DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Double Patenting
Claims 1-17 and 19-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 and 19-20 of copending Application No. 18/736,657 (reference application) in view of DE 202021003342 and Hummrich et al (US 2016/0208202).
The claims of the referenced application recite all the limitations of the instant claims 1-3, 5-17, 19-20 except for the specific recitation of the bleaches and bleach activators, catalysts.
However, bleaches, bleach activators and catalysts were known to be conventional ingredients of the detergents and were known to be included in the multi-chambered water-soluble pouches, as evidenced by DE 202021003342 and Hummrich et al. DE 202021003342 also teach the claimed activators and catalysts and peracids. Hummrich et al also teach the use of the specific variants of bleaches as claimed.
It would have been obvious to an ordinary artisan at the time the invention was filed to include bleaches, activators, catalysts to one of the chambers of the pouch of the claims of the reference application in order to use a known products for their known purpose.
As to claims 4: modified claims of the reference application recite the limitation of the claim except the specific recitation of the claimed amounts of bleaches in grams.
However, it would have been obvious to an ordinary artisan at the time the invention was filed to find an optimum amount of bleach in grams depending from the specifics of the application and the specifics of the bleach used by routine experimentation.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-17 and 19-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of copending Application No. 18/736,692 (reference application) in view of DE 202021003342 and Hummrich et al (US 2016/0208202).
The claims of the referenced application recite all the limitations of the instant claims 1-3, 5-17 except for the specific recitation of the bleaches and bleach activators, catalysts.
However, bleaches, bleach activators and catalysts were known to be conventional ingredients of the detergents and were known to be included in the multi-chambered water-soluble pouches, as evidenced by DE 202021003342 and Hummrich et al. DE 202021003342 also teach the claimed activators and catalysts and peracids. Hummrich et al also teach the use of the specific variants of bleaches as claimed.
It would have been obvious to an ordinary artisan at the time the invention was filed to include bleaches, activators, catalysts to one of the chambers of the pouch of the claims of the reference application in order to use a known products for their known purpose.
As to claims 4: modified claims of the reference application recite the limitation of the claim except the specific recitation of the claimed amounts of bleaches in grams.
However, it would have been obvious to an ordinary artisan at the time the invention was filed to find an optimum amount of bleach in grams depending from the specifics of the application and the specifics of the bleach used by routine experimentation.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-17 and 19-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of copending Application No. 18/736,668 (reference application) in view of DE 202021003342 and Hummrich et al (US 2016/0208202).
The claims of the referenced application recite all the limitations of the instant claims 1-3, 5-10 and 13-17 except for the specific recitation of the bleaches and bleach activators, catalysts.
However, bleaches, bleach activators and catalysts were known to be conventional ingredients of the detergents and were known to be included in the multi-chambered water-soluble pouches, as evidenced by DE 202021003342 and Hummrich et al. DE 202021003342 also teach the claimed activators and catalysts and peracids. Hummrich et al also teach the use of the specific variants of bleaches as claimed.
It would have been obvious to an ordinary artisan at the time the invention was filed to include bleaches, activators, catalysts to one of the chambers of the pouch of the claims of the reference application in order to use a known products for their known purpose.
As to claims 4: modified claims of the reference application recite the limitation of the claim except the specific recitation of the claimed amounts of bleaches in grams.
However, it would have been obvious to an ordinary artisan at the time the invention was filed to find an optimum amount of bleach in grams depending from the specifics of the application and the specifics of the bleach used by routine experimentation.
As to claims 10-12 it would have been obvious to an ordinary artisan at the time the invention was filed to find optimum dimensions of the pouch by routine examination depending from the specifics of the application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-17 and 19-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 and 19-20 of copending Application No. 18/736,650 (reference application) in view of DE 202021003342 and Hummrich et al (US 2016/0208202).
The claims of the referenced application recite all the limitations of the instant claims 1-3, 5-18 except for the specific recitation of the bleaches and bleach activators, catalysts.
