN device on a first dynamic frequency selection (DFS) channel of a plurality of DFS channels;
scanning, by the WLAN device, the first DFS channel for presence of a radar signal from a radar;
receiving aiding information indicating that the first channel is used by a radar, the aiding information including a digital signature and a geo-tagged radar zone of the radar;
receiving, by the WLAN device, aiding information obtained by one or more WLAN devices capable of scanning the DFS channels, wherein the aiding information indicates that the first DFS channel is used by the radar, and wherein the aiding information received by the WLAN device comprises a broadcast WLAN action frame received, while overlapping one or more radar signals from the radar, from a second WLAN device over the first DFS channel and outside a radar interference range of the radar to avoid interference of the WLAN action frame with an operation of the radar, the aiding information indicating the first DFS channel is used by the radar and including a geo-tagged radar zone of the radar;
identifying a digital signature included in the broadcast WLAN action frame;
authenticating, using the digital signature, the aiding information;
authenticating, using the digital signature, the aiding information;
determining, based on the aiding information, that the WLAN device is approaching the geo-tagged radar zone of the radar responsive to authenticating the aiding information; and
determining, based on the aiding information, that the WLAN device is approaching the geo-tagged radar zone of the radar responsive to authenticating the aiding information; and
changing operating the WLAN device from using the first channel to a second channel of the plurality of channels responsive to authenticating the aiding information and the aiding information indicating the first channel being used by the radar.
changing operating the WLAN device from using the first DFS channel to a second DFS channel of the plurality of DFS channels in response to authenticating the aiding information and the aiding information indicating the first DFS channel being used by the radar.
Claim 39: A communication device, comprising:
Claim 15: A communication device, comprising:
a processing device configured to:
a processing device configured to:
generate aiding information indicating that a first channel of a plurality of channels is used by a radar, the aiding information including a digital signature and a geo-tagged radar zone of the radar; and
generate information on a geo-tagged radar zone comprising a geographical area in which an operating radar operates, and one or more dynamic frequency selection (DFS) channels being used by the operating radar at the geographical area; and
broadcast the aiding information to cause a WLAN device approaching the geo-tagged radar zone to authenticate the aiding information using the digital signature and steer clear of the first channel used by the radar responsive to authenticating the aiding information.
broadcast, while overlapping one or more radar signals from the radar, WLAN action frame including the generated information over a first DFS channel and outside a radar interference range of the operating radar to avoid interference of the WLAN action frame with an operation of the operating radar, the WLAN action frames causing a WLAN device approaching the geo-tagged radar zone to authenticate the WLAN action frame using a digital signature included in the WLAN action frame and steer clear of the DFS channels used by the operating radar responsive to authenticating the WLAN action frame.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21, 27, 30, 36, and 39-40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cordeiro et al. (US 2018/0167822 A1) hereinafter Cordeiro in view of Yi et al. (US 2018/0192422 A1) hereinafter Yi.
Regarding claim 21, Cordeiro teaches a method comprising: operating a wireless local area network (WLAN) device on a first channel of a plurality of channels (wireless local area network (WLAN) including devices; para. 12 and Fig. 1, devices (STAs 103 and AP 102) operating on multiple standards / channels; para. [14-15, 18-19]); receiving aiding information indicating that the first channel is used by a radar, the aiding information including a digital signature and a geo-tagged radar zone of the radar (STA receives beacon including Radio Astronomy Service (RAS) site, authentication message, AP in vicinity of RAS site, channels that are restricted [used by radar]; para. [30-32, 76, 79], determining geographic location [geo-tagged] using authentication message; para. [62-64, 67, 84-89, 92]); authenticating, using the digital signature, the aiding information (authentication message in beacon indicating AP in vicinity of RAS site; para. 32); determining, based on the aiding information, that the WLAN device is approaching the geo-tagged radar zone of the radar responsive to authenticating the aiding information (based on location information, determine STA within threshold distance away from restricted RAS area while moving; para. [34-39, 41, 51, 75, 77], moving and update as soon as STA is outside the area [at least suggesting “approaching”]; para. 39).
