DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-9 and 13-20 are pending. Claims 1, 16, and 20 are independent. Claims have not been amended. Claims 10-12 are canceled. Claims are amended.
This Application was published as U.S. 20250378830.
Apparent priority: 6 June 2024.
Applicant’s amendments and arguments are considered but are either unpersuasive or moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Examiner suggested amendments to the Claims at the end of August and conducted follow-ups and while the representative was most cordial, as of the date of this Action in October, no response has been received.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Amendments and arguments are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Independent Claims Amendments
1. A voice assistant system, comprising:
one or more processing devices configured to:
receive input audio data that corresponds to an input speech; and
process the input audio data to obtain an input text of the input speech and an input paralinguistic element of the input speech; and
a large language processing subsystem configured to:
generate a response based on the input text and the input paralinguistic element of the input speech, the response including at least an output text of an output speech,
wherein the one or more processing devices are further configured to: convert the response into output audio data that corresponds to the output speech,
wherein the one or more processing devices comprise:
an auxiliary encoder configured to obtain one or more input paralinguistic parameters representing the input paralinguistic element of the input speech; and
an expression generator configured to generate one or more expression embeddings based on the one or more input paralinguistic parameters, one or more output paralinguistic parameters derived based on the one or more input paralinguistic parameters, or both,
wherein the output audio data is generated by an expressive text-to-speech subsystem of the voice assistant system based on the output text and the one or more expression embeddings.
16. A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing computer-executable instructions that, when executed by a voice assistant system, cause the voice assistant system to:
receive input audio data that corresponds to an input speech;
process the input audio data to obtain an input text of the input speech and an input paralinguistic element of the input speech;
generate a response based on the input text and the input paralinguistic element of the input speech, the response including at least an output text of an output speech; and
convert the response into output audio data that corresponds to the output speech;
obtain one or more input paralinguistic parameters representing the input paralinguistic element of the input speech; and
generate one or more expression embeddings based on the one or more input paralinguistic parameters, one or more output paralinguistic parameters derived based on the one or more input paralinguistic parameters, or both,
wherein the output audio data is generated by an expressive text-to-speech subsystem based on the output text and the one or more expression embeddings.
20. A method of operating a voice assistant system on one or more processing devices, the method comprising:
receiving input audio data that corresponds to an input speech;
processing the input audio data to obtain an input text of the input speech and an input paralinguistic element of the input speech;
generating, by a large language processing subsystem of the voice assistant system, a response based on the input text and the input paralinguistic element of the input speech, the response including at least an output text of an output speech;
converting the response into output audio data that corresponds to the output speech;
obtaining one or more input paralinguistic parameters representing the input paralinguistic element of the input speech; and
generating one or more expression embeddings based on the one or more input paralinguistic parameters, one or more output paralinguistic parameters derived based on the one or more input paralinguistic parameters, or both,
wherein the output audio data is generated by an expressive text-to-speech subsystem based on the output text and the one or more expression embeddings.
Figure 4C is most representative of the independent Claims:
Figure 4E represents Claim 2 where the prompt generator is added:
Figures 4B, 4C, 4D, and 4F include direct inputs to the LLM/LLP system without first going through prompt generation and conform to the Claims:
Figures 4A and 4E include a prompt generator 420 which is not part of the independent Claims.
35 USC 112(f)
Applicant has not argued the 112(f) interpretation this time.
35 USC 101 Abstract Idea
Rejection is withdrawn in view of the amendments. See previous Office actions. The dependent Claims, whose limitations are now included in the independent Claims, were not considered abstract.
35 USC 103
Regarding the obviousness rejection based on Datta, Applicant argues:
Response 11.
Datta does not use the audio of the input speech to detect emotion:
Final Rejection of 5/7/2025, p. 27.
Portion cited by the Applicant refers to the “audio” of the speech but not its text:
Final Rejection of 5/7/2025, p. 24.
Nevertheless, Datta uses the current speech and detecting emotion from audio is elementary and Datta generates emotive and expressive speech as output.
Datta is using both the history of conversations as context and the text of the input speech of the user to the digital assistant to predict the primary emotion of the input and attributes that to the synthesized output speech.
This is not prominent in Datta. Further, Datta is not using the audio part of the speech for emotion detection.
Nevertheless the term “paralinguistic” is broad and can be taught by the “context” of Datta.
[0048] In some implementations, a context model 360 in communication with the assistant LLM 220 is configured to receive and process one or more context features 362 to generate a context embedding 364 associated with the input text 202. For example, the context features 362 may include the conversation history between the user 102 and the conversational assistant application 200 as context to the assistant LLM 220. By receiving historical context (e.g., via the context embedding 364), the assistant LLM 220 may be more efficiently perform the task of predicting the emotional state 232 of the input text 202. For example, the historical emotional states 232 (e.g., the previously predicted emotional states 232P from previous conversation turns) may better inform the assistant LLM 220 on the tone and/or emotion of the conversation between the user 102 and the assistant LLM 220.
[0027] LLM 220 may generate a response that answers the question. For example, the assistant LLM 220 generates input text 202 characterizing a natural language response generated by the assistant LLM 220 to the query 106 input by the user 102. The query 106 may similarly correspond to a request for information and the assistant LLM 220 may generate the input text 202 as the response conveying the requested information. While the term query 106 is used, the query 106 may correspond to any natural language dialog (e.g., a greeting) directed toward the assistant LLM 220 during the user's turn in the spoken conversation between the user 102 and the assistant LLM 220. The user 102 may speak the utterance of the query 106 in natural language and the ASR system 112 may perform speech recognition on the audio data characterizing the utterance 104 of the query 106 to generate a textual representation 108 of the query 106 spoken by the user 102. The textual representation 108 of the query 106 may be simply referred to as a textual query 108.
