DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it refers to the merits of the invention (see lines 1-4). A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art.
If the patent is of a basic nature, the entire technical disclosure may be new in the art, and the abstract should be directed to the entire disclosure. If the patent is in the nature of an improvement in an old apparatus, process, product, or composition, the abstract should include the technical disclosure of the improvement. The abstract should also mention by way of example any preferred modifications or alternatives.
Where applicable, the abstract should include the following: (1) if a machine or apparatus, its organization and operation; (2) if an article, its method of making; (3) if a chemical compound, its identity and use; (4) if a mixture, its ingredients; (5) if a process, the steps.
Extensive mechanical and design details of an apparatus should not be included in the abstract. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length.
See MPEP § 608.01(b) for guidelines for the preparation of patent abstracts.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites the limitation “a solder bump or bonding wire” in lines 2-3 and 6-7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Amending the first instance of the limitation (on lines 2-3) to “a first solder bump or bonding wire” and the second instance of the limitation (on lines 6-7) to “a second solder bump or bonding wire” is sufficient to overcome this rejection, which is how the limitation will be treated for examination purposes. Claims 5-9 are likewise rejected under this logic by virtue of their dependency on claim 4.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the number of the plurality of connection members is greater than the number of the plurality of amplifiers" in lines 24-26. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Amending the limitation to “a first number of the plurality of connection members is greater than a second number of the plurality of amplifiers” is sufficient to overcome this rejection, which is how the limitation will be treated for examination purposes. Claims 11-15 are likewise rejected under this logic by virtue of their dependency on claim 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 10, 12, 16, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Suzaki et al. (Patent Publication Number JP 2007/312,031 A), hereafter referred to as Suzaki.
Regarding claim 1, Suzaki discloses:
A radio frequency module (Suzaki, Fig. 2) comprising: a mounting substrate (Fig. 2, 58 and 63); a semiconductor integrated circuit (Fig. 2, 35) that is arranged at the mounting substrate (Fig. 2, see connection between 59 and 58); and a power supply wiring unit (Page 8, Paragraph 2, lines 17-20), wherein the semiconductor integrated circuit includes a first amplifier (Fig. 1, 1) that includes a first power supply terminal (Fig. 1, see power supply terminals in amplifier 1), a second amplifier (Fig. 1, 2) that includes a second power supply terminal (Fig. 1, see power supply terminals in amplifier 2), and a power supply electrode to which a power supply voltage from the mounting substrate is input (Page 8, Paragraph 2, lines 17-20), wherein the power supply wiring unit connects the power supply electrode to the first power supply terminal and the second power supply terminal (Page 8, Paragraph 2, lines 17-20), wherein the power supply wiring unit includes a terminal-to-terminal wiring part that connects the first power supply terminal to the second power supply terminal (Page 8, Paragraph 2, lines 17-18), and wherein the terminal-to-terminal wiring part includes a substrate-side wiring part that is arranged at the mounting substrate (Page 8, Paragraph 2, lines 17-19).
Regarding claim 2, Suzaki further discloses:
wherein the terminal-to-terminal wiring part further includes a first circuit-side wiring part (Suzaki, Fig. 1, see connection between amplifier 1 and power supply) and a second circuit-side wiring part (Fig. 1, see connection between amplifier 2 and power supply) that are arranged in the semiconductor integrated circuit (Fig. 1, see amplifiers 1 and 2 on 35), wherein the first circuit-side wiring part is connected between a first end of the substrate-side wiring part and the first power supply terminal (Suzaki, Fig. 1, see connection between amplifier 1 and power supply), and wherein the second circuit-side wiring part is connected between a second end of the substrate-side wiring part and the second power supply terminal (Fig. 1, see connection between amplifier 2 and power supply).
Regarding claim 3, Suzaki further discloses:
further comprising: a first connection member (Suzaki, Fig. 2, 77A) that is disposed between the mounting substrate and the semiconductor integrated circuit (Fig. 2, see connection between 35 and 63 via 77A) and connects the first circuit-side wiring part to the first end of the substrate-side wiring part (Fig. 2, see connection between 35 and 63 via 77A); and a second connection member (Fig. 2, 77B) that is disposed between the mounting substrate and the semiconductor integrated circuit (Fig. 2, see connection between 35 and 63 via 77B) and connects the second circuit-side wiring part to the second end of the substrate-side wiring part (Fig. 2, see connection between 35 and 63 via 77B).
