Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I, claims 1-3 in the reply filed on 01/27/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2004/0142149 to Mollendorf et al. (hereinafter “Mollendorf”).
Mollendorf discloses a composite insulation material comprising: a hybrid insulation layer having a first surface and an opposed second surface, and made of a syntactic foam component, and a plurality of aerogel inserts embedded therein; a first laminate layer covering a first surface of the hybrid insulation layer; and a second laminate layer covering a second surface of the hybrid insulation layer (abstract, and paragraph 47). The first and second laminate layers can be the same or different, and can include a nylon/spandex laminating compound such as 78% nylon and 22% spandex (paragraph 47).
CA 3 015 904 is relied upon as evidence to establish a fact that Spandex, Lycra or Elastane comprises polyether-polyurea.
The nylon reads on the claimed polyamide while the spandex reads on the claimed polyether-polyurea.
The hybrid insulation layer comprises 85 vol% of aerogel inserts and 15 vol% of the syntactic foam component (figure 15). With the aerogel inserts comprising 85 vol% of the hybrid insulation layer, they dominate the volume and allows for more contact points between the aerogel inserts, facilitating an interconnected network structure. The syntactic foam component reads on the claimed reinforcement material. Additionally, the aerogel insert is in the form of an aerogel blanket fragment corresponding to the claimed reinforced aerogel composition comprising fiber reinforcements and an aerogel framework (paragraph 43).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mollendorf as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of US 3,991,551 to Petree (hereinafter “Petree”).
Mollendorf discloses that the first and second laminate layers can be the same or different, and can include a nylon/spandex laminating compound such as 78% nylon and 22% spandex (paragraph 47). The nylon reads on the claimed polyamide while the spandex reads on the claimed polyether-polyurea
Mollendorf does not explicitly disclose the first and second laminate layers comprising 82% nylon and 18% polyether-polyurea.
Petree, however, discloses a fabric material made from a composite elastic yarn comprising 82% nylon or polyamide; and 18% lycra or polyether-polyurea (column 3, lines 40-45). As shown in figure 2, the stretch nylon ends 12 and 14 relatively loosely wind around the lycra yarn 2.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the first and second laminate layers disclosed in Mollendorf including 82% nylon (polyamide) and 18% lycra (polyether-polyurea) disclosed in Petree, motivated by the desire to provide an excellent balance of mechanical strength, durability and flexibility.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mollendorf as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of US 2009/0029109 to Seth et al. (hereinafter “Seth”).
Mollendorf discloses that an adhesive material is provided to secure the hybrid insulation layer to the first or the second lamination layer. Mollendorf does not explicitly disclose the adhesive material that is a pressure sensitive adhesive material.
Seth, however, discloses an aerogel composite material 690 comprising a base layer 650 and a structured layer 600 bonded to the base layer (figure 8). Cavities 660 are bounded by the base layer, and span 670 of the structured layer passing through at least one crest 621 between adjacent bonded troughs 622 (paragraph 63). An aerogel material is included in the cavities. The aerogel material is an aerogel monolith or fiber reinforced aerogel monolith (paragraph 63). The structured layer is bonded to the base layer via an adhesive layer including a pressure sensitive adhesive, a hot melt adhesive and a curable adhesive (paragraph 84).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a pressure sensitive adhesive disclosed in Seth to secure the hybrid insulation layer to the first or second laminate layer disclosed in Mollendorf because a pressure sensitive adhesive, a hot melt adhesive and a curable adhesive have been shown in the art to be recognized equivalent adhesive materials for the aerogel composite materials and the selection of these known equivalents to be used as adhesive materials for the aerogel composites materials will be within the level of the ordinary skill in the art.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of U.S. Patent No. 12,103,209 (hereinafter “Patent ‘209”). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the current application are anticipated by those of the Patent ‘209.
As recited by claim 3, the first and second facing layers comprise elastic fibers including polyether-polyurea and nylon. The contents of the polyether-polyurea and the nylon are 18% and 82%, respectively as shown in examples 4 and 6.
Claim 3 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of U.S. Patent No. 12,103,209 (hereinafter “Patent ‘209”) as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Seth.
The Patent ‘209 discloses that the base layer is secured to the first or the second facing layer by a non-adhesive mechanism including stitching, sealing bags, rivets, buttons, clamps, wraps, braces or combinations thereof.
The Patent ‘209 does not explicitly disclose a pressure sensitive adhesive material provided to secure the base layer to the first or the second facing layer.
Seth, however, discloses an aerogel composite material 690 comprising a base layer 650 and a structured layer 600 bonded to the base layer (figure 8). Cavities 660 are bounded by the base layer, and span 670 of the structured layer passing through at least one crest 621 between adjacent bonded troughs 622 (paragraph 63). An aerogel material is included in the cavities. The aerogel material is an aerogel monolith or fiber reinforced aerogel monolith (paragraph 63). The structured layer is bonded to the base layer via an adhesive layer including a pressure sensitive adhesive, a hot melt adhesive and a curable adhesive (paragraph 84).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a pressure sensitive adhesive disclosed in Seth to secure the base layer to the first or second facing layer of the Patent ‘209 because the pressure sensitive adhesive and the non-adhesive mechanism have been shown in the art to be recognized equivalent means of attachment for use with the aerogel composite materials and the selection of these known equivalents to be used as means of attachment for use with the aerogel composite materials will be within the level of the ordinary skill in the art.
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of U.S. Patent No. 11,072,145 (hereinafter “Patent ‘145”). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the current application are anticipated by those of the Patent ‘145.
The first and second facing layers comprise elastic fibers made of a combination of polyurethane and nylon as recited by claim 1. The contents of the polyether-polyurea and the nylon are 18% and 82%, respectively as shown in examples 4 and 6.
Claim 3 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of U.S. Patent No. 11,072,145 (hereinafter “Patent ‘145”) as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Seth.
The Patent ‘145 discloses that the base layer is secured to the first or the second facing layer by an adhesive material.
The Patent ‘145 does not explicitly disclose the adhesive material being a pressure sensitive adhesive material.
Seth, however, discloses an aerogel composite material 690 comprising a base layer 650 and a structured layer 600 bonded to the base layer (figure 8). Cavities 660 are bounded by the base layer, and span 670 of the structured layer passing through at least one crest 621 between adjacent bonded troughs 622 (paragraph 63). An aerogel material is included in the cavities. The aerogel material is an aerogel monolith or fiber reinforced aerogel monolith (paragraph 63). The structured layer is bonded to the base layer via an adhesive layer including a pressure sensitive adhesive, a hot melt adhesive and a curable adhesive (paragraph 84).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a pressure sensitive adhesive disclosed in Seth to secure the base layer to the first or second facing layer of the Patent ‘145 because a pressure sensitive adhesive, a hot melt adhesive and a curable adhesive have been shown in the art to be recognized equivalent adhesive materials for the aerogel composite materials and the selection of these known equivalents to be used as adhesive materials for the aerogel composites materials will be within the level of the ordinary skill in the art.
Conclusion
/Hai Vo/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1788