[0028] Referring to FIG. 2, during a first round trip, the conversational assistant application 200 feeds the textual query 108 to the assistant LLM 220 to enable the assistant LLM 220 to perform the task of generating input text 202 characterizing a natural language response to the user's query 106. Thereafter, the prompt structurer 210 receives the input text 202 output by the assistant LLM 220 and structures an emotion prompt 212 by conditioning the input text 202 on an emotion detection task prompt 214 to predict, as output from the assistant LLM 220, an emotional state 232P of the input text 202 characterizing the natural language response to the textual query 108. Here, the emotion detection task prompt 214 specifies a task for the assistant LLM 220 to detect an emotional state 232P of the input text 202 from a set of possible emotional states 232.
[0029] During a second round trip, the assistant LLM 220 performs the task of predicting the emotional state 232P of the input text 202 and then, based on the predicted emotional state 232P of input text 202 characterizing the natural language response, the conversational assistant application 200 determines an emotional embedding 242 specifying the emotional state of the input text 202 characterizing the natural language response for synthesizing the input text 202 into expressive speech, and instructs the TTS model 300 to process the input text 202 and the emotional embedding 242 to generate a synthesized speech representation 352 of the natural language response. Here, the synthesized speech representation 352 conveys the emotional state 232 of the natural language response as specified by the emotional embedding 242. While examples herein depict the same assistant LLM 220 generating the input text 202 characterizing the natural language response to the user's query 106 input to the assistant LLM 220 and detecting the emotional state 232P of the input text 202, other configurations where a two LLMs are utilized: a first LLM that processes the user's query 106 to generate the input text 202 characterizing the natural language response; and a second LLM that processes the input text 202 to predict the emotional state 232P of the input text.
Either way, detection of emotion from the text or audio of speech is well-known and is readily taught by a secondary reference such as the cited Chicote (U.S. 20210097976).
35 U.S.C. 112(f) Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “prompt generator,” “expression generator,” “avatar generator,” and “expression controller” in Claims 1-15. These limitations are generic in the context of the art and don’t refer to any specific structure and only serve as placeholders for the structure that performs the associated function(s) without providing any information about what that structure is. MPEP 2181 I A says:
For a term to be considered a substitute for "means," and lack sufficient structure for performing the function, it must serve as a generic placeholder and thus not limit the scope of the claim to any specific manner or structure for performing the claimed function. It is important to remember that there are no absolutes in the determination of terms used as a substitute for "means" that serve as generic placeholders. The examiner must carefully consider the term in light of the specification and the commonly accepted meaning in the technological art. Every application will turn on its own facts.
Based on the ordinary skill in the art and description of functions of these components in the Specification, they refer to processors or a combination of processor and memory and possibly transducers such as microphones and displays or to a combination of software and hardware.
PLEASE NOTE: This is NOT a rejection. Please don’t address it as a rejection. If the Applicant does not agree with the INTERPRETATION, the Applicant may argue or amend to replace the terms interpreted under 112(f) with structural terms such as “microphone” or “processor” as appropriately supported by the Specification. In the alternative, the Applicant may let the interpretation stand if the intent was to include a means plus function limitation in the Claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 16, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Datta (U.S. 20250201233) in view of Chicote (U.S. 20210097976).
Regarding Claim 1, Datta teaches:
1. A voice assistant system, comprising: [Datta, Figure 1, user 102 in conversation with an assistant device 110. “A method of providing emotive text-to-speech includes obtaining input text characterizing a natural language response generated by an assistant LLM to a query input by a user during a conversation between the user and the assistant LLM, and processing, using the assistant LLM, the input text conditioned on an emotion detection task prompt to predict, as output from the assistant LLM, an emotional state of the natural language response. The method also includes determining, based on the emotional state of the natural language response predicted as output from the assistant LLM, an emotional embedding for the input text and instructing a TTS model to process the input text and the emotional embedding to generate a synthesized speech representation of the natural language response conveying the emotional state of the natural language response as specified by the emotional embedding.” Abstract.]
one or more processing devices configured to:
receive input audio data that corresponds to an input speech; and [Datta, Figure 1, input “utterance 104.” ]
process the input audio data to obtain an input text of the input speech and [Datta, Figure 1, , “ASR system 112” generates text 108 from the input audio. “[0027] … The user 102 may speak the utterance of the query 106 in natural language and the ASR system 112 may perform speech recognition on the audio data characterizing the utterance 104 of the query 106 to generate a textual representation 108 of the query 106 spoken by the user 102. The textual representation 108 of the query 106 may be simply referred to as a textual query 108.” ] an input paralinguistic element of the input speech; and (“[0028] Referring to FIG. 2… Here, the emotion detection task prompt 214 specifies a task for the assistant LLM 220 to detect an emotional state 232P of the input text 202 from a set of possible emotional states 232.” Note that “input text 202” is the output reply from the LLM 220 and is called input because it is input to the TTS 300. Datta is not detecting the emotion from the input Audio utterance 104 of the user.)
a large language processing subsystem configured to: [Datta, Figures 1-2, “Assistant Large Language Model 220.”]
generate a response based on the input text and the input paralinguistic element of the input speech, the response including at least an output text of an output speech, [Datta, Figures 1-2, “Assistant Large Language Model 220” outputs the “input text 202” and “emotional embedding 242” where the “input text 202” is the response to the user question see Figures 1 and 2, “synthesized speech representation 352” which is being output from TTS 300 and is also output from the device 10: “Don’t worry, it will come right out … 352.” Emotion is an input to the TTS as shown in Figure 2, 214 and 232. This emotion is not from the audio version of the input utterance of the user and “paralinguistic” can be interpreted to exclude text. NEVERTHELESS: 1) the emotion is detected from the text of the input speech as shown in Figure 2 at 232: the predicted emotion 232 is from the text “I just spilled …” shown in Figure 1 as the current input speech. “[0029] During a second round trip, the assistant LLM 220 performs the task of predicting the emotional state 232P of the input text 202 and then, based on the predicted emotional state 232P of input text 202 characterizing the natural language response, the conversational assistant application 200 determines an emotional embedding 242 specifying the emotional state of the input text 202 characterizing the natural language response for synthesizing the input text 202 into expressive speech, and instructs the TTS model 300 to process the input text 202 and the emotional embedding 242 to generate a synthesized speech representation 352 of the natural language response….” AND 2) the Claim is not defining “paralinguistic” and “the context features 362 may include the conversation history between the user 102 and the conversational assistant application 200” may be mapped to “paralinguistic element of the input speech” because it is not the text of the speech and it nevertheless pertains to it.]