However, bleaches, bleach activators and catalysts were known to be conventional ingredients of the detergents and were known to be included in the multi-chambered water-soluble pouches, as evidenced by DE 202021003342 and Hummrich et al. DE 202021003342 also teach the claimed activators and catalysts and peracids. Hummrich et al also teach the use of the specific variants of bleaches as claimed.
It would have been obvious to an ordinary artisan at the time the invention was filed to include bleaches, activators, catalysts to one of the chambers of the pouch of the claims of the reference application in order to use a known products for their known purpose.
As to claims 4: modified claims of the reference application recite the limitation of the claim except the specific recitation of the claimed amounts of bleaches in grams.
However, it would have been obvious to an ordinary artisan at the time the invention was filed to find an optimum amount of bleach in grams depending from the specifics of the application and the specifics of the bleach used by routine experimentation.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-17 and 19-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 and 19-20 of copending Application No. 18/736,629 (reference application) in view of DE 202021003342 and Hummrich et al (US 2016/0208202).
The claims of the referenced application recite all the limitations of the instant claims 1-3, 5-18 except for the specific recitation of the bleaches and bleach activators, catalysts.
However, bleaches, bleach activators and catalysts were known to be conventional ingredients of the detergents and were known to be included in the multi-chambered water-soluble pouches, as evidenced by DE 202021003342 and Hummrich et al. DE 202021003342 also teach the claimed activators and catalysts and peracids. Hummrich et al also teach the use of the specific variants of bleaches as claimed.
It would have been obvious to an ordinary artisan at the time the invention was filed to include bleaches, activators, catalysts to one of the chambers of the pouch of the claims of the reference application in order to use a known products for their known purpose.
As to claims 4: modified claims of the reference application recite the limitation of the claim except the specific recitation of the claimed amounts of bleaches in grams.
However, it would have been obvious to an ordinary artisan at the time the invention was filed to find an optimum amount of bleach in grams depending from the specifics of the application and the specifics of the bleach used by routine experimentation.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-13, 16-17, 19-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 and 24-26 of copending Application No. 19/097,121 (reference application) in view of DE 202021003342 and Hummrich et al (US 2016/0208202).
The claims of the referenced application recite all the limitations of the instant claims 1-3, 5-13, 16-17, 24-26 except for the specific recitation of the bleaches and bleach activators, catalysts.
However, bleaches, bleach activators and catalysts were known to be conventional ingredients of the detergents and were known to be included in the multi-chambered water-soluble pouches, as evidenced by DE 202021003342 and Hummrich et al. DE 202021003342 also teach the claimed activators and catalysts and peracids. Hummrich et al also teach the use of the specific variants of bleaches as claimed.
It would have been obvious to an ordinary artisan at the time the invention was filed to include bleaches, activators, catalysts to one of the chambers of the pouch of the claims of the reference application in order to use a known products for their known purpose.
As to claims 4: modified claims of the reference application recite the limitation of the claim except the specific recitation of the claimed amounts of bleaches in grams.
However, it would have been obvious to an ordinary artisan at the time the invention was filed to find an optimum amount of bleach in grams depending from the specifics of the application and the specifics of the bleach used by routine experimentation.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1 and 14-15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2 of U.S. Patent No. 12,371,643 in view of DE 202021003342.
The claims of the Patent recite all the limitations of the instant claims except for the specific recitation of the bleach.
However, bleaches were known to be conventional ingredients of the detergents and were known to be included in the multi-chambered water-soluble pouches, as evidenced by DE 202021003342.
It would have been obvious to an ordinary artisan at the time the invention was filed to include bleaches to one of the chambers of the pouch of the method of the claims of the Patent in order to use a known product for its known purpose.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 7-13 and 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by EP 1375637.
As to claim 1:
EP 1375637 teaches a pouch.
The pouch comprises the chamber as claimed (at least Figures 1a-g, 2).
The pouch comprises a water-soluble film as claimed (polyvinyl alcohol film) (at least [0063]).
The chambers are disclosed as connected by a linking portion of the water-soluble film (at least Figures 1a-g, 2) with the length as claimed (at least [0016]).
The pouch is disclosed as comprising detergent (at least [0032-59]) and bleach and bleach activators (at least [0053-54]).
