DETAILED ACTION
The Office Action is in response to claims filed 06/07/2024.
Claims 1-16 are pending.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: the limitation “providing a single service builder and a single service deployer pipeline that is used across for a plurality of services” contains a grammatical error. The bolded word “for” should be removed or another suitable change should be made. The limitation “wherein the automation flow dynamically populates and injects plurality of configuration keys” is missing a word. It should read “dynamically populates and injects the plurality of configuration keys.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities: the limitation “each deployment containerized product environment” is grammatically incorrect. It appears applicant intended the limitation to read as “each deployments’ containerized product environment.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities: the limitation “depending on how many retrievals can happen during major release to multiple environments” is missing a word. It should read as “during a major release” or some other grammatically correct phrase supported with written description. Additionally, the limitation is missing a word in the limitation “the automation flow populates applicable service configuration file.” Examiner believes it should read as “the automation flow populates the applicable service configuration file.” Appropriate correction and/or clarification is required.
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities: the terms “Repo Name,” “Commit Identifier,” “Cluster Type,” “Branch Name,” “Deployment,” and “Script Name” are improperly capitalized. They should be lowercased. Appropriate correction and/or clarification is required.
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities: the limitation “every service docker image” is grammatically incorrect. Examiner believes applicant intended for this limitation to be “every service’s docker image.”
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities: the limitations “contains all the service names that can have to be built” and “the policies that can have to be loaded” are grammatically incorrect. The term “can” can be removed so that the limitations read “contains all the service names that have to be built” and “the policies that have to be loaded.” Additionally, examiner believes applicant intends “contains all the service names” to mean “contains all the services’ names”
Additionally, the limitation “wherein the step of implementing the automation of the automation flow such that each release deployed is performed by following the release notes” is grammatically incorrect. Examiner would prefer the limitation to read as “wherein implementing an automation of the automation flow comprises deploying each release by following a release note.” Appropriate clarification and/or correction is required.
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities: the limitation “a single deployer pipeline to parses the release notes” should be corrected to “a single deployer pipeline to parse the release notes.” Claim 11 recites “builds a plurality of service images to a container registry.” This limitation is grammatically incorrect and unclear. Appropriate clarification and/or correction is required.
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities: the limitation “push to the container registry” contains a grammatical error. It should read as “pushes to the container registry.” Claim 12 is also missing punctation at the end of the second line. Additionally, the phrase “provide a Service Repo Clone” is unclear. Examiner interprets this to mean cloning a repo for a service. Additionally, claim 12 recites “Service Repo Clone” and “Checkout.” These terms are improperly capitalized and should be lowercased. Appropriate correction and/or clarification is required.
Claim 13 is objected to because of the following informalities: there is a missing comma after “The method of claim 12.” Additionally, the limitation “ the single service deployer four (4) parameters” is grammatically incorrect. Additionally, the word “deployed)” has an extra “)” character. Additionally, claim 13 recites “Service Name,” “Tag,” “Cluster Type,” and “Script Name.” These terms are improperly capitalized and should be lowercased. Appropriate correction and/or clarification is required.
Claim 15 is objected to because of the following informalities: the limitation “taking a service name and then a clone the repo” is grammatically incorrect. It appears applicant intents the limitation to read as “taking a service name and then cloning the repo.” Appropriate correction/clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “a method for deploying a containerized product without an orchestrator.” It is unclear whether a method for deploying is “without an orchestrator” or the claim is stating that the containerized product does not have an orchestrator. For the purposes of compact prosecution, examiner interprets the claim to mean that a method for deploying a containerized product is completed without using an orchestrator. Appropriate clarification is required.
Claim 1 recites “implementing an automation flow” and “implementing an automation of the automation flow.” The difference between these limitations is unclear. For the purposes of compact prosecution, examiner interprets “implementing an automation flow” to mean configuring the deployment and “implanting an automation of the automation flow” to mean “doing the configuring and deployment in an automated manner.” Therefore, claims 1-16 are indefinite.
Claim 2 and 3 recites “applicable repo root.” The scope of “applicable repo root” is unclear because the claims do not provide a way to ascertain what makes a repo “applicable.” Therefore, claim 2 and 3 are indefinite. Dependent claim 6 also recites “wherein the automation flow populates applicable service configuration by.” Again, what makes a service “applicable” or not is indefinite. Therefore, claim 6 is indefinite. Dependent claims 4 and 8 is also rejected as indefinite by virtue of their dependency on claims 3 and 6 respectively. For the purposes of compact prosecution, “applicable” will be interpreted not carry patentable weight beyond the repo root itself.
