DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
The applicants filed a new claim 18 which recites that a height of the linking portion is uniform.
The applicants have nor indicated which part of the original disclosure supports the referenced limitation.
The examiner has not been able to find the support for the referenced limitation in the original disclosure.
In contrast the original Figure 2 clearly shows the height of linking portion non-uniformed.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-18 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of copending Application No. 18/736,657 (reference application) in view of DE 202021003342 and Hummrich et al (US 2016/0208202).
The claims of the referenced application recite all the limitations of the instant claims 1-3, 5-18 except for the specific recitation of the bleaches and bleach activators, catalysts.
However, bleaches, bleach activators and catalysts were known to be conventional ingredients of the detergents and were known to be included in the multi-chambered water-soluble pouches, as evidenced by DE 202021003342 and Hummrich et al. DE 202021003342 also teach the claimed activators and catalysts and peracids. Hummrich et al also teach the use of the specific variants of bleaches as claimed.
It would have been obvious to an ordinary artisan at the time the invention was filed to include bleaches, activators, catalysts to one of the chambers of the pouch of the claims of the reference application in order to use a known products for their known purpose.
As to claims 4: modified claims of the reference application recite the limitation of the claim except the specific recitation of the claimed amounts of bleaches in grams.
However, it would have been obvious to an ordinary artisan at the time the invention was filed to find an optimum amount of bleach in grams depending from the specifics of the application and the specifics of the bleach used by routine experimentation.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-17 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of copending Application No. 18/736,692 (reference application) in view of DE 202021003342 and Hummrich et al (US 2016/0208202).
The claims of the referenced application recite all the limitations of the instant claims 1-3, 5-17 except for the specific recitation of the bleaches and bleach activators, catalysts.
However, bleaches, bleach activators and catalysts were known to be conventional ingredients of the detergents and were known to be included in the multi-chambered water-soluble pouches, as evidenced by DE 202021003342 and Hummrich et al. DE 202021003342 also teach the claimed activators and catalysts and peracids. Hummrich et al also teach the use of the specific variants of bleaches as claimed.
It would have been obvious to an ordinary artisan at the time the invention was filed to include bleaches, activators, catalysts to one of the chambers of the pouch of the claims of the reference application in order to use a known products for their known purpose.
As to claims 4: modified claims of the reference application recite the limitation of the claim except the specific recitation of the claimed amounts of bleaches in grams.
However, it would have been obvious to an ordinary artisan at the time the invention was filed to find an optimum amount of bleach in grams depending from the specifics of the application and the specifics of the bleach used by routine experimentation.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-17 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of copending Application No. 18/736,668 (reference application) in view of DE 202021003342 and Hummrich et al (US 2016/0208202).
The claims of the referenced application recite all the limitations of the instant claims 1-3, 5-10 and 13-17 except for the specific recitation of the bleaches and bleach activators, catalysts.
However, bleaches, bleach activators and catalysts were known to be conventional ingredients of the detergents and were known to be included in the multi-chambered water-soluble pouches, as evidenced by DE 202021003342 and Hummrich et al. DE 202021003342 also teach the claimed activators and catalysts and peracids. Hummrich et al also teach the use of the specific variants of bleaches as claimed.
It would have been obvious to an ordinary artisan at the time the invention was filed to include bleaches, activators, catalysts to one of the chambers of the pouch of the claims of the reference application in order to use a known products for their known purpose.
As to claims 4: modified claims of the reference application recite the limitation of the claim except the specific recitation of the claimed amounts of bleaches in grams.
However, it would have been obvious to an ordinary artisan at the time the invention was filed to find an optimum amount of bleach in grams depending from the specifics of the application and the specifics of the bleach used by routine experimentation.
As to claims 10-12 it would have been obvious to an ordinary artisan at the time the invention was filed to find optimum dimensions of the pouch by routine examination depending from the specifics of the application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-18 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of copending Application No. 18/736,650 (reference application) in view of DE 202021003342 and Hummrich et al (US 2016/0208202).
The claims of the referenced application recite all the limitations of the instant claims 1-3, 5-18 except for the specific recitation of the bleaches and bleach activators, catalysts.
However, bleaches, bleach activators and catalysts were known to be conventional ingredients of the detergents and were known to be included in the multi-chambered water-soluble pouches, as evidenced by DE 202021003342 and Hummrich et al. DE 202021003342 also teach the claimed activators and catalysts and peracids. Hummrich et al also teach the use of the specific variants of bleaches as claimed.
It would have been obvious to an ordinary artisan at the time the invention was filed to include bleaches, activators, catalysts to one of the chambers of the pouch of the claims of the reference application in order to use a known products for their known purpose.
As to claims 4: modified claims of the reference application recite the limitation of the claim except the specific recitation of the claimed amounts of bleaches in grams.
However, it would have been obvious to an ordinary artisan at the time the invention was filed to find an optimum amount of bleach in grams depending from the specifics of the application and the specifics of the bleach used by routine experimentation.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-18 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of copending Application No. 18/736,629 (reference application) in view of DE 202021003342 and Hummrich et al (US 2016/0208202).
The claims of the referenced application recite all the limitations of the instant claims 1-3, 5-18 except for the specific recitation of the bleaches and bleach activators, catalysts.
However, bleaches, bleach activators and catalysts were known to be conventional ingredients of the detergents and were known to be included in the multi-chambered water-soluble pouches, as evidenced by DE 202021003342 and Hummrich et al. DE 202021003342 also teach the claimed activators and catalysts and peracids. Hummrich et al also teach the use of the specific variants of bleaches as claimed.
