Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9,11-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lunardi et al (US 20240397354 A1) hereinafter as Lunardi in view of Krishnan et al (US 20250062971 A1) hereinafter as Krishnan, further in view of Hu (US 12520186 B2).
Regarding claim(s) 1,4,14,17, Lunardi discloses a method of wireless communication (See Fig(s). 2), comprising:
transmitting, by an operations, administration, and maintenance (OAM) function, to a first network node operating in a dual connectivity scenario in which a wireless communication device is connected to the first network node and a second network node(See Fig(s). 2, UE 205 with dual connectivity to base stations 210, 220), a Quality of Experience (QoE) measurement collection (QMC) configuration (See Fig(s). 5 step 10-12, See ¶ 114, 121, 137,. In operation 12, the UE AS sends the report and the QoE reference ID to the eNB in a MeasReportAppLayer RRC message.);
wherein the QMC configuration contains a plurality of QoE configurations (See Fig(s). 5, step 11-12, See ¶ 114, The UE application layer completes the QMC according to the received configuration (operation 10) and reports the results to the UE AS via AT command +CAPPLEVMR (operation 11) along with the associated QoE reference received earlier).
Lunardi fails to disclose - wherein the plurality QoE configuration includes alignment information; and wherein the alignment information contains a trace identifier (ID) list where each trace ID corresponds to a minimized drive test (MDT) at the first network node.
Krishnan discloses - wherein the plurality QoE configuration includes alignment information (See ¶ 5, methods, systems, devices, and apparatuses that support restricted user equipment (UE) assistance for minimization of drive test (MDT) and quality of experience (QoE) measurement alignment);
wherein the alignment information contains a trace identifier (ID) list where each trace ID corresponds to a minimized drive test (MDT) at the first network node (See ¶ 19,54, the method includes, the indication includes a MDT alignment message, a trace reference indication associated with the one or more MDT measurements, or both.);
wherein the wireless communication device is indicated to send QoE report to the first network node or the second network node (See ¶ 5,26, Generally, the described techniques support techniques for aligning both QoE and MDT reporting performed by a UE…..The method may include transmitting a first control message including a QoE measurement configuration that indicates one or more QoE measurement references for a UE to perform and one or more indicator flags requesting a start indication and an end indication associated with a measurement session for the one or more QoE measurement references).
An MDT trace ID in a QoE configuration, indicates that the QoE configuration is to be aligned with an MDT configuration to ensure actual perceived quality of experience for end users match as desired by providers of services;
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings of Krishnan within Lunardi, to ensure actual perceived quality of experience for end users match as desired by providers of services.
Lunardi fails to disclose wherein the first network node includes a master node, and wherein the second network node includes a secondary node.
Hu discloses wherein the first network node includes a master node, and wherein the second network node includes a secondary node (See Fig(s). 1, access network includes a master node and secondary, See ¶ 3, 23-24,117, One of the two access network devices may be responsible for exchanging a radio resource control message with the terminal device and interacting with a core network control plane entity. In this case, the access network device may be referred to as a master node (MN), and the other radio access network device may be referred to as a secondary node (SN).).
A network side may provide a communication service for the terminal device by using resources of the two access network devices, to provide high-rate transmission for the terminal device.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings of Hu within Lunardi, so as to enhance overall user performance by providing a high data rate transmission to the devices of interest.
Further with regards to claims 4,17, Lunardi discloses wherein the QMC configuration is received through a Radio Resource Control (RRC) message; and wherein the RRC message comprising a QoE reporting indication (See Fig(s). 5 steps 10-12, See ¶ 6, 113,121, Radio resource control (RRC) signaling is used to configure QoE measurements in UEs and to collect QoE measurement result files from configured UEs. In particular, a QMC configuration from a core network (e.g., EPC, 5GC) or a network operations/administration/maintenance (OAM) function is encapsulated in a transparent container and sent to a UE's serving base station (e.g., eNB, gNB), which forwards it to a UE in an RRC message.).
Further with regards to claims 4,17, Lundardi discloses (UE/wireless device) performing mirrored operations of claims 1 and 14 respectively, (See Fig(s). 2,11).
Regarding claim(s) 2,15, Lunardi discloses comprising: transmitting, by the OAM, to a second network node, the QMC configuration (See Fig(s). 2, multi nodes 221 transmissions shown).