Further, claim 2 recites “every applicable repo root” in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purposes of compact prosecution, it will interpreted as “each service has a repo and maintaining a template.conf in the repo’s root directory”
Claims 4, 9, 12, and 13 contains the trademark/trade name “Docker” in lines 2, 1, 3 and 5, and 2 respectively. Where a trademark or trade name is used in a claim as a limitation to identify or describe a particular material or product, the claim does not comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph. See Ex parte Simpson, 218 USPQ 1020 (Bd. App. 1982). The claim scope is uncertain since the trademark or trade name cannot be used properly to identify any particular material or product. A trademark or trade name is used to identify a source of goods, and not the goods themselves. Thus, a trademark or trade name does not identify or describe the goods associated with the trademark or trade name. In the present case, the trademark/trade name is used to identify/describe a container implementation and, accordingly, the identification/description is indefinite.
Claim 5 recites the limitation “applicable service configuration file” in line 1-2 of claim 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "using key vault" in the line 3 of claim 6. Claim 6 also recites “rate limiting at the key vault side.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for “key vault.” Additionally, the claim recites “major release.” The term “major” is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “major” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The term “release” has been rendered indefinite by “major.” For the purposes of compact prosecution, “major release” will be understood as “any release.”
Claim 8 recites the limitation “wherein the six parameters” in the line 1 of claim 8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 9 recites the limitation “the repo” in the line 1 of claim 9. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purposes of compact prosecution, “the repo” will be interpreted as “a repo.”
Claim 10 recites the limitation “each release deployment” in line 2, “the release notes” in line 3, “the unique set of scripts for each service” in line 4, and “the policies that can have to be loaded.” There is insufficient basis for these limitations in the claim. For the purposes of compact prosecution, “Each release deployment” is interpreted as “a release deployment for each service.” The other limitations are interpreted as “a unique set of scripts for each service” and “a plurality of policies” respectively.
Claim 10 also recites “an extensive document.” The term “extensive” is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “extensive” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The term “document” has been rendered indefinite by “extensive.” For the purposes of compact prosecution, “extensive” will have no meaning.
Claim 11 recites “an applicable branch.” What makes a branch “applicable” or not is unclear. Therefore, claim 11 is indefinite. For the purposes of compact prosecution, “applicable” will be understood to have no meaning.
Claim 12 recites “each dependent repo” in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purposes of compact prosecution, examiner interprets claim 12 as “the service having a plurality of dependent repos and cloning each of the dependent repos.”
Claim 13 recites “Tag number of a docker image tag that to be deployed)” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 15 recites “taking a service name and then a clone the repo.” It is unclear what “taking a service name” means. For the purposes of compact prosecuting, examiner interprets this to mean cloning a repo related to a service/application.
Claim 16 recites the terms “separately” and “angular” which is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The terms “separately” and “angular” not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The term “angular build” is indefinite because it is indefinite how it is configured to be implemented “separately.” The term “build” is indefinite because it is indefinite how it is “angular.” For the purposes of compact prosecution, examiner interprets “angular” to have no meaning and the builds to be “separate” from other builds.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johnson Pat. No. US 20240211227 A1 (hereafter Johnson) and Zhang et al. Pat. No. US 20170085419 A1 (hereafter Zhang).
With regard to claim 1, Johnson teaches a computerized method for deploying a containerized product without an orchestrator comprising (¶ [0004] states “the present disclosure provides a method for provisioning a software service.” ¶ [0044] states “The one or more configuration templates may be pulled from a centralized location of the source deployment platform and directly used to configure the nodes, pods, and containers in the destination deployment platform without change.”):
providing a single service builder and a single deployer pipeline that is used across for a plurality of services (¶ [0036] states “FIG. 3 is a flowchart diagram illustrating an example method 300 for provisioning a software service on a destination platform” and “multiple software services may be provisioned on the destination deployment platform using the batch launcher.” See FIG. 3, 4, 5, 6, and 7. Examiner’s Note: the flowchart in FIG. 3 includes both the single service builder and the single deployer pipeline. FIG. 4-7 provides more details about the pipeline);
implementing an automation flow, wherein each service of the plurality of services comprises a plurality of configuration keys and wherein the automation flow dynamically populates and injects plurality of configuration keys into a container during a deployment operation (¶ [0046] states “identifying the one or more configurations for the at least one environment variable of the software services on the source deployment platform; translating the one or more configurations for the at least one environment variable to a corresponding set of one or more configurations for the environment variable on the destination deployment platform; and writing the corresponding set of the one or more configurations to the deployment document.” ¶ [0050] states “In some embodiments, the configuration server metadata further includes binary data fields, which accept key-value pairs as their values.” ¶ [0043] states “At operation 504, one or more configuration templates from a centralized location are pulled out and are included in the deployment file. The term “configuration template,” as used herein, generally refers to any file, code, and/or data that is designed to generate a configuration file that includes one or more configuration settings that define at least a portion of an operating environment of a node, a pod, and/or a container.” ¶ [0044] states “The one or more configuration templates may be pulled from a centralized location of the source deployment platform and directly used to configure the nodes, pods, and containers in the destination deployment platform.” ¶ [0041] states “the deployment document may include the deployment YAML, the service YAML, and the ingress YAML, operably for deploying the corresponding software service on the destination deployment platform.” Examiner’s Note: configurations of the container are included in the deployment file/document. The deployment file is then used for deploying the application);
and implementing an automation of the automation flow (¶ [0057] states “As mentioned above, the operation 404 includes generating a service file of the deployment document. The service file provides an instruction for the automated deployment of the software service to be provisioned on the destination deployment platform.” Examiner’s Note: in light of the 112(b) indefiniteness issue related to the difference between implementing an automation flow and implementing an automation of the automation flow, examiner interprets the limitation to mean automating the process of deployment).
