DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, Species A in the reply filed on 6/29/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-17 and 21-27 are pending with claims 18-20 and 28 withdrawn from consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2020/0308718 of Patru et al in view of US 2018/0111083 of Masel and/or US 2018/0171492 of Salehi-Khojin et al (herein Salehi).
As to claims 1, 5-8 and 15, Patru teaches of a system comprising:
(a) a membrane electrode assembly (MEA) (Patru, [0019] and Fig. 1) comprising:
(i) a cathode layer comprising a carbon oxide reduction catalyst that promotes reduction of a carbon oxide and the cathode layer comprises an anion conducting polymer (Patru, [0020]),
(ii) an anode layer comprising a catalyst that promotes oxidation of a water (Patru, [0020]), and
(iii) a polymer electrolyte membrane (PEM) layer disposed between, and in contact with, the cathode layer and the anode layer (Patru, [0020]); and
(b) a source of anode water wherein the source of anode water is connected to the MEA in a manner allowing the anode water to contact the anode layer (Patru, [0004] and [0062]).
In specific to claims 5 and 8, Patru teaches the MEA has at least one layer of a cation conducting polymer and at least one layer of an anion conducting polymer (Patru, [0060] and [0021] – [0022]).
In specific to claim 6, Patru teaches the PEM layer comprising a polymer electrolyte layer and a cathode buffer layer (Patru, [0025] – [0029]).
In specific to claim 7, Patru teaches the PEM layer is a cation conducting polymer and the cathode buffer layer is an anion conducting polymer (Patru, [0025] – [0029]).
Patru does not teach that the anode water has a salt concentration therein, although it is noted that Patru teaches that water can be supplied to the anode (Patru, [0004]).
Masel teaches of carbon dioxide reduction electrolysis systems (Masel, [0010]).
Masel teaches that within system that utilize anion conducting polymers between the electrodes, the anode of the system for CO2 reduction is fed with 10 mM KHCO3 which allows for oxygen generation within the system as well as other reactions (Masel, [0014] and [0102] – [0106]).
Salehi teaches of carbon dioxide reduction electrolysis systems (Salehi, Abstract).
Salehi teaches that within system that utilize cation conducting polymers between the electrodes, the anode of the system for CO2 reduction is fed with salt solutions including salts of concentration between 0.01 mM (10 µM) to 100 mM which allows for the desired products to be produced at the anode (like oxygen) as well as buffer the solution or provide conductivity to the solution as required by the system (Salehi, [0125] – [0127]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Patru as per Masel and/or Salehi so as to utilize a salt solution at the anode in producing a desired product (in oxygen) or other products.
As to claims 2 and 3, Patru in view of Masel and/or Salehi teaches to the system of claim 1.
Patru teaches the reduction catalyst is gold, silver, copper or a combination thereof (Patru, [0035]).
As to claim 4, Patru in view of Masel and/or Salehi teaches to the system of claim 1.
Patru also teaches/shows the anode layer comprises a cation conducting polymer (Patru, [0025] and Fig. 1).
As to claims 9-14 and 16, Patru in view of Masel and/or Salehi teaches to the system of claim 1.
Patru teaches the reduction catalyst comprises copper or gold (Patru, [0035]).
As to the type of salt or the type of carbon oxide, these limitations do not further define the apparatus at hand.
With that said, it is noted that Masel teaches potassium bicarbonate (Masel, [102] – [0106]).
As to claim 14, Patru in view of Masel and/or Salehi teaches to the system of claim 1.
Patru teaches that the catalytic compositions are metallic or metal oxides, thus not transition metal ions (Patru, [0035] and [0051]).
Claims 21-22 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patru in view of Masel and/or Salehi as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 2017/0321334 of Kuhl et al.
As to claims 21, 22 and 25, Patru in view of Masel and/or Salehi teaches to the system of claim 1.
Patru in view of Masel and Salehi do not teach a recirculation loop for the anode water.
Kuhl teaches of a carbon oxide reduction reactor comprising MEA (Kuhl, [0017]).
Kuhl teaches that the system comprises a recirculation loop including a reservoir for receiving and storing the anode water that is then resupplied to the reactor (Kuhl, [0083] and Fig. 8).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Patru as per Kuhl so as to utilize an anode water recirculation system in order to resupply unreacted water to the reactor.
Claims 23-24 and 26-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patru in view of Masel and/or Salehi and Kuhl as applied to claim 21 above, and further in view of WO 2017/144395 of Stark et al. US 2019/0062931 of Stark is going to be used as the English equivalent in these rejections.
As to claims 23-24, Patru in view of Masel, Salehi and Kuhl teach to the system of claim 21.
Patru in view of Masel, Salehi and Kuhl do not teach a purification element for the anode water.
Stark teaches to the electrolytic reduction of carbon dioxide (Stark, Abstract).
Stark teaches that the anode water passes through a separation apparatus to remove water from the gas, thus removing impurities (or products) from the water which is then recycled back into the anode chamber (Stark, [0043] and Fig. 1).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Patru in view of Masel, Salehi and Kuhl as per Stark so as to utilize a purification element to remove unwanted components from the water stream prior to reintroducing it to the anode chamber.
As to claims 26-27, Patru in view of Masel, Salehi and Kuhl teach to the system of claim 21.
Patru in view of Masel, Salehi and Kuhl do not teach a cathode water recirculation system.
Stark teaches to the electrolytic reduction of carbon dioxide (Stark, Abstract).
Stark additionally teaches that the reduction product can be stripped of excess water such that the excess water is recycled to the anode chamber and cathode chamber, thus reducing the water requirement to the overall system (Stark, [0039]- [0044] and Fig. 1).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to Patru in view of Masel, Salehi and Kuhl as per Stark so as to strip excess water from the reduction product gas and provide the water to the anode chamber and cathode chamber to recycle the water and reduce the water requirement of the overall system.
Double Patenting
Claim 5 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 4 of U.S. Patent No. 12,043,912. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they claim the same structure of the apparatus at hand.
Conclusion
BRIAN W. COHEN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1759
/BRIAN W COHEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759