DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
1. Applicant's arguments filed 10 December 2025 have been fully considered but are not persuasive. The new limitations are disclosed by at least Hiramatsu and Song or Li as detailed in the rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claims 1-16 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Hiramatsu (Japanese Patent Application Publication # JP 2017-211734; or corresponding patent JP 6,682,354) in view of Song et al. (Chinese Patent Application Publication # CN 105989601).
Regarding claim 1, Hiramatsu discloses an agricultural machine (figs 1-2, etc) comprising:
an image recognition system (P43-44, 81, etc) including:
an imaging device (P43, etc) ; and
a processing device configured or programmed to perform image processing for time-series (P43-44, 67, 107) color (P86) images that are acquired from the imaging device (P43-44, 67, 107, etc), the processing device being configured or programmed to determine edge lines of a row region (figs 7-8, 11, etc: implicit from at least the figures), the row region including at least one of a crop and a ridge on a ground surface of a field (P81: "detect the direction in which the ridge is formed based on the image detected by the camera 47", etc);
a positioning system to acquire a position of the agricultural machine (P39-45: "GNSS"/"antenna", etc);
traveling equipment including a wheel responsible for steering (figs 1-2, etc); and
a controller configured or programmed to perform either one of automatic path travel in which the traveling equipment is caused to travel along a target path based on the position of the agricultural machine that is acquired by the positioning system (P39-45: "autonomous travel", S105, P82, etc), or row-following travel in which the traveling equipment is caused to travel based on the edge lines of the row region that are determined by the image recognition system (ridges in figs 7-11, etc).
Hiramatsu does not explicitly disclose determining edge lines of a row region.
In the same field of endeavor, Song discloses determining edge lines of a row region (figs 8-10, P2, etc).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hiramatsu to determine edge lines of a row region, as taught by Song, in order to better avoid collisions or obstruction by the crop row when traveling, with predictable results.
Regarding claim 2, Hiramatsu further discloses a mode switch to select either the automatic path travel or the row-following travel (P82: "operator selects "Allow automatic correction of traveling route" in step S105, and further selects "Automatically correct all travel routes", i.e. there is a switch between the standard GNSS/antenna autonomous travel mode and the combined GNSS/antenna corrected by image mode).
Regarding claim 3, Hiramatsu further discloses that the controller is configured or programmed to: determine whether the row-following travel is possible or not based on a result of detection by the image recognition system; and start the row-following travel when the row-following travel is selected with the mode switch and if it is determined based on a result of detection by the image recognition system that the row-following travel is possible (P105: "The correction value can be input by operating the display 62 [ ... ] when the camera 47 detects a displacement between the traveling route and the central position of the ridge" corresponds to an automation detecting the possibility of correcting the GNSS mode by the image+GNSS mode, alternatively P109: "the tractor 1 may be stopped when it is determined that it is difficult to avoid contact" refers to a impossibility of using the image+GNSS mode; also well known in the art, the Examiner hereby takes Official Notice).
Regarding claim 4, Hiramatsu further discloses that the image recognition system is operable to start detection of crops and ridges with the image recognition system when the row-following travel is selected with the mode switch (S105, P82, etc).
Regarding claim 5, Hiramatsu further discloses that the controller is configured or programmed to start the automatic path travel when the automatic path travel is selected with the mode switch and if it is determined that the automatic path travel is possible (S105, P39-45, 82, etc).
Regarding claim 6, Hiramatsu further discloses that the traveling equipment is capable of manual steering travel; wherein an orientation of the wheel responsible for steering is changed via manual steering of a steering device; the agricultural machine further comprising a manipulator to accept a predetermined manipulation during the manual steering travel (P17-18, 74, etc);
wherein the controller is configured or programmed to generate a reference path based on a position of the traveling equipment at a time when the manipulator accepts the predetermined manipulation, and when a command to start the automatic path travel has been given, generate the target path by shifting the reference path in a predetermined direction (P99: "generates a travel route", P105: "generate a correction path", etc).
Regarding claim 7, Hiramatsu further discloses that the controller is configured or programmed to generate a reference path for the automatic path travel during the row-following travel (P99: "generates a travel route", P105: "generate a correction path", etc).
Regarding claim 8, Hiramatsu further discloses a start switch to command that automatic steering of the wheel responsible for steering be started or ended; wherein the controller is configured or programmed to start or end the automatic path travel or start or end the row-following travel in accordance with a command from the start switch (P20, 62, 67, 78, etc).