It would have been obvious to an ordinary artisan at the time the invention was filed to include bleaches, activators, catalysts to one of the chambers of the pouch of the claims of the reference application in order to use a known products for their known purpose.
As to claims 4: modified claims of the reference application recite the limitation of the claim except the specific recitation of the claimed amounts of bleaches in grams.
However, it would have been obvious to an ordinary artisan at the time the invention was filed to find an optimum amount of bleach in grams depending from the specifics of the application and the specifics of the bleach used by routine experimentation.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-13 and 16-18 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 and 21-23 of copending Application No. 19/097,121 (reference application) in view of DE 202021003342 and Hummrich et al (US 2016/0208202).
The claims of the referenced application recite all the limitations of the instant claims 1-3, 5-13 and 16-18 except for the specific recitation of the bleaches and bleach activators, catalysts.
However, bleaches, bleach activators and catalysts were known to be conventional ingredients of the detergents and were known to be included in the multi-chambered water-soluble pouches, as evidenced by DE 202021003342 and Hummrich et al. DE 202021003342 also teach the claimed activators and catalysts and peracids. Hummrich et al also teach the use of the specific variants of bleaches as claimed.
It would have been obvious to an ordinary artisan at the time the invention was filed to include bleaches, activators, catalysts to one of the chambers of the pouch of the claims of the reference application in order to use a known products for their known purpose.
As to claims 4: modified claims of the reference application recite the limitation of the claim except the specific recitation of the claimed amounts of bleaches in grams.
However, it would have been obvious to an ordinary artisan at the time the invention was filed to find an optimum amount of bleach in grams depending from the specifics of the application and the specifics of the bleach used by routine experimentation.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1 and 14-15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2 of U.S. Patent No. 12,371,643 in view of DE 202021003342.
The claims of the Patent recite all the limitations of the instant claims except for the specific recitation of the bleach.
However, bleaches were known to be conventional ingredients of the detergents and were known to be included in the multi-chambered water-soluble pouches, as evidenced by DE 202021003342.
It would have been obvious to an ordinary artisan at the time the invention was filed to include bleaches to one of the chambers of the pouch of the method of the claims of the Patent in order to use a known product for its known purpose.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 7-13 and 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by DE 202021003342.
DE 202021003342 teaches a pouch as claimed.
The pouch comprises a water-soluble film as claimed (polyvinyl alcohol film).
The film is disclosed as forming a first chamber (2 or 3, 20 or 40), a second chamber (3 or 2, 40 or 20) and a third chamber (4, 30).
The first and the second chambers are disclosed as connected by a linking portion of the water-soluble film (inner seal web and the third chamber) with the length as claimed. See at least Figures 1-6, which are scaled and the description at pages 13-15.
The pouch is disclosed as comprising bleach and bleach activators. The disclosed bleach comprises the claimed peracid. The disclosed activators comprise claimed transitional metal complexes and tetraacetylethylenediamine. See at least page 18-19.
As to claims 11-12 DE 202021003342 teaches the sizes as claimed. See at least Figures 2-3, 5-6, which are scaled and the description at pages 13-15.
As to claim 16:
The minimum distance as claimed is shown at least on Figures 4-6.
As to claim 18:
The uniform height of the linking portion is shown at least on Figures 2-3, 5-6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE 202021003342.
DE 202021003342, as applied above, teaches a pouch as claimed except for the specific recitation of the claimed amounts of the bleach in grams.
However, it would have been obvious to an ordinary artisan at the time the invention was filed to find an optimum amount of bleach in grams depending from the specifics of the application and the specifics of the bleach used by routine experimentation.
Claim(s) 5 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE 202021003342 in view of Hummrich et al (US 2016/0208202).
DE 202021003342, as applied above, teaches a pouch as claimed except for the specific recitation of the claimed bleach.
However, Hummrich et al teach that the claimed bleaches were used in multicompartment pouches for dishwashing. See at least [0012], [0015], [0138-139], [0148].
It would have been obvious to an ordinary artisan at the time the invention was filed to utilize the bleaches recited by Hummrich et al in the pouches of DE 202021003342 in order to use a known product for its known purpose.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/25/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicants amended the claims and filed new claims 16-18.
The amended and new claims have been examined and are addressed in the rejections above.
The applicants allege that the DE 202021003342 does not anticipate or make obvious the amended claims.
This is not persuasive.
In contrast to the applicants’ allegation DE 202021003342 teaches a pouch as recited by the amended claims.
Please, note that the specification defines the length of the linking portion as “The length is typically measured from the outside edge of the film enclosing the first chamber to the outside edge of the film enclosing the second chamber.” (paragraph [0076] of the printed application, also newly filed claim 17).
Please, also note that the claims do not exclude any additional chambers between the first chamber and the second chamber.
Claim 1 has been amended to recite “the linking portion being free of any additional chambers”. The claim also defines “the linking portion” as connecting the first and the second chamber.
Thus, the claims only require the linking portion with the length measured from the outside edge of the film enclosing the first chamber to the outside edge of the film enclosing the second chamber be “free of any additional chambers”.
Such is clearly show at least on Figures 1-6 of DE 202021003342.
See at least a top or a right side of Figure 4, which clearly shows linking portions (the top and the right parts of the pouch 10 with the film portions without chambers between the outside edges of the chambers 40 and 20) with the lengths as claimed.
The applicants’ arguments directed to an inner sealing membrane are not found persuasive at least because they are not commensurate in scope with the claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALEXANDER MARKOFF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1711