wherein the one or more processing devices are further configured to: convert the response into output audio data that corresponds to the output speech, [Datta, Figures 1-3, TTS Model 300 generates the output response in speech. Figure 3: synthesized speech 352.]
wherein the one or more processing devices comprise:
an auxiliary encoder configured to obtain one or more input paralinguistic parameters representing the input paralinguistic element of the input speech; and [Datta, Figure 3, “context model 360.” “[0048] In some implementations, a context model 360 in communication with the assistant LLM 220 is configured to receive and process one or more context features 362 to generate a context embedding 364 associated with the input text 202. …. For example, the historical emotional states 232 (e.g., the previously predicted emotional states 232P from previous conversation turns) may better inform the assistant LLM 220 on the tone and/or emotion of the conversation between the user 102 and the assistant LLM 220.” The context model 360 is generating embeddings of emotion and thus teaches the auxiliary encoder of the Claim. It uses emotion detected from past conversations as well as the text of the current input as shown in Figure 2 at 232: the predicted emotion 232 is from the text “I just spilled …” shown in Figure 1 as the current input speech. The context 362 can be mapped to paralinguistic features of the current input speech.]
an expression generator configured to generate one or more expression embeddings based on the one or more input paralinguistic parameters, one or more output paralinguistic parameters derived based on the one or more input paralinguistic parameters, or both, [Datta, Figures 1-3, TTS Model 300 generates synthesized speech 352 that includes the predicted emotional embedding 242. See prediction shown in Figure 2.]
wherein the output audio data is generated by an expressive text-to-speech subsystem of the voice assistant system based on the output text and the one or more expression embeddings. [Datta, Figures 1-3, “TTS Model 300” generating an emotive response 352.]
Datta is using both the history of conversations as context and the text of the input speech of the user to the digital assistant to predict the primary emotion of the input and attributes that to the synthesized output speech. This is not prominent in Datta. Further, Datta is not using the audio part of the speech for emotion detection. Nevertheless the term “paralinguistic” is broad and can be taught by the “context” of Datta.
Either way, detection of emotion from the text or audio of speech is well-known.
Chicote teaches:
generate a response based on the input text and the input paralinguistic element of the input speech, the response including at least an output text of an output speech, [Chicote, Figure 3A, vocal characteristics 120 and the paralinguistic element of the speech that is part of the context data 215 are separate and also separate from the text data 110. Chicote further shows that “paralinguistic 310” = “context 215” and audio 120 as separate inputs. “[0018] The present disclosure relates to systems and methods for synthesizing speech from first input data (e.g., text data) using one or more vocal characteristics represented in second input data (e.g., audio recordings of people speaking, a textual description of a style of speaking, and/or a picture of a particular speaker). In various embodiments, the description of a voice is received; this voice description may include text data, speech data, or other data that describes vocal characteristics of a desired voice. These vocal characteristics may include a desired age, gender, accent, accent, and/or emotion. …” “[0019] … he encoder may further include a paralinguistic encoder that generates encoded paralinguistic features from the text data; these encoded paralinguistic features may represent higher-level characteristics such as emotion, urgency, and mood….”]
Datta and Chicote pertain to emotive TTS and it would have been obvious to buttress the system of Datta with the express teachings of Chicote regarding the use of audio/vocal characteristics to detect emotion in order to arrive at the claimed system. This combination falls under simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results or use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way. See MPEP 2141, KSR, 550 U.S. at 418, 82 USPQ2d at 1396.
Claim 16 is a computer program product system claim with limitations corresponding to the limitations of method Claim 1 and is rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 20 is a method claim with limitations corresponding to the limitations of Claim 1 and is rejected under similar rationale.
Note while for the bulk of the Claims the previous combination is preserved, mappings to Datta, where available, have been mentioned parenthetically.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9, 15-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brueckner (U.S. 20230395078) in view of Datta (U.S. 20250201233).
Regarding Claim 1, Brueckner teaches:
1. A voice assistant system, comprising:
one or more processing devices configured to: [Brueckner, Figure 1, “processor 106.”]
receive input audio data that corresponds to an input speech; and [Brueckner, Figure 1, “audio sensor 120.” Figure 3, “receive signals from audio sensor 302.”]
process the input audio data to obtain an input text of the input speech [Brueckner, Figure 3, “detect wake-up word? 304” which conducts an ASR which is usually done by first converting the audio signals into text. “[0026] … The wake-up word detector 202 may perform speech recognition on their received acoustic signals to identify whether a wake-up word was spoken. For instance, the wake-up word detector 202 may include an ASR model 204 configured to analyze the sound signals to determine whether that sound includes utterance of a wake-up word. …” “[0019]… The signal from the audio sensor 120 may facilitate speech recognition from audio received via the audio sensor 120 according to grammar associated with available commands and voice prompt generation.”] and an input paralinguistic element of the input speech; and [Brueckner, Figure 3, “306: detect emotion” based on the audio signals. “[0039] At operation 306, the emotion-aware processing system 130 detects emotion in the audio signals. In an example, the emotion-aware processing system 130 may utilize the emotion detector 206 to identify the emotion of the same audio signals detected as including the WuW….” WuW=wakeup word.]
a large language processing subsystem configured to:
generate a response based on the input text and the input paralinguistic element of the input speech, [Brueckner, Figure 3, “provide voice control session … according to detected emotion 312.” “[0048] At operation 312, the emotion-aware processing system 130 performs a voice control session configured according to the detected emotion….” The Paralinguistic element is emotion in this reference and the “Answer Prompt” of the reference is the “response” of the Claim. “[0013] The voice assistant system 100 may include one or more processors 106 configured to perform certain instructions, commands and other routines as described herein….” “[0014] The processors 106 may execute instructions for certain applications, including navigation, infotainment, climate control, etc….”], the response including at least an output text of an output speech, (previously in Claim 7) [Brueckner, Figure 3, 312, [0045] the use of TTS to generate the output indicates that the output is first in the form of text. See also: “[0034] … Further, a TTS model utilized by the emotion-aware processing system 130 may be configured as well. For instance, if the user is in a good mood, then a first TTS model may be used that provides for lively responses, but if the user is in a poor mood, a sad TTS model may instead be used that provides simple responses.”]