While Cordeiro discloses restricting / allowing / regulating / controlling / resuming communication, Cordeiro does not explicitly disclose changing operating the WLAN device from using the first channel to a second channel of the plurality of channels responsive to authenticating the aiding information and the aiding information indicating the first channel being used by the radar.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Yi teaches changing operating the WLAN device from using the first channel to a second channel of the plurality of channels responsive to authenticating the aiding information and the aiding information indicating the first channel being used by the radar (clients perform channel switch based on information in beacon; para. 17, use of dynamic frequency selection (DFS) channels; para. 25, beacons include channel with radar; para. [26, 38], communication using authentication [at least suggesting authenticating beacon]; para. [28, 36]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Yi to the system of Cordeiro, where Cordeiro’s frequency reuse (para. [18, 20]) along with Yi’s efficient use of spectrum (para. 02-03) improves the system by enabling spectrum efficiency with reduced interference.
Regarding claim 27, the combination of Cordeiro and Yi teaches the previous limitation of claim 21.
Cordeiro further teaches wherein the aiding information further indicates one or more channels of the plurality of channels being used by the radar (STA receives beacon including RAS site, channels that are restricted [used by radar]; para. [30-32, 76, 79], RAS includes radar site location; para. [76, 79]) and one or more alternative channels available for WLAN operation (beacon includes information which channels that may be used / available; para. 30-32).
Regarding claim 30, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 21, including WLAN interface (wireless local area network (WLAN) including devices; para. 12 and Fig. 1, interface 720; para. 55 and Fig. 7: Cordeiro); processing device (processor 508 / 702; para. [45, 50, 53-58] and Figs. [5, 7]: Cordeiro).
Regarding claim 36, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 27.
Regarding claim 39, Cordeiro teaches a communication device (wireless local area network (WLAN) including devices; para. 12 and Fig. 1, devices including AP 102 (and STA 103) operating on multiple standards / channels; para. [14-15, 18-19]), comprising: a processing device (processor 508 / 702; para. [42, 45, 50, 53-58] and Figs. [5, 7]) configured to: generate aiding information indicating that a first channel of a plurality of channels is used by a radar, the aiding information including a digital signature and a geo-tagged radar zone of the radar (AP transmits [generates] beacon to STA including Radio Astronomy Service (RAS) site, authentication message [at least suggesting digital signature], AP in vicinity of RAS site, channels that are restricted [used by radar]; para. [30-32, 76, 79], determining geographic location [geo-tagged] using authentication message; para. [62-64, 67, 84-89, 92]); and broadcast the aiding information (AP transmits [broadcasts] beacon; para. [30-32, 76, 79]) to cause a WLAN device approaching the geo-tagged radar zone (based on location information, determine STA within threshold distance away from restricted RAS area while moving; para. [34-39, 41, 51, 75, 77], moving and update as soon as STA is outside the area [at least suggesting “approaching”]; para. 39) to authenticate the aiding information using the digital signature (authentication message in beacon indicating AP in vicinity of RAS site; para. 32).
While Cordeiro discloses restricting / allowing / regulating / controlling / resuming communication, Cordeiro does not explicitly disclose steer clear of the first channel used by the radar responsive to authenticating the aiding information.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Yi teaches steer clear of the first channel used by the radar responsive to authenticating the aiding information (clients perform channel switch based on information in beacon; para. 17, use of dynamic frequency selection (DFS) channels; para. 25, beacons include channel with radar; para. [26, 38], communication using authentication [at least suggesting authenticating beacon]; para. [28, 36]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Yi to the system of Cordeiro, where Cordeiro’s frequency reuse (para. [18, 20]) along with Yi’s efficient use of spectrum (para. 02-03) improves the system by enabling spectrum efficiency with reduced interference.
Regarding claim 40, the combination of Cordeiro and Yi teaches the previous limitation of claim 39.
While Cordeiro discloses restricting / allowing / regulating / controlling / resuming communication, Cordeiro does not explicitly disclose wherein the aiding information causes the WLAN device to steer clear of the first channel used by the radar by switching from using the first channel of the plurality of channels used by the radar to using a second channel of the plurality of channels that is not being used by the radar.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Yi further teaches wherein the aiding information causes the WLAN device to steer clear of the first channel used by the radar by switching from using the first channel of the plurality of channels used by the radar to using a second channel of the plurality of channels that is not being used by the radar (clients perform channel switch based on information in beacon; para. 17, use of dynamic frequency selection (DFS) channels; para. 25, beacons include channel with radar; para. [26, 38], communication using authentication [at least suggesting authenticating beacon]; para. [28, 36], use of available channels free of radar and using whitelists; para. [26-28, 38, 40, 42, 46-49, 52, 54]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Yi to the modified system of Cordeiro and Yi, where Cordeiro and Yi’s modified system along with Yi’s efficient use of spectrum (para. 02-03) improves the system by enabling spectrum efficiency with reduced interference.
