DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Double Patenting
Claims 1-17 and 19-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 and 19-20 of copending Application No. 18/736,657 (reference application) in view of DE 202021003342.
The claims of the referenced application recite all the limitations of the instant claims 1-3, 5-17 and 19-20 except for the specific recitation of the builder.
However, the builders were known to be conventional ingredients of the detergents and were known to be included in the multi-chambered water-soluble pouches, as evidenced by DE 202021003342.
It would have been obvious to an ordinary artisan at the time the invention was filed to include builders in to one of the chambers of the pouch of the claims of the reference application in order to use a known product for its known purpose.
As to claim 4: modified claims of the reference application recite the limitation of the claim except the specific recitation of the claimed amounts of builder in grams.
However, DE 202021003342 teaches the amount of the builder in percentages of the weight of the pouch. See at least page 16.
It would have been obvious to an ordinary artisan at the time the invention was filed to find an optimum amount of builder in grams depending from the total weight of the pouch to correspond to the amounts recommended by DE 202021003342 in the pouch and the method of the claims of the reference application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-17 and 19-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of copending Application No. 18/736,692 (reference application) in view of DE 202021003342.
The claims of the referenced application recite all the limitations of the instant claims 1-3, 5-17 and 19-20 except for the specific recitation of the builder.
However, the builders were known to be conventional ingredients of the detergents and were known to be included in the multi-chambered water-soluble pouches, as evidenced by DE 202021003342.
It would have been obvious to an ordinary artisan at the time the invention was filed to include builders in to one of the chambers of the pouch of the claims of the reference application in order to use a known product for its known purpose.
As to claim 4: modified claims of the reference application recite the limitation of the claim except the specific recitation of the claimed amounts of builder in grams.
However, DE 202021003342 teaches the amount of the builder in percentages of the weight of the pouch. See at least page 16.
It would have been obvious to an ordinary artisan at the time the invention was filed to find an optimum amount of builder in grams depending from the total weight of the pouch to correspond to the amounts recommended by DE 202021003342 in the pouch and the method of the claims of the reference application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-17 and 19-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 and 19-20 of copending Application No. 18/736,640 (reference application) in view of DE 202021003342.
The claims of the referenced application recite all the limitations of the instant claims 1-3, 5-17 and 19-20 except for the specific recitation of the builder.
However, the builders were known to be conventional ingredients of the detergents and were known to be included in the multi-chambered water-soluble pouches, as evidenced by DE 202021003342.
It would have been obvious to an ordinary artisan at the time the invention was filed to include builders in to one of the chambers of the pouch of the claims of the reference application in order to use a known product for its known purpose.
As to claim 4: modified claims of the reference application recite the limitation of the claim except the specific recitation of the claimed amounts of builder in grams.
However, DE 202021003342 teaches the amount of the builder in percentages of the weight of the pouch. See at least page 16.
It would have been obvious to an ordinary artisan at the time the invention was filed to find an optimum amount of builder in grams depending from the total weight of the pouch to correspond to the amounts recommended by DE 202021003342 in the pouch and the method of the claims of the reference application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-17 and 19-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of copending Application No. 18/736,668 (reference application) in view of DE 202021003342.
The claims of the referenced application recite all the limitations of the instant claims 1-3, 5-10, 13-17 and 19-20 except for the specific recitation of the builder.
However, the builders were known to be conventional ingredients of the detergents and were known to be included in the multi-chambered water-soluble pouches, as evidenced by DE 202021003342.
It would have been obvious to an ordinary artisan at the time the invention was filed to include builders in to one of the chambers of the pouch of the claims of the reference application in order to use a known product for its known purpose.
As to claim 4: modified claims of the reference application recite the limitation of the claim except the specific recitation of the claimed amounts of builder in grams.
However, DE 202021003342 teaches the amount of the builder in percentages of the weight of the pouch. See at least page 16.
It would have been obvious to an ordinary artisan at the time the invention was filed to find an optimum amount of builder in grams depending from the total weight of the pouch to correspond to the amounts recommended by DE 202021003342 in the pouch and the method of the claims of the reference application.
As to claims 11-12 it would have been obvious to an ordinary artisan at the time the invention was filed to find optimum dimensions of the pouch by routine examination depending from the specifics of the application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-17 and 19-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 and 19-20 of copending Application No. 18/736,629 (reference application) in view of DE 202021003342.
The claims of the referenced application recite all the limitations of the instant claims 1-3, 5-17, 19-20 except for the specific recitation of the builder.