wherein the one or more processing devices are further configured to: convert the response into output audio data that corresponds to an output speech. [Brueckner, Figure 3, this step would occur after 312 and in response to the command provided by “provide voice control session … according to detected emotion 312” and is done by TTS / audio. “[0045] As another possibility, the verbosity of the prompts of the emotion-aware processing system 130 may be changed based on detected emotion….In another example, the TTS style of the answer prompt may change using an emotional TTS specific to the detected emotion (e.g., a first TTS for happy users, a second, different TTS for unhappy users, etc.). In yet another example, responsive to the detected emotion indicating anger, the prompt may be played in an apologetic TTS style. In a further example, wording and intonation of responses may be adjusted based on detected emotion, e.g., submissive responsive to detected of an aggressive user input or aggressive upon aggressive input.”]
wherein the one or more processing devices comprise:
an auxiliary encoder configured to obtain one or more input paralinguistic parameters representing the input paralinguistic element of the input speech; and (previously in Claim 7) [Brueckner, Figure 2, 206, Figure 3, 306: “[0027] The emotion detector 206 may also receive, from the audio sensors 120, the signals indicative of the sounds captured in the environment. In an example, the emotion detector 206 may analyze the manner in which an utterance is spoken….”]
an expression generator configured to generate one or more expression embeddings based on the one or more input paralinguistic parameters, one or more output paralinguistic parameters derived based on the one or more input paralinguistic parameters, or both, (previously in Claim 11) [Brueckner, the output/response to the user is adjusted according to detected emotion visually, verbally, and audibly by paralinguistic/emotional parameters. Note that in the reference “prompt” means response of the machine to the input command of the user: “[0045] As another possibility, the verbosity of the prompts of the emotion-aware processing system 130 may be changed based on detected emotion. In an example the verbosity may change based on the detected emotion to select from no answer prompts to user input, small answer prompts to user input, medium answer prompts to user input, or long answer prompts to user input. In another example, the TTS style of the answer prompt may change using an emotional TTS specific to the detected emotion (e.g., a first TTS for happy users, a second, different TTS for unhappy users, etc.). In yet another example, responsive to the detected emotion indicating anger, the prompt may be played in an apologetic TTS style. In a further example, wording and intonation of responses may be adjusted based on detected emotion, e.g., submissive responsive to detected of an aggressive user input or aggressive upon aggressive input.”]
wherein the output audio data is generated by an expressive text-to-speech subsystem of the voice assistant system based on the output text and the one or more expression embeddings. (previously in Claim 10) [Brueckner, Figure 2, “the emotion-aware processing system 130” / “expressive tts subsystem.” The TTS taught by reference indicates that some answers/responses are in text and converted to speech by the TTS of Brueckner. “[0045] As another possibility, the verbosity of the prompts of the emotion-aware processing system 130 may be changed based on detected emotion. In an example the verbosity may change based on the detected emotion to select from no answer prompts to user input, small answer prompts to user input, medium answer prompts to user input, or long answer prompts to user input. In another example, the TTS style of the answer prompt may change using an emotional TTS specific to the detected emotion (e.g., a first TTS for happy users, a second, different TTS for unhappy users, etc.)….”]
Brueckner teaches the use of an ASR/NLU system (Figure 2, “ASR/NLU Models 204”) for recognition of the input audio which would generally produce text but not always. So the “input text” is implied but not inherent in the teachings of the reference.
Brueckner does not use an LLM to generate the response. It does include LMs for its ASR/NLU operations: “[0011] … For instance, the performance of the ASR/NLU system may be adjusted according to the emotional state through acoustic models, language model weight sets, specific language models, etc. that correspond to the detected emotional state. …”
Datta:
Datta teaches:
1. A voice assistant system, comprising: [Datta, Figure 1, user 102 in conversation with an assistant device 110. “A method of providing emotive text-to-speech includes obtaining input text characterizing a natural language response generated by an assistant LLM to a query input by a user during a conversation between the user and the assistant LLM, and processing, using the assistant LLM, the input text conditioned on an emotion detection task prompt to predict, as output from the assistant LLM, an emotional state of the natural language response. The method also includes determining, based on the emotional state of the natural language response predicted as output from the assistant LLM, an emotional embedding for the input text and instructing a TTS model to process the input text and the emotional embedding to generate a synthesized speech representation of the natural language response conveying the emotional state of the natural language response as specified by the emotional embedding.” Abstract.]
one or more processing devices configured to:
receive input audio data that corresponds to an input speech; and [Datta, Figure 1, input “utterance 104.” ]
process the input audio data to obtain an input text of the input speech and [Datta, Figure 1, , “ASR system 112” generates text 108 from the input audio. “[0027] … The user 102 may speak the utterance of the query 106 in natural language and the ASR system 112 may perform speech recognition on the audio data characterizing the utterance 104 of the query 106 to generate a textual representation 108 of the query 106 spoken by the user 102. The textual representation 108 of the query 106 may be simply referred to as a textual query 108.” ] an input paralinguistic element of the input speech; and (“[0028] Referring to FIG. 2… Here, the emotion detection task prompt 214 specifies a task for the assistant LLM 220 to detect an emotional state 232P of the input text 202 from a set of possible emotional states 232.” Note that “input text 202” is the output reply from the LLM 220 and is called input because it is input to the TTS 300. Datta is not detecting the emotion from the input Audio utterance 104 of the user.)
a large language processing subsystem configured to: [Datta, Figures 1-2, “Assistant Large Language Model 220.”]