Although Johnson’s deployment steps to not require an orchestrator such as Kubernetes, Johnson does not explicitly teach deploying without using an orchestrator.
However, in an analogous art, Zhang teaches a computerized method for deploying a containerized product without an orchestrator comprising (¶ [0046] states “The step 130 is, if the number of available resources is above a preset threshold, to deploy the service containers onto respective physical nodes in the cluster.” See FIG. 1. Examiner’s Note: the container deployment does not use an orchestrator):
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to combine the deployment of a service container without an orchestrator of Zhang with the configuration of a deployment of Johnson. As a result, the configuration and deployment of Johnson are completed without an orchestrator. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination for the purpose of improving speed at which containers are deployed to a cluster (¶ [0007] states “Embodiments of the invention provide a system and method for deploying an application so as to address such a problem may arise if containers are deployed by the Docker on physical nodes as in the prior art that the containers can not be deployed rapidly and massively on the respective physical nodes in the cluster concurrently, thus hindering the containers of the respective resources from being managed”).
With regard to claim 2, Johnson and Zhang teach the method of claim 1. Johnson additionally teaches wherein the step of implementing the automation flow further comprising: maintaining a template.conf in every applicable repo root (¶ [0043] states “At operation 504, one or more configuration templates from a centralized location are pulled out and are included in the deployment file.”).
Zhang additionally teaches wherein the step of implementing the automation flow further comprising: maintaining a template.conf in every applicable repo root (¶ [0064] states “In an embodiment of the invention, a service container image build script (referred to as a build.sh script) is added to the project, where the build.sh script is configured to generate an initial service container image, and the build.sh scrip is located in a root directory of the project.”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to combine the storing of the container image build script in the root directory with the configuration template and deployment file of Johnson. As a result, the template and deploy file are stored in the root directory. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination because by storing the configuration file in the root directory, the project is organized and the service container image build script can be used to “generate an initial service container image, upon detecting that the job is triggered” (¶ [0065]). Further, Zhang teaches this deployment process improves the speed at which containers are deployed (¶ [0007]).
With regard to claim 3, Johnson and Zhang, teach the method of claim 2. Johnson additionally teaches wherein the template.conf in every applicable repo root comprises a skeleton of an applicable service configuration file (¶ [0043] states “The term “configuration template,” as used herein, generally refers to any file, code, and/or data that is designed to generate a configuration file that includes one or more configuration settings that define at least a portion of an operating environment of a node, a pod, and/or a container.”).
With regard to claim 5, Johnson and Zhang teach the method of claim 1. Johnson additionally teaches wherein the automation flow populates applicable service configuration file by:
learning one or more values that are specific to each deployment containerized product environment (¶ [0043] states “At operation 504, one or more configuration templates from a centralized location are pulled out and are included in the deployment file.” ¶ [0046] states “At operation 508, environment variables of the software services to be provisioned are obtained” and “writing the corresponding set of the one or more configurations to the deployment document.”).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johnson in view of Zhang and further in view of Gendler Pat. No. US 11785469 B1 (hereafter Gendler) and Janetakis “Docker Tip #25: Adding Metadata to Your Docker Images With Labels” (hereafter Janetakis).
With regard to claim 4, Johnson and Zhang teach the method of claim 3. Johnson and Zhang do not explicitly teach that the template file is base64 encoded.
