CTNF 18/736,256 CTNF 94161 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Priority 02-26 AIA Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 6/6/2024 is being considered. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Li (CN112932325A) . Regarding claim 1, Li discloses a substrate cleaning apparatus comprising: a roll brush configured to clean a surface of a substrate (intended use, can be used on any surface), wherein the roll brush includes: a drive shaft (Item 10) having a predetermined length; and a plurality of brush members (Item 20 and 30) disposed around an outside circumference of the drive shaft, and wherein a brush member of the plurality of brush members has a lower rotation speed than rotation speeds of other brush members of the plurality of brush members (Paragraph 5) . 07-15 AIA Claim s 1, 2, 14, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Nakayama (JP2010212295A) . Regarding claim 1, Nakayama discloses a substrate cleaning apparatus comprising: a roll brush configured to clean a surface of a substrate, wherein the roll brush includes: a drive shaft (Item 11) having a predetermined length; and a plurality of brush members (Item 7 and 8) disposed around an outside circumference of the drive shaft, and wherein a brush member of the plurality of brush members has a lower rotation speed than rotation speeds of other brush members of the plurality of brush members (Paragraph 24 opposite rotation so one would be +5m/s and the other would be -5m/s). Regarding claim 2, Nakayama discloses the substrate cleaning apparatus of claim 1 wherein the plurality of brush members comprises: a center brush member positioned to pass through a center of the substrate; and a side brush member disposed on a side of the center brush member, and wherein the center brush member has a rotation speed lower than a rotation speed of the side brush member (Figure 3b). Regarding claim 14, Nakayama discloses the substrate cleaning apparatus of claim 1, wherein the plurality of brush members comprises: a center brush member extending through a center of the substrate; and a side brush member disposed on a side of the center brush member, and wherein a distance between a first end of the center brush member and the center of the substrate is different from a distance between a second end of the center brush member and the center of the substrate (Figure 3b). Regarding claim 17, Nakayama discloses substrate cleaning apparatus comprising: a substrate support member rotatably supporting a substrate; and a roll brush configured to clean a surface of the substrate, wherein the roll brush includes: a drive shaft (11); a center brush member (Item 8 Figure 3b) extending through a center of the substrate; and a side brush member (Item 7) disposed on a side of the center brush member, and wherein the center brush member has a rotation speed lower than a rotation speed of the side brush member (Paragraph 24 opposite rotation so one would be +5m/s and the other would be -5m/s) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 3-5 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakayama (JP2010212295A) in view of Yoon (Kr101600774B1) . Regarding claim 3, Nakayama discloses the substrate cleaning apparatus of claim 2. Nakayama fails to explicitly disclose wherein the rotation speed of the center brush member is lower than a rotation speed of the drive shaft. Yoon teaches a substrate cleaner wherein the rotation speed of the center brush member is lower than a rotation speed of the drive shaft (Paragraph 64). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to simply substitute the rotational driving means as taught by Yoon for that of Nakayama. Yoon teaches means that are capable of driving two rollers in opposite directions while only using one drive shaft and one driving means. Thus one skilled in the art would lead to the predictable result of the gears of Yoon adequately rotating the brush. Regarding claim 4, Nakayama discloses the substrate cleaning apparatus of claim 2. Nakayama fails to explicitly disclose wherein the center brush member defines a space, and wherein the roll brush comprises: a speed control member inside the space of the center brush member, wherein an inner center region of the speed control member is connected with the drive shaft; and a connection member between the speed control member and an inner side of the center brush member. Yoon teaches a substrate cleaner wherein the center brush member defines a space, and wherein the roll brush comprises: a speed control member (Figure 8 and 9 Item 203o) inside the space of the center brush member, wherein an inner center region of the speed control member is connected with the drive shaft (Paragraph 64); and a connection member (Item 32) between the speed control member and an inner side of the center brush member. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to simply substitute the rotational driving means as taught by Yoon for that of Nakayama. Yoon teaches means that are capable of driving two rollers in opposite directions while only using one drive shaft and one driving means. Thus one skilled in the art would lead to the predictable result of the gears of Yoon adequately rotating the brush. Regarding claim 5, Nakayama in view of Yoon disclose the substrate cleaning apparatus of claim 4, wherein the speed control member and the connection member are in a gear structure, and a gear tooth is on the inner side of the center brush member (Yoon Figure 9). Regarding claim 18, Nakayama discloses the substrate cleaning apparatus of claim 17. Nakayama fails to explicitly disclose the center brush member defines a space that receives a gear tooth, and wherein the roll brush includes: a center speed control member inside the space of the center brush member, wherein an inner center region of the center speed control member is connected with the drive shaft; and a center connection member having a gear structure and disposed between the center speed control member and an inner side of the center brush member. Yoon teaches a substrate cleaner wherein the center brush member defines a space that receives a gear tooth, and wherein the roll brush includes: a center speed control member (Item 203o) inside the space of the center brush member, wherein an inner center region of the center speed control member is connected with the drive shaft (Paragraph 64); and a center connection member (Item 32) having a gear structure and disposed between the center speed control member and an inner side of the center brush member. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to simply substitute the rotational driving means as taught by Yoon for that of Nakayama. Yoon teaches means that are capable of driving two rollers in opposite directions while only using one drive shaft and one driving means. Thus one skilled in the art would lead to the predictable result of the gears of Yoon adequately rotating the brush. Regarding claim 19, Nakayama in view of Yoon disclose the substrate cleaning apparatus of claim 18, wherein the side brush member defines a space that receives a gear tooth, and wherein the roll brush comprises: a side speed control member inside the space of the side brush member, wherein an inner center region of the side speed control member is connected with the drive shaft; and a side connection member having a gear structure and disposed between the side speed control member and an inner side of the side brush member (Yoon Figure 9). Regarding claim 20, Nakayama discloses substrate cleaning apparatus comprising: a substrate support member rotatably supporting a substrate; and a roll brush configured to clean a surface of the substrate, wherein the roll brush includes: a drive shaft (11); a center brush member (Item 8 Figure 3b) extending through a center of the substrate; and a side brush member (Item 7) disposed on a side of the center brush member, and wherein the center brush member has a rotation speed lower than a rotation speed of the side brush member (Paragraph 24 opposite rotation so one would be +5m/s and the other would be -5m/s). Nakayama fails to explicitly disclose wherein the center brush member and the side brush member are rotatable with respect to the drive shaft, Yoon teaches a means for rotation between the drive shaft and the brush (Figure 9). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to simply substitute the rotational driving means as taught by Yoon for that of Nakayama. Yoon teaches means that are capable of driving two rollers in opposite directions while only using one drive shaft and one driving means. Thus one skilled in the art would lead to the predictable result of the gears of Yoon adequately rotating the brush . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 6-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakayama (JP2010212295A) in view of Yoon (Kr101600774B1) in view of Omer (GB2548722A) . Regarding claim 6, 8, and 10, Nakayama discloses the substrate cleaning apparatus of claim 2. Nakayama fails to explicitly disclose wherein the center brush member defines a space, and wherein the roll brush comprises: a speed control member inside the space of the center brush member, wherein an inner center region of the speed control member is connected with the drive shaft; and a connection member between the speed control member and an inner side of the center brush member. Yoon teaches a substrate cleaner wherein the center brush member defines a space, and wherein the roll brush comprises: a speed control member (Figure 8 and 9 Item 203o) inside the space of the center brush member, wherein an inner center region of the speed control member is connected with the drive shaft (Paragraph 64); and a connection member (Item 32) between the speed control member and an inner side of the center brush member. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to simply substitute the rotational driving means as taught by Yoon for that of Nakayama. Yoon teaches means that are capable of driving two rollers in opposite directions while only using one drive shaft and one driving means. Thus one skilled in the art would lead to the predictable result of the gears of Yoon adequately rotating the brush. Nakayama further fails to disclose a connection shaft extending from the drive shaft to the inner side of the center brush member, wherein an end portion of the connection shaft is rotatably connected to the center brush member. Omer teaches a drivetrain wherein a connection shaft (Item 198) extending from the drive shaft to the inner side of the center brush member, wherein an end portion of the connection shaft is rotatably connected to the center brush member. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nakayama with the connection shaft of Omer. Such a modification would allow the brush to rotate at any angle without the risk of jamming up (Omer end of Page 2). Regarding claim 7 , 9 and 11, Nakayama in view of Yoon in view of Omer disclose the substrate cleaning apparatus of claim 6, wherein: the speed control member includes a gear structure, and a gear tooth is on the inner side of the center brush member (Yoon figure 9) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakayama (JP2010212295A) in view of Huang (US 2017/0092481) . Regarding claim 12, Nakayama discloses the substrate cleaning apparatus of claim 1. Nakayama fails to explicitly disclose an auxiliary brush positioned on a region of the substrate cleaning apparatus different from a region in which the roll brush is positioned, the auxiliary brush being configured to clean the surface of the substrate. Huang teaches a substrate cleaning apparatus wherein an auxiliary brush positioned on a region of the substrate cleaning apparatus different from a region in which the roll brush is positioned, the auxiliary brush being configured to clean the surface of the substrate (Item 32c). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nakayama to include the auxillary brushes as taught by Huang. Such a modification would increase the number of brushes capable of cleaning, thus increasing the throughput of the post CMP cleaning step (Huang Paragraph 44) Regarding claim 13, Nakayama in view of Huang disclose the substrate cleaning apparatus of claim 12, wherein the auxiliary brush comprises: an auxiliary drive shaft; and an auxiliary brush member disposed around an outside circumference of the auxiliary drive shaft and positioned on a circumference passing through a gap, the gap being defined in a region in which ends of the plurality of brush members face each other (Huang Figure 2a) . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 15 and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to TOM R RODGERS whose telephone number is (313)446-4849. The examiner can normally be reached Monday thru Friday 8AM-5PM EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, David Posigian can be reached at (313) 446-6546. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /TOM RODGERS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723 Application/Control Number: 18/736,256 Page 2 Art Unit: 3723 Application/Control Number: 18/736,256 Page 3 Art Unit: 3723 Application/Control Number: 18/736,256 Page 4 Art Unit: 3723 Application/Control Number: 18/736,256 Page 5 Art Unit: 3723 Application/Control Number: 18/736,256 Page 6 Art Unit: 3723 Application/Control Number: 18/736,256 Page 7 Art Unit: 3723 Application/Control Number: 18/736,256 Page 8 Art Unit: 3723 Application/Control Number: 18/736,256 Page 9 Art Unit: 3723 Application/Control Number: 18/736,256 Page 10 Art Unit: 3723