generate a response based on the input text and the input paralinguistic element of the input speech, the response including at least an output text of an output speech, [Datta, Figures 1-2, “Assistant Large Language Model 220” outputs the “input text 202” and “emotional embedding 242” where the “input text 202” is the response to the user question see Figures 1 and 2, “synthesized speech representation 352” which is being output from TTS 300 and is also output from the device 10: “Don’t worry, it will come right out … 352.” Emotion is an input to the TTS as shown in Figure 2, 214 and 232. This emotion is not from the audio version of the input utterance of the user and “paralinguistic” can be interpreted to exclude text. NEVERTHELESS: 1) the emotion is detected from the text of the input speech as shown in Figure 2 at 232: the predicted emotion 232 is from the text “I just spilled …” shown in Figure 1 as the current input speech. “[0029] During a second round trip, the assistant LLM 220 performs the task of predicting the emotional state 232P of the input text 202 and then, based on the predicted emotional state 232P of input text 202 characterizing the natural language response, the conversational assistant application 200 determines an emotional embedding 242 specifying the emotional state of the input text 202 characterizing the natural language response for synthesizing the input text 202 into expressive speech, and instructs the TTS model 300 to process the input text 202 and the emotional embedding 242 to generate a synthesized speech representation 352 of the natural language response….” AND 2) the Claim is not defining “paralinguistic” and “the context features 362 may include the conversation history between the user 102 and the conversational assistant application 200” may be mapped to “paralinguistic element of the input speech” because it is not the text of the speech and it nevertheless pertains to it.]
wherein the one or more processing devices are further configured to: convert the response into output audio data that corresponds to the output speech, [Datta, Figures 1-3, TTS Model 300 generates the output response in speech. Figure 3: synthesized speech 352.]
wherein the one or more processing devices comprise:
an auxiliary encoder configured to obtain one or more input paralinguistic parameters representing the input paralinguistic element of the input speech; and [Datta, Figure 3, “context model 360.” “[0048] In some implementations, a context model 360 in communication with the assistant LLM 220 is configured to receive and process one or more context features 362 to generate a context embedding 364 associated with the input text 202. …. For example, the historical emotional states 232 (e.g., the previously predicted emotional states 232P from previous conversation turns) may better inform the assistant LLM 220 on the tone and/or emotion of the conversation between the user 102 and the assistant LLM 220.” The context model 360 is generating embeddings of emotion and thus teaches the auxiliary encoder of the Claim. It uses emotion detected from past conversations as well as the text of the current input as shown in Figure 2 at 232: the predicted emotion 232 is from the text “I just spilled …” shown in Figure 1 as the current input speech. The context 362 can be mapped to paralinguistic features of the current input speech.]
an expression generator configured to generate one or more expression embeddings based on the one or more input paralinguistic parameters, one or more output paralinguistic parameters derived based on the one or more input paralinguistic parameters, or both, [Datta, Figures 1-3, TTS Model 300 generates synthesized speech 352 that includes the predicted emotional embedding 242. See prediction shown in Figure 2.]
wherein the output audio data is generated by an expressive text-to-speech subsystem of the voice assistant system based on the output text and the one or more expression embeddings. [Datta, Figures 1-3, “TTS Model 300” generating an emotive response 352.]
Brueckner and Datta pertain to emotive TTS and it would have been obvious to modify the older Brueckner with the more modern aspects of Datta to arrive at the claimed system that uses LLMs instead of simpler digital assistant. This combination falls under simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results or use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way. See MPEP 2141, KSR, 550 U.S. at 418, 82 USPQ2d at 1396.
Regarding Claim 2, Brueckner teaches:
2. The voice assistant system of claim 1, wherein the large language processing subsystem comprises:
a prompt generator configured to generate a prompt based on the input text and the one or more input paralinguistic parameters, [Brueckner, “[0021] The voice assistant system 100 may further include an audio system providing audio playback functionality through speakers 124 or headphones located within the environment….” “[0019] … The signal from the audio sensor 120 may facilitate speech recognition from audio received via the audio sensor 120 according to grammar associated with available commands and voice prompt generation.” The “prompt” of the Claim is the question/command that is generated based on the input audio and emotion and is taught in Figure 3 by the input to the box 312.]
wherein:
the response is generated based on applying a large language model of the large language processing subsystem on at least the prompt. [Brueckner, Figure 3, 312 and Figure 1 output of a response by the “emotion-aware processing system 130” in the form of audio from speaker 124 to the input of the command by the user.]
Brueckner does not teach the user of an encoder or an LLM.
Datta teaches:
2. The voice assistant system of claim 1, wherein the large language processing subsystem comprises:
a prompt generator configured to generate a prompt based on the input text and the one or more input paralinguistic parameters, [Datta, Figure 2, “prompt structurer 210.” “[0028] … Thereafter, the prompt structurer 210 receives the input text 202 output by the assistant LLM 220 and structures an emotion prompt 212 by conditioning the input text 202 on an emotion detection task prompt 214 to predict, as output from the assistant LLM 220, an emotional state 232P of the input text 202 characterizing the natural language response to the textual query 108. Here, the emotion detection task prompt 214 specifies a task for the assistant LLM 220 to detect an emotional state 232P of the input text 202 from a set of possible emotional states 232.” Any type of context can be mapped to “paralinguistic” of the Claim: “[0039] The assistant LLM 220 is configured to receive the emotional prompt 212 and process the input text 202 conditioned on the emotion detection task prompt 214 output by the prompt structurer 210 to predict, as output, an emotional state 232P of the input text 202 (i.e., the natural language response). In some implementations, the assistant LLM 220 also receives, as input, one or more few-shot learning examples 216 that each depict an exemplary text-input paired with a ground-truth emotional state classification of the example text-input. Here, each few-shot learning example 216 provides in-context learning for enabling the assistant LLM 220 to generalize for the task of detecting emotional states of input texts.….”]
wherein:
the response is generated based on applying a large language model of the large language processing subsystem on at least the prompt, and [Datta, Figures 1, 2, 3, the assistant device that generates the response 352 is an “Assistant LLM 220” operating on “prompt 212” generated by a “prompt structurer 210.”]
Brueckner and Datta pertain to emotive TTS and it would have been obvious to modify the older Brueckner with the more modern aspects of Datta to arrive at the claimed system that uses LLMs instead of simpler digital assistant and also the context of Datta and the emotional content of Brueckner are substitutable. In this case Brueckner gets the emotion from the input voice but Datta tries to get it from past conversation context. This combination falls under simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results or use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way. See MPEP 2141, KSR, 550 U.S. at 418, 82 USPQ2d at 1396.
