DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to Applicant’s amendment filed 18 June 2026.
Notice of Pre-AIA Status
Response to Arguments
Kelly’997
In the response filed 18 June 2026, claim 1 was amended to recite “the base is rotatable”. Applicant argues this overcomes the rejection under Kelly’997 because Kelly’997’s base 1 not disclosed as rotatable and does not teach that rotation of the base 1 will release an eyelet of a medical device. This argument is not persuasive. In Applicant’s own invention, the specification discloses the base rotates, but does not disclose what initiates or causes the rotation or that it needs to rotate relative to any other element. Examiner assumes it rotates via rotation of a proximal handle.
In the same way, Kelly’997’s base 1 is capable of being rotated by rotating a proximal end or handle. The claim does not require the base to rotate relative to anything else. The “medical device” is recited functionally and not a positively recited element of the invention. Therefore, the medical device could be specially designed such that rotation of Kelly’s base 1 would enable release of an eyelet of a medical device.
Applicant argues “the eyelet and medical device do not need to be positively recited for the “configured to” language to be given patentable weight” (6-18-2026 response at page 6). Examiner agrees and gave the limitation patentable weight; however, the limitation is very broad because the medical device is not a positively claimed element.
Melsheimer’427
Applicant argues the amendment to claim 1 reciting “the base is rotatable” overcomes Melsheimer’427 because Melsheimer’427 does not disclose base 12 is rotatable and does not teach that rotation of the base 12 will release an eyelet of a medical device. This argument is not persuasive. In In Applicant’s own invention, the specification discloses the base rotates, but does not disclose what initiates or causes the rotation or that it needs to rotate relative to any other element. Examiner assumes it rotates via rotation of a proximal handle.
In the same way, Melsheimer’427’s base 12 is capable of being rotated by rotating a proximal end or handle. The claim does not require the base to rotate relative to anything else. The “medical device” is recited functionally and not a positively recited element of the invention. Therefore, the medical device could be specially designed such that rotation of Melsheimer’427’s base 12 would enable release of an eyelet of a medical device.
Melsheimer’272
Applicant argues the amendment to claim 1 reciting “the base is rotatable” overcomes Melsheimer’272 because Melsheimer’272 does not disclose base 26 is rotatable and does not teach that rotation of the base 22 will release an eyelet of a medical device. This argument is not persuasive. In In Applicant’s own invention, the specification discloses the base rotates, but does not disclose what initiates or causes the rotation or that it needs to rotate relative to any other element. Examiner assumes it rotates via rotation of a proximal handle.
In the same way, Melsheimer’272’s base 22 is capable of being rotated by rotating a proximal end or handle. The claim does not require the base to rotate relative to anything else. The “medical device” is recited functionally and not a positively recited element of the invention. Therefore, the medical device could be specially designed such that rotation of Melsheimer’272’s base 22 would enable release of an eyelet of a medical device.
The rejections were updated to reflect the newly recited claim language, but otherwise maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 24 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claims 24 and 27 recites the limitation "the eyelet”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
the invention was known or used by others in this country, or patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country, before the invention thereof by the applicant for a patent.
(b) the invention was patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country or in public use or on sale in this country, more than one year prior to the date of application for patent in the United States.
Claims 1-6 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(b) as being anticipated by Kelly et al. (US Patent Publication 2011/0152997).
Claim 1: Kelly’997 discloses a retainer comprising:
a base (1) including an outer surface (Figures 3, 4, 13, 14), the base is rotatable (i.e it can be rotated by hand via rotation of the handle/proximal end of the catheter);
a protrusion (10; Figure 15e) extending radially outwardly from the base (Figure 13 and 15 show this),
the protrusion configured to retain an eyelet of a medical device (Figure 19, 20, for example, however the medical device and eyelet are not positively recited elements of the claim), wherein the protrusion includes a surface at an obtuse angle relative to the outer surface of the base (side of protrusion 10 is obtuse relative to base 1; see annotated copy of Figure 15e below)) and configured to enable release of the eyelet from the protrusion via rotation of the base (the medical device is not claimed; a medical device could have eyelets shaped and designed such that they are released upon rotation of the base).
Claim 2: Kelly’997 discloses the surface (see annotated copy of Figure 15e above) is a side surface of the protrusion in a rotational direction of the base (Figure 15e).
Claim 4: Kelly’997 discloses the protrusion (10) includes multiple surfaces at an obtuse angle relative to the outer surface of the base (other side of the protrusion 10 in Figure 15e).
Claim 5: Kelly’997 discloses the base (1) is substantially circularly in cross-section (Figure 14), and wherein the surface is a side surface of the protrusion in a circumferential direction of the base (see annotate copy of Figure 15e in Figure 1 above).
Claim 6: Kelly’997 discloses the retainer comprises a plurality of protrusions (Figure 13), wherein each of the protrusions includes a surface at an obtuse angle relative to the outer surface of the base (Figure 15e) and configured to enable release of the eyelet from the protrusion via rotation of the base (the medical device is not claimed; a medical device could have eyelets shaped and designed such that they are released upon rotation of the base).
Claims 1, 3 and 6 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(b) as being anticipated by Melsheimer (US Patent Publication 2009/0171427).
Claim 1: Melsheimer’427 discloses a retainer comprising:
a base (12) including an outer surface (Figure 11), wherein the base is rotatable (i.e it can be rotated by hand via rotation of the handle/proximal end of the catheter);
a protrusion (26; Figure 11) extending radially outwardly from the base (Figure 11),
the protrusion configured to retain an eyelet of a medical device (the medical device and eyelet are not positively recited elements of the claim; the protrusion is capable of retaining an eyelet because it has a size and shape which could fit within an eyelet), wherein the protrusion includes a surface at an obtuse angle relative to the outer surface of the base (see annotated & truncated copy of Figure 11 below) and configured to enable release of the eyelet from the protrusion via rotation of the base (the medical device is not claimed; a medical device could have eyelets shaped and designed such that they are released upon rotation of the base).