Regarding claim(s) 3,13,16, Krishnan discloses wherein QMC configuration further comprising alignment information; and wherein the alignment information comprising one or more of the following: QoE measurement start indication (See ¶ abstract), MCE IP address, Trace ID list, and MDT measurements. Reasons for combining same as claim 1.
Regarding claim(s) 4,18, Lunardi discloses receiving, by the first network node, from the wireless communication device, a QoE report (See Fig(s). 5 step 12).
Regarding claim(s) 6,19, Lunardi discloses in case that the first network node is overloaded: transmitting, by the first network node, to the wireless communication device, the overload indication through a RRC message; transmitting, by the first network node, to a second network node, a pause indication through a Xn Application Protocol (XnAP) message indicating the QoE reporting is paused (See ¶ 77, 172);
and transmitting, by the first network node, to the second network node, a resume indication through a XnAP message indicating the QoE reporting can be resumed (See ¶ 100, 106-110, AT commands can be used to transfer information between different layers in the UE, such as between application and AS. In particular, AT command +CAPPLEVMC is of the following form when used for QoE measurement configuration).
Regarding claim(s) 7,20, Lunardi discloses receiving, by the first network, from the second network node, a release message; wherein the release message can be a release required message or a release acknowledge message(See ¶ 89, The same paging takes place when the last serving gNB receives DL UE-associated signaling from the AMF, except a UE Context Release Command message. Upon receiving such a UE Context Release Command message for an RRC_INACTIVE UE); and
wherein the release message comprising one or more of the following: pause status indication, QMC configuration information, QoE report, RAN visible QoE information (See ¶ 89).
Regarding claim(s) 8, Lunardi discloses in case that the first network node is overloaded: transmitting, by the first network node, to the wireless communication device, an overload report through a first XnAP message; wherein the first XnAP message further comprising an overload indication or a pause requirement; indicating, to the wireless communication device, QoE reporting is paused by the first network node (See ¶ 77, 172);
transmitting, by the first network node, to the wireless communication device, a resume report through a second XnAP message (See ¶ 8,20-21, when the UE receives a second signaling-based QMC configuration for a service type for which it currently has a valid first management-based QMC configuration, the second configuration may override the first configuration. On the other hand, when the UE receives a second signaling-based QMC configuration for a service type for which it currently has a valid first signaling-based QMC configuration, the second configuration should not override the first configuration.) ; wherein the second XnAP message further comprising an resume indication; and indicating, to the wireless communication device, QoE reporting has been resumed by the first network node (See ¶ 213).
Regarding claim(s) 8, Lunardi discloses transmitting, by the first network node, to a third network node, an additional information request; transmitting, by the first network node, to the third network node, reconfiguration message; wherein the information request comprising the QMC configuration information (See Fig(s). 1-2, 5, See ¶ 126, the UE's capabilities are sufficient for the requested QMC, the eNB sends an RRCConnectionReconfiguration message to the AS (e.g., RRC layer) of the UE in operation 4. … it is interpreted by Fig. 1-2 that a multi node communications (211 nodes) can be achieved as desired.)
wherein the QMC configuration information further comprising a pause status indication; and transmitting, by the first network node, to the third network node, the pause status indication through one or more of the following ways: XnAP message and transparent container (See ¶ 77, 172).
Regarding claim(s) 10, Lunardi discloses wherein the additional information request further comprising dual connectivity request; transmitting, by the first network node, to a second network node, the QMC configuration information through a configuration request message (See ¶ 20,99).
Regarding claim(s) 11, Lunardi discloses transmitting, by the first network node, to a fourth network node, the QMC configuration; wherein the QMC configuration is transmitted through a handover request; wherein the QMC configuration information further comprising a pause status indication (See Fig(s). 8, 5, See ¶ 21, 157, RAN node an indication that the at least one QMC configuration has been discarded and/or not applied by the UE. In some variants, the RAN node serves a target cell for a UE handover and the first number of QMC configurations are received in association with the UE handover.. … it is interpreted by Fig. 1-2 that a multi node communications which can be any number of nodes as desired.); and
transmitting, by the first network node, to the fourth network node, the pause status indication through one or more of the following ways: XnAP message and transparent container (See ¶ 77, 172).
Regarding claim(s) 12, Lunardi discloses communicating, by the first network node through the fourth network node, an additional information request to a third network node (See Fig(s). 8, See ¶ 126, 157).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot based on new grounds of rejection necessitated by Applicants amendments.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RAJ JAIN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2411