However, the builders were known to be conventional ingredients of the detergents and were known to be included in the multi-chambered water-soluble pouches, as evidenced by DE 202021003342.
It would have been obvious to an ordinary artisan at the time the invention was filed to include builders in to one of the chambers of the pouch of the claims of the reference application in order to use a known product for its known purpose.
As to claim 4: modified claims of the reference application recite the limitation of the claim except the specific recitation of the claimed amounts of builder in grams.
However, DE 202021003342 teaches the amount of the builder in percentages of the weight of the pouch. See at least page 16.
It would have been obvious to an ordinary artisan at the time the invention was filed to find an optimum amount of builder in grams depending from the total weight of the pouch to correspond to the amounts recommended by DE 202021003342 in the pouch and the method of the claims of the reference application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-13, 16-17 and 19-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 and 24-26 of copending Application No. 19/097,121 (reference application) in view of DE 202021003342.
The claims of the referenced application recite all the limitations of the instant claims 1-3, 5-13, 16-17 and 19-20 except for the specific recitation of the builder.
However, the builders were known to be conventional ingredients of the detergents and were known to be included in the multi-chambered water-soluble pouches, as evidenced by DE 202021003342.
It would have been obvious to an ordinary artisan at the time the invention was filed to include builders in to one of the chambers of the pouch of the claims of the reference application in order to use a known product for its known purpose.
As to claim 4: modified claims of the reference application recite the limitation of the claim except the specific recitation of the claimed amounts of builder in grams.
However, DE 202021003342 teaches the amount of the builder in percentages of the weight of the pouch. See at least page 16.
It would have been obvious to an ordinary artisan at the time the invention was filed to find an optimum amount of builder in grams depending from the total weight of the pouch to correspond to the amounts recommended by DE 202021003342 in the pouch of the claims of the reference application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1 and 14-15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2 of U.S. Patent No. 12,371,643 in view of DE 202021003342.
The claims of the Patent recite all the limitations of the instant claims except for the specific recitation of the builder.
However, the builders were known to be conventional ingredients of the detergents and were known to be included in the multi-chambered water-soluble pouches, as evidenced by DE 202021003342.
It would have been obvious to an ordinary artisan at the time the invention was filed to include builders in to one of the chambers of the pouch of the method of the claims of the Patent in order to use a known product for its known purpose.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-7, 11-13, 16-17, and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by EP 1375637.
As to claims 1 and 16:
EP 1375637 teaches a pouch.
The pouch comprises the chamber as claimed (at least Figures 1a-g, 2).
The pouch comprises a water-soluble film as claimed (polyvinyl alcohol film) (at least [0063]).
The chambers are disclosed as connected by a linking portion of the water-soluble film (at least Figures 1a-g, 2) with the length as claimed (at least [0016]).
The pouch is disclosed as comprising detergent (at least [0032-59]) and builders (at least [0047-52]).
As to claims 2, 3:
The sizes of the linking portion recited by these claims are clearly envisaged by the disclosure of EP 1375637 at [0016].
As to claims 5-7 and 10:
The builders as claimed are disclosed at least at [0047-52], Example 4.
As to claims 11-12 and 20:
EP 1375637 teaches the sizes as claimed (at least [0016-22]).
As to claim 13:
The claimed PVA is disclosed at least at [0063].
AS to claim 19:
The pouch with two chambers is shown at least on Figures 1a-g and disclosed at least at the Abstract.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP 1375637.
The discussion of EP 1375637 provided above is incorporated here.
EP 1375637 teaches a pouch as claimed except for the specific recitation of the claimed amounts of the builder in grams.
However, it would have been obvious to an ordinary artisan at the time the invention was filed to find an optimum amount of bleach in grams depending from the specifics of the application and the specifics of the bleach used by routine experimentation.
Claim(s) 8 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP 1375637 in view of DE 202021003342.
The discussion of EP 1375637 provided above is incorporated here.
EP 1375637 teaches a pouch as claimed except for the specific recitation of the builder as claimed.
However, DE 202021003342 teaches that the claimed activators/catalysts were known to be used in multicompartment pouches. See at least page 16.
It would have been obvious to an ordinary artisan at the time the invention was filed to utilize the builder recited by DE 202021003342 in the pouches of EP 1375637 in order to use a known product for its known purpose.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/08/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicants amended the claims, cancelled claim 18 and filed new claims 19-20.
The amended and new claims have been examined and are addressed in the rejections above.
The teaching of EP 1375637 has been used to address the newly introduced limitations.
Conclusion
/ALEXANDER MARKOFF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1711