Regarding Claim 3, Brueckner teaches:
3. The voice assistant system of claim 2, wherein the prompt generator includes a learning logic or a machine learning model. [Brueckner teaches that its question/command that is generated based on the audio input and detected emotion (step 306 performed by module 206) is generated by a system that includes machine learning: “[0027] The emotion detector 206 may also receive, from the audio sensors 120, the signals indicative of the sounds captured in the environment. In an example, the emotion detector 206 may analyze the manner in which an utterance is spoken. This may include extracting a set of features (e.g., prosodic, spectral, cepstral, voice quality, etc.), and learning a mapping between those features and respective target emotions. … In another example, the emotion detector 206 may learn the features inherently in a mapping directly from the raw waveform data of the signals received from the audio sensors 120. …. “[0028] … In an example, raw data or processed feature data of the user detected from the image sensor 122 may be applied to a machine learning model to aid in predicting a probable emotional state of the user….”] (Prompt in the Claim is question/command generated by the system for input to LLM. Prompt in the reference is the answer/response from system 130.]
(Datta, “prompt structurer 210” teaches the prompt generator of the Claim:
”[0005] … In these implementations, the fine-tuned prompt embedding may be learned during a prompt embedding fine-tuning process. The fine-tuning process includes initializing a prompt embedding as fixed-length sequence of learnable vectors, and receiving a training dataset of natural language training utterances….”)
Regarding Claim 4, Brueckner teaches:
4. The voice assistant system of claim 2, further comprising a user interface configured to display the prompt generated by the prompt generator. [Brueckner, Figure 3, “provide initial confirmation 310” is when the system checks with the user if the question/command /”prompt” of the Claim that it has generated is ok. “[0047] … In an example, the emotion-aware processing system 130 may provide a confirmation that the WuW was detected and that a voice control session has been initiated. This confirmation may include one or more of a visual confirmation (e.g., via the displays 126), an Earcon (e.g., provided to the speakers 124), and/or a speech confirming the session (e.g., provided to the speakers 124).”]
(Datta, Figure 1 has a use interface 18 but is not echoing the prompt.)
Regarding Claim 5, Brueckner teaches:
5. The voice assistant system of claim 2,
further comprising a user interface configured to obtain a user profile, [Brueckner, Figure 1, “[0012] FIG. 1 illustrates a block diagram for a voice assistant system 100 for providing an interface customized to the detected emotional state of the user, in accordance with an embodiment of the disclosure….” “[0011] … In yet another example, the emotional state may be used to modify the way and style of the user interface (UI) or virtual assistant (VA) responses, such as its verbosity or its empathetic reaction (e.g., submissive behavior upon aggressive user input). …”]
wherein the prompt generator is configured to generate the prompt further based on the user profile. [Brueckner: the use of machine learning for the generating of the emotion (part of the prompt/question/command) implies the use of user profile: “[0049] … Moreover, the emotion detector 206 may be relatively easier to train as the emotion detector 206 may be trained to detect emotional state on the more limited corpus of the WuW, as opposed to on any general speech input. The emotion customization engine 208 may be configured to utilize the detected emotional state to customize further interaction of the user with the emotion-aware processing system 130. Accordingly, the detection of the emotion of a WuW spoken by a user may be used to enable and build an empathetic user interface.”]
Although the use of machine learning for the generating of the emotion (part of the prompt/question/command) implies the use of user profile, this is not express.
Datta teaches:
further comprising a user interface configured to obtain a user profile, [Datta, Figure 3, “context features 362” include history of past conversations and teach the user profile of the Claim. “[0048] … For example, the context features 362 may include the conversation history between the user 102 and the conversational assistant application 200 as context to the assistant LLM 220….”]
wherein the prompt generator is configured to generate the prompt further based on the user profile. [Datta, Figure 3, the context/user profile is included as part of the prompt to the LLM 220. “[0048] … By receiving historical context (e.g., via the context embedding 364), the assistant LLM 220 may be more efficiently perform the task of predicting the emotional state 232 of the input text 202. For example, the historical emotional states 232 (e.g., the previously predicted emotional states 232P from previous conversation turns) may better inform the assistant LLM 220 on the tone and/or emotion of the conversation between the user 102 and the assistant LLM 220.”]
Rationale as provided for Claim 5.
Regarding Claim 6, Brueckner teaches:
6. The voice assistant system of claim 2, further comprising
one or more sensors configured to obtain one or more sensory inputs, wherein the prompt generator is configured to generate the prompt further based on the one or more sensory inputs. [Brueckner, Figure 1, “physiological sensors 128” collecting “paralinguistic elements” of speech which are used together with the audio input in Figure 3, “detect emotion 306” to generate the command/question/Prompt that is performed at 312. “[0023] The voice assistant system 100 may also include various physiological sensors 128. The physiological sensors 128 may include, in an example, one or more pressure sensors, e.g., to measure the occupant's firmness of grasp of the steering wheel. In another example, the physiological sensors 128 may include one or more skin conductance sensors….” “[0029] In some examples, the emotion detector 206 may be configured to additionally or alternately detect emotion of the user based on information received from the physiological sensors 128….”]
(Datta teaches sensory feedback ([0063]) but not sensors for input.)
Regarding Claim 7, Brueckner does not teach an LLM.
Datta teaches:
7. The voice assistant system of claim 1, wherein the response is generated based on applying a large language model of the large language processing subsystem on at least the input text and the one or more input paralinguistic parameters. [Datta, Figures 1-3, “Assistant LLM 220” generates the response 352 based on the “textual query 108” / “input text” and the context 362 of Figure 3 or emotional state 230 of Figure 2 as paralinguistic parameters.]
Rationale as provided for Claim 1.