Regarding claim 4, Suzaki further discloses:
wherein the first connection member includes a solder bump or bonding wire (Suzaki, Fig. 2, 74) for connecting the first circuit-side wiring part to the first end of the substrate-side wiring part (Fig. 2, see connection between 59 and 77A via 74), and wherein the second connection member includes a solder bump or bonding wire (Fig. 2, 74) for connecting the second circuit-side wiring part to the second end of the substrate-side wiring part (Fig. 2, see connection between 59 and 77B via 74).
Regarding claim 5, Suzaki further discloses:
wherein the substrate-side wiring part is arranged inside the mounting substrate (Suzaki, Fig. 2, see wiring 75 on substrate 63).
Regarding claim 10, Suzaki further discloses:
comprising: a plurality of connection members (Suzaki, Fig. 2, 73A-E and 77A-E) including the first connection member (Fig. 2, 77A) and the second connection member (Fig. 2, 77B), wherein the semiconductor integrated circuit includes a plurality of amplifiers (Fig. 1, 1-5) including the first amplifier (Fig. 1, 1) and the second amplifier (Fig. 1, 2), wherein the plurality of amplifiers each include a power supply terminal (Fig. 1, see connections to power supply in amplifiers 1-5), wherein the terminal-to-terminal wiring part connects the power supply terminals of the plurality of amplifiers (Page 8, Paragraph 2, lines 17-18), and includes a plurality of substrate-side wiring parts (Page 8, Paragraph 2, lines 17-19) including the substrate-side wiring part (Page 8, Paragraph 2, lines 17-19), and a plurality of circuit-side wiring parts (Suzaki, Fig. 1, see connection between amplifiers 1-5 and power supply) including the first circuit-side wiring part (Fig. 1, see connection between amplifier 1 and power supply) and the second circuit-side wiring part (Fig. 1, see connection between amplifier 2 and power supply), wherein each of the plurality of connection members is disposed between the mounting substrate and the semiconductor integrated circuit (Fig. 2, see connection between 35 and 63 via 73A-E and 77A-E) and connects one of the plurality of circuit-side wiring parts to one of the plurality of substrate-side wiring parts (Fig. 2, see connection between 35 and 63 via 73A-E and 77A-E), and wherein the number of the plurality of connection members is greater than the number of the plurality of amplifiers (Figs. 1-2, consider that there are 10 connection members in 73A-E and 77A-E, and 5 amplifiers 1-5).
Regarding claim 12, Suzaki further discloses:
wherein the first amplifier and the second amplifier include a power amplifier (Suzaki, Page 7, Paragraph 3, lines 2-3).
Regarding claim 16, Suzaki further discloses:
wherein the substrate-side wiring part is arranged inside the mounting substrate (Suzaki, Page 8, Paragraph 2, lines 17-19).
Regarding claim 18, Suzaki further discloses:
wherein at least one of the first amplifier and the second amplifier is an amplifier to which a plurality of signals of different communication bands are input (Suzaki, Abstract, lines 1-7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-8, 11, 13-14, 17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzaki as applied to claims 5, 10, 12, 1, and 1, respectively, above, and further in view of Kim et al. (Patent Publication Number US 2022/0415802 A1), hereafter referred to as Kim.
Regarding claim 6, Suzaki further discloses:
wherein at least one amplifier, out of the first amplifier and the second amplifier, includes an inductor (Suzaki, Fig. 1, see inductors 42), but fails to disclose and wherein the substrate-side wiring part overlaps with the inductor of the at least one amplifier in plan view from a thickness direction of the mounting substrate.
However, Kim teaches and wherein the substrate-side wiring part overlaps with the inductor of the at least one amplifier in plan view from a thickness direction of the mounting substrate (Kim, Fig. 1, see overlap of inductor 230 with wiring 202 in y-direction of Fig. 1).
Suzaki and Kim are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of improving amplifiers used in radio frequency communications. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have modified Suzaki to incorporate the teachings of Kim to include the inductor connection of Kim in the circuit of Suzaki, which would have the effect of improving the reliability of the circuit of Suzaki (Kim, Paragraph 4, lines 1-3).
Regarding claim 7, Suzaki further discloses:
wherein the at least one amplifier further includes a power supply terminal that is connected to the power supply wiring unit (Suzaki, Fig. 1, see connection between amplifier 1 and power supply), and an amplifier element (Fig. 1, see amplifier element 8) that is connected between the power supply terminal and a ground (Fig. 1, see connection between power supply and ground via 8) and amplifies an input signal to be amplified (Fig. 1, consider signal passing through amplifier element 8), and wherein the inductor is connected between the amplifier element and the ground (Fig. 1, see connection between amplifier 8 and ground via inductor 42 [and capacitor 37]).
