DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1-9 are pending and being examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frost et al (US 3615257 A; hereinafter “Frost”) in view of Magniette (EP 1455187 A1; hereinafter “Magniette”; FOR attached).
Regarding claim 1, Frost teaches a device for filtering specific cells (Frost; Abstract; col 3, lines 20-30; cells contained on the filter), comprising:
an upper frame (Frost; Fig. 2; col 4, lines 54-55; cylindrical fluid receptacle 25), having a first outer peripheral portion and a first inner peripheral portion, the first inner peripheral portion (Frost; Fig. 4, 6; the Examiner interprets first outer peripheral portion as the outer wall of the cylindrical fluid receptacle 25 and the first inner peripheral portion as the inner wall of the cylindrical fluid receptacle 25) forming an inlet and a first cavity communicating with the inlet (Frost; Fig. 4, 5; col 4, lines 60; opening 27; Examiner notes that the inlet is the opening, and the cavity is interpreted as the open space within the fluid receptacle);
a lower frame (Frost; Fig. 2; col 6, line 13; funnel 53), having a second outer peripheral portion and a second inner peripheral portion, the second inner peripheral portion (Frost; Fig. 4, 6; the Examiner interprets second outer peripheral portion as the outer wall of the funnel 53 and the second inner peripheral portion as the inner wall of the funnel 53) forming an outlet and a second cavity communicating with the outlet (Frost; Fig. 4, 6; col 6, lines 14-16; Funnel 53 is integrally molded with the remainder of lower portion 24 and provides an exiting means for the filtrate and the cavity is interpreted as the interior of the funnel; the Examiner interprets the lower end 54 of the funnel to be the outlet and the dent 48 to be the cavity which receives the cassette);
a filtration membrane (Frost; Fig. 4, 6; col 4, lines 67; filter paper surface in cassette 22), disposed between the first cavity and the second cavity (Frost; Fig. 4, 6);
wherein the filtration membrane is detachably connected to the first cavity and the second cavity (Frost; Fig. 6; col 6, lines 8-10; allows the user to manipulate his fingers under the cassette and remove it from recess 48).
Frost does not teach the filtration membrane to be a flexible transparent filtration membrane.
However, Magniette teaches an analogous art of a device for collecting and transferring particles in a medium (Magniette; Abstract) comprising a flexible transparent filtration membrane (Magniette; Fig. 2, 4; para [31]; filter membrane may be transparent). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to substitute the filtration membrane of Frost to be a flexible and transparent filtration membrane as taught by Magniette as this is a known and suitable substitution for filtration membranes in the art. Further, it is a matter of engineering design for the filtration membrane to be in different ways, where the change in form or shape, without any new or unexpected result, is an obvious engineering design. See In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) (see MPEP § 2144.04). Finally, one would have a reasonable expectation of success by substituting the filtration membrane of Frost to the claimed limitation of being flexible and transparent as Magniette teaches this substitution is a known and suitable substitution in the art. The simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, B).
Regarding claim 2, modified Frost teaches the device as claimed in claim 1, wherein a bottom end of the first inner peripheral portion has a first support surface (Frost; Fig. 2, 4; col 6, lines 67-71; Extending around the perimeter of the rectangular opening in undersurface 28 is a rectangular dent 29 which is of sufficient size to receive gasket 30 which facilitates the formation of a sealing surface on the upper side of the cassette when it is properly positioned within the holder), a bottom of the second cavity has a second support surface (Frost; Fig. 6; col 5, lines 69-70; a rectangular dent 48 which is of sufficient size to receive cassette 22; the Examiner notes that the cassette is positioned within the rectangular dent that is recessed, thus supported by the bottom of the cavity), the flexible transparent filtration membrane includes an inner membrane portion and an outer membrane portion extending outwardly from an edge of the inner membrane portion (Frost; Fig. 7; the Examiner notes the filter paper is interpreted as the filtration membrane, and the inner membrane portion is interpreted as the central area of the filter paper 57 and the outer membrane portion is interpreted as the border of the filter paper 57), the inner membrane portion has filtration holes (Frost; Fig. 7; col 6, lines 48-51; filter materials, some of chloride, which are esters of cellulose, nylon, cellulose acetate, polyvinyl polycarbonate, polyvinyl fluoride, and regenerated cellulose; Examiner notes that these materials are porous which comprise filtration holes), and the outer membrane portion is secured between the first support surface and the second support surface (Frost; Fig. 4, 5; cassette 22 which comprises the filter paper is positioned within the funnel and receptacle).