Regarding Claim 8, Brueckner teaches:
8. The voice assistant system of claim 7, wherein the response is generated based on applying the large language model of the large language processing subsystem further on: a user setting, a user profile, one or more sensory inputs, or any combination thereof. [Brueckner, see rejection of Claim 6. This reference does not use LLMs to generate its response but uses the inputs of various sensors to generate the question/prompt that leads to the response. Figure 1, “physiological sensors 128” collecting “paralinguistic elements” of speech which are used together with the audio input in Figure 3, “detect emotion 306” to generate the command/question/Prompt that is performed at 312. “[0029] In some examples, the emotion detector 206 may be configured to additionally or alternately detect emotion of the user based on information received from the physiological sensors 128….”]
Brueckner does not teach an auxiliary encoder for the paralinguistic aspects nor an LLM.
Datta, as applied to Claim 1, uses the Assistant LLM 220 instead of the digital assistant of Brueckner and teaches:
8. The voice assistant system of claim 7, wherein the response is generated based on applying the large language model of the large language processing subsystem further on: a user setting, a user profile, one or more sensory inputs, or any combination thereof. [Datta, Figure 1 showing the “Assistant Large Language Model 220” generating the response that is output by the “TTS Model 300.”]
Rationale for combination as provided for Claim 1.
Regarding Claim 9, Brueckner teaches:
9. The voice assistant system of claim 7, wherein the response further includes one or more output paralinguistic parameters representing an output paralinguistic element of the output speech. [Brueckner, the output/response to the user is adjusted according to detected emotion visually, verbally, and audibly by paralinguistic/emotional parameters. Note that in the reference “prompt” means response of the machine to the input command of the user: “[0045] As another possibility, the verbosity of the prompts of the emotion-aware processing system 130 may be changed based on detected emotion. In an example the verbosity may change based on the detected emotion to select from no answer prompts to user input, small answer prompts to user input, medium answer prompts to user input, or long answer prompts to user input. In another example, the TTS style of the answer prompt may change using an emotional TTS specific to the detected emotion (e.g., a first TTS for happy users, a second, different TTS for unhappy users, etc.). In yet another example, responsive to the detected emotion indicating anger, the prompt may be played in an apologetic TTS style. In a further example, wording and intonation of responses may be adjusted based on detected emotion, e.g., submissive responsive to detected of an aggressive user input or aggressive upon aggressive input.”]
(Datta: the emotive context that is reflected in the output TTS teaches the paralinguistics.)
Regarding Claim 15, Brueckner teaches:
15. The voice assistant system of claim 1, further comprising one or more microphones configured to capture the input audio data that corresponds to the input speech. [Brueckner, Figure 1, “audio sensor 120.” “[0019] … For example, the cabin of the vehicle 104 may include at least one audio sensor 120. In one example, the audio sensor 120 may include an array of microphone elements arranged throughout the cabin…”]
(Datta: “[0031] Referring back to FIG. 1, the system 100 includes the user device 10, a remote computing system 60, and a network 40. The user device 10 includes data processing hardware 12 and memory hardware 14. The user device 10 may include, or be in communication with, an audio system 16a, 16b (e.g., an array of one or more microphones and/or speakers) for converting utterances of natural language queries 106 spoken by the user 102 into corresponding audio data (e.g., electrical signals or digital data). In lieu of spoken input, the user 103 may input a textual representation of the natural language query 106 via a user interface 20 executing on the user device 10….”)
Claim 16 is a computer program product system claim with limitations corresponding to the limitations of method Claim 1 and is rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 17 is a computer program product system claim with limitations corresponding to the limitations of method Claim 2 and is rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 18 is a computer program product system claim with limitations corresponding to the limitations of method Claim 7 and is rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 20 is a method claim with limitations corresponding to the limitations of Claim 1 and is rejected under similar rationale.
Claims 13 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brueckner and Datta further in view of Ramachandra (U.S. 20210326372).
Regarding Claim 13, Brueckner teaches:
13. The voice assistant system of claim 1, wherein the one or more processing devices comprise:
an expression controller configured to adjust the one or more expression embeddings to become one or more adjusted expression embeddings, [Brueckner, Figure 2, “emotion customization engine 208.” Customization is adjustment of the emotion. “[0049] … The emotion customization engine 208 may be configured to utilize the detected emotional state to customize further interaction of the user with the emotion-aware processing system 130. Accordingly, the detection of the emotion of a WuW spoken by a user may be used to enable and build an empathetic user interface.”]
wherein:
the output display data is generated by the audio-driven avatar generator based on the one or more adjusted expression embeddings, and [Brueckner, Figure 3, “configure system according to detected emotion 308.”]
the output audio data is generated by an expressive text-to-speech subsystem of the voice assistant system based on the output text and the one or more adjusted expression embeddings. [Brueckner, Figure 3, 312: “[0048] At operation 312, the emotion-aware processing system 130 performs a voice control session configured according to the detected emotion. In an example, the voice control session recognizer 210 may perform a voice control session triggered by the wake-up word detector 202 as detected at operation 306, configured by the emotion customization engine 208 at operation 308….”]
Auxiliary encoder and embeddings are taught by Datta as applied to Claims 1 and 2 above.
Brueckner/Datta do not teach the avatar generation of this claim.
Ramachandra teaches:
the output display data is generated by the audio-driven avatar generator based on the one or more adjusted expression embeddings, [Ramachandra, Figures 1-4 and 11 Ramachandra, Figures 1-4. A 3D hologram of a “digital persona 104” /avatar is generated based on the sentiment of the voice 134 and the text 132 of speech and expression of the face 136 of the speaker and used to output the audiovisual response. “In some examples, human centered computing based digital persona generation may include generating, for a digital persona that is to be generated for a target person, synthetic video files and synthetic audio files that are combined to generate synthetic media files. The digital persona may be generated based on a synthetic media file. An inquiry may be received from a user of the generated digital persona. Another synthetic media file may be used by the digital persona to respond to the inquiry. A real-time emotion of the user may be analyzed based on a text sentiment associated with the inquiry, and a voice sentiment and a facial expression associated with the user. Based on the real-time emotion of the user, a further synthetic media file may be utilized by the digital persona to continue or modify a conversation between the generated digital persona and the user.” Abstract. “[0043] A digital persona generator 118 that is executed by the at least one hardware processor (e.g., the hardware processor 1102 of FIG. 11, and/or the hardware processor 1304 of FIG. 13) may generate, based on a synthetic media file of the plurality of synthetic media files 116, the digital persona 104 displayed as a holographic projection 120 of the target person 106.” See Figure 11, 1108 for generation of the “synthetic audio files 1108” that is combined with the video files 1106 to generate the digital persona 1110. “[0046] A conversation adapter 138 that is executed by the at least one hardware processor (e.g., the hardware processor 1102 of FIG. 11, and/or the hardware processor 1304 of FIG. 13) may utilize, based on the real-time emotion 130 of the user 124 and by the generated digital persona 104, a further synthetic media file of the plurality of synthetic media files 116 to continue or modify a conversation 140 between the generated digital persona 104 and the user 124.” “[0062] … Low-dimensional speaker embeddings may be used to model the variability among the thousands of different speakers in a dataset. The sequence-to-sequence model may include an encoder, which maps input to embeddings containing relevant information to the output, and a decoder which generates output from these embedding.”]