Claim 3: Melsheimer’427 discloses a longitudinal end of the protrusion (26; Figure 11) has a stepped surface configured to retain the eyelet of the medical device (see the annotated copy of Figure 11 below).
Claim 6: Melsheimer’427 discloses the retainer (12) comprises a plurality of protrusions (Figure 11), wherein each of the protrusions includes a surface at an obtuse angle relative to the outer surface of the base (Figure 11) and configured to enable release of the eyelet from the protrusion via rotation of the base (the medical device is not claimed; a medical device could have eyelets shaped and designed such that they are released upon rotation of the base).
Claims 1, 4, 6 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(b) as being anticipated by Melsheimer (US Patent Publication 2012/0150272).
Claim 1: Melsheimer’272 discloses a retainer comprising:
a base (22) including an outer surface (Figure 2), wherein the base is rotatable (i.e. it can be rotated by hand via rotation of the handle/proximal end of the catheter);
a protrusion (46) extending radially outwardly from the base (Figure 8 shows a different embodiment of the restraint member 26 shown in Figure 2),
the protrusion configured to retain an eyelet of a medical device (Figure 2, for example, however the medical device and eyelet are not positively recited elements of the claim), wherein the protrusion includes a surface at an obtuse angle relative to the outer surface of the base (side of the pyramid shaped protrusion 46 is obtuse relative to base 22; see annotated copy of Figure 8 below)) and configured to enable release of the eyelet from the protrusion via rotation of the base (the medical device is not claimed; a medical device could have eyelets shaped and designed such that they are released upon rotation of the base).
Claim 4: Melsheimer’272 discloses the protrusion (46) includes multiple surfaces at an obtuse angle relative to the outer surface of the base (other sides of the pyramid 46).
Claim 6: Melsheimer’272 discloses the retainer comprises a plurality of protrusions (Figure 8), wherein each of the protrusions includes a surface at an obtuse angle relative to the outer surface of the base (Figure 8) and configured to enable release of the eyelet from the protrusion via rotation of the base (the medical device is not claimed; a medical device could have eyelets shaped and designed such that they are released upon rotation of the base).
Claims 21-24, 26 and 27 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(a) as being anticipated by Dwork et al. (US Patent Publication 2012/0022628).
Claim 21: Dwork’628 discloses a medical device delivery system (paragraph [0002]) comprising:
a retainer (120) comprising a base (202) including an outer surface, the base being rotatable (202 rotates about axle 204, as shown in Figures 6, 7 and described in paragraph [0035]); and
a heart valve prosthesis (“stent”, paragraph [0026]) including a frame (“frame”, paragraph [0034]) and a valve body coupled to the frame (paragraph [0024] discloses “a stent may include…a prosthetic heart valve coupled to a frame);
wherein in a delivery configuration a coupling portion (“loops”, paragraph [0034]) of the frame of the heart valve prosthesis is coupled to the retainer (paragraph [0029]), and
wherein rotation of the rotatable base is configured to release the coupling portion of the frame of the heart valve prosthesis from the retainer (paragraph [0035]) .
Dwork’628 does not teach the prosthesis is a heart valve prothesis with a valve body.
Claim 22: Dwork’628 discloses the retainer further comprises a protrusion (222) extending radially outwardly from the base, wherein in the delivery configuration the protrusion retains the coupling portion of the frame of the heart valve prosthesis (paragraph [0034]).
Claim 23: Dwork’628 discloses the protrusion (222) includes a surface (front/distal surface of the protrusion, see annotated copy of Figure 2 below) at an obtuse angle relative to the outer surface of the base (202).
Claim 24: Dwork’628 discloses a longitudinal end of the protrusion comprises a stepped surface (proximal/back surface of the protrusion; see annotated copy of Figure 3 below) configured to retain the eyelet of the medical device.
Claim 26: Dwork’628 discloses the base (202) is substantially circular in cross-section (substantially circular when looking at a cross-section as identified below); and
Wherein the surface is a side surface of the protrusion in a circumferential direction of the base (see Figures 2-3).
Claim 27: Dwork’628 discloses the retainer (202) comprises a plurality of protrusions (222, 224), wherein each of the protrusions includes a surface at an obtuse angle relative to the outer surface of the base (see annotated copy of Figure 2 in the rejection to claim 23 above; protrusion 224 is shaped similarly to 222) and configured to enable release of the eyelet from the protrusion via rotation of the base (paragraph [0035]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claim 25 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Dwork’628, as applied to claim 23, further in view of Melsheimer’272.
Claim 25: Dwork’628 teaches the limitations of claim 25 except the protrusion includes multiple surfaces at an obtuse angle relative to the base.
Like Dwork’628, Melsheimer’272 teaches a device for delivering a self-expanding prosthetic valve with eyelets (paragraph [0003] with eyelets (openings 38 defined by bends 20). Like Dwork’628, Melsheimer’272’s eyelets are fitted over a protrusion (46).
Melsheimer’272 teaches providing the protrusions with multiple surfaces at an obtuse angle relative to an outer surface of the base (44) (Figure 8) in order to allow a smooth release of the prosthesis while still providing sufficient retention of the prosthesis (paragraph [0057]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the device taught by Dwork’628w with multiple surfaces at an obtuse angle relative to the base, as taught by Melsheimer’272, to allow a smooth release of the prosthesis while still providing sufficient retention of the prosthesis (paragraph [0057]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Lindsey Bachman
/L.B./Examiner, Art Unit 3771 6 July 2026
/ELIZABETH HOUSTON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3771