DETAILED ACTION
This communication responds to the application and amended claim set filed June 6,2024. Claims 1-8 are currently pending
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In Claim 1, it is unclear whether the recited volume percentages is intended to be relative to the total volume of the superhydrophobic coating composition or if it is intended to be relative to the total volume of the recited components. The claim is therefore indefinite.
Claim 5, line 2 recites “ the binder is polysiloxane, where a mass fraction of silicon dioxide is in a range 25-50 weight percent (wt.%) and a mass fraction of tetraethoxysilane is in a range of 10-70wt%, which is confusing. The specification does not explain the relationship between the silicon dioxide and tetraethoxysilane. Does the recited 10-70 wt.% of the tetraethoxysilane refer to unreacted TEOS present in the polysiloxane binder?. Is TEOS part of the binder or it is a precursor that is hydrolyzed/condensed to produce the SiO2 or the Q units of the polysiloxane binder? What is the basis of the amounts of silicon dioxide and the basis of the amount of tetraethoxysilane? Are those amounts based on the total coating composition or the total binder? Then, for purposes of examination, a prior art that discloses a polysiloxane as a binder is interpreted as reading upon claim 5 until clarified.
Claims 2-4 and 6- 8 depend from claim 1 and do not correct claim 1's deficiencies.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahmed et al., hereinafter Ahmed (US PG Pub. 2017/0044400 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Ahmed teaches a superhydrophobic coating (title) comprising about 10-60 wt.% of a poly(diorganosiloxane) (which correspond to the binder), 0.5-25 wt.% of an amorphous silica and other inorganic fillers (which correspond to the texture stabilizer), an organic solvent including petroleum naphtha, xylene, toluene (which correspond to the alcohol-free substrate material), wherein the silica is surface treated with an organosilane including a fluorocarbon silane, a polydimethylsiloxane and mixtures thereof (which correspond to the hydrophobic composition) (claims 1, 8, 10-12, [0096]).
Ahmed is silent on the percentage by volume of the components.
However, differences in concentration will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration is critical. (MPEP 2144.05(II)(A).) "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." (In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (Claimed process which was performed at a temperature between 40°C and 80°C and an acid concentration between 25% and 70% was held to be prima facie obvious over a reference process which differed from the claims only in that the reference process was performed at a temperature of 100°C and an acid concentration of 10%.); see also Peterson, 315 F.3d at 1330, 65 USPQ2d at 1382 ("The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages."); In re Hoeschele, 406 F.2d 1403, 160 USPQ 809 (CCPA 1969) (Claimed elastomeric polyurethanes which fell within the broad scope of the references were held to be unpatentable thereover because, among other reasons, there was no evidence of the criticality of the claimed ranges of molecular weight or molar proportions.).) In this case, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optimized through routine experimentation the relative amounts of the components to produce a coating with the desired properties (roughness, superhydrophobicity and durability of the coating).
Regarding claim 2, Ahmed teaches the coating comprises (tridecafluoro-1,1,2,2-tetrahydrooctyl)triethoxysilane having a molecular formula of C14H19F13O3Si (see Technical datasheet), thereby reading on the claimed fluorocarbon silane [0096].
Regarding clam 5, note that the discussion supra for claim 1 presently applies, wherein the superhydrophobic coating comprises poly(diorganosiloxane) (claim 1 and fig 1), thereby reading on the polysiloxane binder.
Regarding claim 7, Ahmed teaches that prior to coating, the composition is prepared by mixing the components of the composition( [0151]-[0156]) as required by the instant claim.
Claims 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahmed et al., hereinafter Ahmed (US PG Pub. 2017/0044400 A1) in view of Li et al. hereinafter Li (WO 2012/156173 A1)
Ahmed teaches the superhydrophobic coating of claim 1 as set forth above and it is incorporated herein by reference.