Claim(s) 22-25, 31-33, and 35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cordeiro in view of Yi, and further in view of Nagai et al. (US 2014/0378179 A1).
Regarding claim 22, the combination of Cordeiro and Yi teaches the previous limitation of claim 21.
While the combination of Cordeiro and Yi discloses receiving data from database, cellular network, location-tagged spectral information, and scanning channels, the combination of Cordeiro and Yi does not explicitly disclose wherein receiving the aiding information further comprises: receiving the aiding information from a crowd-sourced database over a cellular network, wherein the crowd-sourced database contains a plurality of geo-tagged radar zones detected by a plurality of WLAN devices capable of scanning the plurality of channels.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Nagai teaches wherein receiving the aiding information further comprises: receiving the aiding information from a crowd-sourced database over a cellular network (interference data 13 from external database received via wide-area radio 5 including 3G, LTE, PHS; para. 33 and Fig. 1, interference data 13 updated based on detected channels for sharing with other apparatuses having same function as terminal 1 [thus, crowd-sourced as other terminals also update database]; para. 60), wherein the crowd-sourced database contains a plurality of geo-tagged radar zones detected by a plurality of WLAN devices capable of scanning the plurality of channels (interference data includes detection position / detection coordinates; para. 47, detection position / detection coordinates indicates position where radar detected; para. 48 lines 05-08, searching for another frequency channel; para. 10, sharing with other terminals having same function; para. 39 lines 25-29 where “having same function” indicates other terminals also perform scanning of channels and sharing interference data).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Nagai to the modified system of Cordeiro and Yi, where Cordeiro and Yi’s modified system along with Nagai’s avoidance and reduction of interference with other systems (para. 21-22) improves efficiency of the system by reducing interference.
Regarding claim 23, the combination of Cordeiro, Yi, and Nagai teaches the previous limitation of claim 22.
The combination of Cordeiro, Yi, and Nagai does not explicitly disclose wherein one of the plurality of geo-tagged radar zones comprises a geographical area in which an operating radar has been detected by one of the plurality of WLAN devices capable of scanning the plurality of channels, and one or more channels of the plurality of channels detected as being used by the operating radar at the geographical area.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Nagai further teaches wherein one of the plurality of geo-tagged radar zones comprises a geographical area in which an operating radar has been detected (interference data includes detection position / detection coordinates; para. 47, detection position / detection coordinates indicates position where radar detected; para. 48 lines 05-08) by one of the plurality of WLAN devices capable of scanning the plurality of channels (interference data 13 from external database received via wide-area radio 5 including 3G, LTE, PHS; para. 33 and Fig. 1, interference data 13 updated based on detected channels for sharing with other apparatuses having same function as terminal 1 (thus, crowd-sourced as other terminals also update database); para. 60), and one or more channels of the plurality of channels detected as being used by the operating radar at the geographical area (detection position / detection coordinates indicates position where radar detected; para. 48, interference data includes frequency band and position; para. 47 and Figs. 1 and Figs. 3A-3B, radio communication unit 16 of device 1 using frequency band for communication using wireless LAN and DFS bands; para. [09, 45-46], searching channels for radar and switching channels (thus, indicating first channel of a plurality of channels); para. [21, 34, 50, 58]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Nagai to the modified system of Cordeiro, Yi, and Nagai, where Cordeiro, Yi, and Nagai’s modified system along with Nagai’s avoidance and reduction of interference with other systems (para. 21-22) improves efficiency of the system by reducing interference.
Regarding claim 24, the combination of Cordeiro, Yi, and Nagai teaches the previous limitation of claim 23.
The combination of Cordeiro, Yi, and Nagai does not explicitly disclose transmitting by the WLAN device to the crowd-sourced database a geographical position of the WLAN device, and wherein the aiding information comprises a geo-tagged radar zone of the plurality of geo-tagged radar zones.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Nagai further teaches transmitting by the WLAN device to the crowd-sourced database a geographical position of the WLAN device (terminal transmits to upload interference data to share between terminals; para. 39 lines 25-29, para. 60 and 69, interference data includes position of terminal; para. 48 lines 5-8), and wherein the aiding information comprises a geo-tagged radar zone of the plurality of geo-tagged radar zones (terminal receives interference data for checking; para. 46, interference data includes detection position / detection coordinates; para. 47, detection position / detection coordinates indicates position where radar detected; para. 48).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Nagai to the modified system of Cordeiro, Yi, and Nagai, where Cordeiro, Yi, and Nagai’s modified system along with Nagai’s avoidance and reduction of interference with other systems (para. 21-22) improves efficiency of the system by reducing interference.