However, in an analogous art, Gendler teaches wherein the template.conf is base64 encoded and added as a label to a docker image being built (Col. 7 Lines 61-65 states “If an administrator wanted to permit solely 2 password tries to increase security, the configuration file would be set to passwd_tries=2. This would be converted to base64 and file path content would be set to /etc/sudoers.”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to combine the base64 encoding of file contents when adding data to a configuration file of Gendler with the configuration of Johnson and the container product deployment without an orchestrator of Zhang. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination because “While an IT administrator can write the file content value in the XML of the configuration profile, it is advantageous to use base64 because XML has certain reserved characters that can cause syntax errors if they are in the file content. Converting the file content to base64 prevents syntax issues” (Col. 3 Lines 49-54). The Docker image is analogous to the XML of the configuration profile because it is a configuration file with a specific syntax. By using base64 encoding, the encoded template file will not cause any syntax errors in the Docker image file.
Johnson, Zhang, and Gendler do not explicitly teach adding the base64 encoded template file to an image.
However, in analogous art, Janetakis teaches wherein the template.conf is base64 encoded and added as a label to a docker image being built (Page 1 states “Here’s a few examples on what you could use image labels for: Store build information such as git tags and release dates).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to combine the using image labels for storing build information with the base64 encoded template of Johnson and Gendler, and the container product deployment without an orchestrator of Zhang. The base64 encoded template is the build information that is added to a Docker image via a label. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination because “Image labels let you attach text based data to your Docker images. You can then filter your images based on these labels or look up this data in any custom scripts or tools you use” (Page 1).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johnson in view of Zhang and further in view of Ohms et al. Pat. No. US 20210006402 A1 (herafter Ohms) and Harp Pat. No. US 20200044972 A1 (hereafter Harp).
With regard to claim 6, Johnson and Zhang teach the method of claim 3. Although Johnson teaches retrieving secrets from a vault (¶ [0051] – [0052]) and Zhang teaches a key-value storing component (¶ [0102]), Johnson and Zhang do not explicitly teach using a key vault to populate the configuration file.
However, in an analogous art, Ohms teaches wherein the automation flow populates applicable service configuration file by:
using key vault (¶ [0037] states “Depending on the deployment target, the environment variables may be directly set or may be persisted in a temporary file (i.e., a release file that may be named release.env), which is only readable by the deploying party.” ¶ [0069] states “In block 302, the secret resolution tool 120 retrieves the one or more secret values from the second repository using the one or more links to the secret values in the configuration file, where the second repository is accessed using a token with read-only permission. In block 304, the secret resolution tool 120 stores the one or more configuration values and the one or more secret values in a release file. In block 306, the secret resolution tool 120 executes the application with the one or more configuration values and the one or more secret values.” ¶ [0039] states “A vault is one of the options for the secrets repository 160.”);
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to combine accessing secrets for a configuration file by using a key vault of Ohms with the deployment file of Johnson and the container product deployment without an orchestrator of Zhang. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination because by storing the secrets in a separate repository, it “allows teams to share their configuration values with the development team, without the need to expose secret values publicly” (¶ [0031]). Additionally, by using the secrets from the vault in a temporary release file, the temporary release file can be “destroyed right after the deployment, which avoids the secret values from being exposed” (¶ [0066]). Therefore, using a key vault to populate the a configuration file provides security benefits.
Johnson, Zhang, and Ohms do not explicitly teach rate limiting.
However, in analogous art, Harp teaches and attributing for a cost of retrieval and rate limiting at the key vault side depending on how many retrievals can happen during major release to multiple environments (¶ [0012] states “A system and method rate limits database access to, for example, prevent or reduce damage from unauthorized or errant access of a database by enforcing a network-level limit to the amount of data that may be accessed from the database.” ¶ [0016] states “The appropriate excessive data transfer rate rule is a matter of choice and can establish a data transfer rate limit per user, per database, per machine, per access credential, per data type, etc. and involve a conjoint analysis that depends on the thresholds and rule variables.” ¶ [0015] states “The data transfer thresholds and rules 118 set thresholds such as data transfer rates, including data transfer rate quotas, correlated with the query associated parameters that trigger control actions” and “For example, a nurse may have a threshold that indicates an expected number of patient record accesses, such as 20 patient records per hour, during certain days and time of day that correspond to the nurse's work schedule.” Examiner’s Note: the example of nurse shows that there can be rate limits for a threshold period of time. This is analogous to when there is a release to multiple environments).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to combine the rate limiting of a database based on rules of Harp with the access of a vault of Ohms and the deployment files of Johnson and the container product deployment without an orchestrator of Zhang. As a result, the vault that stores the secrets has a rate limit based on certain access rules. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination to “prevent or reduce damage from unauthorized or errant access of a database” (¶ [0012]).