Regarding claim 3, note that the discussion supra for claim 1 presently applies, wherein the superhydrophobic coating comprises polydimethylsiloxane[0096]. Ahmed teaches polydiorganosilanes having viscosities from about 100- to 1000,000 Cp at 25 °C [0008].
Ahmed is silent on the viscosity of the polymethylsiloxanes.
However, Li teaches a superhydrophobic coating (abstract) comprising silica based particles, silicone having a viscosity of at least 30 cSt and solvent (page 6:1-4), wherein the silicone is polydimethylsiloxane having a viscosity of 100 cSt -1000 cSt (page 9: 6-19). Li offers the motivation of using the polymethylsiloxane to provide a good durability of the coating especially in terms of peel and /or scratch resistance (page 9: 9 -19). In light of these benefits, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the polydimethylsiloxane on the coating of Ahmed, thereby arriving at the claimed invention.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahmed (US PG Pub. 2017/0044400 A1) in view of Zhanget al. hereinafter Zhang (US PG Pub. 2009/0136741 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Ahmed teaches the superhydrophobic coating of claim 1 as set forth above and it is incorporated herein by reference. Ahmed teaches the amorphous silica has a surface area of about 150-300 g/m2; a particle size range of about 0.01-0.03 microns (claim 4). It is noted that Ahmed does not teach any negative effect of using silica having an average particle size of less than 10 nm.
Ahmed is silent on the average particle size and surface area as recited in the instant claim.
However, Zhang teaches a superhydrophobic coating (title) comprising hydrophobic modified silicon oxide nanoparticles with silanes, siloxanes (claims 7- 8, [0028]); solvent and binder (abstract), wherein the silicon dioxide nanoparticles have a particle size from 5 to 20 nm and a surface area of up to 380 m2/g [0027]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the silicon dioxide nanoparticles as taught by Zhang to provide silicon dioxide nanoparticles having less aggregation and improve the properties of the coating [0027]. Further, in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. (In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the range taught by Ahmed in view of Zhang.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahmed (US PG Pub. 2017/0044400 A1) in view of Xu et al. hereinafter Xu (US PG Pub. 2021/0277260 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Ahmed teaches the superhydrophobic coating of claim 1 as set forth above and it is incorporated herein by reference. Ahmed teaches the superhydrophobic coating wherein the organic solvent comprises petroleum naptha, xylene, toluene or a halogenated hydrocarbon (claim 11).
Ahmed is silent on the claimed alcohol-free substrate material as recited in the instant claim.
However, Xu teaches a coating composition comprising (A) hydrophobically modified fumed silica particles, (B) one or more compounds of hydrolyzed organosilanes, fluorocarbonsilanes, alkylsilanes ([0051], [0053]) and (C) a solvent or mixture of solvents (abstract), wherein Xu teaches as suitable solvents volatiles solvents including cyclomethicone D4, D5, decamethylcyclopensiloxane; organic solvents, hydrocarbons, ketones, etc. [0075]-[0082]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used decamethylcyclopensiloxane as taught by Xu because it vaporizes after application and can provide fast drying, thereby arriving to the claimed invention.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahmed (US PG Pub. 2017/0044400 A1) in view of Crick et al. hereinafter Crick (US PG Pub. 2022/0145084 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Ahmed teaches the superhydrophobic coating of claim 1 as set forth above and it is incorporated herein by reference. Ahmed teaches that the substrate is coated by any suitable means for coating a substrate with the composition and the selection of a suitable means for a particular substrate and/or application can be made by a person skilled in the art [0158], followed by allowing the composition to cure (dry) under conditions to obtain a superhydrophobic silicone coating [0033]-[0035].
Ahmed is silent on the preparation method as recited in the instant claim.