Regarding claim 9, Hiramatsu further discloses that the controller is configured or programmed to select either one of the automatic path travel and the row-following travel in accordance with a situation of the field (P82: “In the example shown in Figure 10, all of the ridges are inclined relative to the travel route, so the operator selects "Allow automatic correction of travel route" in step S105 and further selects "Automatically correct all travel routes."”, etc).
Regarding claim 10, Hiramatsu further discloses that the controller is configured or programmed to select either one of the automatic path travel and the row-following travel in accordance with a traveling state of the traveling equipment (P73, 82, etc: selection made by operator, and operator should make selection in accordance with a traveling state of the traveling equipment; also well known in the art, the Examiner hereby takes Official Notice).
Regarding claim 11, Hiramatsu further discloses that the controller is configured or programmed to select either one of the automatic path travel and the row-following travel in accordance with a status of the positioning system or the image recognition system (P73, 82, etc: selection made by operator, and operator should make selection in accordance with a status of the positioning system or the image recognition system; also well known in the art, the Examiner hereby takes Official Notice).
Regarding claim 12, Hiramatsu further discloses that the controller is configured or programmed to correct the target path when a difference between the target path and a position of the row region as detected by the image recognition system becomes equal to or greater than a predetermined value during the automatic path travel (P69, 71, 76-78, 83-84, etc).
Regarding claim 13, Hiramatsu further discloses that the controller is configured or programmed to acquire coordinates defining the row region as detected by the image recognition system, and generate a map of the row region in the field (figs 7-11 and 13-14, etc).
Regarding claim 14, Hiramatsu further discloses that the controller is configured or programmed to perform matching between the row region detected by the image recognition system and the map to determine a position of the agricultural machine in the field, and perform the automatic path travel or the row-following travel (figs 7-11 and 13-14, P68, etc; also well known in the art, the Examiner hereby takes Official Notice).
Regarding claim 15, Hiramatsu further discloses that the controller is configured or programmed to acquire a map of the row region in the field, perform matching between the row region detected by the image recognition system and the map to determine a position of the agricultural machine in the field, and perform the automatic path travel or the row-following travel (figs 7-11 and 13-14, P68, etc; also well known in the art, the Examiner hereby takes Official Notice).
Regarding claim 16, Hiramatsu further discloses that the controller is configured or programmed to generate the target path for the automatic path travel based on the map (figs 7-11 and 13-14, etc).
4. Claims 1-16 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Hiramatsu (Japanese Patent Application Publication # JP 2017-211734; or corresponding patent JP 6,682,354) in view of Li et al. (Chinese Patent Application Publication # CN 113065562).
Regarding claim 1, Hiramatsu discloses an agricultural machine (figs 1-2, etc) comprising:
an image recognition system (P43-44, 81, etc) including:
an imaging device (P43, etc) ; and
a processing device configured or programmed to perform image processing for time-series (P43-44, 67, 107) color (P86) images that are acquired from the imaging device (P43-44, 67, 107, etc), the processing device being configured or programmed to determine edge lines of a row region (figs 7-8, 11, etc: implicit from at least the figures), the row region including at least one of a crop and a ridge on a ground surface of a field (P81: "detect the direction in which the ridge is formed based on the image detected by the camera 47", etc);
a positioning system to acquire a position of the agricultural machine (P39-45: "GNSS"/"antenna", etc);
traveling equipment including a wheel responsible for steering (figs 1-2, etc); and
a controller configured or programmed to perform either one of automatic path travel in which the traveling equipment is caused to travel along a target path based on the position of the agricultural machine that is acquired by the positioning system (P39-45: "autonomous travel", S105, P82, etc), or row-following travel in which the traveling equipment is caused to travel based on the edge lines of the row region that are determined by the image recognition system (ridges in figs 7-11, etc).
Hiramatsu does not explicitly disclose determining edge lines of a row region.
In the same field of endeavor, Li discloses determining edge lines of a row region (figs 3-7, claim 1, etc).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hiramatsu to determine edge lines of a row region, as taught by Li, in order to better avoid collisions or obstruction by the crop row when traveling, with predictable results.
Regarding claim 2, Hiramatsu further discloses a mode switch to select either the automatic path travel or the row-following travel (P82: "operator selects "Allow automatic correction of traveling route" in step S105, and further selects "Automatically correct all travel routes", i.e. there is a switch between the standard GNSS/antenna autonomous travel mode and the combined GNSS/antenna corrected by image mode).