Claim(s) 7 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johnson in view of Zhang, and further in view of Karukuri et al. Pat. No. US 20200117576 A1 (hereafter Karukuri).
With regard to claim 7, Johnson teaches the method of claim 5. Johnson additionally teaches wherein the service builder takes six (6) parameters (¶ [0043] states “At operation 504, one or more configuration templates from a centralized location are pulled out and are included in the deployment file. The term “configuration template,” as used herein, generally refers to any file, code, and/or data that is designed to generate a configuration file that includes one or more configuration settings that define at least a portion of an operating environment of a node, a pod, and/or a container. In some embodiments, a configuration setting may be a variable configuration setting that does not have a fixed static value. In some embodiments, a configuration template may include functions, loops, variables, argument-defined parameters, and/or other methods of dynamically calculating settings.”).
Johnson does not explicitly teach “the service builder taking six parameters.”
However, in an analogous art, Karukuri teaches wherein the service builder takes six (6) parameters (¶ [0040] states “table 500 shows details corresponding to six parameters for which the particular software application 102 is being assessed, according to the depicted embodiment.”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to combine the six parameters for testing whether a software application is container ready of Karukuri with the deployment configuration of Johnson and the container product deployment without an orchestrator of Zhang. As a result, the deployment document of Johnson has six parameters. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination “the six provided parameters may provide a useful baseline for which to assess the container-readiness of a software application 102” (¶ [0041]).
With regard to claim 9, Johnson, Zhang, and Karukuri teach the method of claim 7. Zhang additionally teaches wherein every service docker image is named after the repo (¶ [0067] states “During the build.sh script is being run, the build.sh script defines a name for the service container image (referred to as an image name) according to the software version of the git”).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johnson in view of Zhang, Ohms, Harp, and further in view of Mendonca et al. Pat. No. US 10467003 B1 (hereafter Mendonca) and Giannetti Pat. No. US 20200348918 A1 (hereafter Giannetti).
With regard to claim 8, Johnson, Zhang, Ohms, and Harp teach the method of claim 6. Johnson additionally teaches wherein the six parameters comprises a Repo Name, a Commit Identifier, a Cluster Type, a Branch Name, a Deployment, and a Script Name (¶ [0039] states “Generating the deployment document includes writing the determined version of the software service that existed on the source deployment platform to the deployment document.” Examiner’s Note: the “determined version of the software service” is “a deployment.”).
Johnson, Zhang, Ohms, and Harp do not explicitly teach the following parameters: repo name, a commit identifier, a cluster type, and a branch name.
However, in an analogous art, Mendonca wherein the six parameters comprises a Repo Name, a Commit Identifier, a Cluster Type, a Branch Name, a Deployment, and a Script Name (Col. 6 Lines 53-62 states “Management agent 180 may receive a command to execute a document or script that includes a call to the retrieval plugin 182 along with a set of parameters to be used by the retrieval plugin to retrieve a document or script. The set of parameters may include a location of a document or script to be retrieved. The location may be, for example, an internet protocol (IP) address and port, a universal resource locator (URL), a directory and/or repository name, a document or script name, and/or other location information, as set forth above.” Col. 5 Lines 1-4 states “In one embodiment, if the location type is a source control system such as GitHub, the location information includes a universal resources locator (URL) and may also include a commit identifier, a branch name”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to combine the repository metadata of Mendonca with the other parameters of Johnson and Callery and the key vault of Ohms and the rate limiting of Harp. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination because the repository metadata is used to retrieve additional data. By retrieving this data from remote sources, “system managers may automate the tasks associated with configuring operating systems, deploying virtual machines, installing applications, installing updates and patches, and so on for large numbers of computing devices” (Col. 2 Lines 5-9). Further, remotely storing the data “reduces an amount of overhead associated with managing a large number of computing devices” and “enables all scripts and documents that are periodically updated to be maintained in a source control system without the additional step of moving such scripts and documents to a system manager before beginning an operation that uses such scripts and documents” (Col. 2 Lines 32-38).
Although Zhang teaches a cluster identifier configuration parameter (¶ [0036]), Johnson, Zhang, Ohms, Harp, and Mendonca do not explicitly teach a cluster type.
However, in an analogous art, Giannetti teaches wherein the six parameters comprises a Repo Name, a Commit Identifier, a Cluster Type, a Branch Name, a Deployment, and a Script Name (¶ [0012] states “Upon receiving instructions to deploy the application cluster, a cluster definition is obtained from a repository and a cluster is created on an associated cluster platform based on the cluster definition. The cluster definition includes a cluster type of the cluster”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to combine the cluster type parameter of Giannetti with the parameters of Johnson, and Mendonca, and the key vault of Ohms and the rate limiting of Harp and the container product deployment without an orchestrator of Zhang. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination because “The use of a robust set of cluster types and mapping those types to sets of associated services, which can be deployed using templates, enables the described system to handle the configuration of a huge variety of different application clusters automatically and further enables users to define new cluster types and associated service templates with relative ease. These features are configured to reduce the time and effort of users required to deploy clusters and improves the user-machine interface by providing users a way to define configurations of clusters and reuse those definitions” (¶ [0013]).
