DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
This Office action is in response to the amendments filed of 6/25/2026. Claims 1-20 are currently pending. Claims 1, 8, and 14 have been amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maniwa (US 2009/0241351 A1) in view of Heston (US 2018/0123500 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Maniwa discloses pruning shears (Fig. 1), comprising: a housing comprising a motor portion (the outer cover of 4 – Fig. 1) and a handle portion (9 – Fig. 1); a motor (the portion of 4 not including the outer cover of 4 – Fig. 1) disposed within the motor portion of the housing (see Fig. 1); a motor control unit (15 – Fig. 3) operably coupled to the motor (para. 0037); and a trigger assembly (the assembly of 1 and 12 – Fig. 1) disposed within the handle portion and operably coupled to the motor control unit to control the motor (para. 0035, lines 3-7 and para. 0036), wherein the trigger assembly comprises a trigger (1 – Fig. 1) and a primary trigger movement detector (12 – Fig. 1), wherein the primary movement trigger detector senses movement of the trigger when the trigger is pressed and sends a signal to the motor control unit to control operation of the motor (para. 0036).
However, Maniwa does not disclose a redundant trigger movement detector.
Heston teaches a tool (100 – Fig. 1) comprising a trigger assembly (the assembly of 118 – Fig. 1 and 204 – Fig. 2), wherein the trigger assembly comprises a trigger (118 – Fig. 1), a primary trigger movement detector (a first of 204 – Fig. 2; para. 0031), and a redundant trigger movement detector (a second of 204 – Fig. 2; para. 0031), wherein the primary trigger movement detector and the redundant trigger movement detector each sense movement of the trigger when the trigger is pressed and send signals to a motor control unit (108 – Fig. 1) to control operation of the motor (para. 0031). One of ordinary skill in the art, upon reading the teaching of Heston, would have recognized that the redundant trigger movement detector provides a backup in case the primary trigger movement detector fails.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention, to have modified the pruning shears of Maniwa to include a redundant movement trigger detector as taught by Heston in order to provide a backup in case the primary movement trigger detector fails.
Maniwa, as modified by Heston, further teaches:
Claim 2, the primary trigger movement detector (12 – Fig. 1, Maniwa) comprises a trigger potentiometer coupled to the trigger (para. 0036, Maniwa).
Claim 3, the trigger potentiometer transmits a primary signal indicative of a distance that the trigger is pressed based on a movement of the trigger potentiometer (para. 0036, Maniwa).
Claim 4, the motor control unit sends a primary signal to the motor to set a speed of the motor based on the distance the trigger moves detected by the trigger potentiometer (para. 0035, lines 3-7 and para. 0036, Maniwa).
Claim 5, the redundant trigger movement detector (a second of 204 – Fig. 2, Heston) comprises a magnet disposed on the trigger and a trigger hall board adjacent the trigger to sense movement of the magnet (para. 0031 of Heston teaches that the redundant trigger movement detector is a Hall effect sensor; a Hall effect sensor has a magnet and a trigger hall board).
Claim 6, the trigger hall board transmits a redundant signal indicative of a distance that the trigger is pressed based on movement of the magnet sensed by the trigger hall board (para. 0031, Heston; as noted above, Heston teaches that the redundant trigger movement detector is a Hall effect sensor; a Hall effect sensor works by using a trigger hall board to sense the displacement of a magnet).
Claim 7, the motor control unit sends a redundant signal to the motor to set a speed of the motor based on the distance that the trigger moves detected by the trigger hall board (para. 0031, Heston).
Claim 8, a method of operating pruning shears, the method comprising: receiving a primary signal from a primary trigger movement detector (12 – Fig. 1 and para. 0036, Maniwa); receiving a redundant signal from a redundant trigger movement detector (a second of 204 – Fig. 2 and para. 0031, Heston); determining a noise associated with the primary signal, the redundant signal, or a combination thereof (para. 0031, Heston; a voltage out of the normal range is interpreted to be noise); and at least partially based on the noise, preventing operation of a motor (para. 0031, Heston; note that disabling output from the trigger prevents operation of the motor).
Claims 9-14 recite materially the same subject matter as above and are rejected based on the same reasoning.
Claim 15, the motor control unit is further operable to selectively threshold the at least one trigger hall sensor voltage signal (para. 0031, Heston; note that a voltage being out of range requires a threshold).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 16-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: regarding claim 16, the limitation “the motor control unit is further operable to convert the at least one trigger potentiometer voltage signal to at least one estimated hall voltage signal value” is not taught by the combination of Maniwa and Heston which merely teaches a signal from a potentiometer and a signal from a Hall effect sensor. There is no teaching that the signal from the potentiometer is converted to a hall voltage signal value. Furthermore, although such a conversion is not technically difficult, there is no known teaching in a tool of using a potentiometer as a primary sensor, a Hall effect sensor as a secondary sensor, and converting the signal from the potentiometer to a hall voltage signal value.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/25/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 1, applicant argues that the asserted modification results in redundancy with no advantage provided based on the cited references. It would make no sense to combine Heston into the device of Maniwa as Maniwa already provides control of the device through use of a potentiometer and another detector would be unnecessary. To support this position, applicant supplies many citations of case law.
In response it is noted that applicant’s arguments appear to rest on the assertion that modifying Maniwa to comprise another detector would be unnecessary. It seems that applicant is really arguing that such a modification would provide no benefit (since in principle any improvement could be considered unnecessary). However, as noted above in the rejection of claim 1, there is a clear benefit to adding a redundant sensor, it would improve the reliability of the pruning shears by providing a backup in case the primary movement detector fails. Therefore, applicant’s argument is found to be not persuasive.
Further regarding claim 1, applicant argues that Heston is misapplied to Maniwa because Heston teaches separate buttons that separately control the direction of a motor with the sensors 204 associated with a specific button as shown in Fig. 2. Furthermore, as taught by Heston, such buttons would not be integrated in Maniwa because it would make Maniwa difficult to use with no benefit.
In response, it appears that applicant is basing the argument on Fig. 2. However, Fig. 2 is not being used to provide this teaching. It is cited simply for convenience to show that the sensors are present but the rejection is based on the teaching of para. 0031 which notes that the position of a trigger is detected by the sensors. It doesn’t disclose any detectors being associated with a button. The teaching in Fig. 2 is simply one example implementation. Therefore, applicant’s argument is found to be not persuasive.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THOMAS M WITTENSCHLAEGER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3731
7/6/2026