DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 8-14, and 16-17, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bockheim et al. (US 7,551,432) in view of Sosan (US 11,581,914).
Regarding claims 1-2, Bockheim discloses a stand with an internal space for storage, wherein the stand comprises a physical mating element for mating to an electronic display device. See fig. 24 and note the shelves with the display attached on front. The shelves could be used for storage as desired, which would include kitchen utensils.
Bockheim discloses wherein the electronic display device attaches to a mounting panel which mostly blocks the view of the storage shelves (i.e. covering stored items). See col. 5: 17-20 and fig. 25. However, it is not really disclosed wherein this mounting system is configured for a tablet, nor wherein the display itself would block the view of the shelves (rather the mounting panel might block the view), However, various mounting schemes are established, including the trough scheme described by the mounting system of Sosan in col. 5: 59-63 and fig 1. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant’s filing, to consider such with the Bockheim system, so as to provide convenient and versatile display mounts.
Regarding claims 3-4, Bockheim discloses wherein the internal storage space is recessed within the structure in figs. 24 and 25. Note the shelves are generally internal to the mounting structure (i.e. the are enclosed on all but the ends).
Regarding claims 8-9, Sosan discloses wherein the mating component comprises a slide and lip system (i.e. the device slides in a trough). See col. 5: 59-63 and fig 1. The use of such a mating scheme would be obvious as described above with regard to claim 1.
Regarding claim 10, Bockheim discloses a display device, which could presumably display recipes (recipes would just presented data, which is non-functional with regard to patentability). See col. 3: 58-64.
Regarding claims 11-13, Bockheim discloses wherein the system is for storage. See col. 8: 13-22. There are not limitations as to what the system stores, and any of applicant’s claimed items could be stored.
Regarding claims 14 and 16-17, Bockheim discloses a physical charging source for charging stored items (any items, such as electric utensils as per claim 16). See col. 9:68 – col. 10:3.
Claims 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bockheim et al. (US 7,551,432) in view of Sosan (US 11,581,914) and also Dorr et al. (US 2018/0013116).
Regarding claims 5-7, Bockheim does not disclose wherein the recesses are outlined as utensils with finger notches. However, this storage fitting concept is established, as is disclosed by the storage system of Dorr in paragraph 0062 (one could already use utensils with the Bockheim system). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant’s filing, to consider such with the Bockheim system, so as to provide stable storage for items. Note this would also be an ‘other fastener’ per claim 7.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bockheim et al. (US 7,551,432) in view of Sosan (US 11,581,914) and also Perelli (US 2021/0059401).
Regarding claim 15, Bockheim disclose a charger as described in col. 9: 1-3, but does not disclose an induction coil. However, this use of such is well-established, as is disclosed by the display system of Perelli in paragraphs 0147-0148. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant’s filing, to consider such with the Bockheim system, in order to provide an effective power source.
Claim 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bockheim et al. (US 7,551,432) in view of Sosan (US 11,581,914) and also Chung et al. (US 2019/0125113).
Regarding claims 18-20, Bockheim does not disclose a utensil wirelessly connected to the display device, which transmits measurement information. However, this precise configuration is established with regard to tablets and utensils, as is disclosed by the monitoring system of Chung in paragraphs 0011-0013. It would have been obvious to consider such a scheme with the tablet of the Bockheim system, as such use would just reflect use of the tablet in an expected manner as disclosed by Chung.
Conclusion
TIMOTHY A. MUSSELMAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3715
/TIMOTHY A MUSSELMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715