Brueckner/Datta and Ramachandra pertain to an interactive response systems and it would have been obvious to modify the system of combination with the digital persona hologram generation of Ramachandra to provide a more advanced interface. This combination falls under combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results or use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way. See MPEP 2141, KSR, 550 U.S. at 418, 82 USPQ2d at 1396.
Claim 19 is a computer program product system claim with limitations corresponding to the limitations of method Claim 12 and is rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brueckner and Datta further in view of Mustafa (U.S. 20250217641).
Regarding Claim 14, Brueckner teaches:
14. The voice assistant system of claim 13, wherein the expression controller configured to adjust the one or more expression embeddings is further configured to:
apply a relative adjustment on the one or more expression embeddings based on a user input to obtain one or more derived expression embeddings; [Brueckner, Figure 3, “configure system according to detected emotion 308” is performed based on the same initial audio input by the user at 302.]
generate one or more baseline expression embeddings based on the user input and one or more template embeddings; and
generate the one or more adjusted expression embeddings based on applying a mixing function on the one or more derived expression embeddings and the one or more baseline expression embeddings.
Brueckner does not go into the details of the emotion adjustment the way the Claim does.
Datta teaches the “expression embeddings” but not the mixing function.
Mustafa teaches:
generate one or more baseline expression embeddings based on the user input and one or more template embeddings; and [Mustafa, Figures 1 and 2. “[0045] The neural network system 100 includes an attention-based, multi-modal mixture of experts (MoE) neural network, or an “attention neural network” for short, that has been configured through training to process an input tuple 102 and to perform any of a variety of multi-modal machine learning tasks on the input 102 to generate an output 172. The input tuple 102 can include multiple network inputs from different modalities.” The modalities may be text, image, and audio as set forth in [0045]. Figure 2, the first embedded sequence 204 and the second embedded sequence 206 teach the baseline embeddings of the Claim and the “input tuple” of 202 teaches the user input and step 204 uses a “predefined mapping” / “template embeddings” of the Claim: “[0076] … The vocabulary-based text embedding engine represents a sequence of text included in the first network input as a sequence of vocabulary tokens from a predefined set of vocabulary tokens, and then maps each vocabulary token to a corresponding numerical value in accordance with a predefined mapping.”]
generate the one or more adjusted expression embeddings based on applying a mixing function on the one or more derived expression embeddings and the one or more baseline expression embeddings. [Mustafa, Figure 2, 208 updating/modifying/adjusting the embeddings generated at 204 and 206 and mixing/combing the results at 210 and 212. “[0078] The system processes the first embedded sequence and the second embedded sequence using an attention neural network having multiple attention layers to generate an updated first embedded sequence and an updated second embedded sequence (step 208)….” “[0079] The system processes the updated first embedded sequence and the updated second embedded sequence to generate a final representation for the first network input in the first modality and a final representation for the second network input in the second modality (step 210). The updated first (or second) embedded sequence includes a respective updated token at each of the one or more positions in the first (or second) embedded sequence. Thus, the system can generate the final representation for the first (or second) network input by applying a pooling function to the updated first (or second) embedded sequence to combine the respective updated tokens within the updated first (or second) embedded sequence. The pooling function can be modality-specific, and the system can apply different pooling functions to the updated first and second embedded sequences.”]
Brueckner/Datta and Mustafa pertain to multimodal detection and subsequent classification of characteristics by neural networks and it would have been obvious to apply the MoE/mixing model of Mustafa to the embeddings generated by the system of combination for the standard benefits of the use of MoEs. This combination falls under combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results or use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way. See MPEP 2141, KSR, 550 U.S. at 418, 82 USPQ2d at 1396.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
With respect to a separate encoder for encoding contextual/paralinguistic information see:
Fan (US 12443633):
Pieraccini (U.S. 20240304184):
With respect to a separate prompt generation step please see:
Papajyannis (US 20250104693):
Previously cited:
Qi (U.S. 20250218432):
[0005] According to several aspects, a voice recognition system is disclosed and includes one or more controllers that each include one or more processors that execute instructions to receive an electrical signal representative of a voice signal generated by an occupant and image data representative of a head and an upper body of the occupant. The one or more controllers convert the electrical signal representative of the words spoken by the occupant into a sequence of tokens based on a supervised multicategory machine learning algorithm, where the sequence of tokens includes two or more tokens. The one or more controllers generate one or more sentences based on the sequence of tokens. The one or more controllers execute one or more eye and body tracking algorithms to determine one or more occupant intent factors based on the image data representative of the head and the upper body of the occupant. The one or more controllers execute one or more regression machine learning algorithms to determine an intended action of the occupant based on one or more of the occupant intent factors. The one or more controllers determine a context of the voice signal generated by the occupant based on the intended action, the one or more sentences, and a mood of the occupant. The one or more controllers execute one or more pattern recognition algorithms to determine a hands-free task based on the context of the voice signal generated by the occupant, the intended action, and the one or more sentences.
Mutanis (U.S. 20250118298):
Snitkovsky (U.S. 20250025084):
/Fariba Sirjani/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2659