DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Double Patenting
Claims 1-19 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 and 19-20 of copending Application No. 18/736,657 (reference application) in view of DE 202021003342 and Hummrich et al (US 2016/0208202).
The claims of the referenced application recite all the limitations of the instant claims 1-3, 5-8 and 10-19 except for the specific recitation of the proteases, amylases and bleaches.
However, proteases, amylases and bleaches were known to be conventional ingredients of the detergents and were known to be included in the multi-chambered water-soluble pouches, as evidenced by DE 202021003342 and Hummrich et al. Hummrich et al also teach the use of the specific variants of enzymes as claimed.
It would have been obvious to an ordinary artisan at the time the invention was filed to include proteases, amylases, bleaches to one of the chambers of the pouch of the claims of the reference application in order to use a known products for their known purpose.
As to claims 4 and 9: modified claims of the reference application recite the limitation of the claim except the specific recitation of the claimed amounts of proteases and amylases in milligrams.
It would have been obvious to an ordinary artisan at the time the invention was filed to find an optimum amount of the referenced enzymes in milligrams depending from the total weight of the pouch, specifics of the detergent composition and the used enzymes.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-19 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of copending Application No. 18/736,692 (reference application) in view of DE 202021003342 and Hummrich et al (US 2016/0208202).
The claims of the referenced application recite all the limitations of the instant claims 1-3, 5-8 and 10-19 except for the specific recitation of the proteases, amylases and bleaches.
However, proteases, amylases and bleaches were known to be conventional ingredients of the detergents and were known to be included in the multi-chambered water-soluble pouches, as evidenced by DE 202021003342 and Hummrich et al. Hummrich et al also teach the use of the specific variants of enzymes as claimed.
It would have been obvious to an ordinary artisan at the time the invention was filed to include proteases, amylases, bleaches to one of the chambers of the pouch of the claims of the reference application in order to use a known products for their known purpose.
As to claims 4 and 9: modified claims of the reference application recite the limitation of the claim except the specific recitation of the claimed amounts of proteases and amylases in milligrams.
It would have been obvious to an ordinary artisan at the time the invention was filed to find an optimum amount of the referenced enzymes in milligrams depending from the total weight of the pouch, specifics of the detergent composition and the used enzymes.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-19 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 and 19-20 of copending Application No. 18/736,640 (reference application) in view of DE 202021003342 and Hummrich et al (US 2016/0208202).
The claims of the referenced application recite all the limitations of the instant claims 1-3, 5-8 and 10-19 except for the specific recitation of the proteases, amylases and bleaches.
However, proteases, amylases and bleaches were known to be conventional ingredients of the detergents and were known to be included in the multi-chambered water-soluble pouches, as evidenced by DE 202021003342 and Hummrich et al. Hummrich et al also teach the use of the specific variants of enzymes as claimed.
It would have been obvious to an ordinary artisan at the time the invention was filed to include proteases, amylases, bleaches to one of the chambers of the pouch of the claims of the reference application in order to use a known products for their known purpose.
As to claims 4 and 9: modified claims of the reference application recite the limitation of the claim except the specific recitation of the claimed amounts of proteases and amylases in milligrams.
It would have been obvious to an ordinary artisan at the time the invention was filed to find an optimum amount of the referenced enzymes in milligrams depending from the total weight of the pouch, specifics of the detergent composition and the used enzymes.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-19 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 and 19-20 of copending Application No. 18/736,650 (reference application) in view of DE 202021003342 and Hummrich et al (US 2016/0208202).
The claims of the referenced application recite all the limitations of the instant claims 1-3, 5-8 and 10-19 except for the specific recitation of the proteases, amylases and bleaches.
However, proteases, amylases and bleaches were known to be conventional ingredients of the detergents and were known to be included in the multi-chambered water-soluble pouches, as evidenced by DE 202021003342 and Hummrich et al. Hummrich et al also teach the use of the specific variants of enzymes as claimed.
It would have been obvious to an ordinary artisan at the time the invention was filed to include proteases, amylases, bleaches to one of the chambers of the pouch of the claims of the reference application in order to use a known products for their known purpose.
As to claims 4 and 9: modified claims of the reference application recite the limitation of the claim except the specific recitation of the claimed amounts of proteases and amylases in milligrams.
It would have been obvious to an ordinary artisan at the time the invention was filed to find an optimum amount of the referenced enzymes in milligrams depending from the total weight of the pouch, specifics of the detergent composition and the used enzymes.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-19 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 and 19-20 of copending Application No. 18/736,629 (reference application) in view of DE 202021003342 and Hummrich et al (US 2016/0208202).
The claims of the referenced application recite all the limitations of the instant claims 1-3, 5-19 except for the specific recitation of the protease.
However, proteases were known to be conventional ingredients of the detergents and were known to be included in the multi-chambered water-soluble pouches, as evidenced by DE 202021003342 and Hummrich et al. Hummrich et al also teach the use of the specific variants of enzymes as claimed.
It would have been obvious to an ordinary artisan at the time the invention was filed to include proteases to one of the chambers of the pouch of the claims of the reference application in order to use a known products for their known purpose.