As to claims 2, 3 and 16:
The sizes of the linking portion recited by these claims are clearly envisaged by the disclosure of EP 1375637 at [0016].
As to claims 5 and 6:
The claimed bleaches are disclosed at least at [0054].
As to claim 7:
The claimed activators are disclosed at least at [0054-53].
As to claim 10:
The claimed peracid is disclosed at least at [0053].
As to claims 11-12 and 20:
EP 1375637 teaches the sizes as claimed (at least [0016-22]).
As to claim 13:
The claimed PVA is disclosed at least at [0063].
AS to claim 19:
The pouch with two chambers is shown at least on Figures 1a-g and disclosed at least at the Abstract.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-13, 16-17 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE 202021003342 in view of EP 1375637.
DE 202021003342 teaches a pouch.
The pouch comprises a water-soluble film as claimed (polyvinyl alcohol film).
The film is disclosed as forming a first chamber (2 or 3, 20 or 40), a second chamber (3 or 2, 40 or 20) and a third chamber (4, 30).
The first and the second chambers are disclosed as connected by a linking portion of the water-soluble film (inner seal web and the third chamber). See at least Figures 1-6, which are scaled and the description at pages 13-15.
The pouch is disclosed as comprising bleach and bleach activators. The disclosed bleach comprises the claimed peracid. The disclosed activators comprise claimed transitional metal complexes and tetraacetylethylenediamine. See at least page 18-19.
As to claim 11: DE 202021003342 teaches the sizes as claimed. See at least Figures 2-3, 5-6 and the description at pages 13-15.
Thus, DE 202021003342 teaches a pouch as claimed except for the specific recitation of the dimensions/sizes of the linking portions as claimed.
However, EP 1375657 teaches that the claimed sizes/dimensions of the linking portions were known in the art (at least [0016]).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary artisan at the time the invention was filed to make the pouches of the DE 202021003342 with the sizes of the linking portions as disclosed by EP 1375657 in order to use a known equipment of EP 1375657 to make the pouches.
As to claims 2 and 3:
The sizes recited by these claims are envisaged by the disclosure of EP 1375657 at [0016].
AS to claim 4:
Modified DE 202021003342, as applied above, teaches a pouch as claimed except for the specific recitation of the claimed amounts of the bleach in grams.
However, it would have been obvious to an ordinary artisan at the time the invention was filed to find an optimum amount of bleach in grams depending from the specifics of the application and the specifics of the bleach used by routine experimentation.
As to claims 5 and 6:
Modified DE 202021003342, as applied above, teaches a pouch as claimed except for the specific recitation of the claimed bleach.
However, EP 1375657 teaches that the claimed bleaches were used in multicompartment pouches. See at least [0054].
It would have been obvious to an ordinary artisan at the time the invention was filed to utilize the bleaches recited by EP 1375657 in the pouches of DE 202021003342 in order to use a known product for its known purpose.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP 1375637.
The discussion of EP 1375637 provided above is incorporated here.
EP 1375637 teaches a pouch as claimed except for the specific recitation of the claimed amounts of the bleach in grams.
However, it would have been obvious to an ordinary artisan at the time the invention was filed to find an optimum amount of bleach in grams depending from the specifics of the application and the specifics of the bleach used by routine experimentation.
Claim(s) 8 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP 1375637 in view of DE 202021003342.
The discussion of EP 1375637 provided above is incorporated here.
EP 1375637 teaches a pouch as claimed except for the specific recitation of the claimed bleach activator.
However, DE 202021003342 teaches that the claimed activators/catalysts were known to be used in multicompartment pouches. See at least page 18-19.
It would have been obvious to an ordinary artisan at the time the invention was filed to utilize the bleaches recited by DE 202021003342 in the pouches of EP 1375637 in order to use a known product for its known purpose.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/08/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicants amended the claims, cancelled claim 18 and filed new claims 19-20.
The amended and new claims have been examined and are addressed in the rejections above.
The teaching of EP 1375637 has been used to address the newly introduced limitations.
Conclusion
/ALEXANDER MARKOFF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1711