Regarding claim 8, Suzaki further discloses:
wherein at least one of the first amplifier and the second amplifier is an amplifier to which a plurality of signals of different communication bands are input (Suzaki, Abstract, lines 1-7).
Regarding claim 11, Suzaki fails to disclose:
wherein the first amplifier and the second amplifier include a low noise amplifier.
However, Kim teaches wherein the first amplifier and the second amplifier include a low noise amplifier (Kim, Paragraph 30, lines 7-13).
Suzaki and Kim are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of improving amplifiers used in radio frequency communications. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have modified Suzaki to incorporate the teachings of Kim to implement the circuit of Suzaki for a low-noise amplifier, which would have the effect of utilizing the structure of Suzaki for additional common usages in the art (Kim, Paragraph 30, lines 7-13).
Regarding claim 13, Suzaki further discloses:
further comprising: a matching circuit (Suzaki, Fig. 1, see elements 32, 42, and 47) that includes an inductor (Fig. 1, 42) and is connected to one amplifier, out of the first amplifier and the second amplifier (Fig. 1, see connection between 42 and amplifier 1), wherein the mounting substrate has a first main surface (Fig. 1, consider that inductor 42 is part of surface 36) and a second main surface (Fig. 1, consider that amplifier 1 is part of surface 35) that are opposite to each other (Fig. 2 consider connection between 35 and 36), wherein the inductor of the matching circuit is disposed on the first main surface of the mounting substrate (Fig. 1, see inductor 42 on 36), wherein the semiconductor integrated circuit is disposed on the second main surface of the mounting substrate (Fig. 1, see amplifier 1 on 35), but fails to disclose and wherein the inductor of the matching circuit overlaps with the semiconductor integrated circuit in a thickness direction of the mounting substrate.
However, Kim teaches and wherein the inductor of the matching circuit overlaps with the semiconductor integrated circuit in a thickness direction of the mounting substrate (Kim, Fig. 1, see overlap of inductor 230 with wiring 202 in y-direction of Fig. 1).
Suzaki and Kim are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of improving amplifiers used in radio frequency communications. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have modified Suzaki to incorporate the teachings of Kim to include the inductor connection of Kim in the circuit of Suzaki, which would have the effect of improving the reliability of the circuit of Suzaki (Kim, Paragraph 4, lines 1-3).
Regarding claim 14, Suzaki further discloses:
wherein the mounting substrate includes a ground layer Suzaki, Fig. 3, 75B), and wherein the ground layer is disposed between the substrate-side wiring part and the semiconductor integrated circuit in a thickness direction of the mounting substrate (Fig. 3, see 75B as between bottom of 35 and top of 63 in y-direction of Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 17, Suzaki further discloses:
wherein at least one amplifier, out of the first amplifier and the second amplifier, includes an inductor (Suzaki, Fig. 1, see inductors 42), but fails to disclose and wherein the substrate-side wiring part overlaps with the inductor of the at least one amplifier in plan view from a thickness direction of the mounting substrate.
However, Kim teaches and wherein the substrate-side wiring part overlaps with the inductor of the at least one amplifier in plan view from a thickness direction of the mounting substrate (Kim, Fig. 1, see overlap of inductor 230 with wiring 202 in y-direction of Fig. 1).
Suzaki and Kim are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of improving amplifiers used in radio frequency communications. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have modified Suzaki to incorporate the teachings of Kim to include the inductor connection of Kim in the circuit of Suzaki, which would have the effect of improving the reliability of the circuit of Suzaki (Kim, Paragraph 4, lines 1-3).
Regarding claim 20, Suzaki fails to disclose:
wherein the first amplifier and the second amplifier include a low noise amplifier.
However, Kim teaches wherein the first amplifier and the second amplifier include a low noise amplifier (Kim, Paragraph 30, lines 7-13).
Suzaki and Kim are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of improving amplifiers used in radio frequency communications. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have modified Suzaki to incorporate the teachings of Kim to implement the circuit of Suzaki for a low-noise amplifier, which would have the effect of utilizing the structure of Suzaki for additional common usages in the art (Kim, Paragraph 30, lines 7-13).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzaki in view of Kim as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Obu et al. (Patent Publication Number US 2017/0359030 A1), hereafter referred to as Obu.
