DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-9 and 18-19 are pending in this application and have been examined in response to application election filed on 05/11/2026.
FOREIGN APPLICATIONS: CHINA 202311123595.5 08/31/2023
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 8 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable by Fan et al. (US 2024/0427486 A1).
As to INDEPENDENT claim 1, Fan discloses a method for displaying icons, comprising: displaying, by an electronic device (fig.1A), a graphical user interface in a first view mode of a plurality of preset view modes, wherein the graphical user interface comprises a plurality of icons, and each of the plurality of preset view modes correspond to a different preset icon display size (fig.3A, fig.3B; [0210], [0216]; different preset scaling modes are disclosed);
in response to detecting, by the electronic device, a zoom operation by a user, zooming and displaying at least a part of the plurality of icons according to the zoom operation while the zoom operation continues (fig.3A; [0210]; the display icons are scaled up based on a scaling-up ratio gesture);
in response to detecting completion of the zoom operation, determining, by the electronic device, a target view mode from the plurality of preset view modes; and displaying at least a part of the plurality of icons with a preset icon display size corresponding to the target view mode ([0210]; once the maximum zoom threshold is reached, a maximum view mode is displayed).
As to claim 2, Fan discloses wherein determining the target view mode from the plurality of preset view modes comprises: determining the target view mode from the plurality of preset view modes based on at least one of the following: a zoom ratio or an icon display size instructed at the end of the zoom operation, a current view mode for displaying the graphical user interface at the end of the zoom operation, the first view mode, or a zoom ratio or a preset icon display size corresponding to each of the plurality of preset view modes (fig.3A; [0210]; the zoom size is based on a scaling-up ratio initiated by a user gesture).
As to claim 3, Fan discloses wherein determining the target view mode from the plurality of preset view modes comprises: in response to a current view mode for displaying the graphical user interface at the end of the zoom operation being a maximum view mode corresponding to a largest preset view display size among the plurality of preset view mode, and to the icon display size instructed at the end of the zoom operation being larger than the largest preset icon display size, determining the maximum view mode as the target view mode; or in response to the current view mode for displaying the graphical user interface at the end of the zoom operation being a minimum view mode corresponding to a smallest preset view display size among the plurality of preset view modes, and to the icon display size instructed at the end of the zoom operation being smaller than the smallest preset icon display size, determining the minimum view mode as the target view mode ([0210]; once the maximum zoom threshold is reached, a maximum view mode is displayed).
As to claim 4, Fan discloses zooming and displaying at least a part of the plurality of icons in the first view mode according to a zoom ratio or an icon display size currently instructed by the zoom operation; or switching the graphical user interface from the first view mode to a second view mode based on the zoom ratio or the icon display size currently instructed by the zoom operation (fig.3A; [0210]; the zoom size is based on a scaling-up ratio initiated by a user gesture).
As to claim 5, Fan discloses wherein zooming and displaying at least a part of the plurality of icons according to the zoom operation while the zoom operation continues, further comprises: in response to an icon display size currently instructed by the zoom operation being between a preset icon display size corresponding to the first view mode and a preset icon display size corresponding to a second view mode, displaying at least a part of the plurality of icons according to the icon display size currently instructed by the zoom operation as well as a preset icon display size corresponding to the first view mode; or in response to an icon display size currently instructed by the zoom operation reaching the preset icon display size corresponding to the second view mode, displaying at least a part of the plurality of icons with a preset icon display size corresponding to the second view mode ([0210], [0216]; the size of the icons are capped by a maximum and a minimum threshold).
As to claim 6, Fan discloses wherein zooming and displaying at least a part of the plurality of icons according to the zoom operation while the zoom operation is still ongoing, further comprises: in response to the graphical user interface being currently displayed in a maximum view mode corresponding to a largest preset view display size among the plurality of preset view modes, and to the zoom operation instructing to continue to zoom in, zoom in and displaying at least a part of the plurality of icons in accordance with a zoom ratio currently instructed by the zoom operation and a zoom-in ratio threshold, or in accordance with an icon display size currently instructed by the zoom operation and a maximum icon display size; or in response to the graphical user interface being currently displayed in a minimum view mode corresponding to a smallest preset view display size among the plurality of preset view modes, and to the zoom operation instructing to continue to zoom out, zooming out and displaying at least a part of the plurality of icons in accordance with a zoom ratio currently instructed by the zoom operation and a zoom-out ratio threshold, or in accordance with an icon display size currently instructed by the zoom operation and a minimum icon display size ([0210]; once the max threshold is reached, the size of the icon cannot be zoomed in further).
As to claim 8, Fan discloses in response to switching to a second view mode, displaying at least a part of the plurality of icons with a predetermined icon display size corresponding to the second view mode, and then zooming and displaying at least a portion of the plurality of icons proportionally according to a zoom ratio currently indicated by the zoom operation ([0210]; the size of the icons is proportional to the scaling-up ratio).
As to INDEPENDENT claim 18 is rejected under the same rationale addressed in the rejection of claim 1 above.
As to claim INDEPENDENT 19 is rejected under the same rationale addressed in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7 and 9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/HAOSHIAN SHIH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2179