Claim(s) 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johnson in view of Zhang and Karukuri and further in view of Callery et al. Pat. No. US20210349736 A1 (hereafter Callery).
With regard to claim 10, Johnson, Zhang, and Karukuri teach the method of claim 9. Johnson additionally teaches wherein the step of implementing the automation of the automation flow such that each release deployment is performed by following the release notes, which is an extensive document that contains all the service names that can have to be built and deployed, and then the unique set of scripts for each service, and the policies that can have to be loaded (¶ [0036] states “In some embodiments, a batch launcher or a bulk launcher may be used to handle one or more requests for provisioning multiple software services. In some embodiments, the batch launcher, when run, may process a part or all of the requests, in a given order in which they are added. Accordingly, multiple software services may be provisioned on the destination deployment platform using the batch launcher.” See FIG. 1 Software Service 1 and Software Service 2. ¶ [0047] states “At operation 510, resource limits and requests for the software service to be provisioned are obtained and included in the deployment file.” Examiner’s Note: the bulk launcher is the release notes because it includes the list of requests to build and deploy software. This list of services to deploy includes the service names. The resource limits are a type of policy that is loaded).
Although Zhang teaches a build script for each service (¶ [0064] – [0065]). Johnson, Zhang, and Karukuri do not explicitly teach a set of scripts for each service.
However, in an analogous art, Callery teaches wherein the step of implementing the automation of the automation flow such that each release deployment is performed by following the release notes, which is an extensive document that contains all the service names that can have to be built and deployed, and then the unique set of scripts for each service, and the policies that can have to be loaded (¶ [0022] states “In one embodiment, a separate script may be provided for each stage of the configuration-driven continuous delivery pipeline 115. Alternatively, a script of scripts 113 may represent commands for performance of multiple stages of the configuration-driven continuous delivery pipeline 115.” ¶ [0023] states “According to one embodiment, the development teams 111a-n are able to make use of the same configuration-driven continuous delivery pipeline 115, which may be represented in the form of the scripts 113 containing commands to be run by the automation server 112 (e.g., Jenkins, TeamCity, Bamboo, GitLab, Microsoft Azure, or others). For example, the scripts 113 may be Jenkins script files.” See FIG. 1. Examiner’s Note: the script of scripts is a set of scripts used in deploying services)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to combine the script of scripts of Callery with the bulk of requests and policies of Johnson and the container product deployment without an orchestrator of Zhang and the six parameters of Karukuri. As a result, the release deployment is performed according to the bulk of requests, the script of scripts, and the resource limits. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination because “Continuous delivery pipelines are designed to allow software to be automatically built, tested and deployed with maximum speed and minimum effort” (¶ [0004]).
With regard to claim 11, Johnson, Zhang, Karukuri, and Callery teach the method of claim 10. Johnson additionally teaches further comprising:
utilizing the single service builder and a single deployer pipeline to parses the release notes and builds a plurality of service images to a container registry (¶ [0039] states “Generating the deployment document includes writing the determined version of the software service that existed on the source deployment platform to the deployment document. In some embodiments, multiple deployment documents are generated, each deployment document corresponding to a software service that is existing on the source deployment platform and is to be deployed on the destination deployment platform.” Additionally, see FIG. 3 flow chart steps 302 that receives the request(s) and then is followed by step 304, 306, 308, and 310. Step 308 generates the deployment based on the previous steps. ¶ [0049] states “At operation 514, service images associated with the software service(s) to be provisioned on the destination deployment platform are populated.” ¶ [0040] states “In some embodiments, the deployment document is sent to and received by a repository manager (e.g., JFrog Artifactory used within Kubernetes), before being applied to the destination deployment platform. ¶ [0040] additionally states “In some embodiments, the destination deployment platform is the Kubernetes platform, and the repository manager is a Kubernetes registry that supports all major development technologies making up the applications and allows users to deploy containerized microservices to the Kubernetes cluster as it serves as a universal repository manager for all the CI/CD needs, regardless of where they are running in the organization.” ¶ [0042] states “As mentioned above, the operation 402 includes generating a deployment file of the deployment document.” See FIG. 5. Examiner’s Note: the bulk launcher is parsed in FIG. 3 Process 300 to generate the deployment document. Services images being populated is building a plurality of services images. In light of the 112(b) issue regarding building to a container repository, examiner interprets this to mean sending the images to a container registry. It is understood that the service images are built, and their URI is populated in the deployment document. The deployment document is then received by the repository manager that supports the deployment of containerized microservices. The repository manager is a container registry);
and utilizing the single service builder and a single deployer pipeline to handle a deployment of all the plurality of services (¶ [0040] states “Once the deployment documents are received by the artifactory, users can proceed to propagate and perform the build, test, promote and finally deploy to the Kubernetes platform.”).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johnson in view of Zhang, Karukuri, Callery, Gendler, and Janetakis.