Regarding claim 9, Suzaki fails to disclose:
further comprising: a plurality of signal output terminals; and a switch that selectively connects an output part of one amplifier, out of the first amplifier and the second amplifier, to one of the plurality of signal output terminals, wherein the substrate-side wiring part overlaps with a wiring unit that connects the one amplifier to the switch in plan view from a thickness direction of the mounting substrate.
However, Obu teaches further comprising: a plurality of signal output terminals (Obu, Fig. 12, see outputs of 110 and 120 at RFout); and a switch (Fig. 12, SW1) that selectively connects an output part of one amplifier, out of the first amplifier and the second amplifier, to one of the plurality of signal output terminals (Fig. 12, see connection between SW1 and RFout), but fails to teach wherein the substrate-side wiring part overlaps with a wiring unit that connects the one amplifier to the switch in plan view from a thickness direction of the mounting substrate.
However, Kim further teaches wherein the substrate-side wiring part overlaps with a wiring unit that connects the one amplifier to the switch in plan view from a thickness direction of the mounting substrate (Kim, Fig. 1, consider overlap of 220 and 202 in y-direction of Fig. 1).
Suzaki, Kim, and Obu are all considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of improving amplifiers used in radio frequency communications. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have modified Suzaki to incorporate the teachings of Kim and Obu to include the layout connections of Kim in the circuit of Suzaki, which would have the effect of improving the reliability of the circuit of Suzaki (Kim, Paragraph 4, lines 1-3), and to include the switch of Obu in the circuit of Suzaki, which would have the effect of further improving the reliability of the circuit of Suzaki (Obu, Paragraph 7, lines 1-5).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzaki in view of Kim as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Takeuchi et al. (Patent Publication Number US 2020/0382081 A1), hereafter referred to as Takeuchi.
Regarding claim 15, Suzaki further discloses:
A communication apparatus (Suzaki, Fig. 2) comprising: the radio frequency module according to Claim 14 (see above); but fails to disclose and a signal processing circuit that is connected to the radio frequency module and performs signal processing for a radio frequency signal.
However, Takeuchi teaches and a signal processing circuit (Takeuchi, Fig. 1, 3) that is connected to the radio frequency module (Fig. 3, see connection between signal processing circuit 3 and RF module 1) and performs signal processing for a radio frequency signal (Paragraph 24, lines 1-6).
Suzaki, Kim, and Takeuchi are all considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of improving amplifiers used in radio frequency communications. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have modified Suzaki to incorporate the teachings of Takeuchi to include the signal processing circuit of Takeuchi in the circuit of Suzaki, which would have the effect of providing signal processing between RF and baseband frequencies for the system of Suzaki (Takeuchi, Paragraph 48, lines 1-8).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzaki as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Obu and Kim.
Regarding claim 19, Suzaki fails to disclose:
further comprising: a plurality of signal output terminals; and a switch that selectively connects an output part of one amplifier, out of the first amplifier and the second amplifier, to one of the plurality of signal output terminals, wherein the substrate-side wiring part overlaps with a wiring unit that connects the one amplifier to the switch in plan view from a thickness direction of the mounting substrate.
However, Obu teaches further comprising: a plurality of signal output terminals (Obu, Fig. 12, see outputs of 110 and 120 at RFout); and a switch (Fig. 12, SW1) that selectively connects an output part of one amplifier, out of the first amplifier and the second amplifier, to one of the plurality of signal output terminals (Fig. 12, see connection between SW1 and RFout), but fails to teach wherein the substrate-side wiring part overlaps with a wiring unit that connects the one amplifier to the switch in plan view from a thickness direction of the mounting substrate.
However, Kim further teaches wherein the substrate-side wiring part overlaps with a wiring unit that connects the one amplifier to the switch in plan view from a thickness direction of the mounting substrate (Kim, Fig. 1, consider overlap of 220 and 202 in y-direction of Fig. 1).
Suzaki, Obu, and Kim are all considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of improving amplifiers used in radio frequency communications. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have modified Suzaki to incorporate the teachings of Obu and Kim to include the switch of Obu in the circuit of Suzaki, which would have the effect of further improving the reliability of the circuit of Suzaki (Obu, Paragraph 7, lines 1-5), and to include the layout connections of Kim in the circuit of Suzaki, which would have the effect of improving the reliability of the circuit of Suzaki (Kim, Paragraph 4, lines 1-3).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Okamoto (Patent Publication Number US 2004/0189387 A1) discloses (Fig. 3) amplifying transistors with power supply wirings coupled together.
/LANCE TORBJORN BARTOL/Examiner, Art Unit 2843
/ANDREA LINDGREN BALTZELL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2843