DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 6/6/2024 is being considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, and 5are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Labelle (US 1,071,758).
Regarding claim 1, Labelle discloses a scraper comprising:
a blade body (Item 1) defining a rear end and a front end (Figure 3 bottom of page) opposite the rear end, wherein the blade body is provided with an end face at the front end, wherein the end face has a first edge connected to a bottom surface and a second edge connected to a top surface opposite the bottom surface, wherein the top surface is provided with a plurality of grooves (Item 2), wherein each of the plurality of grooves has a first end connected to the end face and a second end extended toward the rear end, wherein a first thickness is formed between the first edge and the second edge, wherein a second thickness is formed between the first edge and the first end, and wherein the second thickness is less than the first thickness (Figures 2 and 3).
Regarding claim 4, Labelle discloses the scraper as claimed in claim 1, wherein the blade body further defines a left side and a right side, and wherein the second edge of the end face and the first ends of the plurality of grooves collectively form a wavy pattern extending from the left side to the right side (Figures 2 and 3).
Regarding claim 5, Labelle discloses the scraper as claimed in claim 1, wherein the blade body is further provided with a bottom plane and an top plane parallel to each other, wherein the bottom plane is connected to one side of the bottom surface opposite to the end face, wherein the top plane is connected to one side of the top surface opposite to the end face, wherein a third thickness is formed between the bottom plane and the top plane, and wherein the third thickness is greater than twice the first thickness and less than three times the first thickness (Item 8 gives a greater thickness than just Item 1. Further, first and second planes are imaginary planes, which means as long as they are parallel and at different thicknesses, they would meet the limitations of the claim).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Labelle (US 1,071,758) in view of Darby (US 2,626,520).
Regarding claim 2, Labelle discloses the scraper as claimed in claim 1. Labelle fails to explicitly disclose wherein the second thickness is less than 0.6 times the first thickness and greater than 0.3 times the first thickness.
Darby teaches a scraper wherein the second thickness is less than 0.6 times the first thickness and greater than 0.3 times the first thickness (Column 2 Lines 20-25 and Column 3 Lines 5-18).
Darby gives an example of how different effluent products require different thicknesses. Thus, the claimed dimensions are recognized as result effective variable, i.e. a variable in which achieves a recognized result as set forth above. Therefore since the general conditions of the claim (e.g. having the claimed structure as recited above) is disclosed by Labelle in view of Darby it is not inventive to discover the optimum workable range by routine experimentation, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time when the invention was filed to provide the second thickness is less than 0.6 times the first thickness and greater than 0.3 times the first thickness. Further in the instant application Paragraphs 17 applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitations.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Labelle (US 1,071,758) in view of Davis (US 3,119,138)
Regarding claim 3, Labelle discloses the scraper as claimed in claim 1. Labelle fails to explicitly disclose wherein the bottom surface and the top surface are both in a planar structure, wherein an angle is formed between the bottom surface and the top surface, and wherein the angle is greater than 5 degrees and less than 15 degrees.
Davis teaches a scraper wherein the bottom surface and the top surface are both in a planar structure, wherein an angle is formed between the bottom surface and the top surface. (Figures 2 and 4). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Labelle to have the surfaces inclined toward each other to form an angle as taught by Davis. Such a modification would allow for the blade to bend across uneven surfaces while the grooves are sized to properly meter the effluent material (Column 3 Lines 30-72). Further it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the angle in which the top surface and the lower surface meet to be between wherein the angle is greater than 5 degrees and less than 15 degrees. Such a modification is viewed as a change in shape, which has been held to be of routine by one skilled in the art (see MPEP 2144.04). User’s would want thinner, more bendable blades if the surface they intended to work upon was more uneven. In the instant application there is no criticality given to the claimed range.
Conclusion
/TOM RODGERS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723