However, Crick teaches a superhydrophobic film for coating a substrate, wherein nanoparticles, polymer and solvent are admixed to prepare a composition, followed by the application of the composition by using a dip coating method (which correspond to the impregnation step of the substrate); followed by air drying the applied composition to form the superhydrophobic coating ([0053], [0058], [0059], [0064]). It would have been obvious to use the dipping coating method and air drying because Crick demonstrates that the dipping coating method and air drying are suitable as preparation methods in a similar superhydrophobic coating application and it would be expected to have a reasonable expectation of success. MPEP 2141. Although Crick is silent on the time of immersion of the substrate and the drying conditions. Crick teaches the dip coating is performed between 2 to 11 times to provide complete coverage of the substrate and to provide a superhydrophobic coating with the required mechanical durability [0052]. As such, the dipping time is considered a result-effective variable that affects the coating deposition and the desired thickness and durability properties of the coating. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to infer that the dipping time of the substrate in the hydrophobic composition, the air drying conditions (air flow and temperature) can be optimized to reach the desired coating thickness and uniformity, drying rate and curing via a routine optimization. The case law has held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. Inre Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA1980). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to adjust the dipping time, the air flow and temperatures during the drying for the intended application via a routine optimization, thereby obtaining the present invention.
Claims 1 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mechrez et al. hereinafter Mechrez (WO 2021/095043 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Mechrez teaches superhydrophobic coating composition (title, [0129], [0165]) comprising functionalized inorganic nanoparticles of silica (which correspond to the texture stabilizer) (claim 8) with a fluorocarbon silane (claim 6) (which correspond to the hydrophobic composition) and a polymeric component including polysiloxane, polydimethylsiloxane, among others and combinations thereof (claim 10) (which correspond to the binder) in an alcohol free organic solvent system including mineral oil, hydrocarbon, methyl ethyl ketone, among others (claims 1-4, 6, 8, 10, 12, 15-16)[067]-[068], [077].
Mechrez is silent on the percentage by volume of the components.
However, differences in concentration will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration is critical. (MPEP 2144.05(II)(A).) "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." (In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (Claimed process which was performed at a temperature between 40°C and 80°C and an acid concentration between 25% and 70% was held to be prima facie obvious over a reference process which differed from the claims only in that the reference process was performed at a temperature of 100°C and an acid concentration of 10%.); see also Peterson, 315 F.3d at 1330, 65 USPQ2d at 1382 ("The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages."); In re Hoeschele, 406 F.2d 1403, 160 USPQ 809 (CCPA 1969) (Claimed elastomeric polyurethanes which fell within the broad scope of the references were held to be unpatentable thereover because, among other reasons, there was no evidence of the criticality of the claimed ranges of molecular weight or molar proportions.).) In this case, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optimized through routine experimentation the relative amounts of the components to produce a coating with the desired properties (roughness, superhydrophobicity and durability of the coating) [071].
Regarding claim 2, Mechrez teaches the coating comprises perfluorooctyltriethoxysilane (claim 6) having a molecular weight of C14H19F13O3Si (see technical datasheet), thereby reading on the claimed fluorocarbon silane.
Regarding claim 5, note that the discussion supra for claim 1 presently applies, wherein the superhydrophobic coating comprises a polymeric component such as polysiloxane (claim 10), thereby reading on the polysiloxane binder.
Regarding claim 7, Mechrez teaches the method for forming the composition of the present invention, comprising mixing the functionalized inorganic nanoparticles with the first liquid, thereby forming a mixture; and contacting the mixture with the second liquid for a period of time, wherein the mixing high shear mixing, ultrasonication, overhead stirring, homogenizing, or a combination thereof [032]-[033], thereby reading on the uniformly stirring and mixing the components of the superhydrophobic composition.
Claims 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mechrez et al. (WO 2021/095043 A1) in view of Li et al. hereinafter Li (WO 2012/156173 A1).
Mechrez teaches the superhydrophobic coating of claim 1 as set forth above and it is incorporated herein by reference.
Regarding claim 3, note that the discussion supra for claim 1 presently applies, wherein the superhydrophobic coating comprises polydimethylsiloxane (claim 10).
Mechrez is silent on the viscosity of the polymethylsiloxanes.