Regarding claim 3, modified Frost teaches the device as claimed in claim 2, wherein a first elastic gasket is provided on the first support surface, a second elastic gasket is provided on the second support surface (Frost; Fig. 5; col 5, lines 61-64; to gasket 30 which fits into detent 29 in the undersurface of upper portion 23, a gasket 45 of rectangular configuration is designed to fit into detent 46 in upper surface 47 of lower portion 24), and the outer membrane portion is tightly clamped between the first elastic gasket and the second elastic gasket (Frost; Fig. 6; col 6, lines 22-25; Gaskets 30 and 45 are previously stated combine to assist in maintaining the tight sealing engagement to prevent loss of fluid during the filtration process by means other than through the filter paper).
Regarding claim 4, modified Frost teaches the device as claimed in claim 3, wherein the first support surface, the second support surface, the first elastic gasket and the second elastic gasket are formed a seal structure (Frost; col 5, line 64-67; Gasket 45 may also be of a rubber material as is gasket 30 and combines with gasket 30 to aid in ensuring a locking and tight engagement with all portions of the cassette when properly positioned in the holder).
Claims 1 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith (US 20020130100 A1; hereinafter “Smith”) in view of Magniette (EP 1455187 A1; hereinafter “Magniette”; FOR attached).
Regarding claim 1, Smith teaches a device for filtering specific cells (Smith; para [38]; filtration a one-piece closure that would incorporate a molded-in screen type openings for straining or screening aqueous solutions before entering the container), comprising:
an upper frame (Smith; Fig. 3, 4; para [85]; cap 40), having a first outer peripheral portion and a first inner peripheral portion, the first inner peripheral portion (Smith; Fig. 1-4; the Examiner interprets first outer peripheral portion as the outer wall of the cap 40 and the first inner peripheral portion as the inner wall of the cap 40) forming an inlet and a first cavity communicating with the inlet (Smith; Fig. 1-4; para [86]; the inside wall of the diaphragm by the angled wall 60 of the access cap is interpreted as the first cavity and the inlet is interpreted as the upper portion comprising the opening);
a lower frame (Smith; Fig. 1-4; para [89]; container 50), having a second outer peripheral portion and a second inner peripheral portion, the second inner peripheral portion (Smith; Fig. 1-4; the Examiner interprets second outer peripheral portion as the outer wall of the container 50 and the second inner peripheral portion as the inner wall of the container 50) forming an outlet and a second cavity communicating with the outlet (Smith; Fig. 1; the Examiner notes that the container comprises the cavity for the fluid and the outlet is the opening which the cap encloses);
a filtration membrane (Smith; para [116]; This filter membrane would allow sterile venting of the container 50), disposed between the first cavity and the second cavity (Smith; Fig. 20A; Examiner notes that the filter is positioned between the cavity of the cap and the cavity of the container);
wherein the filtration membrane is detachably connected to the first cavity and the second cavity (Smith; para [38]; oleophobic microporous filter membrane (i.e. 0.02 to 0.45 micron pore size) that would be sealably attached to the closure). The limitation is directed to the function and/or the manner of operating the filtration membrane, all the structural limitations of the claim has been disclosed by Smith and the filtration membrane of Smith is capable of being “detachably connected to the first cavity and the second cavity”. As such, it is deemed that the claimed filtration membrane is not differentiated from the filtration membrane of Smith (see MPEP §2114).
Smith does not teach the filtration membrane to be a flexible transparent filtration membrane.