Regarding claim 3, Hiramatsu further discloses that the controller is configured or programmed to: determine whether the row-following travel is possible or not based on a result of detection by the image recognition system; and start the row-following travel when the row-following travel is selected with the mode switch and if it is determined based on a result of detection by the image recognition system that the row-following travel is possible (P105: "The correction value can be input by operating the display 62 [ ... ] when the camera 47 detects a displacement between the traveling route and the central position of the ridge" corresponds to an automation detecting the possibility of correcting the GNSS mode by the image+GNSS mode, alternatively P109: "the tractor 1 may be stopped when it is determined that it is difficult to avoid contact" refers to a impossibility of using the image+GNSS mode; also well known in the art, the Examiner hereby takes Official Notice).
Regarding claim 4, Hiramatsu further discloses that the image recognition system is operable to start detection of crops and ridges with the image recognition system when the row-following travel is selected with the mode switch (S105, P82, etc).
Regarding claim 5, Hiramatsu further discloses that the controller is configured or programmed to start the automatic path travel when the automatic path travel is selected with the mode switch and if it is determined that the automatic path travel is possible (S105, P39-45, 82, etc).
Regarding claim 6, Hiramatsu further discloses that the traveling equipment is capable of manual steering travel; wherein an orientation of the wheel responsible for steering is changed via manual steering of a steering device; the agricultural machine further comprising a manipulator to accept a predetermined manipulation during the manual steering travel (P17-18, 74, etc);
wherein the controller is configured or programmed to generate a reference path based on a position of the traveling equipment at a time when the manipulator accepts the predetermined manipulation, and when a command to start the automatic path travel has been given, generate the target path by shifting the reference path in a predetermined direction (P99: "generates a travel route", P105: "generate a correction path", etc).
Regarding claim 7, Hiramatsu further discloses that the controller is configured or programmed to generate a reference path for the automatic path travel during the row-following travel (P99: "generates a travel route", P105: "generate a correction path", etc).
Regarding claim 8, Hiramatsu further discloses a start switch to command that automatic steering of the wheel responsible for steering be started or ended; wherein the controller is configured or programmed to start or end the automatic path travel or start or end the row-following travel in accordance with a command from the start switch (P20, 62, 67, 78, etc).
Regarding claim 9, Hiramatsu further discloses that the controller is configured or programmed to select either one of the automatic path travel and the row-following travel in accordance with a situation of the field (P82: “In the example shown in Figure 10, all of the ridges are inclined relative to the travel route, so the operator selects "Allow automatic correction of travel route" in step S105 and further selects "Automatically correct all travel routes."”, etc).
Regarding claim 10, Hiramatsu further discloses that the controller is configured or programmed to select either one of the automatic path travel and the row-following travel in accordance with a traveling state of the traveling equipment (P73, 82, etc: selection made by operator, and operator should make selection in accordance with a traveling state of the traveling equipment; also well known in the art, the Examiner hereby takes Official Notice).
Regarding claim 11, Hiramatsu further discloses that the controller is configured or programmed to select either one of the automatic path travel and the row-following travel in accordance with a status of the positioning system or the image recognition system (P73, 82, etc: selection made by operator, and operator should make selection in accordance with a status of the positioning system or the image recognition system; also well known in the art, the Examiner hereby takes Official Notice).
Regarding claim 12, Hiramatsu further discloses that the controller is configured or programmed to correct the target path when a difference between the target path and a position of the row region as detected by the image recognition system becomes equal to or greater than a predetermined value during the automatic path travel (P69, 71, 76-78, 83-84, etc).
Regarding claim 13, Hiramatsu further discloses that the controller is configured or programmed to acquire coordinates defining the row region as detected by the image recognition system, and generate a map of the row region in the field (figs 7-11 and 13-14, etc).
Regarding claim 14, Hiramatsu further discloses that the controller is configured or programmed to perform matching between the row region detected by the image recognition system and the map to determine a position of the agricultural machine in the field, and perform the automatic path travel or the row-following travel (figs 7-11 and 13-14, P68, etc; also well known in the art, the Examiner hereby takes Official Notice).
Regarding claim 15, Hiramatsu further discloses that the controller is configured or programmed to acquire a map of the row region in the field, perform matching between the row region detected by the image recognition system and the map to determine a position of the agricultural machine in the field, and perform the automatic path travel or the row-following travel (figs 7-11 and 13-14, P68, etc; also well known in the art, the Examiner hereby takes Official Notice).
Regarding claim 16, Hiramatsu further discloses that the controller is configured or programmed to generate the target path for the automatic path travel based on the map (figs 7-11 and 13-14, etc).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Shelley Chen/
Patent Examiner
Art Unit 3665
January 19, 2026