DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of copending Application No. 18/736,629 (reference application) in view of Guo et al (US 2023/0093189).
The claims of the referenced application recite all the limitations of the instant claims 1-3 and 5-15 except for the specific recitation of the polymer.
However, the solvents, including the specifically claimed solvents were known to be conventional ingredients of the detergent compositions, as evidenced by Guo et al. See at least [0153], [0159], [0163-164].
It would have been obvious to an ordinary artisan at the time the invention was filed to include solvents in any of the chambers of the pouch of the claims of the reference application in order to use a known product for its known purpose.
As to claim 4: modified claims of the reference application recite the limitation of the claim except the specific recitation of the claimed amounts of solvent in grams.
However, Guo et al teaches the amount of the solvent in percentages of the weight of the composition. See at least [0165].
It would have been obvious to an ordinary artisan at the time the invention was filed to find an optimum amount of solvent in grams depending from the total weight of the composition to correspond to the amounts recommended by Guo et al in the pouch of the claims of the reference application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of copending Application No. 18/736,657 (reference application) in view of Guo et al (US 2023/0093189).
The claims of the referenced application recite all the limitations of the instant claims 1-3 and 5-15 except for the specific recitation of the polymer.
However, the solvents, including the specifically claimed solvents were known to be conventional ingredients of the detergent compositions, as evidenced by Guo et al. See at least [0153], [0159], [0163-164].
It would have been obvious to an ordinary artisan at the time the invention was filed to include solvents in any of the chambers of the pouch of the claims of the reference application in order to use a known product for its known purpose.
As to claim 4: modified claims of the reference application recite the limitation of the claim except the specific recitation of the claimed amounts of solvent in grams.
However, Guo et al teaches the amount of the solvent in percentages of the weight of the composition. See at least [0165].
It would have been obvious to an ordinary artisan at the time the invention was filed to find an optimum amount of solvent in grams depending from the total weight of the composition to correspond to the amounts recommended by Guo et al in the pouch of the claims of the reference application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of copending Application No. 18/736,640 (reference application) in view of Guo et al (US 2023/0093189).
The claims of the referenced application recite all the limitations of the instant claims 1-3 and 5-15 except for the specific recitation of the solvent.
However, the solvents, including the specifically claimed solvents were known to be conventional ingredients of the detergent compositions, as evidenced by Guo et al. See at least [0153], [0159], [0163-164].
It would have been obvious to an ordinary artisan at the time the invention was filed to include solvents in any of the chambers of the pouch of the claims of the reference application in order to use a known product for its known purpose.
As to claim 4: modified claims of the reference application recite the limitation of the claim except the specific recitation of the claimed amounts of solvent in grams.
However, Guo et al teaches the amount of the solvent in percentages of the weight of the composition. See at least [0165].
It would have been obvious to an ordinary artisan at the time the invention was filed to find an optimum amount of solvent in grams depending from the total weight of the composition to correspond to the amounts recommended by Guo et al in the pouch of the claims of the reference application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of copending Application No. 18/736,668 (reference application) in view of Guo et al (US 2023/0093189).
The claims of the referenced application recite all the limitations of the instant claims 1-3, 5-8, 12-15 except for the specific recitation of solvent.
However, the solvents, including the specifically claimed solvents were known to be conventional ingredients of the detergent compositions, as evidenced by Guo et al. See at least [0153], [0159], [0163-164].
It would have been obvious to an ordinary artisan at the time the invention was filed to include solvents in any of the chambers of the pouch of the claims of the reference application in order to use a known product for its known purpose.
As to claim 4: modified claims of the reference application recite the limitation of the claim except the specific recitation of the claimed amounts of solvent in grams.
However, Guo et al teaches the amount of the solvent in percentages of the weight of the composition. See at least [0165].
It would have been obvious to an ordinary artisan at the time the invention was filed to find an optimum amount of solvent in grams depending from the total weight of the composition to correspond to the amounts recommended by Guo et al in the pouch of the claims of the reference application.
As to claims 9-11 it would have been obvious to an ordinary artisan at the time the invention was filed to find optimum dimensions of the pouch by routine examination depending from the specifics of the application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of copending Application No. 18/736,650 (reference application) in view of Guo et al (US 2023/0093189).
The claims of the referenced application recite all the limitations of the instant claims 1-3 and 5-15 except for the specific recitation of the solvent.