However, Li teaches a superhydrophobic coating (abstract) comprising silica based particles, silicone having a viscosity of at least 30 cSt and solvent (page 6:1-4), wherein the silicone is polydimethylsiloxane having a viscosity of 100 cSt -1000 cSt (page 9: 6-19). Li offers the motivation of using the polymethylsiloxane to provide a good durability of the coating especially in terms of peel and /or scratch resistance (page 9: 9 -19). In light of these benefits, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the polydimethylsiloxane on the coating of Mechrez, thereby arriving at the claimed invention.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mechrez et al. (WO 2021/095043 A1) in view of Zhanget al. hereinafter Zhang (US PG Pub. 2009/0136741 A1)
Regarding claim 4, Mechrez teaches the superhydrophobic coating of claim 1 as set forth above and it is incorporated herein by reference. Mechrez teaches the silica nanoparticles are characterized by a median particle size of 2 nm to 40 nm [086].
Mechrez is silent on the surface area.
However, Zhang teaches a superhydrophobic coating (title) comprising hydrophobic modified silicon oxide nanoparticles with silanes, siloxanes (claims 7- 8, [0028]); solvent and binder (abstract), wherein the silicon dioxide nanoparticles have a particle size from 5 to 20 nm and a surface area of up to 380 m2/g [0027]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the silicon dioxide nanoparticles as taught by Zhang to provide nanoparticles having less aggregation and improve the properties of the coating [0027]. Further, in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. (In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the range taught by Mechrez in view of Zhang.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mechrez et al. (WO 2021/095043 A1) in view of Xu et al. hereinafter Xu (US PG Pub. 2021/0277260 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Mechrez teaches the superhydrophobic coating of claim 1 as set forth above and it is incorporated herein by reference. Mechrez teaches superhydrophobic coating, wherein the organic solvent comprises petroleum naptha, xylene, toluene or a halogenated hydrocarbon (claim 11).
Mechrez is silent on the claimed alcohol-free substrate material as recited in the instant claim.
However, Xu teaches a coating composition comprising (A) hydrophobically modified fumed silica particles, (B) one or more compounds of hydrolyzed organosilanes, fluorocarbon silanes and (C) a solvent or mixture of solvents (abstract), wherein Xu teaches as suitable solvents volatiles solvents including cyclomethicone D4, D5, decamethylcyclopensiloxane; organic solvents, hydrocarbon, ketones, pyrrolidines, etc. [0075]-[0082]. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize from the teachings of Xu that volatile cyclic polydimethylsiloxanes such as D5, are suitable solvents for hydrophobic silica compositions. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use decamethylcyclopensiloxane with other solvents, as taught by Xu because it vaporizes after application and can provide fast drying [0074], thereby arriving to the claimed invention.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mechrez et al. (WO 2021/095043 A1) as evidenced by Crick et al. hereinafter Crick (US PG Pub. 2022/0145084 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Mechrez teaches the preparation method comprising: contacting the composition with a substrate by a dipping coating method, thereby obtaining a coating layer on the substrate; and subjecting the layer to conditions suitable for drying such as exposing the layer to air [039], thereby obtaining the superhydrophobic coating on the article (substrate).
Mechrez is silent on the preparation method as recited in the instant claim.
However, it is noted that the dipping time is considered a result-effective variable that affects the coating deposition and the desired thickness and durability properties of the coating (see Crick, US PG Pub. 2022/0145084 A1, [0052]). Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to infer that the dipping time of the substrate in the hydrophobic composition, the air drying conditions (air flow and temperature) can be optimized to reach the desired coating thickness and uniformity, desired drying rate and curing via a routine optimization. The case law has held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. Inre Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA1980). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to adjust the dipping time, the air flow and temperatures during the drying for the intended application via a routine optimization, thereby obtaining the present invention.
Conclusion
/OLGA LUCIA DONAHUE/Examiner, Art Unit 1763
/JOSEPH S DEL SOLE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1763