With regard to claim 12, Johnson, Zhang, Karukuri, and Callery teach the method of claim 11. Johson additionally teaches wherein the single service builder:
and provides a docker image build and push to the container registry (¶ [0049] states “At operation 514, service images associated with the software service(s) to be provisioned on the destination deployment platform are populated.” ¶ [0040] states “In some embodiments, the deployment document is sent to and received by a repository manager (e.g., JFrog Artifactory used within Kubernetes), before being applied to the destination deployment platform. ¶ [0040] additionally states “In some embodiments, the destination deployment platform is the Kubernetes platform, and the repository manager is a Kubernetes registry that supports all major development technologies making up the applications and allows users to deploy containerized microservices to the Kubernetes cluster as it serves as a universal repository manager for all the CI/CD needs, regardless of where they are running in the organization.” ¶ [0042] states “As mentioned above, the operation 402 includes generating a deployment file of the deployment document.” See FIG. 5. Examiner’s Note: the deployment document is sent to the repository manager. For Kubernetes, the repository manager is the Kubernetes registry. The Kubernetes registry allows users to deploy containerized microservices, so it is a container registry.).
Callery additionally teaches provides a Service Repo Clone and Checkout to an applicable branch (¶ [0041] states “at block 405, code is pulled from the repository. For example, the source code files associated with the particular application (e.g., application 130a-n) or the particular application component(s) (e.g., services 131a-n) may be checked out of the repository.”)
clones each dependent repo (¶ [0047] states “At block 435, dependencies are installed. For example, any packages, for example, specified by the subdirectory configuration file upon which the package at issue is dependent upon for correct functioning may be installed.”);
Johnson, Zhang, Karukuri, and Callery do not explicitly teach encoding a template and adding it as a label to a Docker image.
However, in an analogous art, Gendler teaches encodes a template.conf to add as a label to a Docker image of each service (Col. 7 Lines 61-65 states “If an administrator wanted to permit solely 2 password tries to increase security, the configuration file would be set to passwd_tries=2. This would be converted to base64 and file path content would be set to /etc/sudoers.”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to combine the base64 encoding of file contents when adding data to a configuration file of Gendler with the templates/configuration of Johnson and Callery, the container product deployment without an orchestrator of Zhang, and the six parameters of Karukuri. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination because “While an IT administrator can write the file content value in the XML of the configuration profile, it is advantageous to use base64 because XML has certain reserved characters that can cause syntax errors if they are in the file content. Converting the file content to base64 prevents syntax issues” (Col. 3 Lines 49-54). The Docker image is analogous to the XML of the configuration profile because it is a configuration file with a specific syntax. By using base64 encoding, the encoded template file will not cause any syntax errors in the Docker image file.
Johnson, Zhang, Karukuri, Callery, and Gendler do not explicitly teach adding the base64 encoded template file to a Docker image.
However, in analogous art, Janetakis teaches encodes a template.conf to add as a label to a Docker image of each service (Page 1 states “Here’s a few examples on what you could use image labels for: Store build information such as git tags and release dates).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to combine the using image labels for storing build information with the base64 encoded template of Johnson and Gendler and configuration of Callery, the container product deployment without an orchestrator of Zhang, and the six parameters of Karukuri. The base64 encoded template is the build information that is added to a Docker image via a label. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination because “Image labels let you attach text based data to your Docker images. You can then filter your images based on these labels or look up this data in any custom scripts or tools you use” (Page 1).
Claim(s) 13-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johnson in view of Zhang, Karukuri, Callery, Gendler, Janetakis, Giannetti, and further in view of Douglas et al. US 20240086168 A1 (hereafter Douglas).
With regard to claim 13, Johnson, Zhang, Karukuri, Callery, Gendler, and Janetakis teach the method of claim 12. Johnson additionally teaches wherein the single service deployer four (4) parameters comprising a Service Name, Tag number of a docker image tag that is to be deployed), a Cluster Type and a Script Name (¶ [0037] states “The web server interface may further contain information on the name, location, configuration, related to the service or the jobs associated therewith.”).