Regarding claim 25, the combination of Cordeiro, Yi, and Nagai teaches the previous limitation of claim 24.
Cordeiro further teaches wherein the geographical area of the geo-tagged radar zone indicates that the operating radar is in a vicinity of the geographical position of the WLAN device (STA receives beacon including RAS site, AP in vicinity [and thus at least suggesting WLAN device also in vicinity] of RAS site; para. 30-32, RAS includes radar site location; para. [76, 79], determining geographic location [geo-tagged] using authentication message; para. [62-64, 67, 84-89, 92]).
Regarding claim 31, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 22.
Regarding claim 32, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 23.
Regarding claim 33, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 24.
Regarding claim 35, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 25.
Claim(s) 26 and 34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cordeiro in view of Yi, in view of Nagai and further in view of Green et al. (US 2017/0094651 A1) hereinafter Green.
Regarding claim 26, the combination of Cordeiro, Yi, and Nagai teaches the previous limitation of claim 23.
While the combination of Cordeiro, Yi, and Nagai discloses interference and overlapping channels including predicting overlapping channels, the combination of Cordeiro, Yi, and Nagai does not explicitly disclose wherein the aiding information further indicates that the first channel overlaps with the one or more channels detected as being used by the operating radar at one of the plurality of geo-tagged radar zones.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Green teaches wherein the aiding information further indicates that the first channel overlaps with the one or more channels detected as being used by the operating radar at one of the plurality of geo-tagged radar zones (channel availability checks (CAC); para. 49, scan current channel; para. 51, advisory data to UE indicates channels which include radar; para. 53, when determining channel status, data indicates blacklist channel when radar is detected at a particular location at a certain frequency / channel; para. 57 lines 20-25, CAC uses flag as channel available or radar detected on channel; para. 49 where flag indicates overlap or not, Table 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Green to the modified system of Cordeiro, Yi, and Nagai, where Cordeiro, Yi, and Nagai’s modified system along with Green's blacklist channels with geographical information (para. 57) improves efficiency of the system by avoiding monitoring of channels in areas with known radar.
Regarding claim 34, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 26.
Claim(s) 28-29 and 37-38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cordeiro in view of Yi, and further in view of Green.
Regarding claim 28, the combination of Cordeiro and Yi teaches the previous limitation of claim 27.
The combination of Cordeiro and Yi does not explicitly disclose wherein the aiding information further indicates that the first channel overlaps with the one or more channels of the plurality of channels being used by the radar.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Green teaches wherein the aiding information further indicates that the first channel overlaps with the one or more channels of the plurality of channels being used by the radar (channel availability checks (CAC); para. 49, scan current channel; para. 51, advisory data to UE indicates channels which include radar; para. 53, when determining channel status, data indicates blacklist channel when radar is detected at a particular location at a certain frequency / channel; para. 57 lines 20-25, CAC uses flag as channel available or radar detected on channel; para. 49 where flag indicates overlap or not, Table 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Green to the modified system of Cordeiro and Yi, where Cordeiro and Yi’s modified system along with Green's blacklist channels with geographical information (para. 57) improves efficiency of the system by avoiding monitoring of channels in areas with known radar.
Regarding claim 29, the combination of Cordeiro and Yi teaches the previous limitation of claim 27.
The combination of Cordeiro and Yi does not explicitly disclose wherein the second channel is selected from one of the one or more alternative channels.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Green teaches wherein the second channel is selected from one of the one or more alternative channels (channel status such as Table 1 provided to devices; para. 73, channel status includes channel recommendations to select from for communication; para. 74).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of Green to the modified system of Cordeiro and Yi, where Cordeiro and Yi’s modified system along with Green's blacklist channels with geographical information (para. 57) improves efficiency of the system by avoiding monitoring of channels in areas with known radar.
Regarding claim 37, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 28.
Regarding claim 38, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 29.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Solondz (US 2015/0223069 A1) discloses tune control for shared access system.
Gong et al. (US 2016/0292696 A1) discloses authentication systems and methods for generating flight regulations.
Manz (US 7,283,045 B1) discloses a system and method for semi-distributed event warning notification for individual entities, and computer program product therefor.
/JOSE L PEREZ/Examiner, Art Unit 2474