DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because the lead line of reference number “48” in Fig. 2 points to the platform and not the turntable . Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With respect to Claim 9, the recitation “a second effector is secured to a distal end of the first jib” appears to be inaccurate and/or misdescriptive. It appears that the second effector is secured to the distal end of the second jib and not the first jib.
Claims 10 and 11 depend from claim 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Fukaya (U.S. Patent no. 7,730,648B2).
With respect to Claim 1, Fukaya discloses a loader with multiple knucklebooms, comprising: a platform 1; a first knuckleboom 4a,4b,4c rotatably mounted (via 20) on the platform; and a second knuckleboom 5a-1,5a-2,5b mounted (via 2) on the platform, wherein the first and second knucklebooms are spaced apart with respect to one another (Fig. 1, for example, shows the spacing between 4a,4b,4c and 5a-1,5a-2,5b).
With respect to Claim 2, Fukaya discloses the loader with multiple knucklebooms as recited in claim 1, wherein the first knuckleboom comprises: a first boom 4a; and a first jib 4b pivotally connected (at 44) to the first boom.
With respect to Claim 3, Fukaya discloses the loader with multiple knucklebooms as recited in claim 2, further comprising a turntable 2 mounted (via 20) on the platform 1, wherein a proximal end (at or around 43) of the first boom 4a is mounted on the turntable (col. 5, ll. 60-64).
With respect to Claim 4, Fukaya discloses the loader with multiple knucklebooms as recited in claim 3, further comprising a cab 3 mounted on the turntable 2.
With respect to Claim 5, Fukaya discloses the loader with multiple knucklebooms as recited in claim 3, wherein a distal end (at or near 44) of the first boom 4a is pivotally connected 44 to a proximal end (portion of 4b at or near 44) of the first jib, and wherein a first effector 4c is secured to a distal end of the first jib.
With respect to Claim 6, Fukaya discloses the loader with multiple knucklebooms as recited in claim 5, wherein the first effector comprises a crane tip (at or near 45).
With respect to Claim 7, Fukaya discloses the loader with multiple knucklebooms as recited in claim 5, further comprising means (31 and “hydraulic circuit”; col. 6, line 1) for controllably driving movement of the first boom and the first jib.
With respect to Claim 8, Fukaya discloses the loader with multiple knucklebooms as recited in claim 1, wherein the second knuckleboom comprises: a second boom 5a-1; and a second jib pivotally 5a-2 connected to the second boom.
With respect to Claim 9, Fukaya discloses the loader with multiple knucklebooms as recited in claim 8, wherein a distal end of the second boom 5a-1 is pivotally connected (Fig. 4 shows the pivot connection between 5a-1 and 5a-2) to a proximal end of the second jib 5a-2, and wherein a second effector 5 is secured to a distal end of the first jib.
With respect to Claim 10, Fukaya discloses the loader with multiple knucklebooms as recited in claim 9, wherein the second effector comprises a crane tip 5.
With respect to Claim 11, Fukaya discloses the loader with multiple knucklebooms as recited in claim 9, further comprising means for controllably driving movement of the second boom and the second jib 31.
With respect to Claim 12, Fukaya discloses the loader with multiple knucklebooms as recited in claim 1, further comprising a plurality of wheels 10 rotatably mounted to the platform.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fukaya in view of Hayes et al (U.S. Patent no. 3,854,606).
With respect to Claim 13, Fukaya does not teach at least one outrigger mounted to the platform.
Hayes et al discloses a vehicle with material loader. Figs. 1 and 2 of Hayes et al teach an outrigger (in phantom lines) to achieve stability when on uneven ground while lifting heavy loads.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Fukaya with outriggers, as taught by Hayes et al so that the loader is stable while on uneven ground while lifting heavy loads.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The cited prior art shows various construction vehicles and loaders.
/EMMANUEL M MARCELO/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3654
/emm/