Callery additionally teaches wherein the single service deployer four (4) parameters comprising a Service Name, Tag number of a docker image tag that is to be deployed), a Cluster Type and a Script Name (¶ [0022] states “a separate script may be provided for each stage of the configuration-driven continuous delivery pipeline 115. Alternatively, a script of scripts 113 may represent commands for performance of multiple stages of the configuration-driven continuous delivery pipeline 115.”).
Johnson, Zhang, Karukuri, Callery, Gendler, and Janetakis do not explicitly teach a cluster type.
However, in an analogous art, Giannetti teaches wherein the single service deployer four (4) parameters comprising a Service Name, Tag number of a docker image tag that is to be deployed), a Cluster Type and a Script Name (¶ [0012] states “Upon receiving instructions to deploy the application cluster, a cluster definition is obtained from a repository and a cluster is created on an associated cluster platform based on the cluster definition. The cluster definition includes a cluster type of the cluster”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to combine the cluster type parameter of Giannetti with the parameters of Johnson and Callery and the combination Karukuri, Gendler, and Janetakis. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination because “The use of a robust set of cluster types and mapping those types to sets of associated services, which can be deployed using templates, enables the described system to handle the configuration of a huge variety of different application clusters automatically and further enables users to define new cluster types and associated service templates with relative ease. These features are configured to reduce the time and effort of users required to deploy clusters and improves the user-machine interface by providing users a way to define configurations of clusters and reuse those definitions” (¶ [0013]).
Johnson, Zhang, Karukuri, Callery, Gendler, Janetakis, and Giannetti do not explicitly teach a tag number of an image.
However, in an analogous art, Douglas teaches wherein the single service deployer four (4) parameters comprising a Service Name, Tag number of a docker image tag that is to be deployed), a Cluster Type and a Script Name (¶ [0015] states “When an image tag is received by the virtual image server, the virtual image server may parse the tag and pull the image file corresponding to each code name in the image tag from the image registry.” ¶ [0019] states “Container host 214 may include software or logic to build a container using a container image such as a docker file.”)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to combine the tag number of Douglas with the other parameters of Johnson, Callery, and Giannetti and the combination of Zhang, Karukuri, Gendler, and Janetakis. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination because tags are used by the smart container registry (¶ [0015] states “The smart container registry may generate image manifests on the fly for a container image based on image tags that define the image files/packages that the container image needs.”). The smart container registry can then build container images while reusing existing image files which leads to an improvement of resource usage and ensuring the user receives the most up to date version of an image file (¶ [0015] states “This in turn means that generation of a new layer is not required and the system does not have to spend the resources transferring binary content corresponding to those one or more same layers over the network. This also ensures that a user will always get the most up to date version of an image file.)
With regard to claim 14, Johnson, Zhang, Karukuri, Callery, Gendler, Janetakis, Giannetti, and Douglas teach the method of claim 13. Johnson additionally teaches further comprising:
implementing a service builder pipeline (¶ [0036] states “FIG. 3 is a flowchart diagram illustrating an example method 300 for provisioning a software service on a destination platform.”).
With regard to claim 15, Johnson, Zhang, Karukuri, Callery, Gendler, Janetakis, Giannetti, and Douglas teach the method of claim 14. Callery additionally teaches further comprising:
taking a service name and then a clone the repo (¶ [0041] states “at block 405, code is pulled from the repository. For example, the source code files associated with the particular application (e.g., application 130a-n) or the particular application component(s) (e.g., services 131a-n) may be checked out of the repository.”).
With regard to claim 16, Johnson, Zhang, Karukuri, Callery, Gendler, Janetakis, Giannetti, and Douglas teach the method of claim 15. Johnson additionally teaches further comprising:
for a core user interface (UI), implementing an angular build that is configured to be implemented separately (¶ [0049] states “At operation 514, service images associated with the software service(s) to be provisioned on the destination deployment platform are populated. Service images bundle a software service and its dependencies, under a root filesystem, into a single artifact. In some embodiments, the service image is a container image.” Examiner’s Note: in light of the 112(b) indefiniteness rejection, examiner interprets the service images, or builds, to be separate from other service images).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20230325500 A1
teaches
ANOMALOUS ACTIVITY DETECTION IN CONTAINER IMAGES
US 20170220329 A1
teaches
IMAGE DEPLOYMENT METHOD AND APPARATUS
US 10162627 B2
teaches
Maintaining Build Secrets In A Build Container
US 10152265 B1
teaches
Efficient Repository Migration And Storage
/PETER LI YUAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2197
/BRADLEY A TEETS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2197