Attorney Docket Number: ALPHP061C3
Filling Date: 06/07/2024
Priority Date: 10/27/2018
Inventor: Mallikarjunaswamy
Examiner: Bilkis Jahan
DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mallikarjunaswamy et al (US 10,062,682 B1, Wamy hereinafter).
Regarding claim 1, Wamy discloses a transient voltage suppressing (TVS) protection device (Figs. 9, 9a, col. 11, lines 56-67, col. 12, lines 1-51) comprising: a first high-side steering diode DH1 having an anode terminal coupled to a first protected node I/O1 and a cathode terminal coupled to a second node N1; and a first low-side steering diode DL2 having a cathode terminal coupled to the first protected node I/O2 and an anode terminal coupled to a third node N2, wherein the first low-side steering diode DL2 comprises a silicon controlled rectifier MDL1 including alternating p-type and n-type regions, the outermost p-type region forming the anode terminal and the outermost n-type region forming the cathode terminal, the n-type region between a pair of p-type regions being substantially depleted at a bias voltage of zero volt (MDL1, claim 1).
Regarding claim 2, Wamy further discloses the TVS protection device of claim 1, wherein the p–type region adjacent the n–type region forming the cathode terminal of the first low-side steering diode is not biased to any electrical potential DL2, 58 (Fig. 5, “low side steering diode”).
Regarding claim 3, Wamy further discloses the TVS protection device of claim 1, wherein the first high-side steering diode DH1 comprises a PN junction diode 52, 64, 58 (Fig. 5, “High side steering diode”) having an anode terminal coupled to the first protected node I/O1 and a cathode terminal coupled to the second node N1.
Regarding claim 4, Wamy further discloses the TVS protection device of claim 1, wherein the first high-side steering diode DH1 comprises a punch-through silicon controlled rectifier MDH2, the punch-through silicon controlled rectifier including alternating p-type and n-type regions where the n-type region between a pair of p-type regions is substantially depleted at a bias voltage of zero volt (Fig. 9, claim 1).
Regarding claim 5, Wamy further discloses the TVS protection device of claim 1, wherein the first high-side steering diode DH1 comprises a MOS-triggered silicon controlled rectifier M1 (col. 7, lines 47-65), the MOS-triggered silicon controlled rectifier M1 including alternating p-type and n-type regions and a diode-connected MOS transistor integrated therein to trigger the silicon controlled rectifier to turn on M1 (“clamp circuit”, Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 6, Wamy further discloses the TVS device of claim 5, wherein a threshold voltage of the MOS transistor M1 is adjusted to adjust a breakdown voltage of the TVS protection device (col. 4, lines 47-59).
Regarding claim 7, Wamy further discloses the TVS protection device of claim 1, wherein the silicon controlled rectifier MDL1 of the first low-side steering diode comprises a punch-through silicon controlled rectifier where the n-type region between the pair of p-type regions is substantially depleted at a bias voltage of zero volt (Fig. 9, claim 1).
Regarding claim 8, Wamy further discloses the TVS protection device of claim 1, wherein the second node N1 and the third node N2 are both connected to a ground potential (N2 is the ground), the TVS protection device being a unidirectional TVS device (Fig. 9).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-19 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
BILKIS . JAHAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2817
/BILKIS JAHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817