However, Magniette teaches an analogous art of a device for collecting and transferring particles in a medium (Magniette; Abstract) comprising a flexible transparent filtration membrane (Magniette; Fig. 2, 4; para [31]; filter membrane may be transparent). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to substitute the filtration membrane of Smith to be a flexible and transparent filtration membrane as taught by Magniette as this is a known and suitable substitution for filtration membranes in the art. Further, it is a matter of engineering design for the filtration membrane to be in different ways, where the change in form or shape, without any new or unexpected result, is an obvious engineering design. See In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) (see MPEP § 2144.04). Finally, one would have a reasonable expectation of success by substituting the filtration membrane of Smith to the claimed limitation of being flexible and transparent as Magniette teaches this substitution is a known and suitable substitution in the art. The simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, B).
Regarding claim 5, modified Smith teaches the device as claimed in claim 1, wherein internal threads are formed on an inner wall of the first cavity, external threads are formed on an outer wall of the second inner peripheral portion, and the external threads cooperate with and are threadedly connected to the internal threads (Smith; Fig. 3; para [86]; the threaded cap 40 is rotated downward onto threads 54 of the tube). Examiner notes that the threads of the cap are on the inner wall and the threads of the container are on the outer wall.
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith in view of Magniette, and in further view of Fassbind et al (US 5720406 A; hereinafter “Fassbind”).
Regarding claim 6, modified Smith teaches the device as claimed in claim 1, wherein a connecting strip has an end connected to the first outer peripheral portion and another end connected to a connector (Smith; Fig. 5; para [85]; access cap 44 hinged to the threaded cap 40 by a hinge 46; Examiner interprets the hinge to be the connecting strip and the connector to be the access cap), the connector is detachably connected to the inlet (Smith; para [26]; the threaded sealing cap has a hinged access top/locking cap which has a mating taper area designed to engage and seal to the inside surfaces of the convex diaphragm).
Modified Smith does not teach the connector has an access hole.
However, Fassbind teaches an analogous art of areaction containers (Fassbind; Abstarct) comprising a connector having an access hole (Fassbind; col 2, lines 1-2; each closure being configured and dimensioned to be piercable by a pipetting needle). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the access top of modified Smith to comprise the access hole as taught by Fassbind, because Fassbind teaches that the closure provides a gas tight seal but is piercable by a needle (Fassbind; col 9, lines 57-61).
Regarding claim 7, modified Smith teaches the device as claimed in claim 6, wherein the connecting strip is a flexible strip (Smith; para [30]; a cap with a flexible tether attached to a molded container as an all in one injection molded assembly), the end of the connecting strip is integrally formed with the first outer peripheral portion, and another end of the connecting strip is integrally formed with the connector (Smith; Fig. 1, 5).
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith in view of Magniette, and in further view of Shibata et al (US 20100044337 A1; hereinafter “Shibata”).
Regarding claim 8, modified Smith teaches the device as claimed in claim 1, with the first outer peripheral wall.
Modified Smith does not teach wherein a plurality of first anti-slip grooves are formed on an outer wall of the first outer peripheral portion.
However, Shibata teaches an analogous art of a container (Shibata; Abstract) comprising a cap comprises a plurality of first anti-slip grooves are formed on an outer wall (Shibata; Fig. 2; para [61]; A knurl is formed on the outer peripheral surface of the closure portion 31). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified an outer wall of the first outer peripheral portion the cap of modified Smith to comprise the plurality of first anti-slip grooves as taught by Shibata, because Shibata teaches that the knurls function as a slip stopper for secure screwing to be achieved (Shibata; para [61]).
Regarding claim 9, modified Smith teaches the device as claimed in claim 1, with the second outer peripheral wall.
Modified Smith does not teach wherein a plurality of second anti-slip grooves are formed on an outer wall of a lower end of the second outer peripheral portion.
However, Shibata teaches an analogous art of a container (Shibata; Abstract) comprising a plurality of first anti-slip grooves are formed on an outer wall (Shibata; Fig. 2; para [53]; On the upper side of the storing portion 21, there is provided a knurl 211 around the outside periphery of which thin vertical ribs are formed). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified an outer wall of a lower end of the second outer peripheral portion of the container of modified Smith to comprise the plurality of first anti-slip grooves as taught by Shibata, because Shibata teaches that the knurls function as a slip stopper for secure screwing to be achieved (Shibata; para [54]).
Conclusion
/A.Q.L./Examiner, Art Unit 1796
/MATTHEW D KRCHA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1796