As to claim 4: modified claims of the reference application recite the limitation of the claim except the specific recitation of the claimed amounts of protease in milligrams.
It would have been obvious to an ordinary artisan at the time the invention was filed to find an optimum amount of protease in milligrams depending from the specifics of the detergent composition and the protease used.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-13 and 16-19 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 and 24-26 of copending Application No. 19/097,121 (reference application) in view of DE 202021003342 and Hummrich et al (US 2016/0208202).
The claims of the referenced application recite all the limitations of the instant claims 1-3, 5-8, 10-13 and 16-19 except for the specific recitation of the proteases, amylases and bleaches.
However, proteases, amylases and bleaches were known to be conventional ingredients of the detergents and were known to be included in the multi-chambered water-soluble pouches, as evidenced by DE 202021003342 and Hummrich et al. Hummrich et al also teach the use of the specific variants of enzymes as claimed.
It would have been obvious to an ordinary artisan at the time the invention was filed to include proteases, amylases, bleaches to one of the chambers of the pouch of the claims of the reference application in order to use a known products for their known purpose.
As to claims 4 and 9: modified claims of the reference application recite the limitation of the claim except the specific recitation of the claimed amounts of proteases and amylases in milligrams.
It would have been obvious to an ordinary artisan at the time the invention was filed to find an optimum amount of the referenced enzymes in milligrams depending from the total weight of the pouch, specifics of the detergent composition and the used enzymes.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1 and 14-15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2 of U.S. Patent No. 12,371,643 in view of DE 202021003342.
The claims of the Patent recite all the limitations of the instant claims except for the specific recitation of the proteases and amylases.
However, the referenced enzymes were known to be conventional ingredients of the detergents and were known to be included in the multi-chambered water-soluble pouches, as evidenced by DE 202021003342.
It would have been obvious to an ordinary artisan at the time the invention was filed to include proteases and amylases to one of the chambers of the pouch of the method of the claims of the Patent in order to use a known product for its known purpose.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-13 and 16-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP 1375637 in view of any one of in view of DE 202021003342 and Hummrich et al (US 2016/0208202).
As to claims 1, 8 and17:
EP 1375637 teaches a pouch.
The pouch comprises the chamber as claimed (at least Figures 1a-g, 2).
The pouch comprises a water-soluble film as claimed (polyvinyl alcohol film) (at least [0063]).
The chambers are disclosed as connected by a linking portion of the water-soluble film (at least Figures 1a-g, 2) with the length as claimed (at least [0016]).
The pouch is disclosed as comprising detergent (at least [0032-59]) and enzymes (at least [0035] and [0055]).
EP 1375637 does n ot specifically exemplify the use of protease and amylase.
However, DE 202021003342 and Hummrich et al teach that the claimed enzymes were used in multicompartment pouches for dishwashing. See at least [0116-128] of Hummich et al and page 18 of DE 202021003342.
It would have been obvious to an ordinary artisan at the time the invention was filed to utilize theenzymes recited by Hummrich et al and DE 202021003342 in the pouches of EP 1375637 in order to use a known product for its known purpose.
As to claims 2, 3, 16, 19:
The sizes of the linking portion and the chambers recited by these claims are clearly envisaged by the disclosure of EP 1375637 at [0016].
As to claim 4:
Modified EP 1375637, as applied above, teaches a pouch as claimed except for the specific recitation of the claimed amounts of the protease in milligrams.
However, it would have been obvious to an ordinary artisan at the time the invention was filed to find an optimum amount of enzyme (protease) in milligrams depending from the specifics of the application and the specifics of the enzyme used by routine experimentation.
As to claim 5 and 10:
Modified EP 1375637 teaches a pouch as claimed except for the specific recitation of the claimed variants of enzymes.
Hummrich et al teach that the claimed variants of the enzymes were used in multicompartment pouches for dishwashing. See at least [0116-128].
It would have been obvious to an ordinary artisan at the time the invention was filed to utilize the variants of enzymes recited by Hummrich et al in the pouches of EP 1375637 in order to use a known product for its known purpose.
As to claims 6-7:
EP 1375637 teaches the use of both liquid and solid compositions. See at least [0032-36].
As to claim 9:
Modified EP 1375637, as applied above, teaches a pouch as claimed except for the specific recitation of the claimed amounts of the amylase in milligrams.
However, it would have been obvious to an ordinary artisan at the time the invention was filed to find an optimum amount of enzyme (amylase) in milligrams depending from the specifics of the application and the specifics of the enzyme used by routine experimentation.
As to claims 11-12:
EP 1375637 teaches the use of both bleach containing compositions and compositions without bleach. See at least [0035], [0037].
As to claim 13:
The claimed PVA is disclosed at least at [0063].
AS to claim 18:
The pouch with two chambers is shown at least on Figures 1a-g and disclosed at least at the Abstract.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/08/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicants amended the claims, cancelled claim 18 and filed new claims 19-20.
The amended and new claims have been examined and are addressed in the rejections above.
The teaching of EP 1375637 has been used to address the newly introduced limitations.
Conclusion
/ALEXANDER MARKOFF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1711