However, the solvents, including the specifically claimed solvents were known to be conventional ingredients of the detergent compositions, as evidenced by Guo et al. See at least [0153], [0159], [0163-164].
It would have been obvious to an ordinary artisan at the time the invention was filed to include solvents in any of the chambers of the pouch of the claims of the reference application in order to use a known product for its known purpose.
As to claim 4: modified claims of the reference application recite the limitation of the claim except the specific recitation of the claimed amounts of solvent in grams.
However, Guo et al teaches the amount of the solvent in percentages of the weight of the composition. See at least [0165].
It would have been obvious to an ordinary artisan at the time the invention was filed to find an optimum amount of solvent in grams depending from the total weight of the composition to correspond to the amounts recommended by Guo et al in the pouch of the claims of the reference application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-12 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 and 21-23 of copending Application No. 19/097,121 (reference application) in view of Guo et al (US 2023/0093189).
The claims of the referenced application recite all the limitations of the instant claims 1-3 and 5-12 except for the specific recitation of the solvent.
However, the solvents, including the specifically claimed solvents were known to be conventional ingredients of the detergent compositions, as evidenced by Guo et al. See at least [0153], [0159], [0163-164].
It would have been obvious to an ordinary artisan at the time the invention was filed to include solvents in any of the chambers of the pouch of the claims of the reference application in order to use a known product for its known purpose.
As to claim 4: modified claims of the reference application recite the limitation of the claim except the specific recitation of the claimed amounts of solvent in grams.
However, Guo et al teaches the amount of the solvent in percentages of the weight of the composition. See at least [0165].
It would have been obvious to an ordinary artisan at the time the invention was filed to find an optimum amount of solvent in grams depending from the total weight of the composition to correspond to the amounts recommended by Guo et al in the pouch of the claims of the reference application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1 and 13-15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2 of U.S. Patent No. 12,371,643 in view of Guo et al (US 2023/0093189).
The claims of the Patent recite all the limitations of the instant claims 1 and 13-15 except for the specific recitation of the solvent.
However, the solvents, including the specifically claimed solvents were known to be conventional ingredients of the detergent compositions, as evidenced by Guo et al. See at least [0153], [0159], [0163-164].
It would have been obvious to an ordinary artisan at the time the invention was filed to include solvents in any of the chambers of the pouch of the method of the claims of the Patent in order to use a known product for its known purpose.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 8-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by DE 202021003342.
DE 202021003342 teaches a pouch as claimed.
The pouch comprises a water-soluble film as claimed (polyvinyl alcohol film).
The film is disclosed as forming a first chamber (2 or 3, 20 or 40), a second chamber (3 or 2, 40 or 20) and a third chamber (4, 30).
The first and the second chambers are disclosed as connected by a linking portion of the water-soluble film (inner seal web and the third chamber) with the length as claimed. See at least Figures 1-6, which are scaled and the description at pages 13-15.
DE 202021003342 teaches that the pouch comprises solvent (water). See at least pages 4 and 18.
As to claims 5-8 DE 202021003342 teaches the polymers as claimed. See at least pages 19-20.
As to claims 9-11 DE 202021003342 teaches the claimed sizes recited by the claims. See at least Figures 2-3 and 5-6, which are scaled and the description at pages 13-15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE 202021003342.
As to claim 4:
DE 202021003342, as applied above, teaches a pouch as claimed except for the specific recitation of the claimed amounts of solvent in grams.
It would have been obvious to an ordinary artisan at the time the invention was filed to find an optimum amount of solvent in grams in the pouch of DE 202021003342 depending from the total weight/size of the pouch and the specifics of the formulations disclosed by DE 202021003342.
Claim(s) 5-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE 202021003342 in view of Guo et al (US 2023/0093189).
DE 202021003342, as applied above, teaches a pouch as claimed except for the specific recitation of the claimed solvents.
However, the specifically claimed solvents were known to be conventional ingredients of the detergent compositions, as evidenced by Guo et al. See at least [0153], [0159], [0163-164].
It would have been obvious to an ordinary artisan at the time the invention was filed to include solvents in any of the chambers of the pouch of DE 202021003342 in order to use a known product for its known purpose.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The documents listed on the attached PTO 892 are cited to show the state of the art with respect to the pouches with detergents.
/ALEXANDER MARKOFF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1711